??!
1 photo
Rinnai Infinity 20

Rinnai Infinity 20

2.7 from 17 reviews

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
4
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
7

Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not happy with Rinnai B20 unit.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

-


Mitch

MitchHove

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent with one oddity....

published

Quick to fire up, lots of hot water (58-59 C). The only thing that puzzles me is the odd drop in pressure occasionally as it's firing up. Seems if the internal temperature is below some preset it restricts the flow for a moment until the temperature in the heat exchanger has a certain rise. Once warm (as in washing dishes and such) it really doesn't mess around. I'm pleased. Not excited... as it doesn't have as good a warranty as I had hoped, but the price was fair, the installation quick, and I can basically ignore it and know it's going to work.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mitch
Mitch

Sounds like I'm looking for a kitchen controller and a bathroom controller! Thanks!! (Thumbs UP!!!)


Vipeesh K

Vipeesh KVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Water is not hot and condensation on the solar panel

published

I have reported condensation issue on my solar panel and we had Rinnai technician came to fix this issue and they still can't fix this issue and going on with this issue for more than a month now. Why not get it replaced Rinnai? It is a brand new installed and within two weeks we noticed this condensation issue as well as water is not hot. I won't be happy till this solar panel is replaced since you already sent technician more than twice on the roof. Is this quality gone so bad?

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Joe.Mc

Joe.McPerth

Frustrating

published

I have an solar hot water system with an Rinnai solar 20 gas booster. I have had issues with it not getting hot enough. I have checked temps in the bathroom and kitchen which are struggling to get to 40deg's. I checked the temp at the closest tape which is in the laundry, it only gets to 45deg's. Is there some way I can increase temperature to 50deg's +??

Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

LizM

LizMAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Luke Warm Water

published

Had a temp controlled (50 degree) Infinity 20 installed a few weeks ago. Using a pool thermometer the delivered to shower temp seems to be around 38-40 degrees (just tolerable in winter - saving on gas and water tho as not hot enough to hang around). Contacted plumber who advises unit cannot be adjusted and to ring Rinnai. I ring Rinnai technical support, who, after a 40 minute wait in the queue, could not have appeared to be any less interested and suggested I ring the plumber. On current experience stay away from this unit/supplier.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
LizM
LizM

Thank you Rinnae - I will do so however the temperature at the first bathroom, not three meters from the unit, is 38-40 not near 50.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Trevor

TrevorMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

No hot water at all

published

We have had the B20 for about 2 years and have nothing but problems with it, having a shower and the hot water cutting out half way through, our plumber could not find a fault so Rinnai came out after insisting we pay a call out fee of $198.00, yes $198.00 CALL OUT FEE, they said it was our shower heads causing the problem but the same thing happens even when trying to fill the kitchen sink just to wash the dishes, piece of crap, ive clicked 1 star because there isn't a no star option

Date PurchasedOct 2016

Saj

SajAdelaide

No hot water at all

published

After reading other reviews there seems to be a consensus that the B20 has an inherent problem with no hot water at all especially when cold weather sets in. I had the plumber who installed it check it, he said it was ok. I had gas company check gas flow and that was ok. Then today there was no water flow at all again. Not happy wouldn't recommend Rinnai.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Saj, we are sorry to hear you are having issues with your hot water service. We would like to look into this further for you if you can send through your details mentioning this review, we will be in touch.

Saj
Saj

No problems, can you send me a contact email as I dont want to post my details on this site. Regards Saj

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Saj, our email address is enquiry@rinnai.com.au, please quote 1806-208622 as your reference number


She

SheCanberra

Written Material about the product

published

I have searched the internet for 2 hours and I can find no reference as to whether or not the Infinity range 16, 20 B26, 26 requires an electrical power point at or near to the position of intended installation of the product. We need to find this information before we purchase the item.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
She
She

Thank you. I needed that information. We need to install it where there is no electricity. Your response is really appreciated. She


Tereze

TerezeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst hot water system I've ever had in my life.

published

I will never buy or recommend a continuous flow hot water system ever again in my life. It took so long to save for it, and now I have to start saving for a new one. One with a tank that I have always been happy with. I trusted the plumber when he raved on about it, and he called me negative when I said what some of the reviews said. Now I realize those reviews were 100% true. It's a heap of crap!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Tereze
Tereze
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the comment Tereze, the Infinity unit come in different temperature ranges and there is no difference in price between the 50 and 60 degree unit. We would recommend discussing this matter with the installing plumber.

