??!
1 photo
RAA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

RAA Car Insurance - Comprehensive

1.7 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

1.7

26 reviews
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(20)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (23)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (19)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (23)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 months (7), 2-4 weeks (5), 1-2 weeks (3), <1 week (2) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (10) · No (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Frencham8

Frencham8Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy With Car Insurance

published

Good price and FANTASTIC service. I can't speak more highly enough about RAA Car Insurance. Over the years I have gone to a number of insurers, and whilst RAA might be slightly higher, the quality of their service has always been 10/10.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelJeep Grand Cherokee WH
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Happy H.

Happy H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible RAA, DO NOT USE RAA

published

DO NOT use RAA if your car is a new car, or very new car, or expensive car within/around warranty, RAA NOT cover your car with original/genuine classes if your car's glasses damaged even brand new car according to RAA policy!! You must know this. RAA has a special deal with Obrian, RAA only give you off market glasses, NOT your car original glasses. Horrible company, no star.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
barbara s.

barbara s.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

On merry go round by staff after claim

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wouldn't recommend

published

RAA agreed to the value of $17500 but only want to pay $10620 on my claim. They offered me $8000, then $10620 and now it's back at $8000. I have been called a liar in a letter, told me fauls information on evidence, told me no matter how much you spend on a car all premiums are the same, told me that I have to sort the difference of payout with the dealer I brought car from that it's not their issue and are changing their rembursment offer. Everyone I talk to tells me something different, there is nothing to this that makes sense. I will never use RAA again. 3 months later, no car and still fighting to have my claim accepted. They have started a new policy and charge me $73.33 per month and I don't even have a car

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers
Rick

RickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Couldn't Care Less

published

Brand new car. Then after 12 months offered to insure for 40% less than purchased Price.
Reduced premium by $2.00.
Contacted RAA and said cancel Policy.
CS said you will lose your lifetime replacement? Please, what a joke.
Does not replace old for new.
Goodbye

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMini 5-Door Hatch F55 Cooper S
See all answers
Monkey man

Monkey manSouth Australia

15% increase in one year

published

Insurance renewal arrived and had risen by 15% with no circumstances having changed since last renewal. Phoned raa and was told that they would only lower the renewal fee if I increased the excess. Another vehicle renewal due the day before had only risen by 1.8% year to year. Operator was not interested in trying to review the insurance or lower the amount. I've been with raa for 22 years and have a multi policy discount. Prior to calling had received quotes from five other insurance companies. All had similar or better benefits, with all being cheaper. Very disappointed, with raa. I have no choice, other than moving my insurance elsewhere.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelAudi A3
See all answers
Paul R.

Paul R.South Australia

Reasonably happy with cover.

published

Car stolen and recieved settlement very quickly after 21 day cooling off period, awesome!
However if you claim for loss of personal items which was partbof my claim, please make sure you have 'Proof of Ownership'.
I lost a highly collectable vintage surfboard but its only word of mouth without sufficient proof, of ownership.
Happy to now have another car, but painful lesson learned.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
davinder k.

davinder k.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Don't get deceived by their being local advertiment

published

When my brother in law bought his first car after arriving in Australia. I have recommended RAA insurance to my brother in law. I thought it will be easy for him to deal with the local company. After couple of months he had an accident. Both the drivers are with RAA. Now raa is trying to find excuses for not to pay the compensation. After month they still can't determine who is at fault and want both drivers to pay excess . They treat the policy holder as thieves and refuse to acknowledge their duty. We will be lodging a complaint with office of business and consumer affairs soon.
To me this company has third world mentality. Stay away from them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
See all answers
Ali T.

Ali T.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

RAA refused my claim and cancelled my Comprehensive Policy after an accident

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kerbarb

kerbarbAdelaide, South Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Very happy with service

published

I had a claim on my vehicle which was caused by fire as a result of an auto electrician working on it. Very happy with service and prompt payout. They could not have been more pleasant to deal with. There was only 1 person who created some stress through either a lack of understanding about the claim process or their product.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Gordy

GordyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Unfair Insurance Provider

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
aasya i.

aasya i.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely difficult to get your claim processed.

published

I have been with insurance company for nearly 5 years. Its pretty smooth if its a one way traffic- they charging us money, it becomes very difficult when we lodge a claim. Definitely changing all my cars to a different insurer

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen (Hatchback) VTi-S
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Bevzy

BevzyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Worst customer service in terms of claims... Rear ended by someone and flee and still want me to pay the excess!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Sportage QL AO Edition 2WD, 2.0L Petrol, Automatic
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Awful, stressful experience that's still going after a month

published

I was stopped in traffic and got hit by another car. My car is written off. I have new for old replacement. RAA still haven't paid out after a month. Every time you phone you get someone else. No care about the customer without a car and struggling with costs. 11 years a member. No care or consideration.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Mel

MelMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

I feel let down by this company after being a loyal member for 16 years

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAA Car Insurance - Comprehensive compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Roger

RogerMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Worst service ever from an insurance company

published

3 recent claims, 2 declined and 1 no result even though I was not even present when an uber driver drove into my parked car and drove off.
Latest claim, RAA changed my battery and destroyed the roc which cost over 2kand refuse to fix it!?

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 1 Series E88
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

No help in my situation

published

My car broke down on the side of the road and I had to leave it there as there was no phone service. I have now learnt if you are not physically at the vehicle and unable to get to it then RAA can not help you out. I will now have to pay a towing service.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
andrew

andrewadelaide

  • 4 reviews

Cost compared to RAC WA and RACV - RAA equivalent in WA and Vic

published

Despite 29 year "Gold" membership and 5 insurance policies for many years now I got a quote from RAA Car insurance for $2500 compared to $800 if I went to WA (RAC WA) or $1200 in Vic (RACV). Same car but different pricing interstate.. Aparently car is expensive to fix.....hmm but WA/Vic would have same issues but they're cheap. I thought RAA was there to provide service/support to Automobile users? Oh well RAA a loyal customer lost

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Heather W.

Heather W.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Disappointed customer!

published

My daughter recently had her car stolen which in itself is traumatic she has a 3 month old baby and needs her car. Lucky a friend loaned her one otherwise she would of been stuck. Told to wait 21 days but also charged $500 excess and had to pay out remainder of 12 month policy due to paying monthly!! Never heard of such ridiculous charges! So basically being charged for cover for a car she does not have anymore! It might be in their small print but still does not make it right! I actually pay her insurances for her inc house and contents as well as my own ...for peace of mind that she is covered but will not be going through them again for her new car.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH (Hatchback) SRi-V
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Marelle S.

Marelle S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Long winded and a huge inconvenience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
Page 1 of 2
See all RAA Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Trev Smith

Trev Smithasked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

What is third party property insurance policy

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Royal Automotive Association representatives

Details

Compare all 4 RAA Car Insurance
CategoryCar Insurance
Contact Number 08 8202 4600
24-Hour Phone Contact Yes
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and Landlord
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterRAA Insurance
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Included
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $750
Towing Costs Included
Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $750
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

You will not be covered for hiring charges:

  • incurred after the date of recovery of your vehicle, or

  • after a total period of 21 days, or

  • after the claim is settled,
Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $750
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,500
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier of 2 years from original registration

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $1,000
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 4 RAA Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.