??!
1 photo
Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 270L

Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 270L

2.1 from 14 reviews

See the Best Gas Storage in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
9

Terrible

published

installed Nov 2017, and the compressor has blown up, no hot water over weekend and no customer service contact, finally tech turns up to say compressor needs replacing and has to come from the East ... what the? could be a week or more>...... never again ridiculous unreliable clearly everyone's compressor are blowing up so wouldn't you have some available within the STATE !!!!!

Purchased in November 2017 for $2,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

The Heat pump failed after 15 months

published

The compressor died after 15 months still in warranty and the service to have the part replaced is completely terrible with still waiting no tracking or timeline when it will arrive or be fixed for Hot Water no answer on 1800 number only voicemail

Purchased in January 2018 at Plummber for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

ozchippy

ozchippyGippsland, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

OUCH!! stung again

published

Apparently a short life span on these units seems quite common. Ours is not even 5 years old and now dead. I had a perfectly operational element unit removed to be replaced with this. Disappointed would be an understatement, it feels as though I have been conned by a travelling salesman. Save your money and by something with a good reputation.

Purchased in September 2014.

Smells of GasNo
gundy

gundyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Piece of cow manure

published

Purchased unit in Nov 2015 now May 2019 the compressor dies of course only two year warranty what a waste of money and time. Would never recommend this product to anyone

Purchased in November 2015 for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Brian

BrianHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

One of the most efficient heat pumps

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017

Sharbo

SharboRiverland

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Don’t bother

published
Date PurchasedDec 2015

Fivedays

FivedaysAU

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Works well but is noisy

published
Date PurchasedMar 1999

rob

robadelaide

inferred warranty

published

If you want a quantum product don't expect more than 5 years use out of it.. Ours started rusting within twelve months, and they won't even reply to emails or phones calls. They assured me it we would get ten to fifteen years use, out of the over four grands worth of heater, we got less than six years.. This is one Company I would steer well clear of, if you want a reliable honest deal. It definitely won't be from them..

Date PurchasedNov 2011

Rob

Robadelaide sa

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

One word!.. DONT

published

Quantum is the most ignorant Co. I have ever had the misfortune to deal with, They don't back up their products, they NEVER return promised calls or answer emails.. I would use cold water before wasting money on their products. Treating customers who have spent hard earned money on their heat pumps, the way they do is nothing short of disgusting..

Date PurchasedNov 2011
1 comment
Rob
Rob

Quantum Heat Pump

published

Just received a letter dated 23/12/16 saying that my Quantum Heat Pump is now ten year old and that it might require additional service or replacement. When is is replaced, it will NOT be with a Quantum product. I have had to spend a fortune on repairs ---$247.50 on 5/4/13, $375 on 21/3/14, and $700 on 6/5/15. My previous off-peak service went 19 years without a call out

Date PurchasedSep 2007

Awesome investment, Highly recommeded

published

I had a gas storage hot water system. The gas bill was so high upto 300 dollar. I have get plumber to install the quantum heat pump hot water system. 270L. I am so happy. My electric bill does not gone high as I was afraid of and my gas bill gone low to 40 dollars. This product is very reliable and highly recommended.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Not worth the money

published

First impressions were good. Good savings on power bill after an initial outlay of $4500.00 it had just paid for its self after 6 a d a half years.
We fisr noticed our water pump cutting in and out a short an regular intervals, thinking we need to replace our pump after 20 years (can live with that) we then noticed a leak in our heat pump. Need a new heater there goes the savings. Were too from here?

Date PurchasedJul 2011

Rhinothyer

RhinothyerAdelaide

Extremely Corroded after 3.5 years

published

great unit.....would support any progressive technologies

published

Wouldn't go back to gas storage, instant gas or elemental electric
This thing produces endless hot water for my medium size family
12 months on and hasn't disappointed us yet


See all Quantum Energy AC4 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Paulo

Pauloasked

How to adjust water temperature

1 answer
Brian
Brian

I have an AC6. As far as I know you shouldn't be able to adjust the temperature on storage HWS of any kind. Australian standards say it must be fixed at that temperature (60c, I think) to avoid Legionaires disease.


Vern Bernard

Vern Bernardasked

Can you change the water temperature?

2 answers
Rob
Rob

I think a technician may be able to do it by removing the top cover and adjusting the readout.. please contact a technician. other than a quantum that is!. I don't fancy your chances of getting a reply from Quantum though. They are the most unhelpful people I have ever had dealings with..

Graeme
Graeme

On the left of the unit is an orange circular cover. There should also be a triangular key attached to the side of the unit. Under the orange cap is a brass triangular screw. Use the key to adjust this brass screw. You only need to turn this screw about one quarter of a turn. If you have heating problem it may be loss of refrigerant gas in which case it should be topped up by a licensed refrigeration technician..


Muzi

Muziasked

Stops working when the temperature is too hot. Any ideas?

2 answers
James Danton
James Danton

The outside air temperature? Man, that's weird...I wish I could help, that sounds like a temp sensor issue but don't quote me on it, sorry.

bigell
bigell

perhaps it is the temp sensor? you could try shading the unit and make sure it is well ventilated.
You should try the q and a on the quantum web site.


Get an answer from our members and Quantum Energy representatives

Details

CategoryGas Storage
Release dateApr 2010
Compare all Quantum Energy AC4 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.