6 photos
Renault Master

Renault Master

X62, X70 (See All)
2.3 from 38 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Renault

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    4.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    3.0 (1)
  • Features
    2.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next

2008 Renault Master Van

published

Purchased at Ford Dealers.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
scottdooley1970
scottdooley1970Sydney, NSW

Renault refuse gearbox warranty claim

published

I have had an ongoing gearbox problem since the warranty period. Now it's out of warranty Renault is refusing to repair it! I have pointed out that I have been dealing with this problem for three years and now this problem had become dangerous I have sort to have the problem fixed. The gearbox won't select a gear and I'm stuck in the traffic. Apparently this is a gearbox problem with the earlier models , mines a 2012 model!

Purchased in March 2013 for $40,000.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gaz f
Gaz f
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Brand new Renault master no aircon

published

I brought motorhome and its built on Renault master, found out later aircon doesn't work was told by pary Renault the part would take 2 weeks to get here from France, now they are saying another 2 weeks I can not believe they have no spare parts in Australia. I'm not a very happy customer especially living in townsvile where aircon is a must all year round, the van is only 5 weeks old and has been sitting in my driveway for 4 of them.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge100.000
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

expensive to maintain tyres, brake pads and rotors ,plus service every 30,000 kms

published

front wheel drive worst thing ever driven, turning circle need plenty of room to turn around and useless in hilly areas.interior cheap looking if use every day for work will cost a lot.i change tyres and brake pads ,rotors thee times a year where my second van is a transit only need to change once a year for same amount kms

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Renault Master Quickshift Gearbox

published

Loved the look and way the van drives but the gearbox has died at 75,000 km. Still not fixed after 3 weeks but thankfully still under warranty. Looks like the 75k mark is when lots of people start to have trouble with the gearbox. Only got 6mths left on the warranty so not looking forward to an 8k rebuild if it does it again. Help from dealers and Renault Australia was poor. Looks like a return to the merc sprinter. Dealer said they have 5 vans in the shop at the moment with similar issues. Renault need to look at providing loan vehicles when under warranty.

BodyVan
Badgemaster tech
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good van spoiled by brake binding problems

published
BodyCab Chassis
Badge1
WheelbaseExtra Long
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Has almost cost me more in repairs than I paid for van

published
BodyVan
BadgeAir
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
How to reduce food waste this Christmas, from food-saving products to cooking tips

The pressure to go “all out” when cooking up a Christmas feast often means that a lot of the food we make ends up in the bin. Luckily, there are a variety of ways to reduce food waste these holidays - we’ve got some here.

Clara V.
Clara V.7 Dec 2021
how-to-reduce-food-waste-this-christmas-from-food-saving-products-to-cooking-tips
Next

Questions & Answers

Graeme S.
Graeme S.asked
Master

Am I right in assuming that there is no park mode in the auto gearbox of the Renault Master 2021 series?
The handbrake is the only method of securing the vehicle

1 answer
Richard H.
Richard H.

That’s correct, weird hey. Would have actually thought it unroadworthy in days gone by as park brake was one check they did

EggChair J.
EggChair J.asked
Master

Hi please help with opinions. Looking for a van to do deliveries, found a lwd renault master bus 2016. We need to finance the lot so wouldn't have $ for costly repairs or gearbox replacement. Please let me know your thoughts on this van, before I visited this site I've heard nothing but good, but now I see real feedback it looks scary. Please help. We are in a hurry to get deliveries out. My email [Personal Details Removed] Regards and thanks in advance John.

2 answers
Joshua D.
Joshua D.

Great van much better than hiace or smaller vans used all over europe will go the distance

Richard H.
Richard H.

Good van apart from the auto, it’s a piece of outdated crap. Get a manual and you’ll be fine. $8000 later and my auto still isn’t fixed

Marek P.
Marek P.asked
Master

When I need to do gear box service?

2 answers
rob14
rob14

The autos don't need alot of servicing as they are just a manual gearbox with a hydraulic module that changes the gears automatically. Alot of time when the auto gearbox has "failed" its just a worn clutch plate so the gearbox cant engage and starts throwing up errors. Usually happens 180,000-250,000km. Fit an new clutch kit, and usually as good as new. Also for those backing up hills with the heavy loads. Push the KG button on the dash. It changes the clutch engagement for heavy loads, and may improve things.

EggChair J.
EggChair J.

Hi Rob can I ask if your a mechanic or own the same van? We are struggling our foton blew up now looking at getting a loan to buy a 2016 master bus lwb. Want to rip out the seats and use for delivering. The van has 80,000klm on it. Wonder your opinion compared to a small Mitsubishi express van at only few thousand more but much smaller carry space. Thanks for your time, not sure how this site works if you could email me or text/call would appreciate your feedback. [Personal Details Removed]

See all Renault Master questions

Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Renault Master

Details

Compare both Renault Master
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2010
Replaced byRenault Master X62
Compare both Renault Master

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.