??!
3 photos
Rinnai HOTFLO Electric Storage

Rinnai HOTFLO Electric Storage

MPNs: EHF250S36 and EHF80S36
2.0 from 17 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.0

17 reviews
5
(4)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(12)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (4)
  • Heating Speed
    3.3 (4)
Previous
Next
Dan

DanSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Rinnai Hotflo 315 litre Electric Hot Water Heater

published

Thank you Rinnai very happy with the service of the technician that came out and fixed the problem, was the anode that was incorrectly installed from the start by builder plumber? So happy now thank you so much

Purchased in February 2017 for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
5 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dan
Dan

Hi there is there a number for me to discuss this issue

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Dario

DarioSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

No issues whatsoever, easy installation and solid hot water

published

I saw all the negative comments here and decided to let everyone know that my Rinnai electric HOTFLO 250L purchased July 2019 is wonderful, good narrow dimensions, made in Australia, Victoria new factory - I did my research. I'm guessing that other customers were ether in minority and/or unlucky and/or products were made in China and all called a plumber instead of calling Rinnai direct and let them guide them through the process. Got good price, $729 delivered and then I organised best installation option - don't let plumbers rip you off please.

Purchased in July 2019 at Cass Brothers for A$729.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
GEdmunds

GEdmundsTasmania

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Extremely Poor Product

published

Purchased in March 2018 for A$1,200.00.

Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi GEdmunds, Thanks for getting in touch, this matter has been escalated.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

GEdmunds
GEdmunds
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO Electric Storage compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Martin W

Martin WSouth East Queensland, QLD

Warranty useless.

published

Purchased in June 2018 for A$1,558.00.

Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Martin W
Martin W
Cal909

Cal909AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stay away from Rinnai, bad product, bad service

published

Agreed this is very bad service, my tank is rusted I believe, as hot water came out yellowish. When I called them they will not be able to advise whether my tank is still under warranty or not, even I have provided the receipt, model and serial number. They told me to book the technician for $195.00 and they will let me know if it is still under warranty or not.
All I want to know is what is the warranty period for my tank and the storage cylinder of my tank, no you will need to pay $195.00 for that answer. Sad sad sad, I don;t know how Rinnai's customer services be so bad beyond word can be describe.

Date PurchasedNov 2009
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
JenjiK

JenjiKNowra, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It does the job well

published

This is the only hot water heater I have ever needed to buy. The previous one died of old age in mid-winter. I went up a size, from 80L to 125L, mainly for family visits, not because I need the extra capacity every day.
Being without hot water for almost a week (the old one carked it on a freezing Friday night and the supplier with the best price in my regional area didn't have this model in stock) has made me really appreciate reliable hot water.
Running costs are fine for the size. Installation was straightforward. Overall, the whole process cost less than I feared, and less than the Harvey Norman supply and fit package.
No issues at all - it does precisely what it's supposed to, at least at this stage (seven weeks).

Date PurchasedJul 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review JenjiK, we are glad to hear the hot water unit is working well for you.

Jey.N

Jey.N

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Not enough for 4 persons to shawer...

published

I installed a new Rinnai 315L single element unit 2 months ago. from that day, still now we run out of hot water every afternoon. 4 of us in my house. we don't use hot water to wash clothes. when I called their customer service. they asked me to give the credit card detail first to send a technician. very bad customer service. pls don't buy Rinnai product.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jason

JasonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

seems to a common theme lack of hot water! now what do i do

published

right ive just had a house built and been in only 5 month. now my Rinnai 315lt hot water is not hot enough even though its set to 70 degrees. we have to use max hot water at the tap and are still feeling cold as this weather goes cooler.
ok rannai who do I call? the builder of the home? the plumber or you? im not paying a cent either way it goes as ive paid more than the system is worth with the builders markup. no such product should be faulty in such a short time.
ill await reply so I don't get shafted with the you should have contacted us response.
thank you

Date PurchasedDec 2017
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jason
Jason

Thank you for your prompt reply. Ill chase it up with the builder

Irene gritton

Irene grittonBuderim

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Rubbish

published

After only two years of use in a single person household I've just paid $372. to replace the element & thermostat. Oh, & 2 rusted bolts. I'm assured the parts are better quality than the original but betting the manufacturers won't accept responsibility for supplying sub standard parts. Reading other reviews it seems
pointless contacting Rinnai who would say I should have contacted them first. Wonder how long that would have taken to get hot water back on.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO Electric Storage compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sheron

SheronSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 8 likes

Buyers be aware

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Sheron
Sheron
Sheron
Sheron
gazzaplus

gazzaplusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Chinese made garbage.

published

Another product made in China and as usual---- garbage.
It was a simple matter of swapping the old unit out, connect the supply and the inlet/outlet pipes.
Yes, extremely simply until the water was turned on and filled the tank all four tapered threads leaked. How long have we humans been making threaded devices, unfortunately the Chinese can't get it right. Checked the threads with a thread gauge and they weren't even close.
If you want to waste time fixing a brand new product then buy Rinnai http://www.rinnai.com.au/

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Doctor

DoctorPort Stephens

Good seller

published

Good price and service.
I had trouble with a Rheem product and didn't want another.
Was delivered at a better price than others without delivery.
Was easy to install and is performing well.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Doctor, Thank you for your feed back, We wish you many years on continued service from your unit.

