??!
5 photos
Philips Original Airfryer
4.5 from 142 reviews · View Statistics

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Looking for a healthier way to enjoy delicious, home-cooked food? Read on for more information on the benefits of air fryers, plus important features to look out for when buying.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (55)
  • Value for Money
    4.8 (54)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (55)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (55)
  • Product is used
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Jennifer D.

Jennifer D.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Very convenient

published

Chips, chicken, potato ,pork almost all food that we eat except with liquid of course and plus the only thing I’m having hard time with my air fryer is when I clean it but overall I’m super happy

Purchased in October 2019 at Big W for A$129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Nancy Chen

Nancy ChenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Best appliance bought

published

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Weiwei

WeiweiPerth, WA

  • 42 reviews
  • 9 likes

Use it everyday!

published

We use the air fryer everyday from just making toast (we don’t have a toaster) to frying veges, chips and meat. It is so quick and easy and convenient to use and easy to clean, although we don’t necessarily wash it after every use.
Food produced by the air fryer is great but must be spaced out to allow air to go through each food item to ensure crispyness if you’re making chips for example.

Purchased in January 2015 at The Good Guys for A$200.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karim A.

Karim A.Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Really good for the price

published

I got this at a really good price it was perfect ever since, we use it to make all sort of healthy fried food, using less oil to make fries is really the reason I decided to get this.

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Fahad A.

Fahad A.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

I cannot live without it

published

The most important part of my cooking life. I cannot imagine how it makes my life easier and more healthy without any oil just turn it on and the food cooked well. It is not like the other Air fryer I have used.

Purchased in March 2017 at Target Australia for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

nickname

nickname

  • 2 reviews

Love my air fryer!

published

We find this is the perfect size for our 2 person household. Really easy to use and much faster than an oven. We usually use it for roasting vegetables but I am keen to try a roast in there.
Easy to clean as I just put the trays components straight in the dishwasher.
Can't comment on the value for money as it was a present.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Glen2000

Glen2000

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great we use it everyday

published

We are on our second one we baought the original one when it first came out we had it for 8 years and used it all the time. It still worked when we replaced it. This new one we have had for a year and its great too. We have told all our friends and i would totally recommend it. You can cook something in the ime it would take to heat our big oven.

Purchased in February 2010 at Harvey Norman for A$130.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Rupinder S.

Rupinder S.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

I m in love with it.

published

Oil free food, cardio suitable.
Time saver
Convenient
Healthy options.
Yes, you can enjoy the crispiness of the food if you want.
The great thing is that you can bake in it

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Glad to hear this and thanks for sharing!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Kuchs

KuchsSouth Australia

Disappointing that there is no recipe book or proper instruction book

published

I bought my first time ever air fryer just before Easter. I have cooked on it over the weekend and found it to be an excellent product. The only disappointing part was the lack of instructions and no recipe book (even basic one). I would have thought the product should have at least come with both of these.

Purchased in April 2020 at Big W for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sharnelle T.

Sharnelle T.

  • 5 reviews

Perfect for any house hold

published

This has been the best purchase we have every done, had this air fryer for 4 years and still use it twice a day! It’s amazing and I love it

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sharnelle T.

Sharnelle T.

  • 5 reviews

Amazing

published

This has been awesome
They have the best quality out of all the air fryers
I have had one for 4 years and still use it twice a day, it’s the best!

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Erin

ErinSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Easy, healthy and useful

published

We use our air fryer a few times a week. It doesn't use any oil, so it's healthy, and it takes half the time of the oven. We mostly use it for potatoes and roast vegetables, but you can also cook chicken legs ( the skin gets nice and crisp) or heat up bread rolls for a nice outer crust. We're normally cooking for two, but can use it for up to four people. It can be difficult to clean, so we prefer not to use it for meats or messy foods, but it's easy to use and the foods we do make come out really great!

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jacque J.

Jacque J.