Taryn

TarynPerth, WA

  • 22 reviews
  • 13 likes

Lovely endless hot water

published

We recently ugraded from a 20 year old gas tank to the infinity 20, we also upgraded our copper pipework to have this as it needs to be made larger for instant if you previously had storage. It was the best decision ever. It does take 30 seconds to come through at the other end of the house but we can run multiple taps/showers at once and both have hot water without affecting the water pressure. Its so nice to have endless lovely hot water.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Taryn, it's great to hear you getting the right advice when upgrading from a storage tank and gas supply.

We wish you many more years of endless hot water.


inxs

inxsAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 12 likes

B20 temperature is fine if adjusted.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Angela03

Angela03Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

terrible system -waste of water

published

recently installed rinnai infinity 20 , unhappy as this unit is wasting so much water , and it doesn't give the temperature we need , water is just warm and this is a new unit , rang rinnai but no satisfaction .regret changing the old rheem it was much better .rinnai infinity 20 rating , I would say 2 out of 10 .

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

LTru

LTruMelbourne

No hot water when it rains, the unit is not wet.

published

We love our Rinnai infinity 20 but it will not work when it rains, the unit is not wet as it sits under the eaves, the rains dries and the unit starts working again?
The unit is under 2 years old and initially worked in all weather.
How can we fix this issue?
Thanks L.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
LTru
LTru

Thanks Rinnai, turns out it was the Gas Meter and a sump in the street filling with water when it rained, all good, Hot water again, Rinnai was not at fault.
L.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the update LTru and glad to see the issue has been resolved and you have reliable hot water again


Deano

Deano

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Fantastic

published

No I don't work for Rinnai. In 2014 I replaced my 180ltr gas storage system with the Rinnai B20 unit. After more than 12 months use I can confirm that my gas usage has reduced by at least 70%. So far have had no reliability issues. To get an even temp you must have a controller. Probably takes a wee bit longer to heat up but a small price to pay I believe. Installer did a fantastic job, which probably helps too.
I highly recommend this product.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Deano and the advice about controllers, they really do make a difference to the unit. We are glad the hot water system is serving you well. It's great to hear the installer did a good job too, which eliminates a lot of issues.


John g

John gBallarat 3350

No hot water

published

I have had this Infinnity 20 for about five years, no problems. Now when waiting for water @ 50 deg the readout drops to 12 and no hot water comes through. Please help . The first unit lasted about 12 years without a problem. Could the fault be with the unit or the touch pad . John g

2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John g
John g

Thank you for your prompt response. I will check with the help desk. Cheers, John g

Rinnai infinity 20

published

Rinnai infinity 20 had put in a few weeks ago great product will never go back to another brand .Just one thing if the electitiy goes off do you have to close the gas line or do you just leave it .It does take a few minutes before the water gets hot but it should work that way

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

swiftau

swiftauSydney, NSW

  • 19 reviews
  • 16 likes

Can't understand what everyone is complaining about!

published
2 comments
Doug68
Doug68
swiftau
swiftau

See all Rinnai Infinity Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Bob

Bobasked

I have water dripping from my rinnai 20 heater what can I do please

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Bob, if the water is coming directly from the unit and not the connections leading to it, there may be an issue with the heat exchanger. We would recommend booking a service call to have the unit assessed. In the meantime, if you can, isolate the water supply to the unit to prevent further damage,

Thanks
Rinnai Australia


CMF

CMFasked

Hi, I am going away for 1 month. Will hot water unit be ok if I turn off water mains but leave electricity and gas on.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question CMF, turning off the water to the unit will be fine as long as the power to the unit is still operational so the frost protection to the unit will still work.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia


Jennie S.

Jennie S.asked

How to light pilot lifht

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Jennie S, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia


Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

CategoryGas Continuous Hot Water Systems
Price (RRP)1395
Release dateAug 2007
Compare all Rinnai Infinity Range

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.