??!
1 photo
Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

2.8 from 99 reviews

See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
24
3 star
5
2 star
9
1 star
39

paul

paul

  • 2 reviews

Noisy. Cleans well

published

Unsure if this is the Poseidon model but around $230 from Bunnings. Cleans well but has a constant clicking noise from the cleaning head which Hychlor assures me is normal.
I called them twice to ensure I installed it correctly. I have and the clicking is like a gentle machine gun continuously for the six hours we run it in Summer. Hychlor's attitude is "caveat emptor", nowhere does it say on the external packaging or internally on the instructions that it is noisy. They have refused to refund me as 'not a warranty issue'. Looks like Bunnings will take a hit and look after me. Stay away from this one unless your pool is in isolation or no one lives near you and you are out when it is running.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers

Cliff

CliffBrisbane

I have had my hy chlor mark 2 for about two years. I did write a review shortly after I purchased i

published

I have had my hy chlor mark 2 for about two years. I did write a review shortly after I purchased it and it was very positive. I failed to acknowledge the great response from the help area of the distributor. I contacted them very early on to obtain an extra length as I have a 70,000 litre 10 meter pool and had it within a day or so. I have had no troubles with the pool cleaner until this week when it simply refused to operate. I rang the help line and was told to lubricate the tongue of the device. This had it back fully operational within a few minutes. I was told to lubricate it every three to four months. I think it is good value for the cost involved.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Chris

ChrisGold Coast

You get what you pay for

published

I bought this despite the many warnings, because a couple of people seemed to be fairly happy.
Indeed most of the time it does not do much. Seems to get easily stuck by the occasional leave. My pool has accumulated lots of dust on the floor by now. If it works it is very loud with a rapid suction noise like a machine gun. $99 seems to be cheap, but it is too expensive for what it does as you might simply have no pool cleaner as well.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Rob

RobAuckland, 874, NZ

Absolutely the best pool cleaner I have ever had!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018

Wish I read reviews before purchasing

published

This thing just doesn't work, will go for a minute or so if I manipulate the throat valve. Heaven forbid a leaf gets in the way. Why make a product that looks like a pool cleaner just to have it sit doing nothing pool cleaners should do? Frantically looking for my receipt to see if I can return it after having it for only a month or so.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Lulu

LuluSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Hit-and-miss

published

This one is for the Hy-Clor Slider Vacuum Cleaner, which product review don't list, so I'm using this platform.
Well it's rubbish! It has been replaced 3 times since first purchasing. The pool is a plain oval shape with no debris and no obstructions. It has a good quality pool pump and serviced regularly. The Hy-Clor Slider Vac gets stuck, it doesn't seem swivel. Tried reattaching the swivel connector several times and tried increasing the suction. The previous one didn't have this problem and was working fine, but it only lasted 6 months. Hit-and-miss product.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Junk-Avoid this one.

published

This product is plain junk. Works well enough to start but over the course of a few months became more and more sporadic. Now it just wont work with plenty of flow and the correct pressure.

I would look for a slightly more expensive product from a brand name. Cheap and nasty.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

BebeS

BebeSSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 35 reviews
  • 31 likes

Great for the price

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

This product is garbage

published

I wish i had read the reviews on this useless thing before i wasted my money.It gets stuck every time on the steps,follows exactly the same path lap after lap, and stops for no reason.It seems to have the ability to avoid leaves and debris.Do not waste your money !!!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Ammut

AmmutPerth

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Has a vey limited life

published

I'm sorry to say I have bought two Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatics from Bunnings.
The first ran for about 18 months before it stopped working.
I spent a few hours taking it apart and putting it back together again a few times without getting it to work so, because they're cheap, about 8 months ago I bought another one to replace it . It worked for a couple of weeks but just gives up and it's not blocked or clogged by leaves.
I'm disappointed with the cheap, unreliable Hy-Clor products and have just bought a Zodiac G2 Automatic Pool Cleaner with 12m hose for $449.
As they say, you get what you pay for.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Absolute rubbish

published

Keeps getting stuck in the corners and when I manually free it it follows the same path and gets stuck in the next corner. You get what you pay for. Purchased from Bunnings warehouse. I have thrown mine in the bin, I could sell it but I’m fairly sure the purchaser will bring it back.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

RASM

RASMCairns

  • 2 reviews

Bang for your buck!

published

Does what it’s supposed to do. Plugged it in and it cleaned the pool non stop for 18 months, then it stopped working (air leak, loss of pressure in head unit). Good value for $99 (price I paid on sale). Purchased a new head unit (pool blade) for $99 and she’s good as gold again!
Note - my pool has little shade and cleaner was always in pool.

Date PurchasedOct 2016

A Tired Customer

A Tired CustomerPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

For $250 does the same job as the expensive brands at $800

published

This is my 3rd pool cleaner. The first two were expensive brands and worked, but parts wear out and they are overpriced to replace. Bought this and it does the job fine. Who cares if it were to totally break after a couple of years, as buying a new one is cheaper than all the spare parts for the expensive brands.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

What a joke

published

An absolute waste of money. Spends most of its time stuck on nothing not moving in corners and when it does actually move it travels in the same path. I have tried every speed, placed the weights in every position possible and still no good and not once has it ever looked like travelling up the pool walls.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Hy chlor poseidon mark 2 automatic.

published

I just purchased it this week after having had a kreepy krawley for years and years. I have found it to be excellent, I have a large 70,000 litre pool and it has done an excellent job. I found it easy to assemble, easy to use and effective in its use.
I had to contact the office to find where to get some extra extensions for the hose. The service was excellent.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Absolute rubbish

published

Unit keeps getting stuck in corners of pool. I have a rectangle pool with large roundish corners. Every time i look at the unit its stuck in the corner and won't operate normally until i move it. This happen all the time. It seems every time i look at the pool the cleaner is stuck in the corner.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

really good unit

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017

Great for a summer then Bang it won't move!

published

Save your money. Worked great for one summer then Bang!! The Vacuum just won't start by itself when the pool starts up the hammer the piece that makes it vacuum is stuck, i was able to manipulate with a screwdriver (for a summer) whilst the pool was on on to make the hammer work or do its job now nothing. 200 bucks down the drain now I'm up for another vacuum. Buy cheap and that's what you get cheap!

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Greatest Con of The Century

published

Has never worked from day 1. Started and stopped at will after just about 15 seconds. It's lying useless at the store waiting for the rubbish tip. I have had to go out and shop for a proper vac as I still need the job done.

Don't waste your money.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

kathy_1362

kathy_1362asked

I have a Hy-clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic, I'm finding it won't go up the walls.

1 answer
paul
paul

I didn't have the poseidon model Kathy. If you call their customer service their tech help is great, but customer service poor


Darlene W.

Darlene W.asked

where to buy flow regulat for pool vacuum

No answers

Swimtodd

Swimtoddasked

How do you fit the hose weight?

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)199

Visit official website - Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.