??!
1 photo
Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C (page 2 of 5)

PC-53AP/C (5.5kW), PC-58AP/C (6.0kW), PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)
3.8 from 88 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

(35)
(26)
(12)
(5)
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.1 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (8)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (5)
    • Small Bedroom (2)
    • Whole House (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (8)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.0 (8)
  • Portability
    3.8 (8)
GoneCamping1975

GoneCamping1975Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

Powerful portable aircon

published

We bought this unit during a heatwave. The unit itself is heavy. Sign of a quality unit.
It took around 30 mins to assemble the exhaust hose. It needs to be close to a window to be safe to run.
The unit cools down a room very fast.
We only have one negative point to make. We use our aircon in the bedroom. Our unit has blue lights that at night I can tell they are on. (Tall ships use red lights in living quarters that are constantly on at night when you sleep. The red light doesn’t affect people’s sleep.) polocool please take this into consideration as having the blue light is like having a constant light on in the room

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Brian

BrianBurnie

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for our small stand alone art studio

published

After much searching and deliberation, we settled on the Polocool 58.
Perfect for a small to medium space, might even do a reasonable job on a large space, but dunno.
Not a criticism, but more a suggested improvement would be to have larger wheels or somehow make the overflow outlet for the water higher so that you can get something under it.
I have made a 100mm non slip stand for the unit which works ok, but better thinking and ingenuity from the makers could eliminate this issue.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Golfdad1956

Golfdad1956Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

The Best Portable Choice

published

I love this aircon!
I saved our skins on so many hot Melbourne nights.
I have tried many of the portables but only these Polocools really bring the goods an effective cool down a lounge room on a 40c plus day.
They have much more solid construction than most of the others and also don't require the water being emptied as they mist it into the outlet vent.
Trust me, the others are pretty much a waste of time compared to this unit. Good news on spare parts too, they are readily available locally in Melbourne from Polocool.
Sure its dearer but you can't go wrong with this unit.
It's worth it.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ally M

Ally MBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Good unit to cool down a lounge room space

published

The unit was a savior during summer. The installation was relatively simple, but moving it beyond the living area is a little difficult. Using it in the bedroom was obstructed by the plastic window output not being long enough to lodge in the door. The unit was relatively quiet compared to the previous Polocool unit we had. Pretty satisfied with the unit but it was just short of strength making it into the bedroom.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Sarah

SarahBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product!

published

I'm very satisfied with this aircon, cools my small room down completely and isn't too noisey at all. The price of the aircon is completely worth the value! I'm a very happy customer and would definitely recommend the brand Polocool for your next air con purchase. Thanks Polocool for helping me with this heat!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Te Rinamona

Te Rinamona

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Wouldn't be sleeping at night without it

published

Extremely satisfied with this unit. Very easy to install, hubby installed all on his own. The noise of the unit is medium. Excellent product for this Australian summer. If we didn't have it no one would be sleeping as kids can't handle overheating. Would recommend product to friends and family.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Review collected in partnership with Polocool

Hayley D

Hayley DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews

Pure coolness at its best

published

I would be lost without this magical unit now. It has managed to keep up on the hottest of our days without so much as a hiccup. My son has autism and doesn't cope with the heat well so this has been a god send. The noise is actually not that loud which i was happy with.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Waste of money

published

Replaced a smaller older unit from Kogan with this piece of junk, won't cool a room down, goes from cycle to cycle and just blows air, DON'T buy one, no back up no nothing Harvey Norman should be ashamed to sell it and their salesmen are just liars who have no idea on what their selling

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Paulas

PaulasWyndham Vale

  • 8 reviews

This is the best refrigerated Air Con

published

This unit is amazing, it has far exceeded my expectations. The unit will cool a good sized room on the hottest of days. The cooling by refrigeration is by far the best air conditioning that a portable unit offer's. It is easy to move around, very portable. The filters are so easy to slide out and clean. The unit looks modern and has a remote control that will access every feature of the unit. The options are many and suit all need's. It will coll to as low as 1 degrees and with ease. I can not recommend this product highly enough. Great for renter's, spare room's, rumpus rooms and main areas....

