??!
1 photo
Rinnai Infinity 20

Rinnai Infinity 20

2.8 from 20 reviews

Reviews

2.8

20 reviews
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (2)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.3 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    3.7 (3)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (3)
Previous
Next
Alex

AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hot and Cold

published

Our B20 unit is 16 months old and it is satisfactory in all respects except for our shower. In a 3 or 4 minute shower it runs cold 2 or 3 times. The instruction book says to increase the hot water flow but it is already at near its maximum. It is very frustrating as out old tank system never caused a problem in 16 years.

Purchased in September 2019 at Fallon plumbing.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Alex. there are a number of factors that can cause this issue We would recommend speaking to our technical department on 1300 555 545 option 3, who can run through some troubleshooting with you.

MsRachel

MsRachel

  • 3 reviews

Do not get any system like this

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$2,205.00.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
MsRachel
MsRachel
Peter Kothstein GF8771

Peter Kothstein GF8771Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Another Successful Installation

published

I supplied and installed a Rinnai B20 Last week.
Rinnai elite Products and HWS's a must for any persons changing Hot Water units.
Get installation done by a Licensed Gasfitter/Plumber.
GF8771 PL6440 Peter

Purchased in October 2019 at Samios for A$765.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity 20 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave

DaveSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not happy with Rinnai B20 unit.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

-

Mitch

MitchMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews

Excellent with one oddity....

published

Quick to fire up, lots of hot water (58-59 C). The only thing that puzzles me is the odd drop in pressure occasionally as it's firing up. Seems if the internal temperature is below some preset it restricts the flow for a moment until the temperature in the heat exchanger has a certain rise. Once warm (as in washing dishes and such) it really doesn't mess around. I'm pleased. Not excited... as it doesn't have as good a warranty as I had hoped, but the price was fair, the installation quick, and I can basically ignore it and know it's going to work.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mitch
Mitch

Sounds like I'm looking for a kitchen controller and a bathroom controller! Thanks!! (Thumbs UP!!!)

Vipeesh K

Vipeesh KVictoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Water is not hot and condensation on the solar panel

published

I have reported condensation issue on my solar panel and we had Rinnai technician came to fix this issue and they still can't fix this issue and going on with this issue for more than a month now. Why not get it replaced Rinnai? It is a brand new installed and within two weeks we noticed this condensation issue as well as water is not hot. I won't be happy till this solar panel is replaced since you already sent technician more than twice on the roof. Is this quality gone so bad?

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Joe.Mc

Joe.McPerth

Frustrating

published

I have an solar hot water system with an Rinnai solar 20 gas booster. I have had issues with it not getting hot enough. I have checked temps in the bathroom and kitchen which are struggling to get to 40deg's. I checked the temp at the closest tape which is in the laundry, it only gets to 45deg's. Is there some way I can increase temperature to 50deg's +??

Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
LizM

LizMAU

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

Luke Warm Water

published

Had a temp controlled (50 degree) Infinity 20 installed a few weeks ago. Using a pool thermometer the delivered to shower temp seems to be around 38-40 degrees (just tolerable in winter - saving on gas and water tho as not hot enough to hang around). Contacted plumber who advises unit cannot be adjusted and to ring Rinnai. I ring Rinnai technical support, who, after a 40 minute wait in the queue, could not have appeared to be any less interested and suggested I ring the plumber. On current experience stay away from this unit/supplier.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
LizM
LizM

Thank you Rinnae - I will do so however the temperature at the first bathroom, not three meters from the unit, is 38-40 not near 50.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Trevor

TrevorMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

No hot water at all

published

We have had the B20 for about 2 years and have nothing but problems with it, having a shower and the hot water cutting out half way through, our plumber could not find a fault so Rinnai came out after insisting we pay a call out fee of $198.00, yes $198.00 CALL OUT FEE, they said it was our shower heads causing the problem but the same thing happens even when trying to fill the kitchen sink just to wash the dishes, piece of crap, ive clicked 1 star because there isn't a no star option

Date PurchasedOct 2016
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity 20 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Saj

SajAdelaide

No hot water at all

published

After reading other reviews there seems to be a consensus that the B20 has an inherent problem with no hot water at all especially when cold weather sets in. I had the plumber who installed it check it, he said it was ok. I had gas company check gas flow and that was ok. Then today there was no water flow at all again. Not happy wouldn't recommend Rinnai.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Saj, we are sorry to hear you are having issues with your hot water service. We would like to look into this further for you if you can send through your details mentioning this review, we will be in touch.

Saj
Saj

No problems, can you send me a contact email as I dont want to post my details on this site. Regards Saj

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Saj, our email address is enquiry@rinnai.com.au, please quote 1806-208622 as your reference number

She

SheCanberra

Written Material about the product

published

I have searched the internet for 2 hours and I can find no reference as to whether or not the Infinity range 16, 20 B26, 26 requires an electrical power point at or near to the position of intended installation of the product. We need to find this information before we purchase the item.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
She
She

Thank you. I needed that information. We need to install it where there is no electricity. Your response is really appreciated. She

Tereze

TerezeMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst hot water system I've ever had in my life.

published

I will never buy or recommend a continuous flow hot water system ever again in my life. It took so long to save for it, and now I have to start saving for a new one. One with a tank that I have always been happy with. I trusted the plumber when he raved on about it, and he called me negative when I said what some of the reviews said. Now I realize those reviews were 100% true. It's a heap of crap!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Tereze
Tereze
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the comment Tereze, the Infinity unit come in different temperature ranges and there is no difference in price between the 50 and 60 degree unit. We would recommend discussing this matter with the installing plumber.

