??!
10 photos
Rinnai Infinity Range

Rinnai Infinity Range

26, 20, 16, etc...
3.1 from 212 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.9

21 reviews
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (18)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.3 (20)
  • Heating Speed
    3.3 (20)
  • Smells of GasYes · No (21)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Marty

MartySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

I love it

published

we always have Hot water and have 8 people living in the house. low cost water heater and I can control the temperature so the kids don't get burnt. I couldn't live without it.

Purchased in February 1993.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 8 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jett

JettGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Loud whirring noise

published

Purchased at G Store for A$1,099.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
RY

RYPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

24 Years trouble free operation

published

Infinity 20 installed in 1996 replacing an inefficient solar system. Heavy use family home with two bathrooms and it has performed wonderfully during all this time. Had it serviced after about 5 years and was told not to bother again unless there was a problem and there have been none until today. Cost of the unit and installation was approx 30% of a replacement solar system and running costs have been cheaper than the electric boosted old solar unit. Flow rate to two showers at one time is a little reduced but still satisfactory although one shower is perfect achieving water temperatures in excess of my tolerance levels if required !! Cannot rate the unit to highly.

Purchased in May 1996.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
RY
RY

The problem today was found to be the gas supply regulator on the bottles not the Rinnai unit so looking forward to a few more years yet !!!

Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

No Customer Service

published

Wow having read all these issues one thing really stands out..... customer service is non-existent just an automated response which does nothing to solve the issues or help the customer.
I'm not even going to bother adding my complaint.
I will just never buy a Rinnai product again.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Nic

NicMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

WOW I Love it!

published

Purchased in July 2020 at Gas Works Morphett Vale South Australia 5162 for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 6 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
purplethings

purplethingsGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 30 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love the continuous flow of hot water

published

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jude

Jude

  • 2 reviews

Temperature decrease

published

Hi I have Rinnai infinity 26 (REU-V2626W(50)-AK), This system default temp 50 degree Celsius, I tried to decrease the temperature to 25 / 30 degree Celsius via dip switch. but I couldn't. The manual show only decrease 40 degree, can I decrease or not

Purchased in July 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill2123

Bill2123Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible experience use cheap hosing that rusts

published

Does not cope always waiting ages for hot water.
Ribbed hosing rusted after only 5 years of use and started leaking like a sieve.
Plumber told me they have had many issues with this hose.
Annode had to be replaced after 2 years use.
They would not reimburse me to change the ribbed hosing to copper which is what it should have been in the first place.
We are pensioners and we cannot afford this additional cost.

Purchased in May 2015 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
pete

pete

  • 26 reviews
  • 22 likes

Its a great hot water unit

published

Purchased for A$1,199.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blake M.

Blake M.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Cold & cruddy

published

Model Rinnai B26 A2626WB-50-AK
This unit is COLD, 20 degree day & I just had an only hot water shower & did not get warm at all from my COLD supply of water. I will have to purchase a thermometer & see the actual temp from faucet but you can stand under all hot from this unit without even feeling mild discomfort. Installed sheltered area. Looking forward to developing a hatred of Rinnai over the warranty period...
2 questions posed - Copes well with high demand & extended usage
- Does have issues with fluctuation but may not be due to hot water system

Purchased in November 2019 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
CjhBrisbane

CjhBrisbaneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Super efficient gas water heater, some lessons though

published

Replaced an old mains gas storage heater with an Rinnai Infinity 26 with controllers to set temp. Great news is my gas consumption fell 90% (not a typo).
Some lessons though.
Had to replace the mains gas line into the property to a larger size, ie less gas consumed but at a much higher rate.
Low flow taps/shower heads appear to confuse the heater (hence some poor reviews i guess), solution is to turn on hot tap much more seems to solve problem.
Have had the unit for almost two years, faultless and highly recommended.
However, given the cost of gas main replacement and gas retailers quarterly connection fee, it would have been more cheaper to go LPG option. QLD fee is almost $100 per quarter plus my $10 gas usage.

Purchased in April 2018 at Gstore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Alex

AlexSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Hot and Cold

published

Our B20 unit is 16 months old and it is satisfactory in all respects except for our shower. In a 3 or 4 minute shower it runs cold 2 or 3 times. The instruction book says to increase the hot water flow but it is already at near its maximum. It is very frustrating as out old tank system never caused a problem in 16 years.

