??!

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.7 (123)
  • Transparency
    4.8 (111)
  • Customer Service
    4.9 (123)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (55), 1-2 weeks (34), 2-4 weeks (6), 1-2 months (1) and 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (95) · No (2)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Suzanne

SuzanneSydney, NSW

Excellent! Claims made easy!

published

I’ve been with Real Pet Insurance for approx 8 yrs now. I’ve never had any issues with a claim and they make the process easy and quick with refunds within a few days of the claims being submitted. Highly recommended!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Suzanne
Suzanne

Real insurance always makes difficult situations with our pet family members so much easier. I have always highly recommended Real Insurance to many friends.

Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Hi Suzanne,
Thank you for your reply. I am glad to hear that we have been able to assist you and your pets in times of need. Thanks again for your kind words.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Xuehua

XuehuaSydney, NSW

Claim

published

Yes it covered 75-80% of the money.
The insurance was easy to set up.
It took less than a week to resolve my claim.
I joined Real Insurance for more than one year.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

JUDITH HALL

JUDITH HALLAustralian Capital Territory

  • 2 reviews

So glad we have this.

published

We have had Real Insurance for our staffie since he was 10 months old. He is now 10 and a half. In this time he has had cruciate surgery and a few other minor things. Recently he slipped a disk and in the end had to have spinal surgery. I am so happy that we had the insurance to cover this. Claims were paid quickly and it is so good that the claim is sent straight from the vet, no paperwork to complete. Highly recommend it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how Real Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lorraine P

Lorraine PSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

No hassle

published

I took out Pet Insurance for my dog 6 years ago and to date have never had an issue with a claim. Online claims service makes it so much easier.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Desmond

DesmondGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Just joined so far seems Ok

published

The Policy seems good value and just joined up my Dog Ben the account was easy to set up and is compatable with others and I have been with Real Insuranced now for many years and very happy with their policies

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeNo
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

hmj

hmj

  • 2 reviews

This great

published

Very quick to sign up and it was exactly what l needed for my pet for future use for any medical problems etc that may occur. Explained quite clearly for me

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

So streamlined and quick - was amazed at the turn around once a claim had been submitted!

published

We have accident only cover, which we questioned prior to needing it, if it was worthwhile - 2 weeks later our 2yo Shepard broke his leg playing! He needed extensive orthopaedic surgery, in-hospital care and rehab. Claim processed within 7 business days! Absolutely worth every cent we’ve paid into our cover.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
OMER S

OMER SSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Highly recommended Real Pet Insurance to anyone who loves their pets and wants to ensure they get the best care possible

published

Real insurance has been an absolute blessing for us over the last 6 years. We have had pet insurance since our pug was 8 weeks old (now 6yrs old) and it has been worth every single cent. Unfortunately he has had a number of costly medical issue and it’s been so comforting to know he could get the best treatment without having to worry about the cost. Real Insurance has been a pleasure to deal with on every occasion and has always been very prompt in paying claims and now offering Gap only I only pay the gap in the bill.. so easy and convenient! I highly recommend Real Insurance to anyone looking for peace of mind and a friendly reliable company who care about our fur babies!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Simone

SimoneGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

I'm glad that I was able to claim on insurance for my pet's vet treatment.

published

No, not a good policy for value as unable to insure for dental which I feel is a very important part of pets health, as peridontal is vital to maintaining the best health for your pet, and pets deterioration in health is primarily due to dental, and therefore, as I have a premium policy, I feel that dental should be included. Myself I have private health cover and dental is covered as it is important, so why not the pets. My pet has his teeth cleaned but I am out of pocket for this because REAL do not cover it. And yes, I am a responsible pet owner.
yes easy to set up, .
Good time frame for resolving claim
pet insured for 2 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how Real Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jasmine

JasmineSydney, NSW

Best decision ever

published

Our dog is two years old and was diagnosed with cataracts, which is unusual because he is so young. To us he is much more than just a dog, he’s family. We decided we want to give him the best life possible and get him surgery to fix his eyes and restore his vision. He spent three days with the amazing team at SASH vets. Real pet insurance covered 80% of his surgery, and were super quick to approve it (no hassles). I would also like to add that we didn’t have to pay the money outright as real pet insurance paid the vets directly, saving us having to fork out $8k and then claim the money back. We are so grateful for real pet insurance. Could not recommend them enough!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Susan Webster

Susan WebsterSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Wouldn't be without my pet insurance

published

So good, I'm very happy with my pet insurance, I have it since we bought our dog as a puppy for 7 years. wouldn't be with out it, So easy to claim , my vet sends my claim through for me and you get your money back very quick.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Carole R

Carole RGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Pet insurance claim

published

I’m really happy with my pet insurance through Real Insurance! The process time was quick which is great. I feel that my policy is good value! I have had this policy for 3 years and have always had good service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Prompt reinbursment

published

Was impressed at the prompt return after submitting invoice . Recieved a great amount back. Have recommended this insurance to others. We are glad we took out this insurance as it has been worth it .

