??!
6 photos
Rancilio Silvia

Rancilio Silvia (page 2 of 6)

V3, V4, V5, etc...
4.2 from 105 reviews

Reviews

4.2

105 reviews
5
(68)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(9)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (10)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (10)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (4)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.9 (9)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.9 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Jo loves her kids

Jo loves her kidsAdelaide

  • 17 reviews

Lovely little machine!

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers

The Best Coffee Machine for the Money

published

Great coffee machine, I have had this for 17 years and is in use every day, i put a new boiler in a year ago ( did it myself) and is like new again. Would recomend the Silvia, easy to use, easy to clean, but wouldn't be good for large amounts of coffee.

Date PurchasedJun 2001
Hortoman

HortomanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best of the basics

published

Under $1k this is the standout machine. We've had ours for 6-7yrs (I think) without a problem.
It built like a brick and serviceable - probably still the only sub $1k machine that uses a brass boiler, which is more durable and delivers more consistent heat and pressure. But getting good coffee requires 3 things - 1. You need to learn how to "drive" a manual machine. Once you do, you will be richly rewarded. 2. You need a good grinder if you want consistently good coffee (specialty coffees vary in hardness an therefore optimal grind). 3. Good coffee (ie the ones you won't find in a supermarket - find a good good microroaster.

Date PurchasedJul 2010
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkVic

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Good value for money, Poor customer service from Rancilio

published
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Preserves

Preservesgeelong

  • 4 reviews

My Pride And Joy

published

I love my Rancilio. It gave me an absolute thrill the "graduate" to this after years of putting up with a basic Sunbeam model. Construction quality is second to none and the results are truly professional look on Coffee snobs - you will see everyone has this machine. Its the king!

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Tealy

Tealymelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Fancy Coffee Anyone?

published

This is the favorite of many "bean snobs" site and I admit to being sucked in a bit by all those reviews.
This machine is not for the faint hearted. You have a lot to lean and a lot of control. I would say that you should have a clear idea of you ideal coffee to start with and experiment and keep making adjustments until you get there.
Build quality of the machine itself if very solid and should last years.
Just be prepared to put in the time to learn how get that coffee you are after

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Darcy_Dunbar

Darcy_Dunbar

  • 9 reviews

Rust bucket!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2010
timax

timax

  • 2 reviews

Not as good as i thought it should be.

published

We have had 3 Pavoni machines over the past 35 years or so and this Rancillio for about 1 year. I thought we might try a machine with a pump for a change instead of a lever. What a mistake!
Everyone in the family hates it . It sprays coffee all over the place , the steam valve leaks, cant steam and pull a shot at the same time , the wand needs draining before every shot and there is always so much water coming out.
Just a really poor machine. Expensive for what you get also.
*Editing to add That after reading what other are saying about the need to find the correct grind setting that this may reduce some of my issues.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
dale.callaghan

dale.callaghanAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

A compact piece of garbage.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
J man

J man

  • 11 reviews

Such Good Coffee

published

Rancilio Silvia, well secret of this machine is to match it with a good grinder, make sure you backflush it regularly and use fresh beans with it and the coffee is fantastic great crema and it really takes you back to truly manual coffee.

It is always worth the effort when you can pull a lovely espresso.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
JB Review

JB ReviewNsw, 2452

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Solid coffee machine.

published

Pretty good value considering what you get. You need to factor in training with this beast otherwise you'll might as well stay with your blend 42. Though once you're up and running, then expect to get really w@anky with your coffee. Half the time the coffee I buy out isn't as good as my morning joe. I recommend! 5*

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Art V

Art VAdelaide

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

A steep learning curve but well worth it

published

Like all Rancilios, there is a bit of a learning curve involved with this machine. However, it pays off in the end with the reward being good quality espresso at home. I recommend reading the manual and spending some time on the coffee forums online to get some valuable tips.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Georgie555

Georgie555Western Australia

  • 22 reviews
  • 17 likes

Wonderful but would recommend adjustment to be made with power point by electrician

published

I bought this machine about six months ago and it is great. Sturdy and reliable with great coffee. Received a free grinder which is great. I did purchase this directly from Italy but it arrived just as quick as express post so I can recommend the company. The machine comes with an adaptor plug for Australian power points but I got an electrician to change this over for me and there have been no problems. You probably don't need to but I would check re insurance if you don't.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Andrew M

