1 photo
Quantum Energy Compact Domestic 340

Quantum Energy Compact Domestic 340

1.9 from 10 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Hot Water Storage Systems in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Quantum Energy? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.9
10 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.0 (2)
  • Heating Speed
    2.5 (2)
Previous
Next
Shane Fioraso
Shane FiorasoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Absolute piece of crap. Broke just after warranty expired, fixed it and it broke again 6 months later. Pure rubbish

published

Rubbish product, expensive to purchase and fix, with only one authorised repair person around. They are now an Obsolete products due to being an inferior product. Sorry I have nothing good to say.

Purchased in April 2015 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Brian J
Brian JBrisbane
  • 2 reviews

Eye Watering Maintenance Costs - Disappointing

published

Purchased 2 May 18. Have zealously tried to maintain it since then. Required $1,207.80 worth of maintenance on 8 May 20. Problems getting hot water and problems with low pressure, fluctuations in pressure and some damage to plumbing fittings on 6 May 20 and water running uncontrollably until 7 May 20. We have yet to pay for those repairs as well. Unfortunately doesn't live up to hype, expectations and costs associated with this unit. Feeling misled. Probably should have looked up this site before buying. Reminds me - It's Mothers Day this weekend. Am a bit concerned about a larger Quantum Model I previously bought for my mother's house.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
bov
bovRichmond-Tweed, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

not a sustainable item

published

These, in theory, sound like a great alternative to reduce electricity costs. When you consider the exceptionally short life (8 years) and the annual costs of maintenance these water heaters are a very expensive system. Steer clear, the quality is not there and it was next to impossible to get after sales service

Date PurchasedAug 2008
Bunny
BunnyGold Coast

3 Units Installed All Failed with Leaking Tanks

published

Purchased 3 Heat Pumps and they worked efficiently. 2 of the units started leaking water from the tank and were replaced. Unfortunately the replacements did the same thing with the water tanks failing and leaking. The 3rd tank did the same and now quantum are refusing to fix the problem and I am off to the Consumer Tribunal to seek redress. I would not purchase a quantum product again as there are doubts to the water pumps durability and longevity. To have all 5 units suffer the same issue does not say much for the product

Date PurchasedMar 2009
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy Compact Domestic 340 compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Don
DonAdelaide
  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent hot water service

published

Bought in 2008 and has given hot water in our cold climate with no need for boosters that other makes (Rheem) need. It runs, quietiy, for about 4 hours mid winter. It needed one service call to replace the starter capacitor for just over $100.
It's a pity our new house has Rjeem which is noisy and runs nearly all night.

Date PurchasedOct 2008
mel
mel
  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

no longer convinced

published

i researched these and was more than happy to buy.. it worked for about 3 years and then started to fail.. they came credit to them and replaced it as it was inside warranty. well 5 years down the track.. its happening again. What to do when u dont have money to replace them and u know longer have hot water. some major issues they need to sort out.

Date PurchasedApr 2005
Wriggles
WrigglesGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 10 reviews
  • 12 likes

Technology at its worst

published

Purchased the Quantum Energy 340L heat pump in November 2009. Assured of its quality design and green house gas saving technology. After 2 years the inadequate electrical connections which were not weather proof failed and cost $350 to fix. Now after the 5 year warranty has expired the unit has begun to disintegrate due to electrolysis. It was an expensive purchase at $2750 installed and has proven to be very poor quality in terms of value for money and longevity. I would not recommend Quantum Energy products. You cannot contact them on the phone and the units cannot be fixed. Do not buy from them.

Date PurchasedNov 2009

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Disappointed

published

We have had our Quantum Heatpump for 5 and a half years. Warranty was only 2 years. At 3 years had to have the control panel replaced at a price of $580. Two and half years later, the control panel has needed replacing again. To say we are disappointed is an understatement. Would not purchase another nor would I recommend a Quantum Heatpump.

8 years old and leaking from the top.

published

We have a Quantum 315l cylinder, it's only 8 years old and it has rust all over the steel tank.
It's leaking from the top and you can push your finger through the steel tank up on top.
It's now the second one to go in 4 weeks.
It's for a Hotel, customers are always complaining about the noise.

Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy Compact Domestic 340 compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phh2685
Phh2685South-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good enough for 11 years

published

We are now shopping around to replace our Quantum Unit after 11 years. It has been efficient, but noisy. The fan now needs to be 'kick started'. We will probably change brands as Quantum want $800.00 to replace the old one. We have never run out of cold water. It takes about 6 hours to complete a heat cycle from a cold start after a holiday.

See all Quantum Compact Domestic reviews

Questions & Answers

Mark A
Mark Aasked
Compact Domestic 340

Just bought a house with a Quantum water heater and find the hot water pressure to be very weak. Is it common with these heaters?

1 answer
Don
Don

Quantum heaters are 'mains pressure' units which means that the storage tank is pressurised by the cold water inlet. Except for minor losses of pressure from the valves and pipe constrictions the pressure out should equal the pressure in.
It seems like yours is a plumbing problem. Good luck with it.

See all Quantum Compact Domestic questions

Get an answer from our members

Quantum Energy Compact Domestic 340

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.