6 photos
Renault Master

Renault Master

X62, X70 (See All)
2.3 from 39 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Vans in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Renault

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.3 (3)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (3)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (3)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.0 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Clear all
Next
Bugs
BugsBowral nsw

Gear box problem

published

New Dec ‘20. When stopping trans would take over & select N or Drv3 would not allow acceleration..twice back to Cairns from Cooktown..10 days wait for pump..very scary for a senior solo lady when it selected neutral 1/2 way up one of steepest narrow roads in Oz. If I turned it off n on I could select Drive but then it started to stay in 1st or 2 Nd gear. Still waiting for girl to ph me back from head office since July.

Purchased in March 2021.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bali N.
Bali N.South East Queensland, QLD

It is a good van but mechanical improvements required.

published

Purchased in August 2020.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Peter
PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great van with manual 5 speed gearbox

published

Renaut Master is great and reliable with a 5 speeds manual gearbox. Forget the semi-auto as it will send you broke....I use this van everyday and never had any issues or problems with the manual gearbox. I have now done 180 000 KMS from new and not a problem , just replaced a water pump and brake rotors twice but that is normal maintenance.. A great and easy vehicle for loading heavy cargo

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mark b
Mark bMaitland

Great van but dealers are rip offs

published

Engine and transmission manual is great very powerful gearbox is a bit noisy
Renault Australia services are very expensive $759 for a oil change laughable when questioned they said oh we use genuine parts the dual mass flywheel just failed it’s under warranty however if they pull it down and find something else there price for new flywheel and clutch Is $7500 the clutch place is $2300 same genuine parts so of course I could not trust Renault to replace so had to fork out of own pocket the side plastic bumper still came off $280 from Renault $31 on eBay for a genuine part now come on I think I’ll buy a vw next time what a shame but I do 100 000 km a year and can’t offord there ridiculous prices on parts and services

BodyVan
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedMay 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Worried about 6 speed auto

published

Have this reno under our motorhome and yes we find reversing up a hill hopeless. The clutch releases with a scary bang. It's great on the hyway heaps of power at 100 klm/ hr. The gearbox now at 20 thousand k has a clack between 2nd and 3rd gears up and down speeds. Renault said it was a noisy bearing on the tailshaft and apparently replaced it at 6 thousand k... The noise is still there and at the twelve month service they thought they could hear a noise.

BodyCab Chassis
Badge(No Badge)
WheelbaseMedium
TransmissionSemi-Automatic
Engine Size2.3L Turbo
Date PurchasedSept 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Great to drive but costly to keep

published

I bought two Renault Master one mid wheel base one long wheel base in June 2015 have already done a gearbox under warranty a manifold at my expense having problems with software and have done another manifold under warranty have done 70000 kilometres in one van and 200000 kilometres in the other I think when I come to replace these vehicles I'll go back to Volkswagen Crafter after winning best van 2017 award

BodyVan
BadgeMaster
WheelbaseLong
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2.3L Twin-Turbo
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Harrietmouse
HarrietmouseLaunceston, TAS
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

good gumdrops

published
BodyVan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Andrew
Andrewbrisbane

Van is good,warranty repairs are crap in Brisbane

published
Engine Size2.5L Turbo
BodyVan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Very happy with our Master vans

published

Run two 2013 Masters. Both bought new, we do about 60K per year. Both fine so far, but I would stress the need for good regular maintenance. If you run them hard and don't service them, don't expect them (or anything else) to last. Curious about original poster - our two vehicles both older, but factory warranty was 3 yrs/200k, not 100k as claimed. Out of interest, if Mercs are as good as you say, why did you buy Renault? Serious question.

BodyVan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Vans

Find out how Renault Master compares to other Vans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Graeme S.
Graeme S.asked
Master

Am I right in assuming that there is no park mode in the auto gearbox of the Renault Master 2021 series?
The handbrake is the only method of securing the vehicle

1 answer
Richard H.
Richard H.

That’s correct, weird hey. Would have actually thought it unroadworthy in days gone by as park brake was one check they did

EggChair J.
EggChair J.asked
Master

Hi please help with opinions. Looking for a van to do deliveries, found a lwd renault master bus 2016. We need to finance the lot so wouldn't have $ for costly repairs or gearbox replacement. Please let me know your thoughts on this van, before I visited this site I've heard nothing but good, but now I see real feedback it looks scary. Please help. We are in a hurry to get deliveries out. My email [Personal Details Removed] Regards and thanks in advance John.

2 answers
Joshua D.
Joshua D.

Great van much better than hiace or smaller vans used all over europe will go the distance

Richard H.
Richard H.

Good van apart from the auto, it’s a piece of outdated crap. Get a manual and you’ll be fine. $8000 later and my auto still isn’t fixed

Marek P.
Marek P.asked
Master

When I need to do gear box service?

2 answers
rob14
rob14
EggChair J.
EggChair J.
See all Renault Master questions

Get an answer from our members and Renault representatives

Renault Master

Details

Compare both Renault Master
CategoryVansVans
Release dateJan 2011Jan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2010
Replaced byRenault Master X62
Compare both Renault Master

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.