?
? !
5 photos
Philips Original Airfryer
4.4 from 145 reviews · View Statistics

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Looking for a healthier way to enjoy delicious, home-cooked food? Read on for more information on the benefits of air fryers, plus important features to look out for when buying.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

4.6

39 reviews
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Crap!!

published

Bought this in December have used around 5 times, each time have had to physically scrub the wire basket, even used oil spray to avoid this! Big box Too small item, very misleading. Cannot turn off! Friend bought one twice the size half the price, would like a refund!

Purchased in December 2020 at The Good Guys for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Bob D.

Bob D.Brisbane

  • 12 reviews
  • 18 likes

HD9216/91 (White)

published

Purchased in June 2020 at Big W for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bev

BevSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A nightmare to clean, worse than cleaning a stove. Clean after use or smokes the house out with nasty dirty oven smell

published

I believe it is good to cook in but hardly worth it due to the cleaning problems. Have to turn upside down to clean element and takes about one hour.

Purchased in March 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedMonthly
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karim A.

Karim A.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Really good for the price

published

I got this at a really good price it was perfect ever since, we use it to make all sort of healthy fried food, using less oil to make fries is really the reason I decided to get this.

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
nickname

nickname

  • 2 reviews

Love my air fryer!

published

We find this is the perfect size for our 2 person household. Really easy to use and much faster than an oven. We usually use it for roasting vegetables but I am keen to try a roast in there.
Easy to clean as I just put the trays components straight in the dishwasher.
Can't comment on the value for money as it was a present.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Rupinder S.

Rupinder S.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I m in love with it.

published

Oil free food, cardio suitable.
Time saver
Convenient
Healthy options.
Yes, you can enjoy the crispiness of the food if you want.
The great thing is that you can bake in it

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for $150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Glad to hear this and thanks for sharing!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Kuchs

KuchsSouth Australia

Disappointing that there is no recipe book or proper instruction book

published

I bought my first time ever air fryer just before Easter. I have cooked on it over the weekend and found it to be an excellent product. The only disappointing part was the lack of instructions and no recipe book (even basic one). I would have thought the product should have at least come with both of these.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Erin

ErinSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Easy, healthy and useful

published

We use our air fryer a few times a week. It doesn't use any oil, so it's healthy, and it takes half the time of the oven. We mostly use it for potatoes and roast vegetables, but you can also cook chicken legs ( the skin gets nice and crisp) or heat up bread rolls for a nice outer crust. We're normally cooking for two, but can use it for up to four people. It can be difficult to clean, so we prefer not to use it for meats or messy foods, but it's easy to use and the foods we do make come out really great!

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jacque J.

Jacque J.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

cant live with out this product

published

I bought this when the hype was on about healthy eating and because I am a celiac I need to watch what I eat. I thought hubby might not take to the food but he loves the home made chips and hash browns also crisps pies up and you can do baking but I haven't done that side of it. The beauty is you don't need any oil so all you are having is healthy food less salt and fats. It is easy to clean with just a wipe out and store again in your cupboard

Purchased at Target Australia for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mahesh S.

Mahesh S.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great cooker !!

published

I a extremely satisfied with this product and concept. We don't use oil at all. Great cooker. We have potato chips, chicken , fish, beef, pork anything on this air fryer without adding any oil.

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matthew K.

Matthew K.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Better than an oven

published

This works really well for our small family. I find the cook time is less than a conventional oven and food is crispier and less oily. Very happy with product. The baking pan and skewers are a good addon

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
MumWithKids

MumWithKidsSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quick and easy

published

I have to say I was super surprised at how quick and well this works. Being super skeptical, I attempted everything in it except cake. Fabulous! No oil! LOVE IT!

But for quick kids dinner when its been that type of day I just can not fault it. Saved my sanity a few times.

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for $95.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you for the positive review. Great to hear you enjoy using the Airfyer so much and that it's a nice solution for preparing a quick meal by the end of a long day.

Kind regards,
The Phililps Australia Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Just another Consumer

Just another ConsumerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Finally took the plunge & it's great!

published

Was skeptical about Philips air fryer but never regret after took the plunge & bought it. Wife using it most of the time. One of the best ever product they made. Would recommend to anyone who still deciding about this brand air fryer.

