??!
27 photos
Renault Mégane
3.9 from 40 reviews

Reviews

3.9

40 reviews
5
(21)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.7 (6)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (6)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (5)
  • Handling
    3.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.2 (5)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.8 (5)
  • Interior Design
    4.2 (5)
  • Boot Size
    3.8 (5)
  • Features
    4.0 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (5)
Previous
Next
beebeegee

beebeegeeMelbourne, Vic

  • 111 reviews
  • 3 likes

Wonderful Car

published

I like French cars. We have a 2013 Koleos in the family - love it. I was dismayed to discover Renault stopped importing all the Meganes except the serious performance models. I immediately bought one of the last 'dealer owned' Intens sedans in Australia and could not be happier with it. The last ones imported are 2017 builds but some dealers are selling them as 2018 and even 2019 based on the compliance dates; yet they remain 2017 models. It handles well, has more than sufficient power from the 1.2T/7 sp, and has all the modern safety features and toys. If there is any criticism it is the front air dam is low enough so it scrapes on many driveway entries. Only routine service to date, no worries.

Purchased in December 2019 at Renault.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Water gets into the car!!

published

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtNew
See all answers
Gary

GaryBrisbane

  • 19 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible car, bought in 2018 the engine oil is leaking, coolant is leaking, and suddenly stop with engine failure.

published

Bought in 2018, Drive 15 minutes a day to work, engine failure, engine leaking, coolant leaking and patrol evaporating. Full tank fuel consumption in 5 days is not normal. Highly dont recommend this car. This car caused me a great amount of inconvenience and agony.

Purchased in October 2017 at Megane Windsor for A$31,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Cars

Find out how Renault Mégane compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Buy Well

Buy WellNewcastle

  • 21 reviews

Went out looking for a family car for my wife and came home with a French mistress!

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Essendon renault for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Troy

TroyWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews

AWESOME

published

Hired our Renault through Europcar for our trip to Tasmania.
Did not realise it was s Renault until we arived in Hobart from Brisbane.
The car was pleasure to drive and fuel economy was fantastic.

Purchased in June 2019 for A$35,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Surfnish

SurfnishSydney, NSW

Great alternate to Golf/Corolla

published

Great small family car. I was in the market for a reliable small hatchback. I wanted something other than the staple Golf or Corolla. I ended up buying the 1.2L Zen. Great choice. 5yr warranty. Real fuel economy in city is 9L/100km. Comfortable seats, boot space. Good response with accelerator. Few complains are: Poor aircon due to climate control not performing properly. Hill holder doesn’t work when reversing out of driveway; the engine revs and jumps when using hill holder. Rear visibility is poor due to headrests (which I have taken out). No regrets buying the Zen, just wish it had another load of power/torque.

Purchased in March 2017 for A$27,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2016
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort
See all answers
Hayden S

Hayden SMelbourne

DO NOT BUY! COUNTLESS FAULTS, RENAULT WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGT220 Premium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Robbo

RobboCAMDEN

BUYER BEWARE

published
BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Not happy

published
BodyHatch
Badge?
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Cars

Find out how Renault Mégane compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Renault Megane Wagon GT Line

published

Owned and drove the car for four and half years and sadly sold and bought again the same, this time GT Line and my experience thus far has been amazing, brilliant and very happy. Thought to share this with everyone so that you buy the right car and actually Reanualt truly deserves the review, thank you!

I know cars very well and the quality of fixtures in the car are all of great and expensive materials. Also tyres - Michelin’s.

People who bought the car from had been texting me saying how happy they are!

Story to share:)

BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
joe c

joe cPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

It's my fault

published
BodySedan
BadgeMegane
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Glenn H

Glenn HAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Renault Megane A++++

published

Car drives like a dream. Quiet, smooth and handles amazingly well. Very cost effective to run. Plenty of legroom for driver and passengers. Including a very spacious boot to store all the additional extras. Looks great inside and out and the added key less start and entry is an impressive extra feature. Highly recommend.

BodySedan
BadgeSport LX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Davud

Davud

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best kept secrete.

published

Having owned many Renaults over the years.
Taking delivery of my new Megane GT220 i was totally impressed by its driving performance and extras.
Renault are the best value vehicles in australia.
Forget the Koreans and trt a quality european.
If its performance comfort reliaility plus top safety encap 5

BodyWagon
BadgeGT220
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018
AM24

AM24Perth, WA

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

The most honest review you will ever get on the Megane GT Line 1.2 turbo

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Yasmin

YasminKapunda

  • 6 reviews

Great value for money and a great drive

published

Excellent performance and handling. I love this car and would recommend it to anyone. The adaptive cruise control and park assist are excellent features and work well every time. I would have given it five stars if the build quality was as good as it used to be (this is my second Renault with 5 years between models). They seem to have cut a few corners on this new build and some components are showing this one year in. Will be taking it back to deal with under warranty. Otherwise an excellent driving experience.

