1 photo
Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic

2.8 from 99 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Suction Pool Cleaners in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for HY-CLOR? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

Previous
Clear all
Next
Cliff
CliffSouth East Queensland, QLD

I have had my hy chlor mark 2 for about two years. I did write a review shortly after I purchased i

published

I have had my hy chlor mark 2 for about two years. I did write a review shortly after I purchased it and it was very positive. I failed to acknowledge the great response from the help area of the distributor. I contacted them very early on to obtain an extra length as I have a 70,000 litre 10 meter pool and had it within a day or so. I have had no troubles with the pool cleaner until this week when it simply refused to operate. I rang the help line and was told to lubricate the tongue of the device. This had it back fully operational within a few minutes. I was told to lubricate it every three to four months. I think it is good value for the cost involved.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BebeS
BebeSSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 48 reviews
  • 45 likes

Great for the price

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
RASM
RASMCairns
  • 2 reviews

Bang for your buck!

published

Does what it’s supposed to do. Plugged it in and it cleaned the pool non stop for 18 months, then it stopped working (air leak, loss of pressure in head unit). Good value for $99 (price I paid on sale). Purchased a new head unit (pool blade) for $99 and she’s good as gold again!
Note - my pool has little shade and cleaner was always in pool.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
A Tired Customer
A Tired CustomerPerth, WA
  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

For $250 does the same job as the expensive brands at $800

published

This is my 3rd pool cleaner. The first two were expensive brands and worked, but parts wear out and they are overpriced to replace. Bought this and it does the job fine. Who cares if it were to totally break after a couple of years, as buying a new one is cheaper than all the spare parts for the expensive brands.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
  • Verified

Couldn't be happier

published
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
OceanEarth
OceanEarthFar North Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews

Average cleaner but cost per year comparable to or better than more expensive cleaners

published
Date PurchasedNov 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony
TonyBrisbane, Queensland
  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

Budget cleaner does the job

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next

Great product for the price!!

published

I was reluctant to buy a cheap cleaner. ..but so glad I did! ! Easy to assemble. ..easy to adjust....works well in my pool which has very few leaves. Gets stuck in the corner sometimes, but usually sorts itself out...even if it only lasts 2 seasons. ..great for the price. ..and more effective than the creepy crawly which I kept having to buy replacement parts for.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Will
WillGold Coast

Terrific low cost alternative

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Seve
SeveSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 6 reviews
  • 12 likes

Much Improved From Previous Version.

published

I got one of these in 2011 and it was useful but too fragile. Purchased 'new improved' one in 2013 after 1st one broke for the last time. Most of the problems with the earlier one have been fixed. The throat has been redesigned and doesn't clog easily. The plastic parts are made from something much tougher and have no noticeable wear or damage after almost 2 years. The hoses are not fully uv stable (odd for something that spends its life in the sun) and after 2 years have become brittle and split when put under too much stress. With few new sections of pipe, I expect another couple of years out of this one base on the condition it's in now. For the price I doubt you'll find better.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Works well enough

published

Was concerned about negative reviews but soon realised that all pool cleaners have some negative reviews. This cleaner is good value for money. Have had for 6 months and it continues to clean well. Any problems have been due to human error or twigs caught up in the cleaner. Will climb walls when filter is clean and 3-speed pump is on 2nd highest speed. Not 100% random pattern as some paths are more well traveled (esp. around bottom edges). It is a large unit compared to others and does not always pick up leaves. Had to buy 2 extra tubes. Cost is well below that of other brands, which might work better so buy this if you want value for money or are willing to accept a cheap mistake if it doesn't work well for you.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Not as bad as we thought

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Suction Pool Cleaners

Find out how Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic compares to other Suction Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
steven
stevenadelaide

MK2 Poseidon Automatic Pool Cleaner

published

$188 bucks at bunnings what a bargain it took 15 minutes to set up and it works i have a 55 litre concrete pool with a sand filter make sure your pump is 0.75hp or greater thanks to bunnings at parafied there was only 2 left now i can watch the cricket ha ha
cheap and it works
doesnt do steps but nothing will

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great economical auto pool cleaner.

published

I bought this pool cleaner from Bunnings, got it for a good price and it worked fine from the word go, cleaned well, better value than a $600+ Barracuda i reckon, and way better than the old Kreepy Krawly that lay dormant in the bottom of the pool for way too long! You just need to get the hose length right and you're set!
Price, ease of installation.

Sam
Sam

What did you do?.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
zodiac victim
zodiac victimAU
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Suprise

published

You know, I bought this "in hope", I never really expected it to work. I got it from Bunnings and I know they do refunds if you take item back etc. I've tried Quotro X7 and Kreepy Crawley and they never worked, why should this? Thru it in ( I found it worked best in my pool with just a coupleof weights on the hose, no ring and no floaty thing) bit of adjustment, and now we're into our 2nd year ! Suprised. Just be ready to replace the hose, that is rubbish.
cheap, works, part from Bunnings
Hose

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Richard W.
Richard W.asked

I have newly tiled my pool. My Hy-Clor Mk2 worked adequately on the old marble sheen surface ( abit of the usual tracking) but does not consistently move forward on the new tiles even though it is pulsating healthily. Also it does not seem to be sitting consistnetly flat on the bottom of the pool. Any suggestions?

2 answers
Cliff
Cliff

I have changed to a Rebel pool cleaner 100 percent better

Chris F
Chris F

Try moving the yellow hose weights closer to the cleaner. Might need two at that end. There will be less resistance with the tiles than the marble finish.

Dr Richard J Singer
Dr Richard J Singerasked

Is there a larger bump ring available to replace the 330 one supplied as standard? I have a small pool with square corners and the cleaner gets s=tuck in the corners. I suspect a bigger diameter bump ring may be the solution? Thanke Rich

2 answers
Cliff
Cliff

Have to check with the manufacturer. I found them very good to deal with.

Chris F
Chris F
kathy_1362
kathy_1362asked

I have a Hy-clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic, I'm finding it won't go up the walls.

1 answer
paul
paul

I didn't have the poseidon model Kathy. If you call their customer service their tech help is great, but customer service poor

See all Hy-Clor Poseidon MK2 Automatic questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategorySuction Pool Cleaners
Price (RRP)199
ManualDownload manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.