??!
1 photo
Philips Airfryer Premium Compact Digital HD9742/93

Philips Airfryer Premium Compact Digital HD9742/93

MPNs: HD9742-93 and HD9742/93
4.6 from 27 reviews

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of air fryer would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

4.6

27 reviews
5
(21)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Jing J.

Jing J.Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Very each to use

published

I bought this during the lock down time. It is fantastic. It is easy to use and so easy to clean. I have tried lots of recipes. You also can buy some accessories. I love it.

Purchased in April 2020 at Myer Online Store.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Glad to hear this and thanks for sharing Jing! :) Enjoy and spread the word.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Mandeep Pannu

Mandeep PannuGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Made my life easy and healthy.

published

I m very happy with use as its less time consuming. I do all kind air frying specially frozen products and also roasting all raw veggies. It is very easy to maintain and clean.

Purchased in December 2017 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lia

LiaVictoria

  • 2 reviews

Highly recommend.

published

So quick and easy to use and clean. Cooking potatoes into wedges quickly and easily, frozen food and roasts. All no mess and so easy. Eliminates use of oil and is one of the best purchases I’ve made, we use it constantly.

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer Premium Compact Digital HD9742/93 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nicktj

NicktjGippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews

One of my best buys

published

I use my airfryer at least 4/5 times a week as I hate cooking in oil. We usually cook our crumbed chicken, roast potatoes or chips, roasted cauliflower or practically anything that is oven baked. It cooks very thoroughly and it doesn't heat up my house like my oven does. Cleaning is easy as each section pulls out and can be washed in hot soapy water.

Purchased in February 2018 at Betta Home Living for A$290.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank you for sharing your experience with the Airfryer. We're happy to hear that your satisfied with this product and use it very often. If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to us!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Veewilson

VeewilsonNorth Queensland, QLD

Used 3 times and it never work again!

published

We bought this item because our friend recommendation. We used it three times and the airfryer wont work at all not even the digital display. So we returned it to JB Hifi where we bought it from and apparently its been couple people come back with it. Very disappointed! As we had big expectations with this product and shame that we cant get the different one because that was the only one left in store ( this is happened after Christmas-Boxing Day- New Year sale)

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hifi Home for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Hendo

HendoGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 17 reviews
  • 1 like

Love,love,love this machine!!

published

I wish someone had told me about this product years ago. To be truthful I hesitated a little when I saw the price but I was convinced by my sister to purchase it and it’s so worth it. Our family just loves it. Frozen products such as chips, spring rolls, fish, and hash browns come out so crispy and crunchy on the outside and delicious on the inside. Not in the least greasy.
Takes less time to cook than heating up my large oven, as no preheating required. A real bonus when wanting a quick hot snack.
I’m looking forward to making some of the recipes such as fruit crumble and brownie slice.
So far cleaning has been very easy too.

Purchased in October 2019 at eBay for A$287.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

I use this every day

published

Loveeee the advanced functionalities and smart tech cooking. I loved my old Phillips air fryer but this just takes it to the next level! The large size is also perfect when you’re cooking dinner for multiple people, plenty of room to make food for everyone

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Burnt-Twice

Burnt-TwiceAU

  • 69 reviews
  • 1 like

Cannot Fault - Works Like A Charm

published

I wish I'd bought this years ago, because frozen chips and chicken pieces come out much better air fried than cooked in an oven.

The airfryer gets the outside crispy all over and tender in the middle, whereas oven cooking makes it soft and greasy on the bottom - you have to take the food out half way and turn it over.

I've done frozen pies, frozen chips, chicken, sausages, steak, spring rolls, hash browns, even fresh chicken breast.

No need to preheat. Oil just drips onto the bottom for removal. Takes half the time of oven cooking, easy to clean and quiet, switches itself off.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bing Lee.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Zeina

ZeinaSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Faulty

published

I had the appliance 5 months, was working well initially then the drawer would not release. Customer service from place of purchase forced the drawer open and from then it was not closing effectively.Returned for a refund.

Purchased in March 2019 at Big W for A$230.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer Premium Compact Digital HD9742/93 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Liz 08

Liz 08Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

We use this every single day! Love it

published

The food we cook in our airfare is amazing. Perfectly cooked every time and the best thing is, you put the food on, press a few buttons and don’t need to do anything else! No more turning sausages, fish or steak to make sure it’s all cooked properly. This has been a life saver on a busy work day when I’m rushing around trying to do 4738202 at once.

Easy to clean, it all goes in the dishwasher!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Lubby

LubbySydney, NSW

Revolutionise the way you cook

published

The Philips Airfryer has quickly become my favorite kitchen appliance, it does everything. I can grill, roast, fry and bake. I cook chicken, pork, lamb, vegetables and even baked donuts. It saves me time, no preheating required, food cooks quicker and best of all I don’t need to add any oil to my meals. I have owned/used my airfryer for 6 months and have recommended it to my friends and family.

Purchased in November 2018 at Costco NSW, Casula.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

R Higgins

R HigginsSydney, NSW

Now I finally have one, I can’t live without it!

published

Crisps food up perfectly with no added fat and without drying it out. I am always wowed by the results! I’ve made crispy chicken wings, sweet potato chips, fries a no even brownies with this pocket rocket! Can’t wait to discover the next treat it does magic on...

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, we like hearing that you've been able to cook some nice beverages! Many thanks for sharing your feedback here, it's much appreciated. :-)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Absolutely love it!

published

My poor oven... I haven't used it since I got the airfryer! I am completely converted and have loved experimenting with new meals and recipes since receiving it! Not only that it cuts my cooking time down and is done in no time! Meats are so succulent! I can also pop the trays in the dishwasher! Thanks for creating such a great product that makes mumlife easier!

