??!
1 photo
RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance

RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance (page 2 of 3)

2.6 from 42 reviews

Reviews

2.6

42 reviews
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(20)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (38)
  • Customer Service
    2.7 (39)
  • Timeliness
    3.2 (24)
  • Job Satisfaction
    3.2 (17)
  • Transparency
    2.7 (32)
Previous
Next
Suzanne M.

Suzanne M.Perth, WA

Terrible experience

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Kellie H.

Kellie H.Perth, WA

RAC is no longer a good insurer.

published

I recently asked why my premium had gone up more than 20%, but I was met with an irrelevant scripted response, tetchy staff and misinformation. Go elsewhere. RAC has become so impressed by its own non-insurance products, such as the newsletter and discounts, that it's forgotten that its an insurer with clients who have an option to go elsewhere. So we did.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Angry of Perth

Angry of PerthPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Really good customer service

published

After crashing with someone I found that dealing with the RAC was a relatively easy process, they went through all the steps in recovering the money, and informing us me much as possible all the way.
I did find that some questions I had couldn't be answered, as different departments were calling me for the different stages of the claim, but on the whole it worked out. I received the agreed money for the car within a week, and the withheld amount was refunded after about a month. Their site is currently a little misleading where it suggests you need to pay a sum of money while the claim is being processed, while in reality, it's just withheld from the money they pay you.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf Mk.7
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lee

LeeSouth West, WA

  • 2 reviews

RAC Car insurance

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelJeep Wrangler
See all answers
Ellen

EllenSouth West, WA

  • 3 reviews

Friendly, quick fix & competent

published

My car was back ended while my daughter was driving by another car which did minimal damage but still damage. I attended the accident rang RAC while there to notify of accident. Lady on end of phone was calm, professional and very helpful. I rang later and gave info regarding the accident and was advised of repairer close to home. Contacted repairer when home booked car in and 1 1/2 weeks later my car is repaired , back to me and looks same as prior to accident. I have been with RAC for many years and other than breakdowns I have not had to use them for an accident. I would highly recommend the RAC as the dealings I have had in all dealings especially my insurance claim was very professional, friendly and swift result.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Kuga TF.II Titanium
See all answers
Seve T.

Seve T.Perth, WA

  • 7 reviews

I really like RAC Assistance, Am I crazy?

published

I've been with RAC for 2 years now and used the roadside assistance once. It was a good experience, they helped me a lot. And about the quality of the attendance, I lost my wallet last week, a guy found it, called the RAC to tell them to contact me that he was with my wallet. Even with this lucky, the RAC did a awesome job contacting me with the guy to recieve back my wallet. Haha surprising. That's why I like RAC.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Viva JF (Wagon)
See all answers

It should be illegal to treat loyal customers like this...

published

Absolutely disgraceful to treat their loyal customers the way they do. I made a claim and was told 4 business days to assess my vehicle after being rear ended. An entire month had past and calling every single day of the week and complaining, to no avail. To this date they are still handling my claim with excuse after excuse and charging me a premium despite my refusal to do so. RAC are all liars, do not insure with them.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelSubaru Impreza
See all answers
tas8923

tas8923South West, WA

  • 3 reviews

Worst company ever

published

Worst insurance company ever for making claims can't tell you straight. Time lines are not meet or even made no help no real customer service no effort to keep the customer stay away spend a little more for the respect and decent customer service nearly 2 years for a claim

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateAugust 2017
Car ModelMazda bt50
See all answers
G. Hari

G. HariPerth, WA

Cost saving advice

published

I was there on 22/6/19 morning at RAC Cannington & was given good advice on how I can reduce my insurance policies & roadside assistance (2 cars & a possible motorcycle in the near future)... TQ

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Alex S.

Alex S.

  • 3 reviews

Terrible costumer service

published

Terrible terrible costumer service. We have been with QBI for years and the only reason we changed everything to Rac was that we could pay monthly. First claim we did was rejected because both cars were reversing in the car park even though my car was hit on the side!!!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelSubaru Outback 5GEN
See all answers
Stew

StewWestern Australia

  • 29 reviews

Price goes up every year

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Cruze JH
See all answers
Allen V.

Allen V.Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Disgusting Effort

published

Walk away, whatever you do. This company is not worth the anguish.

We thought that we were getting a better deal because the policy was cheaper, but when a claim gets rejected for ridiculous reasons it ends up costing more in the end.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
auvarov

auvarovPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Terrible attitude to loyal customers. Expensive

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Katie

KatiePerth

Terrible service !!!! Telling customer (of 4 policies) that it is ok to move away

published

We have 2 cars and 2 houses policies with RAC, received a written quote few months back discount for "valued member" went straight to our junk mail so i called to accept the quote and the outcome ended up "no we stand for our quote" and I asked if we have quote from aami will the match or give us discount? "no we dont do match" and "yes it is ok you can move away"

Perfect ! I will move all our current policies away from you RAC as you wish!!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelBMW X1
See all answers
Lauren

Lauren

  • 2 reviews

RAC I think you forgot that I’m the customer!

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how RAC Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blake

BlakePerth, WA

  • 10 reviews

Rip off! Don't reward loyal customers

published

Been with this mob for 8 years with no claims made ever.

2x cars insured
Home and contents insured
2x dogs insured through pet insurance

Made a pet claim which got rejected and I was treated like absolute crap. They didn't care if I had been with them for 1 month or 10 years.

After the poor customer service I went elsewhere for insurance and found out my car insurance was $50 a month cheaper elsewhere for the exact same policy.

Not only was I a loyal customer but they were ripping me off big time. RAC you should look after your long term customers a bit better!

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
See all answers

Very happy

published

Would have to be the best value insurance company in Australia. Do yourself a favor get a quote . I had a motorcycle stolen recently and I was amazed how easy and helpful they made things ....I'm a big fan thanks RAC

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
Kurt

KurtPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews

Will Never Insure With The RAC Again..

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
rich

richPerth, WA

WARNING! STAY AWAY

published

Absolute scammers. NEVER AGAIN. Absolute nightmare trying to post a legitimate claim, that ended with them favouring the other car to save them money, when I was parked!!!!
Avoid like the plague!!

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Mr S

Mr SPerth, WA

  • 11 reviews

Worst customer service ever

published

My partner and myself are insured by the rac, (well my partner was cancelled) my partner missed two payments unaware as it was debited from a bank account she had forgotten to check on. They did not let us be aware of the missed payments so we could pay and she could continue to be insured, they cancelled her insurance and did not advise. My partner had a car accident. 2010 car unaware was uninsured by the rac. I had to use my savings to buy another car for my partner and the 2010 car ended up sold off to the wreckers. Might cancel, no, I will be cancelling my insurance also. Find a decent insurance company. Who actually care about customers

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Page 2 of 3
See all RAC Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Barry R.

Barry R.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

want to pay renewal

1 answer
bangsat
bangsat

no need just leave, RAC are thieves

Barry R.

Barry R.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

renewal

1 answer
bangsat
bangsat

no need just leave, RAC are thieves

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.