Taryn

TarynPerth, WA

  • 27 reviews

Lovely endless hot water

published

We recently ugraded from a 20 year old gas tank to the infinity 20, we also upgraded our copper pipework to have this as it needs to be made larger for instant if you previously had storage. It was the best decision ever. It does take 30 seconds to come through at the other end of the house but we can run multiple taps/showers at once and both have hot water without affecting the water pressure. Its so nice to have endless lovely hot water.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Taryn, it's great to hear you getting the right advice when upgrading from a storage tank and gas supply.

We wish you many more years of endless hot water.

inxs

inxsAU

  • 15 reviews
  • 2 likes

B20 temperature is fine if adjusted.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Angela03

Angela03Sydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews

terrible system -waste of water

published

recently installed rinnai infinity 20 , unhappy as this unit is wasting so much water , and it doesn't give the temperature we need , water is just warm and this is a new unit , rang rinnai but no satisfaction .regret changing the old rheem it was much better .rinnai infinity 20 rating , I would say 2 out of 10 .

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity 20 compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
LTru

LTruMelbourne

No hot water when it rains, the unit is not wet.

published

We love our Rinnai infinity 20 but it will not work when it rains, the unit is not wet as it sits under the eaves, the rains dries and the unit starts working again?
The unit is under 2 years old and initially worked in all weather.
How can we fix this issue?
Thanks L.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
LTru
LTru

Thanks Rinnai, turns out it was the Gas Meter and a sump in the street filling with water when it rained, all good, Hot water again, Rinnai was not at fault.
L.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the update LTru and glad to see the issue has been resolved and you have reliable hot water again

Deano

Deano

  • 7 reviews

Fantastic

published

No I don't work for Rinnai. In 2014 I replaced my 180ltr gas storage system with the Rinnai B20 unit. After more than 12 months use I can confirm that my gas usage has reduced by at least 70%. So far have had no reliability issues. To get an even temp you must have a controller. Probably takes a wee bit longer to heat up but a small price to pay I believe. Installer did a fantastic job, which probably helps too.
I highly recommend this product.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Deano and the advice about controllers, they really do make a difference to the unit. We are glad the hot water system is serving you well. It's great to hear the installer did a good job too, which eliminates a lot of issues.

John g

John gBallarat 3350

No hot water

published

I have had this Infinnity 20 for about five years, no problems. Now when waiting for water @ 50 deg the readout drops to 12 and no hot water comes through. Please help . The first unit lasted about 12 years without a problem. Could the fault be with the unit or the touch pad . John g

2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John g
John g

Thank you for your prompt response. I will check with the help desk. Cheers, John g

Rinnai infinity 20

published

Rinnai infinity 20 had put in a few weeks ago great product will never go back to another brand .Just one thing if the electitiy goes off do you have to close the gas line or do you just leave it .It does take a few minutes before the water gets hot but it should work that way

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
swiftau

swiftauSydney, NSW

  • 20 reviews

Can't understand what everyone is complaining about!

published
2 comments
Doug68
Doug68
swiftau
swiftau
See all Rinnai Infinity Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Mukesh

Mukeshasked

Infinity 20

Ho do you increase the water temperature in this boiler

2 answers
Bill2123
Bill2123

There is an orange cover over the temperature control screw. You should feel be a small tool tucked in one of the foam insulation. If you pull the orange cover off you can use the tool to adjust the temperature. Clock wise turn will increase the temperature. I hope this helps.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Mukesh, it will depend on the model of the unit if you can alter the temperature of the unit. You can find the model and serial number on a data plate on the left hand side of the unit. The model number will start with REU. Once you have this information you can contact our technical help desk and they can advise if the temperature can be adjusted.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Colin D.

Colin D.asked

Infinity 20

The auto ignition seams to occasionally not kick in leaving us with cold water. What is the fix?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Colin D, there can be a number of reasons for the issue you have faced. We would recommend calling our technical help desk on 1300 555 545, option 3 with the model and serial number of the unit and they can run through some troubleshooting with you.

Thank you
Rinnai Australia

Peter

Peterasked

Infinity 20

I just had a new Finnair 20 installed with 3 remote controls.
When I set the temperature at 37, it heats up to about 39 then the little gas symbol turns out and the temperature drops to about 30.
Then it heats up again, then it shuts off, then heats up, then shuts off.
The result is the water temperature fluctuating like a yo-yo from 39 to 30 for the whole shower.
What can I do to make it a constant 37 ?
Peter

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your question. As there may be various reasons for the issue you are experiencing, we would recommend contacting our technical help desk for assistance on 1300 555 545.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.