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

This is perfect! Why didn’t I bought one sooner!

published

The Philips Airfryer is so easy to use and to clean. Big hits for us are the crispy on the outside, tender on the inside results we got from the airfryer, did not disappoint at all! Cooking time and temperature is easy to adjust with the screen, size is perfect for a couple cooking for two everyday. Definitely recommend!

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
Yvonne21

Yvonne21

  • 3 reviews

Delivers on its promises....And more

published

Loving my new Philips air fryer, it does everything it promises, from making super crispy crackling to removing fat from meat to heating up within seconds! Super versatile too, have made much more beyond "fried food" in this machine

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer Premium Compact Digital HD9742/93 compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Keira

KeiraSydney, NSW

Fantastic so convenient

published

I absolutely loved how easy and convenient the airfryer is.
I like how it pre heats quickly and turns itself off when it is finished cooking, so as a mum it means I can walk away and not worry about burning dinner.

Purchased in April 2019 at Better Braces.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Mark

Mark

  • 3 reviews

It is very good fryer machine

published

It is very good fryer machine instead of my old one which is easy to use, control and clean, also save a lot of time to cook. I would recommend to my friends.

Purchased in April 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for A$299.30.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you for your feedback, Mark. We're happy to hear you find our AirFryer convenient to use - that's what we were aiming for. :) Feel free to reach out to us, if you ever need any tips or tricks!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

nuan w.

nuan w.

  • 4 reviews

Nice product. I cannot live without it.

published

This product is really good. Nice color. Nice function. It works well. I like it and use it everyday. I use it to cook my meal. It is really convenient.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

MiniBossClaire

MiniBossClaireIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

My new best friend in the kitchen!

published

This AirFryer heats up instantly and cooks each food to perfection! I’ve used it to cook mini pizzas, chips, vegetables, roast pork, dim sum and muffins! I don’t know how I lived without it! It keeps the food crisp on the outside and moist on the inside!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Debbie

Debbie

  • 2 reviews

The airfryer is light-weight yet has great technology that helps with fast and healthy cooking

published

Using less or no oil, this appliance shines through delivering tender meat, crunchy coatings and moist brownies! Comes in a couple of sizes so consider what one you need depending on how many you’re cooking for. I would’ve liked it slightly larger to do larger portions. I’ve made dinners and desserts and they turn out great! So easy to clean as inserts are dishwasher safe.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2
See all Philips Premium Digital Airfryer reviews

Questions & Answers

belly

bellyasked

Compact Digital HD9742/93

Can some one tell me what comes in the box with this fryer?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Belly,

Thank you for your inquiry. Our Airfryer HD9742/93 comes with one accessory, and the actual airfryer. You can check out this product page to learn more: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9742_93/premium

Should you have any further questions, please contact our local product team at 0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

TJDinAus

TJDinAusasked

Compact Digital HD9742/93

I have just purchased a Philips Avance HD9742/93 and upon unpacking, I noticed that the "splatter proof lid" was missing (indicated as included on documentation). I initially contacted Myer online (where I had purchased the item) and was advised that I would need to return the entire product in its original packaging and they would send out another, or I could contact Philips Customer Care, which I did. That contact was made ten days ago and only today, after calling Customer Care (located in the Philippines) again, I was provided with a tracking number and an projected arrival date of five days from now (note the shipment is simply Melbourne/Thomastown to Brisbane). Throughout the process of trying to get the missing part, it has become increasing evident that aside from their health care arm, the only true Philips presence in Australia is their product line distributed by third parties such as Myer, DJs, Good Guys, etc. This has been further frustrated by the fact that both part/accessory numbers, if the parts/accessories are actually available in the Australian market, are inconsistent with the publications put out by Philips itself. I fully understand the transition to a more global market is and will continue to grow but I am also concerned that this has allowed the providers of products and services such as Philips to compromise the level of customer support they attach to their brand. Unfortunately, this is not a new experience with Philips as I also own one of their oxygen concentrators and the experience of after sales support has been no different.

So, here is my question:

At what point does one give up on a particular product brand when availability, timeliness and accuracy of information are compromised by the established business model?

2 answers
Jacqui
Jacqui

3 months ago purchased the Phillips XL and more recently the Phillips XXL. I wasn't aware of an " splatter proof lid" for either of these models of air fryers. I am currently (as of 23/8/2019) in contact with Phillips regarding access to a cash back offer on the newly purchased XXL. I have set up the Phillips account as required to access my cash back, but the email verification for my Phillips account in order to access the cashback isn't working. I am receiving feedback from Phillips regarding my problem, but having been re routed a few times to the promotions team and their IT team and back again, and, after over a fortnight of trying I am giving them another 48 hours before contacting consumer affairs in my state. Other than the issues with the cash back I am very happy with both the XL and the XXL. Between purchasing my XL and the XXL , I purchased two Aldi units, both of which failed at first use, and a Smith and Nobel, which has since failed as the handle doesn't lock in, after a month of use. The Phillips Air fryer is a far superior product, to any other air fryer on the market, but I am becoming concerned that their after sales service is lacking. Contact isn't easy and you get re routed, and fobbed off. What a shame as the air fryer is a great product.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, we very much appreciate you sharing your honest thoughts and experiences here. We do regret hearing that they have not been the best ones, though. Of course, things are not supposed to go down like this, and we apologise for the fact that it did. We will make sure to share the feedback with the concerned team, so they will be able to look into it and learn from it as well. As for the matter you experienced, it sounds like the lid is on its way to you now, correct? In case you have further case specific questions, you can always get in touch with our colleagues via 1300 363 391. Once again, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.