??!
2 photos
Philips Viva Collection Induction Cooker HD4937/72

Philips Viva Collection Induction Cooker HD4937/72

MPN: 36526754
1.9 from 37 reviews

Good for a bach or a small flat

Bought this when I’m temporarily living in a small flat. The pre-set cooking functions are fine, but you need to watch it carefully. It can be dangerous. I use the manual function mostly. It is like using a normal stove cooktop. You need to adjust accordingly. I found it is actually quite useful when there is no cooking facilities or lack of space. I can cook anything on it, as long as I keep an eye on it. Very fast when it comes to boiling water. I don’t use my electric jag anymore. I think the noise is more of a problem. The fan goes pretty loud. Other than that, I am happy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Noel Leeming Physical store.

1 comment
Hi Eric, thank you for sharing your experience! We're happy to hear that the induction cooker has been a good solution for a small space. You can always give us a call at 1300 363 391 or contact us on social media should you ever need assistance with it - we'll do our best to answer any questions or address any concerns that you might have. Have a great day! Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team

Waste of money.

Was talked into buying this at Harvey Norman . Not user friendly . Waste of money. Hate it. I bought it for guest unit. When I first used it it boiled everything too fast . So I stopped using it. No one has used it so I tried again today . Won’t stop beeping . Will have to throw it out and get something else.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Hello there, Annie. We're sorry to hear about your negative experience with the Induction Cooker. We would like to see how we can improve your experience with the appliance. You could reach by phone, for Australia please call 1300 363 391 and for New Zealand 0800 658 224. You can also reach us via Facebook or Twitter (@PhilipsCare). Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Keeps cutting out

I wish wish wish I’d read the reviews before I bought this. I had a much cheaper brand that I had for years before it died. I decided to purchase a better quality from a brand I knew and trusted. Big mistake. It cuts out constantly about every 2-3 minutes if I have it above 800, so much for frying and using a wok. Honestly it’s rubbish. Sorry!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
3 comments
Hi Millypilly, Thanks a lot for sharing your thoughts with us. It could indeed be the case that the cooker stops heating when using the regular mode. We kindly recommend you to try the 'Fry' mode and use oil in the wok. Please adjust the power to 800-1200W, you should then be able to wok on 200+ degrees Celsius. We hope that helps! If you have any further questions, feel free to reach out to our product specialists, who should be able to assist you further. You're able to contact them by phone on 0800 658 22, but it's also possible to send us a message on either Facebook or Twitter (@PhilipsCare). It would then be great if you could share the product sticker with us in your message. Good luck for now! Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamThanks very much for the reply. I will definitely try this mode. Coukd i suggest the instructions are reviewed?My hd4937 does not have a fry mode, the button on the photo supplied says fry but on my machine it says “manual”, this is the mode I’m having trouble with. I’ll phone the hotline.

Biggest piece of rubbish I have ever purchased

Like many other users here I am extremely disappointed with this appliance. The supposed manual function does not perform at all. Why is there no option to just select a power option eg 400w and leave it at that till you want to switch it off. I have never been able to do this regardless of what function I select. It either turns off or changes power level on its own accord. Like the post before me I want my money back. And your manual is not even useful for any purpose, not even toilet paper.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review the Viva Collection Induction Cooker. We regret to hear that you're not happy with the appliance and that you're experiencing some issues with it. Our colleagues would like to see how they can be of assistance. It would be great if you could give them a call on 1300 363 391, so they can look into this further. We're hoping to hear from you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Absolute Garbage

We've had nothing but trouble with this thing since we bought it. The power is way too strong even on the lowest settings, and it shuts down by itself at random. The other day we were using it to cook chicken pasta sauce, and it burned some of the chicken pieces black on the outside while leaving them undercooked on the inside. We've had to stop using it because we're worried about getting food poisoning from undercooked meat. All in all, it's absolute garbage and I would not recommend to anyone.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Hi James, thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you've had this many issues with the induction cooker and don't feel like it made life easier. We would like to change this experience. Could you, therefore, reach out to us on either Twitter or Facebook sharing this? We would like to see what we can do for you. Thank you. Kind Regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Hate it with a vengence

I am very very disappointed with my Phillips induction cook top. I can’t move away from it as it cuts out every 2 mins very very irritated, not user friendly at all. I DONT WANT IT ANYMORE, cheaper induction portable cooktop much more reliable, how can I get money back,

