??!
1 photo
Rinnai B26

Rinnai B26

MPN: B26N50
2.4 from 28 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.4 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.9 (15)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (15)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.2 (13)
  • Heating Speed
    2.0 (16)
Previous
Next
Rob C.

Rob C.Sydney, NSW

working perfectly! hot water never run out.

published

Just replace the old 170L hot water system by Rinnai B26. It is compact and powerful. 2 person shower at same time at 2 bathroom without any problems. Much better than the old one.

Purchased in November 2020 for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

4 days old no hot water.

published

Had a new b26 ibstalled in a new house. 5 days later no hot water. Unit is not switching on. If i turn the gas and water off at the unit then turn them back on the unit produces heat fir about 20 seconds then goes cold again. Very unhappy.
Update: Rinnai sent a plumber out promptly and fixed the problem.

Purchased in September 2020 for A$840.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Colin

ColinSydney, NSW

A water waster

published

The Rinnai B26 does not immediately ignite when a hot water tap is opened. Cold water flows through the system for a while before the gas ignites and starts to hear the water. Every time a hot water tap is opened, water is wasted until the unit fires up. This is not an environmentally friendly product. Do not believe that it provides instant hot water. It doesn't. If I had known this, I would not have purchased the Rinnai B26.

Purchased in September 2020.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Functionality
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Colin
Colin
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tanushree N.

Tanushree N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Getting tired of waiting for hot water

published

This was recommended and installed by our plumber.
We have massive issues every winter when hot water suddenly stops while in the shower, customer service is useless, when techs come to check, unit works fine so they can never point out the issue, we're at loss. We always thought we got a bad unit never realising so many people have issues.
Extremely unhappy.
Don't know how to get a resolution, the only option might be to change the unit and fork out more money. What a waste of our precious water!

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Anne

AnneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Occasional hot water

published

Since we’ve had this system it has never worked properly especially in winter (although occasionally in summer). Getting hot water to run is close to impossible. It involves switching off system and back on multiple times to get some hot water before it goes cold again after a few minutes. Very disappointed

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Phil H

Phil H

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No Good Dont Buy

published

Just had my house built with one of these and im very unhappy, it doesn’t heat up enough to wash the dishes,the water comes out just over warm, I can put my hands in without even putting any cold water in and doesn’t even feel uncomfortable, I have to boil the kettle to get my dishes clean, I shouldn’t have to do that its brand spanking new, if i had known that it would be like this I would have payed for something better, I seriously want my money back and the money it costs for the installation

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Madan Mohini D.

Madan Mohini D.Sydney, NSW

Buzzing

published

Every time we use the hot water there is a buzzing coming from the unit. So very annoying and its not just my one I have to put up with hearing its all my neighbors in the other units too.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Colin Mc

Colin McSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Very heavy on LPG

published

New house installed the Rinnai B26, as advised by the builder instead of a heat pump. As I was told its very energy efficient! Consuming 1 large bottle of gas per month, 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

Not happy and very expensive to run

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Sandra

SandraNorthern Region, NSW

No hot water Rinnai B26

published

Had a rinnai b26 installed about 8 months ago. All going well but now we are having morning frosts say -2 no hot water until 9am. All pipes wrapped , pipes freeze but not affected unless much colder with old storage unit. Bottled lpg gas system. Any ideas on how to fix, very annoying

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MIKE

MIKE

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

new B26

published

tried to contact Rinnai service department as my B26 was making noise.Waited over twenty minutes before a guy immediately tried to put me in for a service with service department.Waited another fifteen minutes and gave up.A service!!The unit is one month old.....ridiculous.......never again.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Anno

AnnoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Avoid the Rinnai B26!

published

A lot of cold water is wasted waiting for the hot water to flow through the taps. Very disappointed given we consciously make the effort to minimise our water usage.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bibbi

Bibbicolac

  • 11 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed

published

Just had a Rinnai 'instant hot water service installed as people told me it would be preferable to the larger tank heaters.
Seriously wish I'd gone for the larger tank style.
Hot water takes forever to come through.
I now turn the tap on then go & do something else, meanwhile copius amounts of cold water goes down the drain.
When a tap is turned on, the water pressure drops right down then surges back.
I've had a plumber check the gas pressure & it is fine.
Looks like I bought a dud.

Pathetic.

Purchased in April 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gompo55

Gompo55Sydney, NSW

Ok but noisy

published

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Gompo55, we are sorry to hear of the issues you have faced and would like to investigate further. We have sent a private message to follow up your contact details.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Mark

MarkSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Very pleased

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Energy Shop Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Ness

NessSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Lots of wasted water

published

Purchased in July 2019 for A$2,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

John

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not performing as expected

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Saddles

SaddlesSYDNEY

Good so far for hot water ''but'' the high pitched noise it makes

published

When you turn off hot water the rinnai 26 emits a sound like a bomb falling from the sky. It's a high pitch whistle which rinnai reckon was a batch of noisy fans, so they replaced the fan, no change just as noisy.
Spoke to a neighbor who has a rinnai 24 , no problem, quite all the time.
Neighbor next door has a rheem, same quite.
What will I have to do to get some peace and quiet from the missus over this damn noise.

Purchased in June 2019.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Graham Barre

Graham BarreHunter Region, NSW

Intermittent Water Heating Issue Solved

published

Purchased in April 2019 at Trade Link Plumbing for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Graham Barre, Could you please forward your contact details to enquiry@rinnai.com.au to enable us to assist you further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Tash

TashPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

*It corroded... under 5 years!! Too bad they said!

published

Purchased in May 2014 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Tulipgirl

TulipgirlMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Saves on gas bill but requires running tap hard to get hot water

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Paula E.

Paula E.asked

We have a rinnai b26 - is this a danger to my pet galah? I often smell a gas smell when its used. Thanks

2 answers
Colin
Colin

There should not be a smell of gas. Suggest that you get this checked.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Paula E, thanks for the question, there can be combustion smell when the unit initially starts up however if you have any concerns about gas smells we suggest calling our help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to discuss further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

C Lee

C Leeasked

Brand new B26 installed yesterday. Already has a fault. Will not make hot water at low flow rates. Initial start up takes too long and wastes too much water and time.
I'm telling my plumber to pull it out and return it to Tradelink in the morning

6 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi C Lee,

Thanks for the question.
We would recommend contacting the installer to check the gas pressures. For further assistance please contact our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

C Lee
C Lee

Designers and purveyors of Junk HW Systems. Plumber/Gas fitter has already done that. Gas pressure is perfect. Why do so many customers complain of similar problems?

C Lee
C Lee

Nobody answers your phone

michael r

michael rasked

do these hot water systems need to be serviced as mine runs hot then luke warm thanks

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi michael r,

Thanks for the question.

We do recommend that the Rinnai B26 is cleaned and serviced regularly to ensure safety and performance.

For further assistance for the water fluctuation, please contact our Technical Department on 1300 555 545 (Option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

michael r
michael r

thanks

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

  • MPN: B26N50

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.