??!
20 photos
Renault Mégane

Great alternate to Golf/Corolla

Great small family car. I was in the market for a reliable small hatchback. I wanted something other than the staple Golf or Corolla. I ended up buying the 1.2L Zen. Great choice. 5yr warranty. Real fuel economy in city is 9L/100km. Comfortable seats, boot space. Good response with accelerator. Few complains are: Poor aircon due to climate control not performing properly. Hill holder doesn’t work when reversing out of driveway; the engine revs and jumps when using hill holder. Rear visibility is poor due to headrests (which I have taken out). No regrets buying the Zen, just wish it had another load of power/torque.

Purchased in March 2017 for $27,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Comfort

DO NOT BUY! COUNTLESS FAULTS, RENAULT WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY

Thinking of buying one? Dont. Engine leaking, steering clicking, sunroof rattling, Panels falling off, car shutting down, car not starting. Good luck getting them to fix any of the issues and take any accountability. Ive had the sunroof and gearbox replaced, the same issues are back and now im being told theres nothing wrong with it. Ive been lied to, deceived and treated like crap through the whole ordeal. I should also mention it was from Essendon Renault, literally the worst business ive ever dealt with, the guy that sold me the car is a liar, and should re consider his line of work, the service department is useless, and dont expect anything from the sales manager. Told me renault is a growing brand and wants to keep a good reputation so they would refund my faulty car, when I went I was told "No, the cars under warranty. Clearly they dont care about their reputation at all.

Ill be making sure no one buys a renault, especially from there.

BodyHatch
BadgeGT220 Premium
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

BUYER BEWARE

We used to use it everyday until we put it in for a service at our local Renault dealership and they didn’t tighten the sump plug washer and it leaked oil all over Sydney and our driveway,they thankfully sent staff out to clean the oil up and then we had trouble with the tyre sensors and it took 2 months to fix,then the lights on the back of the car weren’t working and we asked why they didn’t fix the lights and they said we hadn’t asked them to fix them,even though it was under warranty.In the last 6 months we’ve driven it around 10 times,the rest of the time it has been at the Renault dealership.Renault has a lot to answer for in there warranty and service is very poor.Luckily We know how to use the local bus service.With the lights on our car not working the vehicle was not roadworthy and the local Renault dealership let us drive out,even though they were aware of the problem.We are still waiting for our car as I said it’s been another month.

BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Not happy

We bought our Magane with only 5000 km on the clock expecting it to last.. Haha.. That plan didn't work.
Initially everything was fine, good fuel economy, nice to drive etc then the oil warning message came on. Not a drop in the stick. WT?
There was a oil puddle where we park.
Dealer says rear main seal leaks.. 3 weeks waiting for parts from France and a week to repair. A week later another oil puddle, this time a welch plug begin the gearbox and a seal the dealer has had the car for another 4 weeks... Finally the parts arrived from France.
Another issue is with the headlights.. We live in the country so it's dark.. High beam is fine but as soon as you switch to low beam ya blind. It's OK in the city but country driving with no street lights is very dangerous. There is no adjustment on the headlights.
It also scrubbed the tires in less than 15000kms.
Not happy

BodyHatch
Badge?
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Renault Megane Wagon GT Line

Owned and drove the car for four and half years and sadly sold and bought again the same, this time GT Line and my experience thus far has been amazing, brilliant and very happy. Thought to share this with everyone so that you buy the right car and actually Reanualt truly deserves the review, thank you!

I know cars very well and the quality of fixtures in the car are all of great and expensive materials. Also tyres - Michelin’s.

People who bought the car from had been texting me saying how happy they are!

Story to share:)

BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018

It's my fault

Agreed to buy a Megane 2017 after taking a different one for a drive and then being shown another sedan. It was nice and was impressed with what I saw. But I was told they had one exactly the same and like a fool, I agreed. Get the car, and it's NOT the same. No sun glass holder and no light in the visor mirror. Engine compartment stained with some sort of spray maybe from a burst hose. I like AM radio and it is so static it's not funny. My old car had good AM radio. My loan car had good AM radio. My car has crap AM radio. Complain to dealer and as usual, dealer sends complaint to Renault. Reply is...I'm sorry there is nothing wrong with the radio. Well why can't I listen to AM radio after buying a new car in 2018??? This is a new car demo. Please do not buy a car when they say i have one exactly the same as this. I will not name the dealer because I am the fool here.

BodySedan
BadgeMegane
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2018

Renault Megane A++++

Car drives like a dream. Quiet, smooth and handles amazingly well. Very cost effective to run. Plenty of legroom for driver and passengers. Including a very spacious boot to store all the additional extras. Looks great inside and out and the added key less start and entry is an impressive extra feature. Highly recommend.

BodySedan
BadgeSport LX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Best kept secrete.