BodySedan
BadgeIntens
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Cars

Find out how Renault Mégane compares to other Cars

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JDW

JDWSydney

Renault Megane GT - fault

published

Purchased new model GT just released in 2016. Car looks great and drives really well. Infotainment system is very clunky, but can live with. Developed a leak in the rear footwell Dec 2017, 5 months later and many many trips to dealer + several loan cars later i am due to get it back this week after yet another "fix" - this time a new window spoiler. Maybe I have a dud, although the Renault service dealer found similar problems with other cars on the lot. Not happy - my only Renault car owning experience...suffice to say my last.

BodyHatch
Badge?
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
JDW
JDW

Update - the window spoiler did not stop it. Renault now have some more panels off the car and have flown Renault technicians up to Sydney to inspect....

Meataxe

MeataxeCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews

Yep, you should buy it.

published

Went into the dealership with heart set on a Koleos but test drove a Megane GT-Line as well. Was sold on first drive. Came in at under $40k and feels like it has a lot more luxury than is expected from a car under $40k. Drives smoothly, is really zippy and has the most room in the front I've ever experienced. I think we're a Megane family now...

BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Ray

RaySydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 16 likes

Amazing car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017
Jodestar73

Jodestar73Queensland, Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

GT LINE. LOVE LOVE LOVE DRIVING!!

published

I love this car. The ambient lighting that you can change with your mood, the ability to switch from comfort to sport to eco. The eco driving coach. The way it drives so effortlessly. It's a beautiful looking car and it's simply smooth to drive. It's basically the car version of Morgan Freemans' voice. Legit love it. Essendon Renault and Armstrong Auto are excellent to deal with. Both dealerships are friendly, prompt, helpful and know their stuff. Had an issue with the Bluetooth not syncing after phone calls, local service centre Armstrong Autos persevered with the problem, spoke to Renault Tech, had it sorted within 3 visits. Above par service!! This car is the bee's knees. Do yourself a favor and try one.

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Yvonne Johnson

Yvonne JohnsonMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Love my Megane

published

Pick what type of driving experience you want on any given day, sports, eco or comfort. I have always had leather interior but this time I went for the cloth interior and its great doesn't get too hot during summer. Free servicing for the first three years and roadside assist! :)

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Shane Maloney

Shane Maloneyasked

Mégane

How do I increase the volume of the speed camera alert on my 2014 Renault Megane Gt-Line Premium Hatchback? The sound is feeble and is easily missed if talking or listening to the radio. Also, is speed limit alert available somewhere on this vehicle?

No answers
Shane Maloney

Shane Maloneyasked

Mégane

How do I increase the volume of the speed camera alert on my 2014 Renault Megane Gt-Line Premium Hatchback? The sound is feeble and is easily missed if talking or listening to the radio. Also, is speed limit alert available somewhere on this vehicle?

No answers
Sello  R.

Sello R.asked

BFB (Hatchback) GT-Line (2016-2018)

I bought a new Renault Megane GT-line 2017; and just over two years of driving it; and due for 60 000 km service; is showing traces of oil on the engine; and the coolant is boiling; though the temp gage remain normal. My question: is this GT-Line having the same engine problem as the previous 2010 model.
At least on the previous Megane GT-line the oil leak and coolant problem started at 100 000km and the car was also bought brand new. I like the Renault Megane Hatcbach range; but this engine problem is now making me doubt the brand. The car is still under warranty and the oil leak problem can be fixed ; but I hate the idea of having an engine opened at such an early age of the car. In most cases once the engine is opened ; the car will never be the same again; it will be followed by problem after the other; which is the reason I had to trade in my previous Megane GT-LINE.
Is Renault failing to deliver when comes to engines. Are they investing more towards engine development and technology? Is Renault giving their engines enough hours on their test bench before a bench test certification is issued ? If that is the case why same problem on this GT-LINE generation. I know this model range has been discontinued; and believe better job can be done on the new generation of Megane engine wise; including engine power top-up. But first work on your engine durability.

1 answer
Gary
Gary

I have the same problem but way early at 24000km, my engine oil is leaking, engine failure, auto start and stop failure, gear is not engaging on gradient, coolant is reducing and high consumption of fuel. Every time I took my car to Renault Windsor car dealer, they claimed there was nothing wrong, so I went to a different car dealer to check all the issues, Megan I have complained it the Ombusman QLD.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.