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

cant live with out this product

published

I bought this when the hype was on about healthy eating and because I am a celiac I need to watch what I eat. I thought hubby might not take to the food but he loves the home made chips and hash browns also crisps pies up and you can do baking but I haven't done that side of it. The beauty is you don't need any oil so all you are having is healthy food less salt and fats. It is easy to clean with just a wipe out and store again in your cupboard

Purchased at Target Australia for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Jimbobra1234

Jimbobra1234Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Perfect for convenient cooking

published

Very happy with my air fryer, I use it every day to cook most of my meals. No fuss timer, Which means you’ll never overcook anything or accidentally leave the machine on. I have cooked everything from roast chicken to spring rolls in here and always comes out perfectly crispy. Also great to reheat pizza and other fried and fatty foods as it keeps it crispy and not soggy

Purchased at Big W for A$152.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dee

DeeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

I love my air fryer so much

published

I have had this air fryer for over a year now and I've only used my oven twice since. I often cook roast veg and sausages all at once in the machine and love the way nothing is dry.

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W Online Store for A$149.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Original Airfryer compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great appliance for one or two servings and easy to use!!!

published

Another great buy! I loved that my teenage children can grill their snacks after school. Much easier to clean than the oven and the small capacity is great for snacks or meal for 1.

Purchased in June 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're glad to hear this and thanks for sharing! :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Mahesh S.

Mahesh S.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What a great cooker !!

published

I a extremely satisfied with this product and concept. We don't use oil at all. Great cooker. We have potato chips, chicken , fish, beef, pork anything on this air fryer without adding any oil.

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
Matthew K.

Matthew K.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Better than an oven

published

This works really well for our small family. I find the cook time is less than a conventional oven and food is crispier and less oily. Very happy with product. The baking pan and skewers are a good addon

Purchased in January 2019 at Myer for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
MumWithKids

MumWithKidsSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 5 likes

Quick and easy

published

I have to say I was super surprised at how quick and well this works. Being super skeptical, I attempted everything in it except cake. Fabulous! No oil! LOVE IT!

But for quick kids dinner when its been that type of day I just can not fault it. Saved my sanity a few times.

Purchased in April 2018 at The Good Guys for A$95.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you for the positive review. Great to hear you enjoy using the Airfyer so much and that it's a nice solution for preparing a quick meal by the end of a long day.

Kind regards,
The Phililps Australia Team

Just another Consumer

Just another ConsumerGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Finally took the plunge & it's great!

published

Was skeptical about Philips air fryer but never regret after took the plunge & bought it. Wife using it most of the time. One of the best ever product they made. Would recommend to anyone who still deciding about this brand air fryer.

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Page 1 of 5
See all Philips Original Airfryer reviews

Questions & Answers

Jane

Janeasked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

Does the Philips Airfryer Original have a timer?

2 answers
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Jane, thank you for the question. The HD9218/51 has an integrated timer which allows you to pre-set cooking times of up to 30 minutes. You can find more information about the product on this page: https://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD9218_51/daily-collection-airfryer-with-rapid-air-technology. We hope this makes it clear!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Jane
Jane

Thanks for the information.

John H.

John H.asked

Original HD9218/51 (Black)

how any litres is this machine

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thank you for your message. The capacity of the matching basket is 28 oz. If you happen to have any further questions, feel free to contact our product specialists directly through the numbers below:
0800 658 224 (NZ) from Monday - Friday: 09:00 am - 09:00 pm and 1300 363 391 (AU) Monday - Friday: 07:00 am - 07:00 pm EST.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Margaret J.

Margaret J.asked

Original HD9216/81 (White)

How many litres is this air fryer

2 answers
Rama
Rama

From memory it is 2.2 L but You probably better off to check their website also .

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hiya, Margaret

Thanks for your question. The capacity of the basked is 28oz which is about 0,8 liters.

Hope this helps!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer
Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2021

Philips Airfryer Original HD9216/81 (White)

4.4
(85)
CategoryAir FryersAir FryersAir Fryers
Price (RRP) A$239.00A$239.00A$239.00
Capacity0.8 kg0.8 kg0.8 kg
Non-Stick CoatingYesYesYes
Dishwasher Safe PartsYesYesYes
TimerYesYesYes
Weight7 kg7 kg7 kg
Power1,425 W1,425 W1,425 W
Colour / FinishBlackWhiteWhite
Cord Length0.8 m0.8 m0.8 m
Dimensions 384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm384 x 315 x 287 mm
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Replaced byPhilips Airfryer Original HD9216/91 (White)
Compare all 3 Philips Original Airfryer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.