1 photo
Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

2.8 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for HY-CLOR? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Ease of Use
    4.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Pool Size
  • Noise Level
    1.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next
paul
paul
  • 2 reviews

Noisy. Cleans well

published

Unsure if this is the Poseidon model but around $230 from Bunnings. Cleans well but has a constant clicking noise from the cleaning head which Hychlor assures me is normal.
I called them twice to ensure I installed it correctly. I have and the clicking is like a gentle machine gun continuously for the six hours we run it in Summer. Hychlor's attitude is "caveat emptor", nowhere does it say on the external packaging or internally on the instructions that it is noisy. They have refused to refund me as 'not a warranty issue'. Looks like Bunnings will take a hit and look after me. Stay away from this one unless your pool is in isolation or no one lives near you and you are out when it is running.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $229.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris
ChrisGold Coast

You get what you pay for

published

I bought this despite the many warnings, because a couple of people seemed to be fairly happy.
Indeed most of the time it does not do much. Seems to get easily stuck by the occasional leave. My pool has accumulated lots of dust on the floor by now. If it works it is very loud with a rapid suction noise like a machine gun. $99 seems to be cheap, but it is too expensive for what it does as you might simply have no pool cleaner as well.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Wish I read reviews before purchasing

published

This thing just doesn't work, will go for a minute or so if I manipulate the throat valve. Heaven forbid a leaf gets in the way. Why make a product that looks like a pool cleaner just to have it sit doing nothing pool cleaners should do? Frantically looking for my receipt to see if I can return it after having it for only a month or so.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Lulu
LuluSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Hit-and-miss

published

This one is for the Hy-Clor Slider Vacuum Cleaner, which product review don't list, so I'm using this platform.
Well it's rubbish! It has been replaced 3 times since first purchasing. The pool is a plain oval shape with no debris and no obstructions. It has a good quality pool pump and serviced regularly. The Hy-Clor Slider Vac gets stuck, it doesn't seem swivel. Tried reattaching the swivel connector several times and tried increasing the suction. The previous one didn't have this problem and was working fine, but it only lasted 6 months. Hit-and-miss product.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Junk-Avoid this one.

published

This product is plain junk. Works well enough to start but over the course of a few months became more and more sporadic. Now it just wont work with plenty of flow and the correct pressure.

I would look for a slightly more expensive product from a brand name. Cheap and nasty.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

This product is garbage

published

I wish i had read the reviews on this useless thing before i wasted my money.It gets stuck every time on the steps,follows exactly the same path lap after lap, and stops for no reason.It seems to have the ability to avoid leaves and debris.Do not waste your money !!!

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ammut
AmmutPerth
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Has a vey limited life

published

I'm sorry to say I have bought two Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatics from Bunnings.
The first ran for about 18 months before it stopped working.
I spent a few hours taking it apart and putting it back together again a few times without getting it to work so, because they're cheap, about 8 months ago I bought another one to replace it . It worked for a couple of weeks but just gives up and it's not blocked or clogged by leaves.
I'm disappointed with the cheap, unreliable Hy-Clor products and have just bought a Zodiac G2 Automatic Pool Cleaner with 12m hose for $449.
As they say, you get what you pay for.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Absolute rubbish

published

Keeps getting stuck in the corners and when I manually free it it follows the same path and gets stuck in the next corner. You get what you pay for. Purchased from Bunnings warehouse. I have thrown mine in the bin, I could sell it but I’m fairly sure the purchaser will bring it back.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Could be better

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

What a joke

published

An absolute waste of money. Spends most of its time stuck on nothing not moving in corners and when it does actually move it travels in the same path. I have tried every speed, placed the weights in every position possible and still no good and not once has it ever looked like travelling up the pool walls.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Absolute rubbish

published

Unit keeps getting stuck in corners of pool. I have a rectangle pool with large roundish corners. Every time i look at the unit its stuck in the corner and won't operate normally until i move it. This happen all the time. It seems every time i look at the pool the cleaner is stuck in the corner.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great for a summer then Bang it won't move!

published

Save your money. Worked great for one summer then Bang!! The Vacuum just won't start by itself when the pool starts up the hammer the piece that makes it vacuum is stuck, i was able to manipulate with a screwdriver (for a summer) whilst the pool was on on to make the hammer work or do its job now nothing. 200 bucks down the drain now I'm up for another vacuum. Buy cheap and that's what you get cheap!

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Greatest Con of The Century

published

Has never worked from day 1. Started and stopped at will after just about 15 seconds. It's lying useless at the store waiting for the rubbish tip. I have had to go out and shop for a proper vac as I still need the job done.

Don't waste your money.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jon B
Jon BSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great if you dont need a pool cleaner to pick up leaves.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
box
boxSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Hy Clor cleaner

published

Load of crap, hasn't worked without assistance since day 1.
Rang hy-clor and told that they hadn't had problems with this cleaner. They suggested I could get this extra part that 'may' help. Why should I have to be Einstein to use this crap product. Should go back to Bunnings as they are far more helpful but they said try hy-clor first.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Richard W.
Richard W.asked

I have newly tiled my pool. My Hy-Clor Mk2 worked adequately on the old marble sheen surface ( abit of the usual tracking) but does not consistently move forward on the new tiles even though it is pulsating healthily. Also it does not seem to be sitting consistnetly flat on the bottom of the pool. Any suggestions?

2 answers
Cliff
Cliff

I have changed to a Rebel pool cleaner 100 percent better

Chris F
Chris F

Try moving the yellow hose weights closer to the cleaner. Might need two at that end. There will be less resistance with the tiles than the marble finish.

Dr Richard J Singer
Dr Richard J Singerasked

Is there a larger bump ring available to replace the 330 one supplied as standard? I have a small pool with square corners and the cleaner gets s=tuck in the corners. I suspect a bigger diameter bump ring may be the solution? Thanke Rich

2 answers
Cliff
Cliff

Have to check with the manufacturer. I found them very good to deal with.

Chris F
Chris F
kathy_1362
kathy_1362asked

I have a Hy-clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic, I'm finding it won't go up the walls.

1 answer
paul
paul

I didn't have the poseidon model Kathy. If you call their customer service their tech help is great, but customer service poor

See all Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)199
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.