??!
1 photo
RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance

2.5 from 37 reviews

Reviews

(9)
(3)
(2)
(5)
(18)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (34)
  • Customer Service
    2.6 (35)
  • Timeliness
    3.0 (20)
  • Job Satisfaction
    3.1 (14)
  • Transparency
    2.6 (28)
Ressler

ResslerPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews

Disgusted...No fault claim - hire car

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II (2015-Present)
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

You don't know how good (or bad) an insurance company is until you claim!

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Abigail

AbigailPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

RAC Got us back on the road!

published

While we were dancing and having a great time at a festival, a tree fell on our beloved old car and damaged all but the left hand side of the car. I did a claim online (very simple), and within an hour I had an email response followed by a phone call from the RAC with details of a recommended car repair. We phoned the repairer, had the car assessed by the repairer within 2 hours of receiving the RAC email, and the car was subsequently booked in and repaired. A couple of years ago I tried another car insurer but returned to the RAC as they are easy to deal with, friendly, and super fast with their response. Thanks!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelVolvo V70 Mk.2 (2000-2007)
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amira Mohamed

Amira MohamedPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Horrible experience with claims

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV70R / GSV70R
See all answers
ABC67

ABC67Perth, WA

  • 19 reviews

Price OK, but service???

published

I was initially reluctant to go with RAC MV insurance, after being absolutely screwed by them years ago on a claim, then subsequent premiums. After many years, I thought I would give them a go, and quoted online, where the price was competitive, however their system was clunky, as well customer service online was average at best. The online system does not seem to "talk" to customer service dept and alot gets done wrong. Very frustrating and now not feeling confident, if I ever had a claim???

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
lauren

laurenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Treated poorly

published

Has anyone else had a bad experience with RAC?? I thought from what I heard they where meant to be one of the best ...I have two young children paid my premium and now they don't want to pay me out when my car was stolen ..now left with no car two young children and short of my money they owed me and are not willing to pay me out ....not only that I felt they took way to long to respond to me and make a decision and treated me with no respect ..I wouldn't recommend RAC to anyone I'm very angry and upset and would never get anything insured with you again ..happy to take your money not pay you out .
Lauren

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Disappointed

DisappointedPerth, WA

Large Price Increase

published

Rang RAC about my renewal as it has gone up $100.00 spoke to three people no one could justify why it had gone up. Lodged a complaint they said someone would ring me back within 72 hours.....still waiting. Very disappointing as have been with RAC for 10 years. Couldn't have cared less about retaining a long term customer.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla ZRE172R
See all answers
Cat

CatPerth

  • 6 reviews

Huge price increase

published

My insurance renewal has gone up over 25%! I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years and they can't fix it. They can't even justify a 25% increase

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Nicholas R.

Nicholas R.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

A bit of Hit and Miss

published

Well under valued one of my cars, insured for more than double what RAC was offering with Shannons and Enthusiast.

But then again they valued my other car for double than what it is worth.

One of the ladies who answered the phone sounded a bit rude

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Julie345

Julie345PERTH

  • 2 reviews

Easy claim, good service

published

I hit a kangaroo on a country road. RAC insurance organised a tow for me, and then organised the repair of my car. There was a fair bit of damage, but it was repaired as good as new with no fuss. Good service from the people I spoke to on the phone, no issues.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSuzuki Vitara LY RT-X 4WD, 1.6L Diesel
See all answers

First time owning a car recieved no help

published

Recieved very little assitance with my claim. They decided to write it off in order to sell my car and make more money off it. They treated me very unfairly and were unwilling to help in anyway. Would not recommend.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Ness

NessPerth, WA

Motor Vehicle accident claim

published

My claim was sorted quickly and with understanding
Policy covered a hire car
Both parties with RAC so was extremely simple process
The accident was totally covered due to not being my fault

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelJaguar X-Type X400
See all answers
Ivanna

IvannaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • Verified customer

We always trust RAC for insurance but BAD phone customer service

published

We use RAC for house & property insurance, car insurance but always receive bad phone customer service. Why? Because we never receive our RAC member card. It has been numerous times I had to call RAC customer service to get my member card sent out to my address. How disappointing. We suppose to get what we pay.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda Odyssey
See all answers
Nathan S.

Nathan S.Perth, WA

Helpful and painless

published

My wife was involved in an accident where she was T-Boned by a garbage truck. She was lucky to walk away from the accident. The RAC were great; she was in shock and they walked us through what to do next and they organised a tow truck. They even offered a taxi fare to allow her to get home. Within 24 hours they had notified us the car was a write-off and they paid out the claim a couple of days later without any fuss. They then even offered a car broker free of charge to help get a deal on a new car. They kept us in the loop at all times and took care us.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander
See all answers
Marcel B.

Marcel B.Peel, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Never had a problem

published

Generally reviews are posted when there is bad experiences but I have never had an issue with RAC. (Touch wood)

I found in comparison to other insurance companies RAC had the best value for money. Never had to make a claim for my car but my parents have in the past and they had no issues. Overall great service

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHyundai i30
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzanne M.

Suzanne M.Perth, WA

Terrible experience

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Kellie H.

Kellie H.Perth, WA

RAC is no longer a good insurer.

published

I recently asked why my premium had gone up more than 20%, but I was met with an irrelevant scripted response, tetchy staff and misinformation. Go elsewhere. RAC has become so impressed by its own non-insurance products, such as the newsletter and discounts, that it's forgotten that its an insurer with clients who have an option to go elsewhere. So we did.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Angry of Perth

Angry of PerthPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Really good customer service

published

After crashing with someone I found that dealing with the RAC was a relatively easy process, they went through all the steps in recovering the money, and informing us me much as possible all the way.
I did find that some questions I had couldn't be answered, as different departments were calling me for the different stages of the claim, but on the whole it worked out. I received the agreed money for the car within a week, and the withheld amount was refunded after about a month. Their site is currently a little misleading where it suggests you need to pay a sum of money while the claim is being processed, while in reality, it's just withheld from the money they pay you.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf 7
See all answers
Lee

LeeSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified customer

RAC Car insurance

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelJeep Wrangler
See all answers
Ellen

EllenSouth West, WA

  • 3 reviews

Friendly, quick fix & competent

published

My car was back ended while my daughter was driving by another car which did minimal damage but still damage. I attended the accident rang RAC while there to notify of accident. Lady on end of phone was calm, professional and very helpful. I rang later and gave info regarding the accident and was advised of repairer close to home. Contacted repairer when home booked car in and 1 1/2 weeks later my car is repaired , back to me and looks same as prior to accident. I have been with RAC for many years and other than breakdowns I have not had to use them for an accident. I would highly recommend the RAC as the dealings I have had in all dealings especially my insurance claim was very professional, friendly and swift result.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Kuga TF.II Titanium
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

See all RAC Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Barry R.

Barry R.asked

want to pay renewal

No answers
Barry R.

Barry R.asked

renewal

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.