Review collected in partnership with Rinnai

Tara Rymer

Tara RymerNew South Wales, Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nothing but trouble.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Paul Vardy

Paul VardyWiaheke Island, Auckland

Leaky Hotflow

published

I have had my Rinnai Hotflo for about two years now ....unknown to me it had been slowly leaking water into to the element box at the base of the cylinder and the floor boards under the Hotflo were soaking wet ...if the element had not blown the whole thing could have gone through the floor boards and what more disturbing is the nice guy who came around to fix it told me this is a common problem with these heaters ...I ask my self why are they not fixing the problem on the factory floor where they make them .....I checked where they are making them and behold it was CHINA ??!! well enough said ...my suggestion is ...Don't buy one ....

Krys

KrysMelbourne

Please help! Rinnai Hotflo drips after every time I use the hot water.

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai HOTFLO Electric Storage compares to other Electric Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy

SandyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

Buy your enemy one...terrible and Rinnai service irresponsible

published
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Sandy
Sandy
Miona

MionaSydney

  • 14 reviews
  • 23 likes

Hadn't even produced Hot water and Rinnai technician charges $177 and still no hot water!

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
See all Rinnai HOTFLO reviews

Questions & Answers

Jay

Jayasked

HOTFLO Electric Storage

Hi
Rennai Hotflow Hot water system was installed by a plumber in May 2013. It started dripping slowly a few months ago and now increased flowing continuously from top of the cylinder! I read that Cylinder has 10 year warranty/ 7 year labour and could you please advise me what is the next step! Thanks

22 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Jay, thanks for the question. Booking a service call so we can diagnose the issue with the unit would be the next step.

You can book the service call online here and you will be contacted by the technician to book an appointment:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

The current warranty for the Hotflo unit is 7 or 10 years depending on the size of the tank and 3 years labour warranty. The warranty applicable for your unit will depend on the model number and date of manufacture and can be confirmed in the warranty booklet supplied with the heater or through our service line on 1300 555 545.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Jay
Jay

Thanks, it's model is HFE315 ?SSL? and S/N is EHF31500468
Could you please confirm if cylinder warranty is covered!
Thanks
Jay

Jay
Jay

Hi
Yesterday I contacted 'Rams' plumbing Toowoomba(installer) and was advised to contact Rinnai with model/ Serial # (model is HFE315 ?SSL? and S/N is EHF31500468)
If you could confirm what is next step is? What I want is not calling a plumber/ technician who charges couple hundred dollars and and say 'you have to replace' the unit!
So appreciate very much if this unit (model is HFE315 ?SSL? and S/N is EHF31500468 )which was installed in May 2013 is covered!

Best regards
Jayantha

Jan J

Jan Jasked

HOTFLO Electric Storage

I purchased a Rinnai 125 HOTFLO water heater less than 18 months ago and had it installed by a licensed plumber. Yesterday I noticed it is seeping water out of the cylinder bottom circumference seam and causing that seam and small nut to begin to rust. I have called Rinnai today and had to wait so long, then spoke to a technician, who said this definitely should not be happening, and the cylinder is still under warranty. He re-directed me back to the "bookings" switch, but I never got answered. I request that I am called back urgently, before this problem gets any worse. I had my previous water heater in the same spot for 15 years without anything like this happening. From above reviews it seems like this system has problems. Either way, I want Rinnai to fix this problem. It is definitely a product fault.

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Jan J,

Thanks for the question, you can make a booking through the Rinnai website here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Alternatively if you can send us a private message with your contact details we can have one of the team contact you.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Jan J
Jan J

Dear Rinnai,
I have received the email and when I click on to the website https: the form does not eventuate, the page just continues to talk about conditions and costs. So I have then tried to get the form on CONTACT. This gives me the form, but when I try to enter my NAME etc. the form disappears! What is going on ? Please contact me again through my email and I will give my private phone number so your staff can contact me personally.
Thank you
Jan J

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Jan, can you please send a private message with your contact details as we do not have your email address.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

None

Noneasked

HOTFLO Electric Storage

Hi - I have a Rinnai HOTFLO electric water heater purchased via Origin about a year ago, model HFE160 (160 litres). It works fine but the thermostat setting is too low by a few degrees, the water is warm and not hot, something I'd like to correct now that it's winter. It takes about 5 minutes for warm water to come out of the kitchen tap when is should be hot, the shower water is warm but was not a problem in the summer. The only question I have is how can I as a user increase the temperature setting without having to arrange a serviceman to come do it at a cost. I live in Oxley Brisbane 4075. Thanks. Peter

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question None. There are unprotected electrical connections and no user accessible components so a suitably qualified person is required to make the adjustments.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.