Date PurchasedJun 2017

It was good while it lasted

This was my first induction cooker.
It was great, I used it nearly everyday instead of electric or gas.
It makes boiling water easy with timer that can be set to go off.
Cooking was great, it has enough power to do stir fly.
The area of cooking was enough for all my pots and pans.
I think it saved me money, because gas and electric cost more.
Because it is portable I sometimes use it for hot pot on the dining table for family gatherings.
I really liked it, however after a bit more than a year or so it stopped working. It didn’t turn on.
It was good while it lasted.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for sharing your review here. Glad to hear that the induction cooker served you so well. If you'd like you can contact our product team directly to see if anything can be done about your defect cooker. Our team can be reached via 1300 363 391. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Salesman sold a pup

Purchased to simmer/reduce tomatoes in a stock pot for sauce and tomato paste.
Salesman said it had temperature control, but it does not - it only has thermostat control which is very crude and burns the sauce to the bottom of the pot. I can't use a temperature controller as the cooker will not turn on if the power supply is controlled, and the timer cuts the power within 2 hours if it is not reset.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
3 comments
Thank you for your feedback, BruceM. We're sorry to hear you feel this way about the Induction Cooker. We would like to have our product specialists assist further, and so we encourage you to reach out to them on: 1300 363 391. They are able to inform you on the possibilities with the Induction Cooker. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.Specialist couldn't help as there is no fault with the cooker, it is simply inappropriate for the purpose for which it was purchased. The Specialist was unable to offer suggestions because I could not adequately explain the difference between temperature control and thermostat control. Hardly Normal couldn't help because the cooker has been used and was not faulty. Hopefully one day I'll find a use for it.Thank you for your feedback, Bruce. That’s very much appreciated. We’re sorry to hear that your Induction cooker can’t be used for the intended purchase. We understand that this must be quite a disappointment! However, we hope that you can find a new purpose for the appliance. Just check out the manual for a couple of suggestions: https://www.download.p4c.philips.com/files/h/hd4937_72/hd4937_72_dfu_eng.pdf. Thank you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Paul GOOD VERY GOOD I WOULDIN'T SAY PERFECT NOTHING IS

i have had mine for about 3 weeks now but i am very pleased with it I got it home could hardly see user manual lost my glasses Plugged it in and figured it out for myself within about half hour And havin't looked back one thing i would say is make your print on the user manual bigger so it can be seen clearly To many manufacturer's are going that way now they seem to like small print (But other then that very happy)

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hello Luger, we're very happy to hear that one of our Induction Cookers has found its way home to you and that you love using it! Thank you for your review and the provided feedback, it's much appreciated. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Awful

I am a senior age solo male. I purchased my Philips induction cooker thinking it would make life easier in the kitchen..... well...l nothing but frustration..... doesn’t seem to matter what setting I use this thing boils the guts out of whatever I try to cook.... I purchased the Philips brand because I thought it was quality.... a big mistake.... and the instruction manual is useless..... it’s going in the rubbish.... and no more Philips products fo me and I told all my children

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Hi Mike, thank you for taking the time to review the Viva Collection Induction Cooker. We regret to hear that the appliance is not performing as you expected. We'd like to let you know that the Induction Cooker has both manual and auto cooking features. The manual settings on the appliance are Sauté, Roast and Fry. The other settings are programmed to change the temperature automatically after a set time for the programmed cooking feature. If you'd like to speak to someone directly about your Induction Cooker, then you could always give our colleagues a call on 1300 363 391 (Australia) or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand). We wish you a very nice week, Mike. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamThanks for reply, I threw the cooker in the rubbish bin

Phillips induction cooker never again

This is the worst product I have ever purchased. You have no control it has a mine of it's own. It Just keeps to boiling rapidly and continuously burns everything you try to cook. I have never been so disappointed in a product as I was in this one.Never buy a Phillips induction cooker.

Date PurchasedSep 2015
3 comments
Hey Deena, Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We regret hearing the induction cooker didn't meet your expectations. We're curious to see if there is anything we can do to help you enjoy your Induction cooker. Could you please contact one of our product specialist on 1300 363 391? They are more than happy to take a look at your cooker and try to answer all your questions. We hope to hear from you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.Sorry your is to late it has a new home at the op shop. Regards DeenaHello Deena, We're sorry to hear this. If there is anything we can assist you with in the future, you can always reach out to us via social media or by telephone. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Instructions still wrong

On boil the default is 20 minutes not 3 and can't be changed. The other programmes don't seem to relate to any useful cooking activity. Slow cooking gets out of control very quickly. Hot pot seems to work on manual control only. Please bring out a corrected information sheet. Poor show Philips.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
2 comments
Hello Dave, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties that you have experienced and we like to get in touch and see if we can help. Please call us on 1300 363 391 Mondays to Saturdays: 7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamHi again, Dave! One thing we forgot to mention earlier: you can find the latest version of the instructions at the following link: http://www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD4937_72/viva-collection-induction-cooker/support. You can always call us on the number we earlier mentioned as well, if you prefer. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Still poor instructions

