1 photo
Rinnai B26

Rinnai B26

MPN: B26N50
2.4 from 35 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (20)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (21)
  • Smells of GasYes (2) · No (19)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.9 (20)
  • Heating Speed
    2.1 (23)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
VJtheDJ3
VJtheDJ3Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Does not give hot water as specified

published

Purchased in June 2021 for $2,500.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
kim stavrou
kim stavrouGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Absolutely the worst HW system So disappointed

published

Purchased in March 2021 for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dennis
DennisWollongong
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst system. Do not buy!

published

Have had this system installed on a new house less than 1 year old. Water temperature fluctuates from warm to hot to cold. Been trying to get it fixed under warranty from Renai service team for last two weeks with no answer and no response to when it will be scheduled.

I've had to buy a new system as a result. The Rheem equivalent system is far superior and service is prompt. Do not buy as there is no prompt after sales service and you can not take back to supplier.

Purchased in May 2020 for $900.00.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rainman
RainmanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent Service .

published

Very Happy And Impressed With The Service With Received From Jarred And His Professional Plumming Team . Have No Hesitation In Referring And Recommending There Professional Plumming Services. Raymond And Carol Cotter..

Purchased in February 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rainman
Rainman

Very Happy With Hot Water System. Rinai

Rainman
Rainman

Happy Clients Ray And Carol Cotter.

Julie
JulieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews

Needed replacing after 6.5 years

published

After only having this unit for 6.5 years error code 61 kept coming up, combustion fan failure, Phoned customer service Rinnai to be told it only has 3 year warranty. Had advice from 2 plumbers who both said replacement part was over $650 and not worth replacing as new unit only costs $800. Extremely disappointed as we expected to get at least 10+ years minimum out of it. Even more disappointed with Rinnai customer service as I was advised to email Rinnai customer service to tell them we had to replace it and haven’t heard back from them. That was nearly three weeks ago.

Purchased in August 2014.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Danni
DanniPerth, WA
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Whole unit needed to be replaced after 4 years

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Danni
Danni
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
davegx
davegx
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Good unit. Hasn't missed a beat

published

Works well. 50 degrees because that's the law. A while to get hot water coz that's the house plumbing. Once going constant pressure using tank water. No other first world's problems here.

Purchased in August 2020 for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rob C.
Rob C.Sydney, NSW

working perfectly! hot water never run out.

published

Just replace the old 170L hot water system by Rinnai B26. It is compact and powerful. 2 person shower at same time at 2 bathroom without any problems. Much better than the old one.

Purchased in November 2020 for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
moovistar007
moovistar007
  • 2 reviews

4 days old no hot water.

published

Had a new b26 ibstalled in a new house. 5 days later no hot water. Unit is not switching on. If i turn the gas and water off at the unit then turn them back on the unit produces heat fir about 20 seconds then goes cold again. Very unhappy.
Update: Rinnai sent a plumber out promptly and fixed the problem.

Purchased in September 2020 for $840.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colin
ColinSydney, NSW

A water waster

published

The Rinnai B26 does not immediately ignite when a hot water tap is opened. Cold water flows through the system for a while before the gas ignites and starts to hear the water. Every time a hot water tap is opened, water is wasted until the unit fires up. This is not an environmentally friendly product. Do not believe that it provides instant hot water. It doesn't. If I had known this, I would not have purchased the Rinnai B26.

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Functionality
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Colin
Colin
Tanushree N.
Tanushree N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Getting tired of waiting for hot water

published

This was recommended and installed by our plumber.
We have massive issues every winter when hot water suddenly stops while in the shower, customer service is useless, when techs come to check, unit works fine so they can never point out the issue, we're at loss. We always thought we got a bad unit never realising so many people have issues.
Extremely unhappy.
Don't know how to get a resolution, the only option might be to change the unit and fork out more money. What a waste of our precious water!

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Anne
AnneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Occasional hot water

published

Since we’ve had this system it has never worked properly especially in winter (although occasionally in summer). Getting hot water to run is close to impossible. It involves switching off system and back on multiple times to get some hot water before it goes cold again after a few minutes. Very disappointed

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Phil H
Phil H
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No Good Dont Buy

published

Just had my house built with one of these and im very unhappy, it doesn’t heat up enough to wash the dishes,the water comes out just over warm, I can put my hands in without even putting any cold water in and doesn’t even feel uncomfortable, I have to boil the kettle to get my dishes clean, I shouldn’t have to do that its brand spanking new, if i had known that it would be like this I would have payed for something better, I seriously want my money back and the money it costs for the installation

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Madan Mohini D.
Madan Mohini D.Sydney, NSW

Buzzing

published

Every time we use the hot water there is a buzzing coming from the unit. So very annoying and its not just my one I have to put up with hearing its all my neighbors in the other units too.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Colin Mc
Colin McSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Very heavy on LPG

published

New house installed the Rinnai B26, as advised by the builder instead of a heat pump. As I was told its very energy efficient! Consuming 1 large bottle of gas per month, 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

Not happy and very expensive to run

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

James H.
James H.asked

I (the builder) have by accident installed 10 of the B26N60 about 2 months ago and when the plumber went to get the sign of by fair trading the inspector has said that the hot water systems don't meet code. I have since then changed the settings so its now set too 50 degrees and reads 49.3 on average at the taps, this was still not accepted by the inspector. Can you please tell me what the differences are between the B26N60 and the B26N50 other then the temperate being set in factory. As both models seem to be exactly the same other then the settings.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi James H,

Thank you for your question.

We would suggest contacting our Technical team on 1300 555 545 option 3 to discuss this further

Thanks

Rinnai Australia

Abu H.
Abu H.asked

Hi, our brand new Rinnai B26 is giving us Lukewarm water, which is unbearable in cold weather. We were told by the company that we can use 3 showers at a time but we are not even satisfied by 1 shower at a time, the water gets cool from Lukewarm very quickly, please help what to do? Our plumber says that temperatures are always preset, so he can’t do anything.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Abu H, this is not normal operation of the unit and even if preset to 50 degrees, this is not lukewarm water. Has the installer returned to check on the installation and the measured the temperature at the outlets? There are limitations on temperatures to the nearest bathroom but you should be getting at least 50 degrees here.

Our technical help desk is available to both the public and plumbers and can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Jason F.
Jason F.asked

I have a B26 unit that was installed 3 months ago, unit does not start at all when hot water tap is opened. Power and LPG is connected and working, I checked water flow and is 3.5L a minute from the tap. Is this enough to start the unit

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

jason F. thanks for the question. The unit should automatically start as soon as the tap is opened and 3.5litres pm should be enough water flow through the unit. We would recommend speaking to our Technical Help Desk who can troubleshoot with you. they can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai B26 questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

  • MPN: B26N50

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.