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Virginia

VirginiaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Reliable and helpful, literally a life saver for our dogs.

published

RPI has been reliable and literally a life saver for 3 of our dogs over the last 9 years. Claims are easy to submit and are processed quickly, call centre staff are really helpful on the phone when needed. We are relieved that we can tell our vet to apply whatever tests and treatments are needed to help our beloved dogs get back to full health, knowing we are covered for up to 80% of the costs. We have had some scary close calls and thankfully this insurance has helped us through.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Caroline

CarolineSydney Surrounds, NSW

Excellent Pet Insurance!!!

published

Very easy to set up today, very informative consultant, I have been with Real for over 10yrs with another form of Policy so I am very happy insuring my new Pet with Real Insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how Real Pet Insurance compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen

KarenGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

No fuss, no questions easy claim

published

Was very happy!
The claim was easy, no stress and payment was promptly transferred into my account. During these times it takes the worry out as it’s stressful dealing with a sick animal. Thank you for your great customer care

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Ruby V

Ruby VLismore, New South Wales

Easy to apply for, quick and cheap

published

I've only just ordered it today so there's not much else I can say. I applied for home and contents insurance at the same time 5 more words to get to 30.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Kathryn

KathrynWimmera, VIC

  • 2 reviews

This has been a great help!

published

Claims lodged don’t take very long to resolve at all. It was easy to set up and is excellent value. I have been with Real Pet Insurance for over 3 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Outstanding customer service

published

Best value I’ve seen, any claims (no matter big or small) were dealt with and paid within 2-3 business days, outstanding customer service and will be using real insurance for a long time to come

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Happy Gordon customer

Happy Gordon customerGordon 2906, ACT

  • 3 reviews

Fuss free pet insurance claim

published

I have had Real pet insurance for my dog for 11 years. I have only (luckily) had to claim twice. Each time the whole process was very easily done online & I received my refund extremely fast. I believe now they also have a gap only claim method, which is even better. Very happy customer.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance
Page 1 of 8
See all Real Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Kev

Kevasked

Real Pet Insurance

No pet insurance has great reviews but yours is the worst . Are you happy about this ? What are you doing to win back the customers you have lost due to your unreal actions . Are you incompertant or just uncareing ? Why and how are you still in business selling this useless insurance policy?
I pray you go down very soon and stop the Hurt and heart ache you cause the most needy in society

2 answers
Real Insurance
Benedict G.Real Insurance

Hi there, we have responded to your original post and have asked for you to provide us with your policy and contact number so we can contact you to assist you with your claim.

Kev
Kev

Once again this just shows how disconnected you are with your customer base . This is NOT an answer to my question . I have supplied you with the details you are asking for but it didnt help me or my Pet . I no longer have a policy with you and will NEVER again . You have allready KILLED my beloved pet . I am asking this to help others make an informed decision and your uncareing responce should be enough for most ?

Helen

Helenasked

Real Pet Insurance

please send me your email as I need to email a clients history to you.

1 answer
Real Insurance
Greenstone F.Real Insurance

Hi Helen, thanks for your enquiry. Please email real@petsure.com.au, thank you.

Gaz

Gazasked

Real Pet Insurance

Can a supervisor contact me,if you can?

1 answer
Real Insurance
Customer RelationsReal Insurance

Hi, Can you please private message me your policy details here: www.facebook.com/RSPCAPetInsurance and I can arrange for a Service Manager to contact you. Thank you

Get an answer from our members and Real Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Real Pet Insurance
CategoryPet InsurancePet InsurancePet Insurance
UnderwriterHollardHollardHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$12,000$12,000$12,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%Up to 75%Up to 60%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks8 weeks8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Illness CoverIncludedIncludedIncluded
Routine Care CoverOptional ExtraNot IncludedNot Included
Tick Paralysis$1,200$1,000Included
Emergency Boarding Fees$1,000 (you must the the sole carer and hospitalised for over 5 days in a row)$1,000 (you must the the sole carer and hospitalised for over 5 days in a row)$500
Lifetime Cover IncludedIncludedIncluded
Cooling Off Period30 Days30 Days30 Days
Consultation Fees$300$300$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600$2,600Included
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days30 Days30 Days
Condition Limit$2,000 per condition (Classic Accident & Illness Cover only)
Compare all 3 Real Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.