??!
1 photo
Rinnai B26

Rinnai B26

MPN: B26N50
2.5 from 29 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    1.6 (5)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (5)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (6)
  • Smells of GasYes (1) · No (6)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.7 (6)
  • Heating Speed
    1.4 (7)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Tanushree N.

Tanushree N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Getting tired of waiting for hot water

published

This was recommended and installed by our plumber.
We have massive issues every winter when hot water suddenly stops while in the shower, customer service is useless, when techs come to check, unit works fine so they can never point out the issue, we're at loss. We always thought we got a bad unit never realising so many people have issues.
Extremely unhappy.
Don't know how to get a resolution, the only option might be to change the unit and fork out more money. What a waste of our precious water!

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Anne

AnneGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Occasional hot water

published

Since we’ve had this system it has never worked properly especially in winter (although occasionally in summer). Getting hot water to run is close to impossible. It involves switching off system and back on multiple times to get some hot water before it goes cold again after a few minutes. Very disappointed

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Madan Mohini D.

Madan Mohini D.Sydney, NSW

Buzzing

published

Every time we use the hot water there is a buzzing coming from the unit. So very annoying and its not just my one I have to put up with hearing its all my neighbors in the other units too.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Colin Mc

Colin McSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Very heavy on LPG

published

New house installed the Rinnai B26, as advised by the builder instead of a heat pump. As I was told its very energy efficient! Consuming 1 large bottle of gas per month, 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

Not happy and very expensive to run

Purchased in February 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasYes
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
MIKE

MIKE

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

new B26

published

tried to contact Rinnai service department as my B26 was making noise.Waited over twenty minutes before a guy immediately tried to put me in for a service with service department.Waited another fifteen minutes and gave up.A service!!The unit is one month old.....ridiculous.......never again.

Purchased in May 2020 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Anno

AnnoGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Avoid the Rinnai B26!

published

A lot of cold water is wasted waiting for the hot water to flow through the taps. Very disappointed given we consciously make the effort to minimise our water usage.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John

John

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not performing as expected

published

Purchased in February 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Saddles

SaddlesSYDNEY

Good so far for hot water ''but'' the high pitched noise it makes

published

When you turn off hot water the rinnai 26 emits a sound like a bomb falling from the sky. It's a high pitch whistle which rinnai reckon was a batch of noisy fans, so they replaced the fan, no change just as noisy.
Spoke to a neighbor who has a rinnai 24 , no problem, quite all the time.
Neighbor next door has a rheem, same quite.
What will I have to do to get some peace and quiet from the missus over this damn noise.

Purchased in June 2019.

Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Tash

TashPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

*It corroded... under 5 years!! Too bad they said!

published

Purchased in May 2014 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai B26 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Shiva K

Shiva KAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Rinnai Instant Hot Water System B26

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Shiva K
Shiva K

I'd like to add that I've emailed the whole story to the Rinnai Enquiry email address and also the plumbing company they use. It's been 4 days and we've not heard back from either company. Rinnai customer service is horrible.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you Shiva K for your review. We have received your email and will be in contact shortly.

John H

John HSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Difficult to replace a lemon

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John H
John H

This is the standard reply from Rinnai. If they were more customer focused they would know exactly the issues. We have raised it with management.

See all Rinnai B26 reviews

Questions & Answers

Garry

Garryasked

Is it normal to smell gas near the B26 50 appliance?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Gary,

Thanks for the question, the unit can give off a smell of gas while being used, but if it is extreme during use it could be incomplete combustion caused by low gas pressure.
If however the smell is there permanently a service call will be recommended to find root cause.

Please contact 1st care service on 1300 555 545 for further assistance if required.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Paula E.

Paula E.asked

We have a rinnai b26 - is this a danger to my pet galah? I often smell a gas smell when its used. Thanks

2 answers
Colin
Colin

There should not be a smell of gas. Suggest that you get this checked.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Paula E, thanks for the question, there can be combustion smell when the unit initially starts up however if you have any concerns about gas smells we suggest calling our help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to discuss further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

C Lee

C Leeasked

Brand new B26 installed yesterday. Already has a fault. Will not make hot water at low flow rates. Initial start up takes too long and wastes too much water and time.
I'm telling my plumber to pull it out and return it to Tradelink in the morning

6 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi C Lee,

Thanks for the question.
We would recommend contacting the installer to check the gas pressures. For further assistance please contact our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

C Lee
C Lee

Designers and purveyors of Junk HW Systems. Plumber/Gas fitter has already done that. Gas pressure is perfect. Why do so many customers complain of similar problems?

C Lee
C Lee

Nobody answers your phone

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

  • MPN: B26N50

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.