Purchased in September 2019 at Fallon plumbing.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Alex. there are a number of factors that can cause this issue We would recommend speaking to our technical department on 1300 555 545 option 3, who can run through some troubleshooting with you.

MsRachel

MsRachel

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not get any system like this

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$2,205.00.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
MsRachel
MsRachel
Peter Kothstein GF8771

Peter Kothstein GF8771Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Another Successful Installation

published

I supplied and installed a Rinnai B20 Last week.
Rinnai elite Products and HWS's a must for any persons changing Hot Water units.
Get installation done by a Licensed Gasfitter/Plumber.
GF8771 PL6440 Peter

Purchased in October 2019 at Samios for A$765.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Andy

AndyVictoria

Fantastic unit

published

Our unit has been running flawlessly for the past 5 years. I installed controllers next to our showers + kitchen and the kids love having easy control of their shower temp. Energy efficient - Gas bill is nice and low - although installation was high (thick copper gas pipes).

Temperature fluctuation is minor when say the washing machine and/or dishwasher kicks in while you're showering, but it's still warm enough and it very rarely happens. On the flip side, you don't run out of hot water (except during a power outage)!

In all, no regrets and would install again.

Purchased in September 2014 at GStore.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Find out how Rinnai Infinity Range compares to other Gas Continuous Hot Water Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
john

johnGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

too much wasted water

published

Purchased in March 2019 at Burson.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Susan

SusanDERRIMUT VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Poor customer service with Rinnai

published

Had an issue with faulty value on solar hot water unit which we only had for 15 months. Tried to call Rinnai to book technician to fix problem ASAP however was on hold for 30 mins and couldn't get through so had no choice to go with independent plumber. Still had faulty value available and a massive water bill because of this. As we didn't use Rinnai's technician, this apparently void the warranty. It is appalling Rinnai not prepared to compensate us nor contribute to the cost of the massive water bill. In future will not support Rinnai products.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Smells of GasNo
Sandra A.

Sandra A.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Terrible temperature and flow

published

In the summer months it's OK but when it get cold the temperature at best the water is Luke warm and the flow is terrible.
I have had your Tech guy out charged me $190 to say it's not the unit it's the gas company flow from the street they came out said the gas Flow is fine .
I have had the plumber out 3 times thinking he could help he has seen what is happening but can't find anything .
This happened last winter we couldn't afford to call your tec guys again as her said it will cost again now winter here again and here we go again like warm shower again.
So frustrating wish I had money to buy a new brand.

Purchased in November 2017.

Household Size 4 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Donna

DonnaWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Not hot enough

published

Our water has never been hot enough. Can wash hair on all hot and hold hand under hot water at kitchen sink. Kitchen sink is close to the unit. Have to boil a kettle for wash up water. How can the temperature be raised please?

Purchased in August 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
AJR2093

AJR2093Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Works great..until it doesn’t. No service from Rinnai

published

2 months before end of warranty our water heater dies. No shower, no washing, nothing. Still cannot get Rinnai to answer a phone. Plumber says it has corroded. Outdoor unit dead after Andre 3 years.Buying BOSCH next time.

Purchased in July 2016 for A$3,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 5 person(s)
Smells of GasNo
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Page 1 of 2
See all Rinnai Infinity Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Luke

Lukeasked

Infinity 26 SmartStart

Does anyone know if a Rinnai smart start can be connected to a Thermann 26

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Luke, thanks for the question, the Rinnai smartStart is designed to work in conjunction with the Rinnai range of hot water units. They are not tested or recommended for use with other brands,

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Scott H.

Scott H.asked

Infinity 32 Enviro

Hi there, is it normal for steam and water condensate to be vented from the vent in the upper front section.. when we operate the system.. water drips down the front of the unit from the vent..
Please advise
Thanks

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Scott H,

Thank you for the question.

Please contact our Technical help team on 1300 555 545, Option 3 and they can assist your further to advise if a service call is required.
Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Sean S.

Sean S.asked

Infinity 20

When do you know when it is on

2 answers
Nbee
Nbee

I now have to just use it without temperature control so adjust the water so it’s not boiling until we get a new one

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Sean, thanks for the question. The Infinity hot water units will switch on as soon as you open a hot water outlet. The power, gas and water must all be on for this to occur.

If you are having issues, we have a technical help desk available on 1300 555 545 option 3 who may be able to assist.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.