??!
1 photo
Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

MPN: HD9240-90
3.4 from 190 reviews

Air Fryers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of air fryer would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.4

190 reviews
5
(63)
4
(38)
3
(35)
2
(25)
1
(29)
Previous
Next

product flaw

published

repair twice and still not working after months. what a piece of crap. surely there is a major product flaw! philips should recall all affected models!!! lost faith with philips products except maybe lightings.

Purchased in January 2015 for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Completely Dead after 2 years

published

I bought the Philips Airfryer on February 14th 2018. Last week, I plugged in to use it and it is completely dead. So so disappointed. I paid $299.00 (It was $100.00 off from William and Sonoma online, original price $399.00) and I used it an average of twice a month mosty for peppers, tofu and fries. I called the Philips assistance and the warranty expired, I asked if they have assistance in Seattle area to fix it, nothing. So so disappointed. I will not buy another Philips Airfryer!!!!
Nunzia

Purchased in February 2018 at Williams-Sonoma for A$299.00.

Product is used Monthly
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Nunzia Capezzuto
Nunzia Capezzuto

Thank you for your reply. The case number is 600020347972. I tried Facebook and Twitter and the page doesn't work.

Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for getting back to us, Nunzia. Regarding the inability to access Twitter or Facebook, did you try using a laptop or a different web browser? Maybe this can help.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team.

Dianne Harris

Dianne HarrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

Devastated

published

I have had my Phillips XL Air Fryer for nearly 4 years now & was so impressed I had purchased another one for a gift recently. I could not believe it that this wonderful machine died on me whilst in the middle of cooking dinner. It had been working fine then just stopped. No power at all showing on unit. Changed power outlets without success. Can't see if there could be a relay switch.

Purchased at JB Hi-Fi for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black) compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great when it works

published

Had my Air Fryer for just under 2 years. Had the same electrical fault as everyone else. Took it back to the retailer who have sent it off to be repaired. It's now been 2 weeks and the repairer hasn't even looked at it. Repairer told me that it could be quite some time before it is even assessed and even longer if they have to obtain the parts to repair it. So much for a 2-year warranty!

Purchased in February 2018 at The Good Guys for A$269.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Michael Moxon

Michael MoxonSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great for small things

published

It fries small things well but not larger things.
I usually use it for chips or chicken nuggets or chicken strips.
Its not very easy to clean properly, i use a dishwasher and it takes a few goes to clean it well.

Purchased in July 2015 at It was a gift..

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
sj64

sj64Western Australia

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

More than expected , love it

published

Bought this on sale $299 and have been experimenting throughout the week
Roast veggies crisp under 30 minutes
Wedges amazing and 15 minutes
Cant wait to try more but super impressed , easy to use and cleaning is simple.
Only criticism is instruction book doesn’t really have any startup information but easy to find on the net
This is the best!

Purchased in July 2019 at Retravision for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Bjorn O.

Bjorn O.South East Queensland, QLD

Philips..Expected Better Quality

published

I have had two HD9240s over 5 years. The first had display issues just outside the warranty period and required an $180 fix to replace the control module and power supply board. The second is 9 months out of warranty and have notice the draw runners are loosing its ball bearings. Poor design in incorporating bearing spacers which are effected by heat and disintegrate allowing the balls to fall off the runner. I have always had I high expectation of the brand name but sadly this has diminished after encountering these issues.

Purchased in September 2016 at Bill Guyett.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
3 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Bjorn O.
Bjorn O.

Update: Philips were responsive to issues raised in my post and were quick to resolve. The outcome was that my Airfryer is now back to normal operation.
So kudos to Philips for restoring my faith in the brand.

Philips
Philips S.Philips
Tracey

Tracey

  • 2 reviews

Great Purchase

published

I've been deliberating whether to purchase an air fryer for over a year and decided to take the plunge when this was on sale. I definitely don't regret it as we use our air fryer everyday if not every second day. I would consider this a medium sized air fryer, perfect for a couple. It's brilliant for cooking frozen foods and we have cooked steak and pork belly in it. Efficient, quick and time saving! My only qualm would be that there is a slight oil smell which spreads but other than, no regrets in my purchase.

Purchased in April 2019 at Myer Online Store for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
BSL

BSLNORTH SYDNEY

  • 4 reviews

Time to look for a cheaper alternative

published

I use it frequently. 2 year warranty expiring in 2 days. Now it's changing the temperature and timer on its own. $300 for 2 years not good value for money.