Date PurchasedSep 2016
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LUTSlit

LUTSlitNewcastle

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

The best portable air con available on the market, full stop.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
SG1

SG1Melbourne

  • 2 reviews

Hot Weather Saver

published

This machine is AMAZING!! we got this living in a very small apartment and it literally takes moments to cool down the place and it keeps it cool. We find this sometimes better than a standard split system in the hot summer days. we will always use this during summer

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Taffy

TaffyDubbo

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

The best portable air conditioner on the market

published

Cooling a fairly large bedroom in 40 plus degree heat is a big job for any AC and this one did it perfectly. Whilst not cheap it does the job better then any other ac ive had. The only downside is the lights on the top which i had to cover to sleep due to the brightness.

December 7th 2017 Update: The best portable air conditioner on the market

Cooling a fairly large bedroom in 40 plus degree heat is a big job for any AC and this one did it perfectly. Whilst not cheap it does the job better then any other ac ive had. The only downside is the lights on the top which i had to cover to sleep

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Lisa

LisaBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

This does the job if u r renting

published

Firstly, This does cool and just cool. It keeps the room cooler if not icy. We got the size they recommended but I would say we needed bigger as it drops the temp but doesn't really make the room cool like a split system. It does need emptying even if u dont use the dehumidifier. and its messy to drain as the drain is so low to the floor. Take it outside. It is super noisy so beware if u need a quiet unit. But if u r renting and need a unit to cool then this does the job

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Bit noisey

published

Does an ok job of cooling but quiet noisy and hard to sleep with due to fan noise changes when temperatures are reached. As it comes on and off at early hours of morning causing an unsettling sleep. And also does this when it hits a low temperature alarm. Recommended only use for day use only.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
corinnelise

corinneliseQLD, 4122

  • 14 reviews

DOES work but consider your electricity bill

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Joe

Joe

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for first few years, then smoke poured out, it is now dead

published

It was a great little air conditioner, especially because we moved a lot. However, a few years after purchasing it, one day we turned it on and smoke started coming out of the air cond. needless to say it was dead, and found its way on the rubbish pile.
I would consider another one, but not from the Ballarat store, as he treated us like we broke it on purpose and offered no assistance.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
Simpson Shocker

Simpson ShockerPerth

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Very loud but works well

published

This air con works well,not to bad on power consumption considering size,the only real problem was the noise its very loud ,i have this in my rented small lounge room and have to turn the tv up to 90 to hear it.I like the auto timer function and the remote very user friendly easy to operate

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Sam L.

Sam L.perth

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Works like a treat!

published

My kids call this the coool magic box. It is an absolute gem in summer.
I would turn it on for 30 minutes at night and the room would cool right down! One of the most efficient and money savvy piece of technology i have ever bought. Best investment so far!

Date PurchasedMar 2015
kcd1961

kcd1961Illawarra, NSW

  • 18 reviews

Liefesaver

published

We needed something to get us through the summer from hell while waiting to make a longer term decision. We tried this in the bedroom but it was indeed too noisy for comfort (wooden floors) - so we have gone with a separate window unit. We have used this in a large, open plan lounge area. It definitely takes the edge off and if you are sitting in front of it, it will get you through an otherwise unbearable day.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Eastie

EastieHorsham

Does A Great Job

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Page 2 of 5
See all Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C reviews

Questions & Answers

Duff D.

Duff D.asked

PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

How do I take off outer casing
So I can get to directional blades

No answers
Duff D.

Duff D.asked

PC-58AP/C (6.0kW)

How do I remove outer casing

No answers
Oscar V.

Oscar V.asked

Hi, how to dismantle the front end without breaking any plastic parts pc -44bp/c

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Polocool representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.