??!
1 photo
Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 340L

Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 340L

2.3 from 12 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.3

12 reviews
3
(0)
2
(0)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (8)
  • Noise Level
    1.6 (8)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (6)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (6)
  • Heating Speed
    2.8 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
carny

carnySydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

A piece of junk and poor after sales service!

published
  • +3

Purchased in October 2015 for A$3,599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
See all answers
Paul Harders

Paul HardersEyre Peninsula, SA

Greatest piece of expensive junk you can ever buy

published

On our second one. First on was replaced under warranty after 12 months.
Second one started rusting of the condenser drain tank after 12 months. Now completely rusted out.
Condensor just floats in the breeze now.
Quantum service blamed me for not cleaning the drain hose. Said it is written in the manual.
Nothing in there anywhere.
Will now have to replace the entire unit.
NOT with a Quantum.
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Purchased in November 2010 at Reece for A$3,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Below ZERO - if there is a worse score, it would have been selected

published

We thought we bought the best and biggest unit in 2016 for just under 3k. It turned to be the worst ever. It rusted in less than a year and kept leaking from all corners. When you ring the company, they ask you to ring the installer. When you ring the installer, he asked for service fee before even looking at the unit. No warranties offered to cover for the cold water or the poor quality of this leaking rusty unit. Hired a plumber to change the release valve, still no hot water. My kids constantly suffered from cold showers in winter for FOUR years, until it died. Quantum is the biggest scam. Beware save your money, time and energy.

Purchased in May 2016 for A$2,990.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 340L compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Simon B.

Simon B.Central Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Looks like the older ones are better

published

I bought mine about 10years ago second hand 15 years old in total
Only ever stopped once and it was only a capacitor been a very good buy
Looks like the older ones are better
They must have move manufacturing to China

Purchased in February 2010 for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Rodo

RodoHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Best choice ever!!!

published

Purchased in June 2005.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Will it work tomorrow?

published

1 year old and it is a boat anchor.
The customer service from these people is appalling. The attitude is to blame the installer, the circuit breaker, the process of contacting them and even Telstra!
The product is noisy and intrusive in the summer months when unit cuts in and out throughout the night. we have to close off the windows on the side of the house that the heater is located to shut out the noise.

Purchased in August 2018 at Quantum for A$3,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Elena

ElenaSydney, NSW

Biggest paperweight ever. It should be illegal to sell such a low quality product

published

Installed mid 2016. Started infernal noise late 2018. Out of warranty after 2 years. $120 for technician to tell me it will cost $1100 to replace the compressor which comes with a maximum 1 year warranty

Heat pump was the another dodgy choice made by the builder.

I'm having this piece of scrap metal removed today and replaced with something realiable and hence truly energy efficient in the long run.

I can't believe installation of such a piece of rubbish counts towards basix points. What a dumb box ticking exercise.

Purchased in June 2016 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers

Terrible

published

Sold to us as being a quality product 3.5 years after being installed compressor is dead $1100.00 to replace go with a quality brand quantum is not quality at all

Purchased in April 2015 for A$3,300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

You would be a fool to buy one of these

published

Just over 7 and a half years old. Came highly recommended by an energy advising company. Would last between ten and twenty. A heath pump hot water system apparently is still a economically great system, but our Quantum system has completely rusted through, leaking everywhere. Was sold as a top brand. Do yourself a big favour, buy a different brand!

Date PurchasedFeb 2010
Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Quantum Energy AC4 Compact 340L compares to other Gas Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bigell

bigell

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

How do I get Quantum to ring me back???????

published

I installed my current heat pump in November 2006 and have had relatively no trouble until I tried to order a top lid, which has badly rusted. After my initial ring to head office in Sydney, I was told the part was available and to just ring and order, simple really(really????).
I rang two days running and left the requested voice mail message with my query to order and the requested call back details - still waiting to be called back.
Subsequent to this I emailed the General Mangers P A and, guess what, still no response after approx. 3 weeks.
Would I recommend their after sales service, hardly.

Date PurchasedOct 2006

not happy!

published

Thought we would save money with the energy efficient model, it lasted 6 years and the tank burst, the initial cost was approx $4000, so what we saved in power we just lost in having to purchase another hot water heater, but certainly not another Quantum very poor product life.

Glorious hot water

published
See all Quantum Energy AC4 Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter R.

Peter R.asked

AC4 Compact 340L

why is the water in the system hot. but not hot coming out not even luke warm

1 answer
Jarrad W
Jarrad W

Faulty tempering valve/mixing valve on your plumping

Wayne B

Wayne Basked

AC4 Compact 340L

I hear a loud buzzing every 10-15 minutes.
What would cause this?

3 answers
Trent
Trent

i have the same issue now just replaced the pressure relief valve and now a buzzing noise and no hot water. Before l replaced the pressure valve had no issues ??? any help

Michelle
Michelle

Wayne B, any follow up on this? Did you find out why/what the buzzing noise was? My quantum has started doing the same thing although the buzzing noise is much more frequent - every 20 seconds or so. And of course it's night time now. Hopefully not annoying the neighbours. Cheers, Michelle

Jarrad W
Jarrad W

faulty compressor start capacitor

Sarah

Sarahasked

AC4 Compact 340L

How much is a 340L supply and fitted?

1 answer
Paul
Paul

Hello Sarah,

You are best to check with Quantum direct for the current price.
quantumenergy.com.au/

cheers

Paul

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 5 Quantum Energy AC4 Series
CategoryGas Hot Water Storage Systems
Release dateApr 2010
Compare all 5 Quantum Energy AC4 Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.