??!
1 photo
Ring Video Doorbell 2

Ring Video Doorbell 2

MPNs: 8VR1S70AU0 and 8VR1S9-0AU0
2.5 from 40 reviews

Reviews

2.5

40 reviews
5
(5)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(17)
  • Build Quality
    4.0 (20)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (21)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (21)
  • Night Vision
    3.8 (15)
  • Connectivity / Reliability
    2.9 (18)
  • Ease of Installation
    4.1 (17)
  • Motion Detection
    3.8 (17)
Previous
Next

Ceased working after self initiated firmware update and no customer support

published

Set up, instralled and configured, an dthen it tried to upadte its own firm ware - never worked again after hard resets, reboots etc. No response form their 24*7 contact centre. What a joke!

Purchased in March 2020 at ring.com for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
See all answers
anubis

anubis

  • 3 reviews

Great front door security

published
keev

keevMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good, easy to install and easy to use doorbell

published

Ring 2 is easy to use and I love that it still looks stylish whilst still serving its purpose. The quality of the video is good too. Sometimes there are false alarms to my phone however if I were to compare this to Arlo (which I have), this product is better in that department. There is a problem with connectivity which happens now and then (Arlo has a better connection). When somebody presses the doorbell, it takes more than a few seconds for your phone to send the notification. Having said that, I have bought a ring doorbell for my mum too.

Purchased at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Double H

Double HFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Never had an issue

published

I can't fault this doorbell.
I get notification when the Battery is flat and it is easy to recharge.
If someone passes the house too close I get a voice on my phone...someone is at your front door.
Clear picture and 2 way talk...
Just never loose the screwdriver to get the battery out...

Purchased in April 2019 at JB Hifi Home for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Hassan Y.

Hassan Y.Isabella Plains 2905, ACT

  • 4 reviews

Not Good

published

Purchased in March 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Chris B.

Chris B.Central West, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Buy something else without hidden costs

published

Great product until free 30 day subsrciption runs out. No memory card to store previous alarms. Pay or only see live view. What a joke. Pay good money and they want more ongoing costs for life of doorbell. Suggest to buy one with memory card. Cheaper and no ongoing costs. Looking for refund. But doubt that now. Once suckered but never again... what a complete rort. And had to pay addional $50 for a chime too... :-(

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Jules63

Jules63South East Queensland, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love this video doorbell - motion and doorbell notifications

published

With the App on your phone, never miss anyone coming to the front door as it picks up motion as well as someone ringing the doorbell. Get notified anywhere you have WiFi, we received notifications while in Singapore. Keeps records on file or you delete what you want. You can add cameras to the system as well. For the price, this is a great piece of security to have on your home. You can answer the ring and people think you're home. Def worth buying

Purchased in March 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$328.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Yalin

YalinMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy With It...

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
liz

lizGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Two years, 3 replacement products

published

Don't waste your time and energy. US customer service is no help (I can read a script too) and certified electricians have not been able to get 3 replacements sent to work.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

I'll look for another device in the future.

published

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money

Didn't Video Visitor

published

Purchased in November 2009 at Lowes for A$60,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Cinders

CindersGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Love it!!

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Goodguys for A$258.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
mick

mickMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

no good

published

I paid full lifetime coverage for my Ring door bell and four cameras in Adelaide and then find out that Ring only works properly in a America only ,they don't have any proper coverage in Adelaide Australia at all , and I got them for my families security what a lot of Rubbish, especially when you have paid them for bloody life time coverage what crap
Michael in Adelaide,South Australia

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
mummyreview

mummyreviewGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Handy tech once settings tuned

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Samuel T.

Samuel T.Sydney, NSW

Works well. Pleasantly surprised

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Door Security Products

Find out how Ring Video Doorbell 2 compares to other Door Security Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rhe

RheSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Waste of money

published

An over priced doorbell that doesn’t work as advertised. First had issues connecting to the App, now the battery runs down within hours. Then it started with latency issues and now it doesn’t ring at all. An expensive white elephant!

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
gardener george

gardener georgeSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 67 reviews
  • Verified purchase

It's pretty good

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings, Oxley for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Unimpressed

UnimpressedBrisbane

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

It’s all about connectivity

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Chris J

Chris JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 10 likes
  • Verified purchase

Like the parson's egg - good in parts

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$150.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Don't waste your money

published

Found to be very poor with the voice connections ie hard to hear and scratchy .the installation was very easy and instructions excellent. Very slow to connect once notified on mobile phone

Purchased in May 2019 for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Functionality
Night Vision
Connectivity / Reliability
Ease of Installation
Motion Detection
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Annette L

Annette Lasked

Since the last update the door bell is not working saying its off line, I got it to connect but it is off line again.

No answers
Chandel H

Chandel Hasked

The audio on my Ring Doorbell 2 is very static and not very audible, sometimes only 1 way instead of 2 way. Is this common or is this a faulty doorbell?

2 answers
Mal B
Mal B

I haven’t had this experience. The 2 way audio on my doorbell is clear (and the video is surprisingly good too). I’m guessing that either the doorbell is faulty or possibly a Wi-Fi issue.

Joe
Joe

Hi Chandel, I haven’t had this experience. If I am not at home I now ignore the video calls because the time it takes to get to my phone and the doorbell to handshake, the people have gone, even though I on the NBN at home and Telstra on my phone with my modem/router on the other side of the wall of the doorbell, I would think you have a fault in your unit worth having it checked, then at least you will have a expensive doorbell at home.

Still not a big fan of the Ring Doorbell. Arlo is the way to go.
Regards, Joe.

Get an answer from our members and Ring representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.