Instructions are absolutely terrible and don't instruct one iota. Once you throw them away and fiddle it cooks OK. Philips have been roasted throughout this review page for this glaring misstep but choose not to do a thing about it. Bad Philips....act on advice. That aside it cooks great soup on a low heat using Saute and 100w.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
1 comment
Hi there, we're sorry to hear about the difficulties you have experienced. We like to inform you that our latest instructions can be found here: https://www.download.p4c.philips.com/files/h/hd4937_72/hd4937_72_dfu_eng.pdf If you have any further questions, feel free to ask. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Automatic change in heat temp

After 3-4 minutes it automatically jumps to full heating power & boils everything over. No matter what the selected menu is.
Having read other reviews, we too have experienced similar issues.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
2 comments
The Philips Induction Cooker has both manual and auto cooking features. The manual settings on the Philips Induction Cooker are Sauté, Roast and Fry. The other settings are programmed to change the temperature automatically after a set time for the programmed cooking feature. Updated instructions can be found on our website. Please follow the following link - www.philips.com.au/c-p/HD4937_72/viva-collection-induction-cooker/support Or if you prefer, please contact one of our product specialist on 1300 363 391.Thanks - will try

Awful product terrible customer service from Philips

Bought this at Christmas to replace our previous induction portable cooktop, which had worked without issues for over six years but had eventually died due to overwork (RIP). Non-existent instructions and super fiddly presets have meant we have hardly used it and had to try and figure it out the programmes ourselves. Eventually trying to use this as a slow cooker was my breaking point. It automatically kept setting itself to 240c/1800w and burned the food and set off the smoke alarm, thank heavens I was there when it happened and had not been elsewhere or there would have been a fire. Repeated attempts to try and get the unit to stay at the temperature I chose resulted in me googling for the instructions (useless) and then ending up talking to their "customer service team". Appalling service and rep was not even listening to me just parroting set phrases from the booklet. Eventually after the third or fourth time of them repeating the same sentence from the instructions about the slow cook function button being beside the menu button, which I had already said I knew and had used, I pointed out I had just googled reviews for it. Even on the PHILIPS page for the product people were saying this thing is hopeless and the manual setting really was not manual at all and the replies from PHILIPS was basically "sorry you did not like our product". The rep went quiet and then said "you should take it back then to where you bought it" and disconnected the call. I had not said any cuss words or anything during the call and had not lost my temper. Luckily the Good Guys where I bought it will give me a refund and their team member was not surprised I was returning it!! Not. Happy. Jan

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
We're sorry to hear your not impressed with our customer service. We would like to make sure this does not happen again. Can you please provide a call centre reference number or you contact details by private message? We will send you a private message now. Thank you in advance.

Worthless manual and many settings should be avoided

I am disappointed with this product. The instruction manual provides scant information. The manual temperature adjustments I made when my pasta sauce was boiling too vigorously were over-ridden by the cooker back to high heat. I have learned from reading reviews here that 'fry' or 'roast' should be used on a manually set temperature to avoid this. But that makes for quite a disappointing flaw in this product, especially when there is no warning in the manual about this. And the 'slow cook' mode should be what it says it is - slow cook - NOT up to 100 degrees celsius.

I would recommend to Phillips that for a cheaper model like this one they should mostly do away with preset modes and give the customer a more control of temperature settings - then provide an instruction manual that recommends temperature settings for different food types and cooking modes.

On a brighter note this device is excellent for preparing stove-top cofee.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Hey Rohan, What a pity to hear you're not that satisfied with your Induction Cooker. If you're in Australia, we'd recommend you to call 1300 363 391 to get in touch with our local product experts. We're more than willing to see if there's anything we can do for you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Weight issues?

I have been using this for a year, hardly ever though because I can only use it with one wok. It seems as though it only can sense the weight of particular pots and saucepans but can't detect anything other than the one wok. The sad thing is it is becoming damaged- will I have to purchase heavier pots and pans just to use this? It continuously just beeps when I put anything else on it.

Date PurchasedNov 2015
1 comment
Hi there, Thank you for your review and sorry to hear that there seem to be some issues. Would you please call us at 1300 363 391? Our agents will be happy to assist you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

This is rubbish

I bought this to give me something to cook on during a kitchen upgrade. The first time that I used it it adjusted it's temperature and damaged an expensive saucepan that was one of a set and is no longer made. This cooktop also seems to have a hot-spot in it exactly where my saucepan was blistered. Calling the call centre is a waste of time because this is in the Phillipines and the staff referred me to companies that had never heard of this appliance. This appliance will put me off buying anything branded Philips. I will avoid their products from now on.

