??!
3 photos
Renault Kangoo X61.II

Renault Kangoo X61.II

3.1 from 11 reviews

See the Best Vans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
3
1 star
2

Guenther Z.

Guenther Z.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

ABS Issue on 2016 Renault Kangoo Maxi , Service performance very questionable

published

Purchased in September 2016.

Year2016

renolike

renolikebournemouth

Why did you bother!

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Mal

MalGoulburn

Renault Kangoo - an impressive small van.

published

The Renault Kangoo - a joyfully French take on a small commercial vehicle.
The Kangoo is a likeable, economical and car-like van with character.
There is a range of options and accessories available to tailor the design as you wish.
At home in urban areas, the Kangoo is also excellent on highway trips.

BadgeCompact
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.2L Turbo
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Peter L

Peter LDoreen VIC 3754

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Excellent choice of work vehicle

published

My perfect work van,120K trouble free. Comfortable/Quite ride for long rural to short city driving. Great access to your cargo or tools of trade. Useful clearance for underground car parking even with roof racks fitted. Aftermarket rear air suspension easily fitted at low cost. Running expenses low stick to original Continental tyres as good for 50k +. Will definitely trade in for same again.

P.S. Speed limiter ideally suited for inner city 40K zones

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014

Terrible experience and big mistake on buying this van

published
Badgexxx
Wheelbasexxxxxx
Engine Sizexxxxxxx
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Horst

HorstKatoomba

Cooling system

published
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Horst
Horst

Nick

Nick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not highly recommended

published
BadgeRenault Kangoo
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Maxi Crew is excellent

published

This is the perfect mini van for my business needs as sometimes I carry things and other times people. The manual is better as you have more control. I love this car. It has all the modern comforts but not the hassle of a big van. I can park in shopping centres.......van owners you know what I mean.

BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Anthony

AnthonySydney, Australia

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great little van.

published
BadgeMaxi
WheelbaseLong
Engine Size1.5L Turbo
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Barnyardgambler

Barnyardgambler

  • 5 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not for tall drivers.

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic

Avoid.

published
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseShort
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic

See all Renault Kangoo reviews

Questions & Answers

Craig S

Craig Sasked

Hi,
I have a 2016 Renault kangoo maxi 1.5diesel.
Currently I am experiencing what seems to be clutch shudder, Only that it is an intermittent shudder when driving off. At first I thought it was maybe temperature related but does not seem to be and does this all the time. I also have an intermittent hunting when driving at a constant speed. I’ve taken it to the dealer and their response was ‘it had some faults codes (turbo pressure related) so we have cleared them and see how it goes’ obviously lazily not looking further into them.
Would this have some to do with the intermittent problems I am having?

Thank you

1 answer
Mal
Mal

My experience is entirely with the 1.2litre turbo petrol engine, which is sweet unit. Shudder and hunting may also be due to transmission/gearbox and fluid issues. Intermittent faults are difficult for mechanics to identify because these days diagnostic machines are relied on heavily. Perhaps ask the advice of a diesel engine specialist?


JJR

JJRasked

I have a Kangoo 2014 swb manual. Love the car only done 30000k's have had the coils replaced already as car was shuddering and emission light coming on. Also replaced spark plugs. At one time the whole car lit up like a xmas tree and just completely shut down. Has been back 4 times for this problem. Should be picking it up soon as apparently hasn't missed a beat when Renault Australia tech has driven it - quite some distance. Have been driving a loan car (auto - not impressed with the auto at all - too sluggish). I hope it is now fixed once and for all or I will be asking for a replacement. Should the coils go that quick???

2 answers
ferkemall
ferkemall

Coil sets are like most things electric they don't like heat also auto parts are made all over the planet the quality/spec can vary, crap Chines coils will break down in short order because the plastics uedued to insulate are cheap and the moulding may be thinner.
How many of us know how to check out the insulation? Not many and there are a of of fake parts from Turkey,
Citroen /Peugeot /Renault all have factories in China I'm not saying everything made there is bad but the country does not have any copyright laws so anybody can make anything and sell it.
If you like you can carry a can of silicon spray in your kit and if the dash starts to light up like an Xmas tree take the leads of and spray them at least it will get you home if you're out in the sticks, another tip is to buy a bottle of domestic boiler additive it lubes the water pump stops the formation of sludge, is safe in iron or alloy engines and it keeps the system clean, in the UK its about £6 and change a bottle and you only use half the bottle so it will last 2 years, with today's cars you need all the help you can get some people blank off the EGR valve because it only puts a lot of crap into the induction system and blocks up the cat converter.
Any car made in France are prone to bad earths renault had an issue with the earth on a rear light that threw up all sorts of problems, water/condensation in the fuse is another, brake light switch, battery, act always check your earths out first it can save you a lot of expense, get your partner to buy you a digital multi meter for a present.

Anyway hope some it helps.
Renault owner from across the splash.

JJR
JJR

Thanks for the advice ferkemail. I will definitely be getting a multi meter. Since I'm not that keyed up on engine parts I will get a friend of mine who works with cars to show me where everything is. Much appreciated. Bye the way, I now have it back - so far so good. The dealership have been extremely helpful in insisting that Renault Australia get involved. They did and have tested and retested many times and done a complete computer upgrade plus other bits & pieces (minor parts). Hopefully this will be the end of my trouble as I really love the car and have it all set up for my dogs.


Danny Varga

Danny Vargaasked

How much is the timing belt replacement cost at a renault dealer?

2 answers
ferkemall
ferkemall

OK I'm in UK I got a 1.6 Renault k4 engine twin cam, petrol, my local garage will charge £350 to change the belt/puppies and water pump, considering the work involved that's cheap, as for going to the dealers forget it that's going to cost £500 plus.
Hope it helps.

oldguy60
oldguy60

In Australia if you just buy the (timing belt kit), that includes a belt, a tensioner device and two bolts, its $200. But there's more expense if you buy the water pump kit as well and most people do, because of the extra cost of getting it fixed later.
I have a kangoo 1.5 diesel. I have read horror stories about the timing belt change, where the car has to be on jacks, the engine detached from a lot of components and jacked up high to get access to the timing belt. Then a special Torx spanner to take off a cover plug, also a pully that requires loosening and retightening with a tension wrench to specification, while the engine is locked in position with a screwdriver.
I have to find the money and get this done yet, it seems like a lot of labor cost by a qualified mechanic.


Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Details

CategoryVans
Release dateJan 2013
Compare all Renault Kangoo

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.