Having owned many Renaults over the years.
Taking delivery of my new Megane GT220 i was totally impressed by its driving performance and extras.
Renault are the best value vehicles in australia.
Forget the Koreans and trt a quality european.
If its performance comfort reliaility plus top safety encap 5

BodyWagon
BadgeGT220
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJul 2018

The most honest review you will ever get on the Megane GT Line 1.2 turbo

I used to own a Megane 225 and just loved the car, the GT 1.2 reminded me why i loved Renault sport styled cars so much. Front view of the car it is the sexiest car ever, great styling and just screams luxury (in a French Ascent) the almost purple head lights (LED) at night light up the road a bring an excellent and safe night driving experience, it just feels so good. Ok 1.2 lt turbo doesn't sound great but in sports mode the car comes alive and is so fun to drive, i just love the ambient lighting the alicante leather seats and interior styling. No cd player and the place to install a Micro USB is at the bottom of the dash centre where you would normally put your phone, just out of reach, the Bose sound system just gets better and better the louder it is.
So why only 4 stars, i nearly gave it 3 but there are so many good/great things about this car....
The R-Link 2 system, not enough room on this site to fully explain all its issues and quirks, on paper its awesome and promises smart phone like connectivity and full vehicle integration with a central command centre...... i wish! The maps are old and updating is quiet painful, the live traffic is good but had to be renewed after a period which is not an easy process, the apps are poor and it has a cheap Chinese appeal, smart phone mirroring is available on some vehicles even though your car may support, Renault may have turned it off. Customer support for the R-link is really only in the UK Australia just need to send multiple emails to the UK support team and it can may take over 4 weeks to actually get an issue repaired which may be an another drive to the dealer. There is something wrong with the rear hatch geometry and your hatch will rub the paint of your rear bumper where they touch, mine has been back twice so far and needs a third trip. Fixed servicing costs i though i had a great deal $299 per service wow cheap until i had my Nissan Navara 4wd service done @ $284 so the jury is still out on that. Other faults i have had is a cracked pipe in the conditioning system, took it to the dealer the first time they said they had checked it and it was fine, 1 week later it was back in for the cracked pipe, no stock in Australia, car booked in for repair 3 weeks later, 1 conditioning problem 3 trips top the dealer to fix, minimum of 3 hours of my time and not even a Hungry Jacks voucher.
The cars great to drive comfortable and a little sporty, customer support need to be pushed into a decision sometimes and the dealer (service centre) if there is an issue stand your ground, its your time and money they are wasting and if they want to sell you another car they sometimes need reminding how the got there. Yes i would buy one again i still love the car and still comes close.

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017

Great value for money and a great drive

Excellent performance and handling. I love this car and would recommend it to anyone. The adaptive cruise control and park assist are excellent features and work well every time. I would have given it five stars if the build quality was as good as it used to be (this is my second Renault with 5 years between models). They seem to have cut a few corners on this new build and some components are showing this one year in. Will be taking it back to deal with under warranty. Otherwise an excellent driving experience.

BodySedan
BadgeIntens
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Renault Megane GT - fault

Purchased new model GT just released in 2016. Car looks great and drives really well. Infotainment system is very clunky, but can live with. Developed a leak in the rear footwell Dec 2017, 5 months later and many many trips to dealer + several loan cars later i am due to get it back this week after yet another "fix" - this time a new window spoiler. Maybe I have a dud, although the Renault service dealer found similar problems with other cars on the lot. Not happy - my only Renault car owning experience...suffice to say my last.

BodyHatch
Badge?
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2016
1 comment
Update - the window spoiler did not stop it. Renault now have some more panels off the car and have flown Renault technicians up to Sydney to inspect....

Yep, you should buy it.

Went into the dealership with heart set on a Koleos but test drove a Megane GT-Line as well. Was sold on first drive. Came in at under $40k and feels like it has a lot more luxury than is expected from a car under $40k. Drives smoothly, is really zippy and has the most room in the front I've ever experienced. I think we're a Megane family now...

BodyWagon
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Amazing car

I’ve always owned European cars but I can honestly say without a doubt this is not only a beautiful car to look at but amazing to drive. In the different driving modes the car just changes. Sports mode is fantastic! The ambient lighting in the car is just sheer class. The Bose sound system is Chrystal clear. The front, side and rear parking sensors are perfect with parking. But I use the auto park. It’s never let me down. If you have done a reverse park and it’s time to leave, it drives itself out! Test drive one! You be as impressed as I am. The interior and exterior finish is impeccable. Not a fault. 7 stars Renault
Ps.. I have found the after sales service from Renault nothing but perfection.
Pss.. This car only needs to be serviced every 12 months or 30,000 klms.

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line Premium
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

GT LINE. LOVE LOVE LOVE DRIVING!!

