?
? !
5 photos
Philips Original Airfryer
4.4 from 145 reviews · View Statistics

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Looking for a healthier way to enjoy delicious, home-cooked food? Read on for more information on the benefits of air fryers, plus important features to look out for when buying.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

4.1

18 reviews
Previous
Next
Peter Phillips

Peter PhillipsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Definitely an overpriced cooking appliance and does not live up to the hype 120 character limit excludes explanation

published

Output using suggested cooking methodology does not compare with traditional cooking and clean up is far more than clean up of the same dish using traditional cooking methods
Price of the appliance is over rated

Purchased in March 2021 for $569.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
KES

KESSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Cleaning is a nightmare

published

This airfryer cooks great. Cant fault the cooking and very useful if you have teens. The 1 star is for 2 reasons. The airfryer does not come with accessories. You must purchase extra accessories to cook various foods and the accessories are not cheap. For $500 I expect a few more accessories. No matter what you cook there is a sticky residue that is difficult to remove. The cleaning is very time consuming and it never feels thoroughly clean. I soak the parts. Would recommend anyone wanting a airfryer wait for a improved model or try a different brand .Overpriced.

Purchased in December 2020 for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rama

RamaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good Product. Serves our requirements of frequent "frying" of chips, samosas etc

published

Fully satisfied.

Normally we cook Potato chips, Hash Browns, Wedges, Samosas, Spring rolls, Fish Fingers, Chicken nuggets etc.

Product is very easy to use and clean. No Need to put in a Dishwasher, Simple hand wash would do

Purchased in June 2017 at Philips for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nancy Chen

Nancy ChenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best appliance bought

published

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bev

BevSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A nightmare to clean, worse than cleaning a stove. Clean after use or smokes the house out with nasty dirty oven smell

published

I believe it is good to cook in but hardly worth it due to the cleaning problems. Have to turn upside down to clean element and takes about one hour.

Purchased in March 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Reddit B.

Reddit B.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 4 reviews

It works but it's nothing special

published

This air fryer works just fine, in fact perfect. It's never broken or had problems. But it's not 5 stars because it's not special. It doesn't add anything new and it's the same as others. The price was good and the air fryer works. I recommend it to anybody who is looking for something simple.

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great product

published

I am very satisfied with the product. It gets the job done, very efficient and very easy to clean. My partner usually makes pork crackling in the air fryer and it taste even better than some of the shops.

Purchased in September 2019 at Myer for $300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AlisonB

AlisonBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Can’t live with out it

published

Quick and easy couldn’t live with out it super fast healthy eating no oils fats taste good would recommend everyone to purchase this product really feel it was a great buy

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for $250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amur

AmurSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing

published

Absolutely amazing product. Works very well and the Phillips brand seems to have very good reptuation to it. The App for the airfryer has some good recipes (including the brownies that were made). Very nice!

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dawn

DawnSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Healthier chips with the Philips Air Fryer

published

It took a while to convince us both that an airfryer would do for chips. Now, we use our Philips Air Fryer weekly to make the best chips in the hood... and it looks great on the bench.

Purchased at JB Hifi Home for $140.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shopaholic123

Shopaholic123Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Definitely faster than an oven

published

May be cause it's our first airfryer, we were quite impressed at the speed of cooking some chips, definitely much faster than preheating an oven and cooking them in there. The only downside is the capacity. With an oven, we can put both fish/nuggets etc and chips in together at the same time (different trays on different levels) but due to the capacity, we've had to run he airfryer twice to feed the two of us.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for $159.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jamie

JamieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing product, prefer 100% to an oven

published

This actually cooks way faster and healthier than an oven does, it is amazing to see all the oil at the bottom of the tray when finished cooking that would being absorbed into the food in a conventional oven. It makes spring rolls and nuggets crispy and tender. It cooks chips perfectly and is great that is does not require any preheating. The only downside is that there is no stop button, you have to wait for timer to go off or force it off which doesn't seem good for the dial.

Purchased in April 2018 at Big W for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
Vick

VickPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Slow cooking but good quality

published

I believe turbo is the quickest airfryer ever seen before. This airfryer does it job but takes time for cooking. I was aware of this after buying the air fryer . I would auggeat phillips turbo would be the powerful airfryer if your are busy person, which cost little more.

Purchased in June 2017 at The Good Guys for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Karen

KarenHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

I AM IN LOVE

published

Got this for mothers day and am wondering how I ever got along without it. Cooks food super fast, drains all the fat away and crisps to perfection. No long heating periods either so I should save a lot in my power bills

Purchased in April 2019 at BigW for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ellenp

EllenpSouth East Queensland, QLD

Quick and easy to use!

published

Simple and easy to use and clean. Makes great chips! Simplistic design and minimal buttons makes it easy to understand and adjust, and looks nice on the counter. Only drawbacks is it's quite bulky and difficult to store when not in use (if you don't have the bench space to leave it out). Instruction booklet is very simplistic which is great to have as a handy guide, but would have loved a bit more information and some ideas of other ways to use!

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedWeekly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Erin

ErinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quite a good product

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedMonthly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jassy H.

Jassy H.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Amazing product - can't love it enough!!

published

If you love fried food but hate that 'greasy' feeling and the mess after that - better get your hands on this air fryer!

It is the best investment i've ever made :) so easy to use and clean and keeps the family healthy too even while indulging in 'fried' food!

Purchased in December 2018 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love it !

published

Very happy with the quality of this air fryer, we use weekly to cook with in our house hold! We cook chips, cakes spring rolls they taste delicious. Cleaning is sometimes difficult depending on what has been cooked but generally a awesome product/ appliance!

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedWeekly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
See all Philips Original Airfryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

Does the Philips Airfryer Original have a timer?

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jane, thank you for the question. The HD9218/51 has an integrated timer which allows you to pre-set cooking times of up to 30 minutes. You can find more information about the product on this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9218_51/daily-collection-airfryer-with-rapid-air-technology. We hope this makes it clear!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jane
Jane

Thanks for the information.

John H.

John H.asked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

how any litres is this machine

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank you for your message. The capacity of the matching basket is 28 oz. If you happen to have any further questions, feel free to contact our product specialists directly through the numbers below:
0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Rama
Rama

I think it is 10 Ltrs but not sure

Margaret J.

Margaret J.asked

Original HD9216/81 (White)

How many litres is this air fryer

2 answers
Rama
Rama

From memory it is 2.2 L but You probably better off to check their website also .

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hiya, Margaret

Thanks for your question. The capacity of the basked is 28oz which is about 0,8 liters.

Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

See all Philips Original Airfryer questions

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Philips Original Airfryer

Details

Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer
Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2021

Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)

4.4
(85)
CategoryAir FryersAir FryersAir Fryers
Price (RRP) $239.00$239.00$239.00
Capacity0.8 kg0.8 kg0.8 kg
Non-Stick CoatingYesYesYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYesYesYes
TimerYesYesYes
Weight7 kg7 kg7 kg
Power1,425 W1,425 W1,425 W
Colour / FinishBlackWhiteWhite
Cord Length0.8 m0.8 m0.8 m
Dimensions 384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Replaced byPhilips Airfryer Original HD9216/91 (White)
Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.