Purchased in April 2016.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black) compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LLL

LLLMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Great product

published

Owned this airfryer for more than a year and I’m still in love with it. Regret for not getting it earlier. The machine cooks meat and veggies perfectly. Absolutely great for people who don’t know how to cook. U will be amazed how quick the machine cooks. Bought one for my friend for Christmas present and she loves it too.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Lola

LolaPERTH

  • 5 reviews

It is simply wonderful.

published

Highly satisfied. I have cooked six different meals which are nice and healthy. Really like this product and strongly recommend. Easy to use, great for cooking quickly when time poor. Healthier cooking with no oil and fat drips away. I use mine everyday.
The product does require care, so please use as recommended and wash it at least weekly if you cannot daily.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Tan

Tan

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect healthy option

published

Extremely satisfied. I cook chicken, lamb and steak oil free. Less cooking time. Time saver. Takes less space. If any one in keen in buying an airfryer I would recommend this. No regrets. No hassle in baking in the oven or having to wash frying pans. Makes life much easier

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Isabel

IsabelROKEWOOD JUNCTION

  • 4 reviews

I love it.

published

The outcome of this is between fried and baked, but it doesn't need a single drop of oil and only takes ~30min for wings and fries. The size is perfect for 1-2 people.Baked sweet potatoes with this fryer take only for 30 mins . usually it takes for an hour in oven. Very practical to use and easy clean with washmashine.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, Isabel.
It's great to hear you've found such a good use for the Airfryer. Aren't those sweet potatoes great? Thanks for sharing your review. :)
Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team.

LachlanSTT

LachlanSTTRockhampton City

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love the air fryer

published

I cannot believe it took me this long to get an air fryer. I rarely use my oven now. The best part, no need to preheat and clean up is so simple and quick. My family loves it!Love the air fryer. So nice to have a healthy great tasting meal in such short time & not heat up the kitchen doing so!

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Ramit

Ramit

  • 6 reviews

Works wonders

published

Initially I was not a big fan of any airfyer. I friend suggested and we decided to give it a now. It's now a every day use gadget for us. Can believe how much oil all these processed food contains. No need to add any further oil. Food taste almost the same.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Air Fryers

Find out how Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black) compares to other Air Fryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hami

HamiSydney

  • 10 reviews

Great Product

published

I loved this product having bought a smaller one 3 years ago, last year I got the XL one and it works great. although I have to say it makes a some what of a noise when its on but nothing annoying overall. would defiantly recommend it to those whom love healthy eating as this product sucks out the fat when cooking.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
mummaof2

mummaof2Brisbane

  • 6 reviews

Cant live without it!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Charlxtte

CharlxtteSydney

  • 2 reviews

Great Air Fryer

published

The price is a bit expensive but it is still ok as the quality is quite good, it air fry food very nicely, especially with chicken wings and fried fish, it makes life easier when you want to cook a meal
It’s like an oven actually but it’s more convenient cuz it is more convenient to take food in and out

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Joyce

Joyce

  • 2 reviews

philips air fryer

published

I have found my Philips air fryer fantastic. pork belly is delicious & crackle is the best. l also love to cook my salmon in the air fryer & chips are to die for. The grand kids love the chicken nuggets . Steak is also delicious cooked this way. Enjoy

Date PurchasedNov 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Sue

SueSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

The best airfryer!

published

I purchased this Phillips air fryer a year ago and I have been using it nearly everyday. Super easy to cook and keep it clean!!! I love it!
I normally cook chips, fish, steak etc perfectly crispy with very small amount of oil !!!I dont use any oil sometimes but still crispy.
I managed to lose weight and i feel healthy.
It was a bit expensive but its definitely worth it!!!
I highly reccomemd this product.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there. Wow, great to hear you became a daily user of the Airfryer! It's very good to hear you've been loving it so much, and we appreciate it a lot you took the time to share your thoughts here. :-)
Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Page 1 of 10
See all Philips Airfryer XL reviews

Questions & Answers

Sandra R

Sandra Rasked

XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

Is this air fryer in Celsius or Fahrenheit?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Sandra,
Thank you for your question. It's nice to see that you're interested in this device. We've looked into it and the units used on this device are in degree Celsius. If you'd like to have an idea of what you can bake with this Airfyer, then you may want to check out our official recipe book: https://philips.to/2AyCLJc.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Stevo

Stevoasked

XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

Hi guys ,i have had my air fryer a couple of years.The fan made some funny noises and now it has stopped spinning.Is it stuffed or can i tighten it from the inside?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Ley,

Thank you for your inquiry about your Airfryer XL. We are sorry to hear that it has been producing strange sounds, and has eventually stopped spinning. We can imagine the disappointment this may have caused you, as you have enjoyed using it for a couple of years. We would like to see how we can help. One reason that may have caused the unusual noise is that there may be something loose inside the Airfryer. This then, should be sent to us for repair.

Please contact the following numbers to schedule your appointment: 1300 363 391 (Mondays to Saturdays from 7:00 am until 7:00 pm) in Australia and 0800 658 224 for New Zealand. Please allow some time to process the call due to the current circumstances.

Have a wonderful week!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team

Serafin P.

Serafin P.asked

XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

smc diode value for D1 and D2 busted parts for Philips Airfryer XL Digital HD9240/90 (Black)

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Serafin,

Thank you for your question. Should you be facing any issues with your Airfryer, please feel free to reach out to our product specialists on 1300 363 391 (Australia), or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand). They'll be happy to look into it for you.

Kind regards,

The Philips Australia Team

Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.