Andrew M

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Feeling like a real barista now

published

Have just acquired the latest Rancilio Silvia with a Rocky grinder. Aesthetically speaking, this is a beautiful looking combination. I have done extensive reading about how to perfect shots and how to warm the machine quickly and this was time well spent. I have invested in a proper tamper from Rancilio as a proper tamping is critical to making a good brew. Very happy with this product. My last machine, a Breville Barista Express died after 3 years; it lost all pressure and started producing awful shots. Hoping the Rancilio lasts much longer. It does demand more patience but making good coffee is a pleasure worth my time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Alysha

AlyshaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

As a full time barista, this at home coffee machine makes the cut!

published

As a full time barista, I needed something to use at home that measured up to the kind of machines that I regularly work on (and that retail $30,000+!).

The Rancilio Silvia is perfect. Providing the functions I need to create perfect espresso, and a steam wand with enough power to texturise milk, I am so happy with this purchase.

I can recommend this product to baristas, but also to the average consumer who wants to take the next step with their at-home coffee set up. This machine gives you everything you need to make the best coffee possible at home.

My only limitation is that the catchment tray is quite small, and needs to be emptied quite regularly, otherwise, this set up is perfect!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Rancilio Silvia compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
BenEddieE

BenEddieESYDNEY

  • 19 reviews
  • 12 likes

Just upgraded my old machine and still in love with this brand!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Ollickle

OllickleDevonport

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is for a thoughtful person and is a little like playing golf, but less complicated.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2002
spencarr

spencarrBargara

Great Entry Level Machine.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2005
Phil L

Phil LGippsland

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great coffees & value but recommend doing a course

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Greg J

Greg J

  • 2 reviews

Outstanding

published

This is Italian authenticity and simplicity at its best. The perfect machine for brewing a short or long black. It is also extremely robust and, two years down the line, looks like the day I got it. Love it - highly recommended.

A slightly bigger water tank would be nice, but is not necessary.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 2 of 6
See all Rancilio Silvia reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharon

Sharonasked

Silvia

My silvia has started to splatter and spit when I try to make coffee - coffee all over the place - the steamer is fine. Any help?

3 answers
Makingtide
Makingtide

Sound like the gasket in the group head is gone or there is stuff stuck to the gasket so it doesn't form a good seal. Be wary about using it as the boiler has a tendency to bake the electrical wiring loom brittle and if there is water spraying around and it is getting inside the unit you run a risk of electric shock. This happened with mine. I don't trust Rancilio anymore - not the quality they profess to be.
I'd get it serviced ASAP.

Sharon
Sharon

Ok I will thank you very much very much appreciated

Sharon
Sharon

Sorry espresso machines

Rob_lam

Rob_lamasked

Silvia

I don't seem to be able to get the expresso to creme

3 answers
Chris
Chris

I will try to help. Its a combination of coffee quality, grind, tampering and water temp temperature. Let's assume the quality is okay and you know how to get the right temperature on the machine. Grind the coffee to the granularity of caster sugar. Fill the basket with 15 -18 grams of coffee. Tamp it down with 30 Pounds or 12 Kilo of hand tamper pressure. Load the group handle and when the light indicator is correct. run the water pump through the coffee for around 30 seconds. If the coffee bubbles through too fast, the grind is too coarse or not enough coffee. If it struggles to drip coffee into the cup, the coffee is too fine or there is too much coffee. Experiment with coarser or finer and tamper pressure. Let me know how this goes.

Chris
Chris

This might help a little to see the result you should be aiming for.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pjS8h5DSW3M

Chris
Chris

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5cdYyrvlWM

Peter S.

Peter S.asked

Silvia V5

Where can we purchase the Silvia and Rocky grinder with tamper?
Are they sold as a set?
Any suggestions, I live in Brisbane

1 answer
bilnrobn
bilnrobn

There are plenty of Australian sources. Here is one https://www.coffeemachinespecialist.com.au/shop/rancilio-silvia-with-doserless-grinder-package/ Google to find others. You my need to buy online. Any Rancilio supplier would have them or could get them. This one is in Brisbane, but you may still need to buy online as it is through ebay. https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Rancilio-Silvia-V5-Espresso-Machine-Brisbane-Miss-Sylvia-Coffee-Machine-Maker-/172089351293

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.