I love this car. The ambient lighting that you can change with your mood, the ability to switch from comfort to sport to eco. The eco driving coach. The way it drives so effortlessly. It's a beautiful looking car and it's simply smooth to drive. It's basically the car version of Morgan Freemans' voice. Legit love it. Essendon Renault and Armstrong Auto are excellent to deal with. Both dealerships are friendly, prompt, helpful and know their stuff. Had an issue with the Bluetooth not syncing after phone calls, local service centre Armstrong Autos persevered with the problem, spoke to Renault Tech, had it sorted within 3 visits. Above par service!! This car is the bee's knees. Do yourself a favor and try one.

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Love my Megane

Pick what type of driving experience you want on any given day, sports, eco or comfort. I have always had leather interior but this time I went for the cloth interior and its great doesn't get too hot during summer. Free servicing for the first three years and roadside assist! :)

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.6
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Super stylish, super comfortable, clunky multimedia and steering controls

The driving experience has been very good and there has been hassle-free ownership till now.

I think the fuel efficiency is not quite as good as they claim, perhaps average 8L/100km on E95 unleaded.

Cabin is very refined, ride is smooth, comfortable but still engaging and the turbo engine is quite responsive when you need it to be, with a small lag before it kicks in.Love the digital speedo and the ambience.

Boot space is good, I'd only point out a couple of issues with the car.

One is the low seating position, making it a bit uncomfortable for elderly passengers to enter and exit.

The other issue is the strange controls.. if I compare this car to my Mazda, it seems really unfriendly.

You've got the voice-command feature that barely works at all. You need to say "Phone->Call->xxxx".. the voice operated navigation is not available in Australia either.

The steering wheel stalk for the bluetooth, phone and changing volume and stations is really annoying, its hidden out of sight down beneath the wheel.

Then when you need to use the GPS, a pop up keyboard comes on the touch screen which takes 30 seconds of concentration to use.

When it comes to climate control, the buttons are a bit unfamiliar but you can get used to it. Having rear air vents is a massive bonus in this segment of the market.

BodyHatch
BadgeZev
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Very Bad Service

Absolutely appalling service. Please never buy a renault. They are all lemons. Their after sales support is absolutely disgusting. They have had my car for over a week in 3 different dealerships. Sent it back and said there is nothing wrong with it. Car comes back and breaks down on me on the road. I have been waiting for [name removed] from headoffice to ring me back for over 2 hours but she is at "Lunch" and haven't bothered to call a customer that is on the side of the road. Stay away from renault and their service if you don't want to spent all your time on the phone or in dealers.

BodyHatch
BadgeDynamique
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

Value for money with modern European styling

Purchased my Megane GT Line new in 2016. I love to stand out in a crowd and that's exactly what this car does. With modern styling, excellent fuel economy and very adequate power from the small 1.2 turbo engine I'm very happy with my purchase so far. The twin clutch 'auto' gearbox does take some getting used to and requires a slight change in your driving style if you've been used to the 'normal' type of auto transmission found in most cars. The road holding is very precise with its firm suspension, and the steering is very easy to operate. I particularly like the electric folding mirrors. The bad points are, electric park brake sometimes fails to release, the inbuilt gps and info is a waste of time due to no updates available in Australia, the keyless central locking can play up on occasion so never leave you keycard in the car. Otherwise you could be locked out. The headlights can fade due to our Australian sun but my Renault dealer replaced these under warranty. In fact the back up from Renault is very good with 5years capped servicing and road side assistance and manufactures warranty. Overall I love the car and would definitely consider buying another Renault.
But please Renault install some cup holders!! That would rate it 5 stars!!

BodyHatch
BadgeGT-Line
Engine Size1.2
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2016

Smooth drive, excellent economy

I've recently purchased the beautiful red Megane, and am amazed with its performance so far. Had a long drive, and regular city commutes, and am enjoying the quality and smoothness of the steering. The all leather interior has loads of storages and features like keyless start, excellent climate control, light sensor rearview mirror to protect eyes from reflections, highly comfortable and adjustable seats and headrests etc. It's probably the most roomy small car in the market, both in terms of rear seat leg space and boot size. It has 17" alloy wheels, automatic headlights and door locks. It's fuel consumption is highly economic, much cheaper than similar sized Japanese cars.

BodySedan
BadgeExpression
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2017

reliable workhorse

Since buying my 1.5dci in Jan 13 it has never skipped a beat. Driven coast to coast with incredibly low fuel consumption. Never been in the garage for repairs other than regular maintenance. Cruise control is great on long journeys and aircon is very effective. Only complaint is the difficultly in reclining the front seats and incompatibility of my Samsung phone with the Bluetooth and limited rear seat legroom.

BodyHatch
BadgeExpression dCi
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2013

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

How do I change the clock setting on my Renault Megane a 2012 model? no buttons near clock, button 21 moves an arrow across the top of radio station indicator
1 answer
get a young person to do it, they will figure it out very quickly. Its another annoying thing about the car. to involved for me, I get my daughter to do it twice a year, keeps her amused. Sorry

Similar listings