1 photo
RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.4 from 64 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Car Insurance in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for RACQ? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

1.0
10 reviews
5
(0)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(10)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (9)
  • Transparency
    1.0 (9)
  • Customer Service
    1.1 (9)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • 1-2 weeks (1)
    • 2-4 weeks (2)
    • 1-2 months (1)
    • 3+ months (4)
  • Claim ApprovedYes · No (10)
Previous
Next
John
JohnSouth East Queensland, QLD

RACQ take the word of an UNINSURED driver over their own long term customer.

published

We had a minor incident when an old 4wd swung out to the left before turning right at the lights, clipping our rear RH door and guard. No witnesses. The 4wd owner was not insured and denied culpability. RACQ decided to take his word over a +5year customer, to avoid paying our excess.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz GLA-Class X156
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedNo
Adrian G.
Adrian G.South East Queensland, QLD

Made my car worse than the actual crash.

published

- Top quality insurance, or i thought it was, had my car 7 week and had to take it back due to new damages being done at the car yard.12 and 12 days and i still no longer have a car, might i add the crash had nothing to do with me, it was an ice addict. Ive been abused on the phone, lost my job and worse thing is i lost a baby due to the crash, can someone please call on 0451 373 173 please please.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car Modelmazda cx7
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Adrian Gauden
Adrian Gauden South East Queensland, QLD

Unsafe car told to drive over and over.

published

Was in a car accident where i lost a baby and since then i have begged RACQ to fix my car, they made it worse and i have had two major crashs since, i call up and get different answers every time, also you cant speak to a superviser if you ask, they decide to call you or not. 10months into lroblem now.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Greg
GregSouth East Queensland, QLD

I had my car parked When we did return there had been a hailstorm and tdamage from a tree that fell on it.

published

The issues I have are
• The assessor lied to us.
• We where treated like we were criminals.
• The assessor never gave us his name.
• He did not have a name badge on.
• We where not given anything in writing.
• We where not shown any evidence.
• We where told that the dents all came from one direction and that was wrong ( I thought hail all came from one direction, down.

Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Andre D.
Andre D.South East Queensland, QLD

Don't waste your time and money on this insurance company

published

Not willing to assist in my claim just keep telling me to talk to my insurance company who have been helpful in providing repair after hours of being on hold I got no where with them

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelCarrola
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Brock A.
Brock A.South East Queensland, QLD

Worst insurer! Disgusting service

published

Spent $3.5k over three years for full comprehensive to make a claim after a lady bit** hit my BMW in a carpark. For my claim to be rejected as I did not disclose my traffic history that considered of one drink driving charge! That had nothing to do with this incident as I was stationary in a carpark but in the PDS (fine print) there is a clause about disclosing any new or old traffic convictions. So I had to go after her insurance company with my witness statement (she didn't have one) so Allianz paid me out instead of my own insurer. Would not recommend RACQ due to their sneaky tactics listed in the product disclosure statement.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 3 Series E90
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Suraj
Suraj
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worst Insurance: Stay away

published

The policy was not the most expensive but was still way more expensive than a lot of its competition.

A claim was lodged, they only fixed the exterior of the vehicle, did not address the leak issue that arose after the accident. Claim was lodged October Mid, dispute was raised in November. They told on January 2, and that they will not fix the car. They still have my car and has not even returned it.

Stay away from them.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda CR-V
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
We compared reviews on the Top 5 Most Popular Car Insurance Providers

If you’re looking for cheap car insurance that's also reliable, ProductReview.com.au can help. We’ve sifted through 1000s of car insurance reviews on Budget Direct, AAMI, youi, Woolworths and Australian Seniors. Simply read on for a summary of what drivers liked the most and least about these top five most viewed providers.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.1 June 2020
we-compared-reviews-on-the-top-5-most-popular-car-insurance-providers
Next
eddy
eddySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

How to get RACQ to pay out on a stolen car claim

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Other Car Insurance

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Helene
HeleneSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible Service from RACQ Insurance

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai Tucson
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car Insurance

Find out how RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Car theft

published

Car stolen was for sale prospective buyer took the car to pay for the car in my bank account. Never happened and the car wasn't returned. Reported the car stolen to Police. Car recovered and in the Police holding yard. Car picked up by RACQ and assessed and was deemed as a repairable write off and reported to Department of Transport. 6 weeks it took RACQ to investigate the claim with minimal communication of the progress of the claim. Finally the outcome of the claim was declined as the car was not deemed stolen and car was involed in criminal activity and the car was taken to a salvage yard and I was then told I had to sort out what to do with it. I have escalated a complaint to ACFA

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all RACQ Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance but you can read 10 questions about RACQ Car Insurance.

Get an answer from our members

RACQ Comprehensive Car Insurance

Details

Compare all 4 RACQ Car Insurance
CategoryCar Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents, Income, Life, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterRACQ Insurance
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional Extra
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $40 per day for up to 14 days

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot Included
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Optional extra, up to $40 per day up to 14 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $100 per day up to 14 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $750
Transit Cover Not Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $750 after relevant excess is paid
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded up to $500
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 2 years of original registration

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Included
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncluded
FireIncluded
CollisionIncluded
Natural EventsIncluded
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 4 RACQ Car Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.