Date PurchasedFeb 2015
2 comments
Hello, Thanks for reaching out to us here. We're sorry to hear what happened to your saucepan while you were using this Induction Cooker. Could you please send us your e-mail address and phone number in a private message? We'd like to see if there's anything we can do for you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia TeamI did send my email, but have not heard from Philips

This is the second one that has stopped working mid-cook!

I purchased one from JB hi fi and used it for about 6 months and one day it just stopped working? Took it back to JB who gave me a new one without too much hassle. This one lasted less than 6 months! I was cooking bacon and eggs for breakfast this morning when a flash (like lightning) came out. It tripped the safety circuit and now it doesn't work either. I will be taking this one back to JBs and asking for a refund. I don't want to be electrocuted whilst cooking! Very bad experience Phillips! Took it back to JBs this morning, FULL REFUND - decided not to try my luck for a third time!

Date PurchasedDec 2015
1 comment
Hello Helen, Thank you for contacting us about this. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with this induction cooker. The incident you've described is something we absolutely take very seriously, as safety for the user is always our main concern when designing our products. We would like to contact you directly about this to discuss your experience further. We've sent you a private message on here with the details we hope to learn and we'll continue the conversation over there for now. We hope all is well and to speak to you soon. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

So disappointed at dreadfully inadequate instructions

Thank goodness for the reviews here! If not for those reviews I'd never have learned how to control the unit manually. I cannot believe that a company as big as Philips could possibly think the leaflet that accompanies this product could pass for an adequate user manual. You really need to work on that, Philips. It is woefully, abysmally inadequate. Also, the point size of the print is TINY, which just adds to the frustration of an already uninformative experience.
Worse still, I contacted the chat service both in Australia and Singapore and they both gave me the wrong information. Both chat agents told me there was no way to control the temperature manually. Which of course, after reading the reviews, I realize is the wrong info. This is really sub-standard service, Philips, if your own representatives do not give accurate info.
Other than that, the unit itself works fine - it heats up fast and has enough presets to meet many cooking requirements. However, the buttons and functions are hard to see, especially at night, and especially if you're using it outdoors, where lighting may not be as bright as an indoor kitchen. A back light or a contrasting color for the control panel would be most welcome in future updates.

Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Hello Jan, thanks for sharing your concerns and the valuable feedback. We can imagine your frustration. Please call us on 1300 363 391, we’d like to get in touch and see if we can help you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

I bought my philips induction viva collection 2months before and i have used it two times and it doesn't heating All the other things are working bt it doesn't heating So plzz help me how to resolve the problem
1 answer
Hi Vikas, thanks for reaching out. We regret to hear that you only got to use your Viva Collection Induction Cooker twice and we'd like to see how we can get the appliance up and running again. Have you perhaps already connected it to a different outlet? If that does not make a difference, could you then give us a call at 1300 363 391 (Australia) or 0800 658 224 (New Zealand)? Then we can look into this further. We're hoping to hear from you. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

I just used my new induction for two days and today i forgot to switch off the induction and after 3 to 4 hrs I turned on it manually. And it turned off by tripping the electricity in whole house. And now it is not getting to turn on. I am not knowing what to do. Any suggestions?
1 answer
Hi there, Thank you for letting us know about this. We're sorry to hear you're having some issues with your induction cooker. Have you already tried plugging the cooker into another power outlet? It could be that an error occurred during the time you left it on. If this doesn't work, would you mind visiting us on Facebook or Twitter? Our agents will be more than happy to help you further. Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team.

Am using philips induction stove HD viva..for 2 years...but now i happend to see one problem in it...once it switched on...the temperature i set is automatically coming...down to the lowest possible...which ever be the temperature program either....stir fry...or pressure coocker or manual...all doing the same thing...what can i do?
1 answer
Hello Adarsh, This seems odd indeed, but please take note that the Induction Cooker has both manual and auto cooking features. The manual settings are only available with Sauté, Roast and Fry. It is normal for the other settings to change automatically after a set time or the cooking feature. Of course, you can reach out to our customer care about this too. You can reach out customer service on 1300 363 391, from Mondays to Saturdays (7:00 am - 7:00 pm EST). Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

Details

Viva Collection Induction Cooker HD4937/72
Price (RRP)$129
Width365
Depth108
Weight2.58
Elements1

Visit official website - Download manual
  • MPN: 36526754
  • GTIN13: 8710103806301

Similar listings