??!
1 photo
Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C (page 3 of 5)

PC-53AP/C (5.5kW), PC-58AP/C (6.0kW), PC-44BP/C (4.4kW)
3.8 from 89 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (10)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.5 (10)
  • Portability
    3.6 (10)
Previous
Next
Eastie

EastieHorsham

Does A Great Job

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Was great until it stopped working

published

Was a great machine for almost 2 stinking hot summers. Then stopped working - started overheating and stopped releasing hot air at the back. Could be a fire hazard. Contacted polocool and response I got was "return to seller" a bit hard when its out of warranty. If it had better support would rate it better.

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Tony P

Tony PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 14 likes

Pefect answer this summer

published
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jane

JaneHunter Region, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 5 likes

Works well, if you can stand the noise.

published

PROS:
1. This A/C unit cools well.
2. Control panel on the unit is easy to use, as is the remote control.
3. Good having it on wheels to move it around.
4. Window extensions are available separately.

CONS:
1. This unit is very loud & it's hard to hear the TV when it's on normal volume.
2. Very, very heavy. (Thank heaven's the unit has wheels!)

Would have given a 5 star rating if it wasn't so noisy.

Date PurchasedSep 2014
LadyOfThree

LadyOfThreeQLD, 4570

  • 123 reviews
  • 55 likes

Good for a small room.

published

Moderate sound level when operating, cools quite well, good for a small area. Would not recommend for a lounge room - even if it is used in the m2 allowance. Does take up quite a bit of space. Great choice if you're in a rental. One of the better portable units.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
greeny

greenysalamander bay

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Mum loves it

published

bought the 6.0 kw model and they love it I get a update on how good it is every hot spell really made a difference .By closing different doors they can even cool the bedrooms down.and with the inverter it is not to bad on power.got it for a good price with extended warranty from harvey norman its like a gift that keeps giving

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Goldenmum

GoldenmumSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Has saved my sanity over this endless hot summer.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Goldenmum
Goldenmum
Allen57

Allen57Brisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great on hot and humid days

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
spudcat

spudcatPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

dont buy as waste of money

published

bought this as salesman said best on market and this was after i told him i was pensioner and was costing alot stupid me for trusting, had to take back twice as very loud, thurmostat goes on and off all the time and cooling is no better than fan.it is heavy ,no handles to move ,swapped for omega altise and have never looked back.

Date PurchasedDec 2014
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JW19

JW19Sydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Great & powerful unit

published

Ok, let's start by saying it's not very quiet as it's not a fan. The condenser unit is in-built to the portable aircon hence the noise. If you can't accept the noise, I think you need to get a split-system installed. However if you're like us and can bear the noise, this is a great unit. It's powerful enough for a 1-bed apartment living room (not very big space-wise) during those hot days. I would rather have the noise and than to bear the summer heat. It also comes with piping and window kit, which we wrapped in bubble-wrap for a better insulation against outside warm air. From memory, we only had to empty the water tank twice in the 5-year we have this unit.

Date PurchasedDec 2010
Lin

LinMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Don't go there

published

Got this unit for Christmas- store model did not show there was a massive hose that needed to be fitted out a window - very loud and means it can not go in a bedroom - tried unit on lowest temp and left room - only slight change after one hour and water leaking - no customer support - no point having extended warranty when not happy from start - spend an extra $299 and get a reverse cycle.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Great air conditioner

published

I bought this model 2 years ago and i have had no trouble with it. It was so good i bought a second one. Now if it is hot i not longer care as i know it will cool the rooms quickly i place it in. As for the sound it is not really that bad and i would rather a bit of sound than sweat all night in a hot room. As far as im concerned if you want a good unit buy this one.

Date PurchasedDec 2014

Always gets a full tank

published

I do like this air conditioner for an average sized room. It cools it beautifully. My only complaint is the advertising says you never have to empty the tank yet my unit needs emptying every 20 minutes or so. And they are not the easiest things to empty making it more of a nuisance than a help I have called the company and the seller and no one can help. It's left us hot and bothered which is a shame because it does cool well. Perhaps they should take that line out of their advertising.

