6 photos
Renault Master

Renault Master

X62, X70 (See All)
2.3 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Renault

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.5 (6)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (5)
  • Braking
    3.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.0 (3)
  • Gear Shifting
    2.0 (3)
  • Suspension
    2.3 (3)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.0 (3)
  • Handling
    2.3 (3)
  • Interior Design
    2.3 (3)
  • Boot Size
    2.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    2.3 (3)
  • Features
    2.0 (3)
Previous
Clear all
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
zac
zacSydney, NSW

0/10 dangerously poor design.

published

There’s too many things about this vehicle that annoy me to list them all. If you’re looking for a vehicle that’s unique for the sake of it rather than to make any improvements then this is the one.

Purchased in April 2021.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jeff
JeffGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

totally agree

published

I own a Renault Master Cab Chassis 2018 2.3 Turbo Diesel 6 speed auto 22,500 klms on the clock.
I had the same issue with the Gearbox stuck in Neutral. Its turns out after a Diagnostic examination
that hydro service pump has to be replaced because they cannot repair the seals???? Its like a car that may have a puncture, so lets throw the wheel away!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brad
BradMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

Avoid it at all costs...

published

This is by far the worst vehicle I’ve ever driven, coming from 25+ years in the transport industry!!! The automated transmission in theses things is the worst design and technology with stalling from stand still to not knowing which gear it wants down hill chopping and changing from low to a higher gear!! The seaty position is appalling with on up and down adjustment on the steering column. We too have had our work van in and out of the dealership repairing and replaCing the sliding passenger door to still be playing up!! The people mover is an absolute embarrassment to the Renault brand... cheap for a reason, avoid it at all costs...

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Paul M.
Paul M.South East Queensland, QLD

After Sales Service Absolutely Terrible

published

After sales service is rubbish, my service centre is Springwood Qld they are rude and do not help at all, there head office is also no help, I have had my own business for 10 years and I have never dealt a company that have treated a customer in this type of way, they never call me back, lie and don't fix your van properly, get them to look at it the other day and there was a pump that was not plugged back in under the engine, dont waste your time buying one of these piece of crap!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased for $42,750.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mei Na D.
Mei Na D.Sydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible service terrible head office

published

I had purchased master van on17/1/20 and I just had service on August. After first service,I had experienced engine off more 4 times in one month. And reported each time but the serviceman was not really care. I reported to head office but reply is very delay. Untill now, the issue still is not fixed. Waste my time and money. I have done 3times service in a month. Now loss job and loss money . No any answer. Be careful

Purchased in January 2020 at McCarroll's Automotive Group for $46,850.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

My gear box issue

published

I have had a gearbox issue shown up on my renault master 2015 and now the mechanic says it the hydro robotic issues and its going to cost me an arm and a leg can anybody help or guide me to a solution to this hefty bill i am going to get

Purchased in June 2018 for $22,000.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dissapointed
dissapointedSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Gear problems

published
Incentivised Review No
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next
NIck lh
NIck lhBrisbane

Rubbish van

published

Rubbish. Door handle fell off, central locking failed, could not lock sliding doors for two weeks, blue tooth and rear camera failed, paint peeled off both sliding door rails. Replaced under warranty but they scratched the paint work when replaced, the orange paint has gone chalky and powdery. Scallops in passenger rear tyre due to suspension issues. “This issue was brought to my attention buy a Renault mechanic who I did some work for”. Promises from customer service to get independent paint specialist to look at. Village motors in north lakes could not care less! Will engage fair trading now.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Leigh
LeighMelbourne

Avoid at all costs. Worst commercial Van to own, repetitive ongoing major faults and issues

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedNov 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A total nightmare...don't buy a renault....ever.

published
BodyVan
BadgeXtra long
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pete
PeteNorwich

Gearbox gone

published

Gearbox gone at 60,000 miles back to a ford me thinks noisy van disappointed if this vehicle is going to cost a fortune to keep on the road only had 3 months dealer says it is common fault with Renault gearboxes so buyers beware will be bogging back to a transit cheaper to repair and more reliable.

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

renault wear and tear

published

I bought a new Renault master dci 100 in 2012 medium wheel base from main dealer in limerick city milage at present 50 000 klms .only myself drives it van is very well looked and always serviced on time my problem is if fault happens they always seem to put something down to wear and tear and bill me for it with such small milage I cant see why I have had lots of new vans over the years and with 5 year warranty on vans this is a joke. cant get customer services on phone to complain 5 year warranty is only a sales plot Renault are a complete rip off and treat customers like rubbish so my advise is run away from Renault they only rip u off if u want good commercial transport look at any other vans Renault are your worst night mare

BodyVan
BadgeIntegral
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KJ
KJVictoria
  • 2 reviews
  • 7 likes

The worst van I ever had. Please avoid to purchase it.

published

If you are looking to buy this sort of van please think a lot. As me and 15 other people we got the contract and we all have bought this van. And everyone has some issues with this van. Don't buy if you are thinking it's cheaper than others. But truth is better pay more rather than feel cheated later.. The issue with this van is poor quality doors, not a great van to drive, poor suspension, in my van many parts were missing. Better check if you still buying this van that everything is working..good luck

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stewart S
Stewart STara
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Continuing saga of another blown gearbox at 75,000 klms

published
BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Renault Master van

published

I have just bought a Ford Transit, glad to get rid of my Master van, what a load of crap, had it from new 2012 nothing but trouble they had the van more than i did.
Good riddance Renault van.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Graeme S.
Graeme S.asked
Master

Am I right in assuming that there is no park mode in the auto gearbox of the Renault Master 2021 series?
The handbrake is the only method of securing the vehicle

1 answer
Richard H.
Richard H.

That’s correct, weird hey. Would have actually thought it unroadworthy in days gone by as park brake was one check they did

EggChair J.
EggChair J.asked
Master

Hi please help with opinions. Looking for a van to do deliveries, found a lwd renault master bus 2016. We need to finance the lot so wouldn't have $ for costly repairs or gearbox replacement. Please let me know your thoughts on this van, before I visited this site I've heard nothing but good, but now I see real feedback it looks scary. Please help. We are in a hurry to get deliveries out. My email [Personal Details Removed] Regards and thanks in advance John.

2 answers
Joshua D.
Joshua D.

Great van much better than hiace or smaller vans used all over europe will go the distance

Richard H.
Richard H.

Good van apart from the auto, it’s a piece of outdated crap. Get a manual and you’ll be fine. $8000 later and my auto still isn’t fixed

Marek P.
Marek P.asked
Master

When I need to do gear box service?

2 answers
rob14
rob14

The autos don't need alot of servicing as they are just a manual gearbox with a hydraulic module that changes the gears automatically. Alot of time when the auto gearbox has "failed" its just a worn clutch plate so the gearbox cant engage and starts throwing up errors. Usually happens 180,000-250,000km. Fit an new clutch kit, and usually as good as new. Also for those backing up hills with the heavy loads. Push the KG button on the dash. It changes the clutch engagement for heavy loads, and may improve things.

EggChair J.
EggChair J.

Hi Rob can I ask if your a mechanic or own the same van? We are struggling our foton blew up now looking at getting a loan to buy a 2016 master bus lwb. Want to rip out the seats and use for delivering. The van has 80,000klm on it. Wonder your opinion compared to a small Mitsubishi express van at only few thousand more but much smaller carry space. Thanks for your time, not sure how this site works if you could email me or text/call would appreciate your feedback. [Personal Details Removed]

See all Renault Master questions

Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Renault Master

Details

Compare both Renault Master
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2010
Replaced byRenault Master X62
Compare both Renault Master

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.