??!
1 photo
Ring Video Doorbell 2

Ring Video Doorbell 2

MPNs: 8VR1S70AU0 and 8VR1S9-0AU0
2.3 from 45 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (25)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (26)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (26)
  • Night Vision
    3.7 (19)
  • Motion Detection
    3.6 (21)
  • Ease of Installation
    3.9 (20)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.6 (22)
Previous
Next
Jaspreet K.

Jaspreet K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Not best

published

Not worth buying it. It works well when u try to see the love view, but when someone is actually on door, it failed to connect or took too long to activate. Unnecessary motiom detection as well and you hav to buy a subscription for all the features which doesn't work.

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Sharon M.

Sharon M.Great Southern, WA

Dont waste your money

published

What the point is a doorbell when is doesn't ring when someone activates it? Most useless piece of technology that we have ever purchased. No customer service available to help.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Rick

RickSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

dissapointed

published

9 times out of 10 when away from home and it rings cant connect whilst someone is there , i have excellent wifi connection strong , it just delays everytime you try , its fine when you check live vision at any other time

Purchased in October 2019 at Costco NSW, Casula for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

JohnSydney, NSW

Very unreliable, avoid it

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
sean

sean

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Ring doorbell 2

published

I strongly don't recommend buying this as they advertised it records and acts as security cam and many other features however they actually you need to buy a package to be able to use these features and does not come with anything

Purchased in March 2020 for A$200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Ceased working after self initiated firmware update and no customer support

published

Set up, instralled and configured, an dthen it tried to upadte its own firm ware - never worked again after hard resets, reboots etc. No response form their 24*7 contact centre. What a joke!

Purchased in March 2020 at ring.com for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
anubis

anubis

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great front door security

published
kevin t

kevin tMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good, easy to install and easy to use doorbell

published

Ring 2 is easy to use and I love that it still looks stylish whilst still serving its purpose. The quality of the video is good too. Sometimes there are false alarms to my phone however if I were to compare this to Arlo (which I have), this product is better in that department. There is a problem with connectivity which happens now and then (Arlo has a better connection). When somebody presses the doorbell, it takes more than a few seconds for your phone to send the notification. Having said that, I have bought a ring doorbell for my mum too.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Double H

Double HFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Never had an issue

published

I can't fault this doorbell.
I get notification when the Battery is flat and it is easy to recharge.
If someone passes the house too close I get a voice on my phone...someone is at your front door.
Clear picture and 2 way talk...
Just never loose the screwdriver to get the battery out...

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hifi Home for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hassan Y.

Hassan Y.Isabella Plains 2905, ACT

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not Good

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Chris B.

Chris B.Central West, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Buy something else without hidden costs

published

Great product until free 30 day subsrciption runs out. No memory card to store previous alarms. Pay or only see live view. What a joke. Pay good money and they want more ongoing costs for life of doorbell. Suggest to buy one with memory card. Cheaper and no ongoing costs. Looking for refund. But doubt that now. Once suckered but never again... what a complete rort. And had to pay addional $50 for a chime too... :-(

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Jules63

Jules63South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified purchase

Love this video doorbell - motion and doorbell notifications

published

With the App on your phone, never miss anyone coming to the front door as it picks up motion as well as someone ringing the doorbell. Get notified anywhere you have WiFi, we received notifications while in Singapore. Keeps records on file or you delete what you want. You can add cameras to the system as well. For the price, this is a great piece of security to have on your home. You can answer the ring and people think you're home. Def worth buying

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$328.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Yalin

YalinMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Happy With It...

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
liz

lizGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Two years, 3 replacement products

published

Don't waste your time and energy. US customer service is no help (I can read a script too) and certified electricians have not been able to get 3 replacements sent to work.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

I'll look for another device in the future.

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Didn't Video Visitor

published

Purchased in November 2009 at Lowes for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Cinders

CindersGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it!!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Goodguys for A$258.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
mick

mickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 4 likes

no good

published

I paid full lifetime coverage for my Ring door bell and four cameras in Adelaide and then find out that Ring only works properly in a America only ,they don't have any proper coverage in Adelaide Australia at all , and I got them for my families security what a lot of Rubbish, especially when you have paid them for bloody life time coverage what crap
Michael in Adelaide,South Australia

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
mummyreview

mummyreviewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Handy tech once settings tuned

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Samuel T.

Samuel T.Sydney, NSW

Works well. Pleasantly surprised

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Night Vision
Motion Detection
Ease of Installation
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Annette L

Annette Lasked

Since the last update the door bell is not working saying its off line, I got it to connect but it is off line again.

No answers
Chandel H

Chandel Hasked

The audio on my Ring Doorbell 2 is very static and not very audible, sometimes only 1 way instead of 2 way. Is this common or is this a faulty doorbell?

2 answers
Mal B
Mal B

I haven’t had this experience. The 2 way audio on my doorbell is clear (and the video is surprisingly good too). I’m guessing that either the doorbell is faulty or possibly a Wi-Fi issue.

Joe
Joe

Hi Chandel, I haven’t had this experience. If I am not at home I now ignore the video calls because the time it takes to get to my phone and the doorbell to handshake, the people have gone, even though I on the NBN at home and Telstra on my phone with my modem/router on the other side of the wall of the doorbell, I would think you have a fault in your unit worth having it checked, then at least you will have a expensive doorbell at home.

Still not a big fan of the Ring Doorbell. Arlo is the way to go.
Regards, Joe.

Get an answer from our members and Ring representatives

Details

  • GTIN12: 842861100396
  • MPN: 8VR1S70AU0 and 8VR1S9-0AU0

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.