Date PurchasedNov 2013

Competent unit, a little noisy works fine except the timer!

published

We replaced our 10yr old Delonghi 3.5kw portable air conditioner with the above unit 19th December 2016. Purchased from Harvey Norman Auburn. The polo cool is definitely more noisy than the Delonghi unit it replaces but is far superior in cool a similar space. Easy to install and running in minutes and cools the room quickly. So far no problems but I would never have brought this unit had I known about the timer: BE AWARE, this is not a 24hr timer (we had one on the Delonghi) all this timer can do is delay the start or add an end time which means you have to set it every time you need to use it, you can't set it to come on at 5 pm every day. Really inconvenient and given the cost of the unit, a poor omission.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

noisy

published

the unit i purchased last summer is suitable only for people who dont want to hear anything else it is so noisy there is no way anyone could sleep with it running .it does cool up to a couple of degrees but not enough on hot sultry days .sorry i spent the money

Date PurchasedNov 2015
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Was good for a while

published

We had the same problem as above. Worked perfectly for a few months then keeps cutting out to fan only. Polocool say it's the room temp that's cool enough - never had this problem before.
Has anyone else had it do this? I'm out of warranty now too . Not sure what to do

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Mahatma Coat

Mahatma CoatSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Another Dudd?

published

Seriously, I had a lesser POLOCOOL which after a fortnight started to cut out and simply blow the fan. Took that one back to Harvey norman and threw in another 600 PLUS 200 more for extended warranty but Still the Same crap problem! Called POLOCOOL but support person was none the wiser. SHOULD have gone the reverse cycle a/c!

Clayton

ClaytonWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

it works!

published

was a bit skeptical about portable air con, but this does make a difference. No air con will drop temp more than 10 degrees when its 40 degrees plus. The secret is turn it on early, close doors and windows, and vent the unit according to the instructions supplied. A bit noisy perhaps, but better than being hot and uncomfortable all night.
For me, money well spent. A must for people who rent. Shop around, prices do vary. Purchased mine in January, no problems so far. Does what its supposed to do.

JIngle Bells

JIngle BellsMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Polocool Not Cool

published
keisha01au

keisha01auVictoria

  • 14 reviews
  • 11 likes

Surprisingly good

published

I was a bit dubious about how effective this would be, but was pleasantly surprised. It works quickly and effectively cools 2 large rooms. I put mine in a separate room if I'm watching tv but it's no noisier than the old box air-conditioners. Easy to put together but it is heavy.

See all Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C reviews

Questions & Answers

Col

Colasked

PC-53AP/C (5.5kW)

I need a longer window slider approx 1 metre long any ideas were to purchase.
I live in Perth
Cheers
Col

No answers
Daz Za

Daz Zaasked

PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

The water storage is cracked. Can this be replaced?
Where can I purchase a replacement water storage component, I think the drainage nozzle has snapped off.

No answers
Janet H.

Janet H.asked

PC-53AP/C (5.5kW)

I have a PC mega 6.o watt and It has stopped being a air conditioner and only has the fan function ,no codes have come up on the screen ,we can hear the unit trying to turn the condenser on (if that is the right term )to be an air conditioner.
My question is can this be fixed?

1 answer
Kenny
Kenny

Sounds like startup/run compressor capacitor

Get an answer from our members

Details

Features:

  • There are three models: the PC-35AP/C, which cools rooms up to 20sqm, the PC-44BP/C, for rooms up to 30sqm, and the PC58AP/C, suitable for larger rooms up to 42 sqm.
  • Comes with an included window kit, that suits all window types and sliding doors. It’s meant to make for easier installation, but you can also purchase a ceiling/wall exhaust if this is more practicable.
  • According to Polocool, the water tank never needs to be emptied, even when a room is high in humidity. This may be helped in part by the built-in dehumidifier.
  • Included timer allows for easy set-and-forget functionality.

Overall, reviewers appreciated that the Polocool PC AC models were quiet in operation, that they usually only had to be emptied out once at the end of summer, and perhaps most importantly of all – that they produce crisp, cold air that kept a room comfortable, no matter how high the barometer rose outside.

Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) A$1,049.00A$1,395.00A$1,095.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote ControlDehumidifying Function, On/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power5.5 kW6 kW4.4 kW
Reverse Cycle NoNo
Cooling Capacity19,000 BTU20,000 BTU
Dimensions 775 x 365 x 568 mm775 x 365 x 568 mm775 x 365 x 568 mm
Auto Restart FunctionNo
Max Room Size 394230
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateOct 2011Oct 2011Oct 2011
Compare all 3 Polocool PC-53AP/C / PC-58AP/C / PC-44BP/C

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.