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
deadxnurse

deadxnurse

  • 2 reviews

love it

published

I love this air fryer so much!
Just the right size and it is so easy to cook and fry food in it.
I can cook bread, spring rolls and chips so easily with this thing.

Purchased in September 2019 at The Good Guys for $180.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We love hearing you like the Airfryer as much as you do! Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences, we appreciate it. :-)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lindiloo

LindilooIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I bought the daily air fryer.

published

I bought the daily air fryer, I Don't like the fact accessories for a 7" is hard to find like the fryer pan. If anyone is looking to buy one XL or XXL is the better way to go.

Purchased in August 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roxana

RoxanaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

very handy and healthy

published

what I love about this product:
1- Easy cleaning (dishwasher safe)
2- no oil required so makes it perfect for making meatballs etc
3- even great for toasting bread
4- not only you do not need oil but also removes extra oil, a great product specially for ppl with high cholesterol
my fav one is making chips in it, it makes it crispy
what I don't like about it:
the only thing I didn't like is its a bit noisy

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

alexaaa

alexaaaSouth East Queensland, QLD

My favourite kitchen appliance!

published

Since we purchased this air fryer, we have been nothing but impressed with it. From chips, to steak, to lamb cutlets, all of the food I have cooked in there comes out both tender and delicious. It’s easy to use and is easily cleaned in the dishwasher. I love this product so much, that I’ll be purchasing a second.

Purchased in December 2017 for $189.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
yun

yunSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Air Fryer

published

Best airfryer. does perfect job every time. Just little small for the family. and not very convenient to wash.But overall, Good. Built last long we have using Philips AirFryer last 4 yrs without any problem.

Purchased in June 2015 for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Philips Airfryer XXL Smart Digital HD9861/99

Looking for a Fryer?

Read more about Philips Airfryer for a healthier way to fry.

64 reviews
Ad
Jan

JanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

I love my wings in this

published

My kids got this for me for mother days and it has been fantastic so far. I would love an Xxl size instead but will wait until Christmas sale or so.

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DebbieS

DebbieSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Best on the market!!

published

I absolutely love this air fryer, the meat & chicken comes out tender and juicy, I love cooking my lamb racks in it, with roast potatoes sweet potatoes and pumpkin, just put the rack of lamb on top of the veggies and the juice and marinade drips over them. Both my partner and I are chefs and can’t believe how great and fast this cooks tasty delicious meals.

Purchased in December 2017 at Myer Retail Stores for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedSeveral times a week
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 2
See all Philips Original Airfryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

Does the Philips Airfryer Original have a timer?

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jane, thank you for the question. The HD9218/51 has an integrated timer which allows you to pre-set cooking times of up to 30 minutes. You can find more information about the product on this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9218_51/daily-collection-airfryer-with-rapid-air-technology. We hope this makes it clear!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jane
Jane

Thanks for the information.

John H.

John H.asked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

how any litres is this machine

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank you for your message. The capacity of the matching basket is 28 oz. If you happen to have any further questions, feel free to contact our product specialists directly through the numbers below:
0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Rama
Rama

I think it is 10 Ltrs but not sure

Margaret J.

Margaret J.asked

Original HD9216/81 (White)

How many litres is this air fryer

2 answers
Rama
Rama

From memory it is 2.2 L but You probably better off to check their website also .

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hiya, Margaret

Thanks for your question. The capacity of the basked is 28oz which is about 0,8 liters.

Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

See all Philips Original Airfryer questions

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Philips Original Airfryer

Details

Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer
Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2021

Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)

4.4
(85)
CategoryAir FryersAir FryersAir Fryers
Price (RRP) $239.00$239.00$239.00
Capacity0.8 kg0.8 kg0.8 kg
Non-Stick CoatingYesYesYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYesYesYes
TimerYesYesYes
Weight7 kg7 kg7 kg
Power1,425 W1,425 W1,425 W
Colour / FinishBlackWhiteWhite
Cord Length0.8 m0.8 m0.8 m
Dimensions 384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Replaced byPhilips Airfryer Original HD9216/91 (White)
Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.