?
? !
5 photos
Philips Original Airfryer
4.4 from 145 reviews · View Statistics

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Looking for a healthier way to enjoy delicious, home-cooked food? Read on for more information on the benefits of air fryers, plus important features to look out for when buying.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

4.6

23 reviews
Previous
Next
Jennifer D.

Jennifer D.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Very convenient

published

Chips, chicken, potato ,pork almost all food that we eat except with liquid of course and plus the only thing I’m having hard time with my air fryer is when I clean it but overall I’m super happy

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
Dana F

Dana FSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 3 likes

I use this puppy every day.

published

Purchased in August 2019 at Kmart for $220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bev

BevSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A nightmare to clean, worse than cleaning a stove. Clean after use or smokes the house out with nasty dirty oven smell

published

I believe it is good to cook in but hardly worth it due to the cleaning problems. Have to turn upside down to clean element and takes about one hour.

Purchased in March 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Weiwei

WeiweiPerth, WA

  • 42 reviews
  • 9 likes

Use it everyday!

published

We use the air fryer everyday from just making toast (we don’t have a toaster) to frying veges, chips and meat. It is so quick and easy and convenient to use and easy to clean, although we don’t necessarily wash it after every use.
Food produced by the air fryer is great but must be spaced out to allow air to go through each food item to ensure crispyness if you’re making chips for example.

Purchased in January 2015 at The Good Guys for $200.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fahad A.

Fahad A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

I cannot live without it

published

The most important part of my cooking life. I cannot imagine how it makes my life easier and more healthy without any oil just turn it on and the food cooked well. It is not like the other Air fryer I have used.

Purchased in March 2017 at Target Australia for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Glen2000

Glen2000

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great we use it everyday

published

We are on our second one we baought the original one when it first came out we had it for 8 years and used it all the time. It still worked when we replaced it. This new one we have had for a year and its great too. We have told all our friends and i would totally recommend it. You can cook something in the ime it would take to heat our big oven.

Purchased in February 2010 at Harvey Norman for $130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
Sharnelle T.

Sharnelle T.

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for any house hold

published

This has been the best purchase we have every done, had this air fryer for 4 years and still use it twice a day! It’s amazing and I love it

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sharnelle T.

Sharnelle T.

  • 5 reviews

Amazing

published

This has been awesome
They have the best quality out of all the air fryers
I have had one for 4 years and still use it twice a day, it’s the best!

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Unknown

UnknownHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great product!

published

I love how quickly it cooks food compared to a normal oven! I use it all the time. Only thing is if you have more than two people in the family I’d suggest getting the XL one because this one is a bit small

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jimbobra1234

Jimbobra1234Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect for convenient cooking

published

Very happy with my air fryer, I use it every day to cook most of my meals. No fuss timer, Which means you’ll never overcook anything or accidentally leave the machine on. I have cooked everything from roast chicken to spring rolls in here and always comes out perfectly crispy. Also great to reheat pizza and other fried and fatty foods as it keeps it crispy and not soggy

Purchased at Big W for $152.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dee

DeeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

I love my air fryer so much

published

I have had this air fryer for over a year now and I've only used my oven twice since. I often cook roast veg and sausages all at once in the machine and love the way nothing is dry.

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W Online Store for $149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great appliance for one or two servings and easy to use!!!

published

Another great buy! I loved that my teenage children can grill their snacks after school. Much easier to clean than the oven and the small capacity is great for snacks or meal for 1.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
knaoko

knaokoSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

No more deep-frying

published

Since I bought this fryer, I don't do any more deep frying. I can cook crispy fried chicken, heating up the Chinese pan cake, cooking sticky rice cake without enormous amount of oil. This is not only healthy but also helps environment. I hate disposing the used, smelly oil into the bin. I don't need to clean the range hood filers because I don't deep fry. Downside is a bit of noise, it is quite noisy to have a full on. You also need to spray or brush oil on food, otherwise they sticks to the grill. Washing is easy because of non-stick coating. I always wash with my hand. This is not for big family but enough for small family or couple or single person.

Purchased in March 2017 at The Good Guys for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Badger

BadgerDarling Downs, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fat free cooking.

published

The Phillips original airfryer is such a great way to cook just about anything,I've purchased my second one just recently as my first one lasted nearly 4 years.The Phillips airfryer has only one problem,they are very difficult to clean after being in use for 6 months or more.Even using caustic oven cleaner on the basket and sliding fat catcher multiple times doesn't remove baked on foodstuffs.The only way to keep it looking like new is to clean it thoroughly after each use! Which is not practical,and most people don't have the time or can't be bothered.

Purchased in February 2017 at Big W for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jade

Jade

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

Healthy and still tasty

published

After I used the air fryer, the kitchen is clean. No oil for cooking meat or fish anymore, yet still very tasty. The only demerit will be the small size. Highly recommend!

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cathy

CathyNorth-West & West coast, TAS

  • 4 reviews

Happy customer

published

I recently purchased this air fryer and was pleasantly surprised that it does what the manufacturers promote. It heats amazing chips to the same effect as deep frying would, but with just a tiny amount of oil. I have also heated up small savouries and sausage rolls and you couldn't tell they hadn't been oven heated. The heating process is very fast also, and very simple to clean afterwards.
Great value for money, wish I had one years ago!

Purchased in August 2019 at Target Australia for $145.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Layadi T.

Layadi T.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

We Used it every day, loved it so much.

published

Me and my wife depend on this item so much. We used it to cook chips, spam etc. With the spam the oil/fat will drop at the bottom and it's alot of fat.
This is our second phillips air fryer, the first one the steel mesh was damaged after two years of constant used. We were looking to buy just the steel mesh part but it was very expensive around $90 online from UK. So we decided to grab a new one when its on promotion.

Purchased in December 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

We love the Philips Airfryer

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

65 reviews
Ad
Em Bee

Em BeeSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fast Healthy Easy

published

Nice looking, no mess, no fuss, simple to use, easy to clean, giving perfect results every single time. We love the Philips AirFryer. The 800g capacity is only suitable for snacks or side dishes for our large family but we have enjoyed experimenting with all kinds of dishes: baking, frying, roasting... we've tried it all with perfect results each and every time. The online recipe book is jam packed with recipes and inspiration if we ever want to branch out from our usual choices. This is an excellent "must-have" kitchen appliance garanteed not to sit unused at the back of a cupboard or waste kitchen bench space.

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Erin

ErinSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Quite a good product

published

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedMonthly
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2
See all Philips Original Airfryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

Does the Philips Airfryer Original have a timer?

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jane, thank you for the question. The HD9218/51 has an integrated timer which allows you to pre-set cooking times of up to 30 minutes. You can find more information about the product on this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9218_51/daily-collection-airfryer-with-rapid-air-technology. We hope this makes it clear!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jane
Jane

Thanks for the information.

John H.

John H.asked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

how any litres is this machine

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank you for your message. The capacity of the matching basket is 28 oz. If you happen to have any further questions, feel free to contact our product specialists directly through the numbers below:
0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Rama
Rama

I think it is 10 Ltrs but not sure

Margaret J.

Margaret J.asked

Original HD9216/81 (White)

How many litres is this air fryer

2 answers
Rama
Rama

From memory it is 2.2 L but You probably better off to check their website also .

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hiya, Margaret

Thanks for your question. The capacity of the basked is 28oz which is about 0,8 liters.

Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

See all Philips Original Airfryer questions

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Philips Original Airfryer

Details

Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer
Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2021

Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)

4.4
(85)
CategoryAir FryersAir FryersAir Fryers
Price (RRP) $239.00$239.00$239.00
Capacity0.8 kg0.8 kg0.8 kg
Non-Stick CoatingYesYesYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYesYesYes
TimerYesYesYes
Weight7 kg7 kg7 kg
Power1,425 W1,425 W1,425 W
Colour / FinishBlackWhiteWhite
Cord Length0.8 m0.8 m0.8 m
Dimensions 384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Replaced byPhilips Airfryer Original HD9216/91 (White)
Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.