??!
1 photo
Rinnai Q Series
2.4 from 15 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.4

15 reviews
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.3 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (11)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.0 (10)
Previous
Next
Acker

Acker

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

great when it works

published

Purchased in November 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeSmall Office
See all answers
Marguerite

MargueriteWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

Marguerite update Did not even get 6 months of good use

published

By 9 months the thermostat stopped working,
It often took a few go's to turn off
When I insisted on a refund not a replace Harvey Norman hung up on me.
Dont buy one....these are a dud

Purchased in August 2019.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Marguerite
Marguerite
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Poor Design

published

Hello All, I am an installer. Today I have done second installation of rennai and I would not recommend to buy this unit. Where to start 1) electrical termination arrangements are very poor and diffult to make proper connection without boot laces . Even if u use boot laces risk of losing screws inside the unit.hard to install. 2) flare nuts are poor design and can easily break the copper flare. Last unit had to go through the warranty process I am hopping this one too.will update you soon. BR U

Purchased in March 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai Q Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Digger100

Digger100Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Enjoying our new Rinnai Inverter Split System Air Conditioner

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$1,098.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot Insulated
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ADAM REID

ADAM REID

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

STILL NOT WORKING

published

Had 2nd Rinnai unit fitted friday 18th of oct under warranty by tech that rinnai organised
surprise! it does not work either. This one has a different fault to the first one, tech thinks there is a blockage
stopping the refrigerant so now we have a really expensive fan. maybe the third time will be the charm
Quality control might be a good idea to look into guys ?
Still not happy and its going to be 34 degrees on thursday maybe you could send me a couple of ice blocks .
When i get one that works i will write a better review until then thanks RINNAI.

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ADAM REID

ADAM REID

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Reno

RenoNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great value and works well

published

Just had the Q Series 8kw system fitted. It works very well and is very easy to use. Has great features not found in some dearer brands. Looks good too

Purchased in August 2019 for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Matt

MattQueensland

  • 7 reviews

Very good value for money

published

Bought this 7.0kW system for an open living/dining room which is about 50 square metres. Throughout summer it performed very well, cooled down the entire living space within a matter of 10 minutes. Fairly quiet, nice looking design and was one of the cheapest air cons going around.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,264.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
SEM

SEMHunter Region, NSW

  • 23 reviews
  • 15 likes

Perfect for small room

published

Purchased in November from Harvey Norman for bedroom use. 2.5KW easily cooled down room on over 40+° days over summer. Great energy rating. We generally set at 22° on medium fan and it’s perfect. Didn’t make a huge impact on our energy bills. Quick to turn on and cool. Easy remote functions with very easy timer!!!
Just started using heat setting to warm room up. Warms up in ok time. We just close door on colder nights. Timer function great to set so not on all night.
Very quiet. Temperature lights up on unit.
Installed through Harvey Norman during installation special. Small unit outside.
Great brand. Would purchase a Rinnai again.

Purchased in November 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$648.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai Q Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ravdeep S.

Ravdeep S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not buy!

published

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$1,250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Ravdeep S, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Chris L

Chris LSouth East Queensland, QLD

Perfect

published

Was hesitant to buy this model but now glad I did, it works very well, only used cooling so far which is very good and easy to use. Very good taking humidity out of the air and quiet.wifi i excellent.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

faulty after 2 weeks

published

purchased brand new, stopped working 2 weeks after install with minimal use.
Waited for 3 weeks for technician to visit and confirm it was faulty. the service team at 1st care now wants me to pay an installer to remove the unit so they can replace the faulty part then pay out of pocket again to have it installed. Will escalate this to ACCC

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys for A$700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Gary W, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Gary W
Gary W

the only communication received to date is a "final notice" for $299. The unit is not even fixed! Matter is currently with consumer affairs for breach of consumer law.

John W

John WMelbourne

Noisy once turned off

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
John W
John W

I sent you my details via email as requested and still have not received a call as you said you would.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John, we have found your email and it has been forwarded onto the customer service team.

Matt D

Matt DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Installed but wifi not working

published

Aircon cooling and fan works fine, no complaints there (as yet). But the Wifi control feature can not be configured or detected. I'll wait to hear back from Rinnai about any possible fixes, but I suspect the aircon is faulty. I use wifi-sniffing tools on my laptop and can't find any new wifi access point through which an aircon could be configured. Otherwise, the unit takes 30seconds to turn off once it has been running, which seems a little bit weird. Good thing about wall-unit is that it is smaller in length than equivalent sized units from other manufactures.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Matt D
Matt D
Matt D
Matt D
Shelly 50

Shelly 50Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not gassed and brand new

published

Purchased this unit brand new and it is not gassed up so I now have the painful process of warranty. Good luck with that right on xmas hey. Very disappointed

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Shelley 50. Could you please forward your details to enquiry@rinnai.com.au for further assistance.

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai Q Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Keven

Kevenasked

Q Series

I was going to purchasse Rinnai Air Con today. But won't get this after reading all the reviews here especially about Rinnai's poor customer service and warranty claims. Thanks to all those who put their valuable reviews here.

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for your review Keven,
As a trusted brand for over 50 years, Rinnai place a strong emphasis on the quality of our products and are always striving to improve our customer experience.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Marguerite
Marguerite

I brought a Fujitsu from Appliances online for sale price ....$500 off and I love it. Make sur you get it installed by someone who can repair....not a cowboy who just installs. If anything goes wrong the cowboy runs while the tradie fixes it.

Marguerite
Marguerite

never buy from Harvey Norman...when I brought my Rinnai and it was faulty.....they run like the cowboy.

Andrew

Andrewasked

HSNRQ70B (7.0kW)

Hello, we are thinking about buying two HSNRQ70B from Harvey Norman, just reading the reviews there are some horrid reviews. Is it correct if there is a warranty issue the purchaser is charged a call out fee by a technician and might be waiting months for the unit to be fixed.

2 answers
Marguerite
Marguerite

I have no idea. But the company who sold you the unit usually is responsible for working with their supplier on warranty issues. Why not direct your question to the department of fair trade. I have the same issue with my solar panels. I have to pay travel $300 to get their technician out to replace a panel. I paid $66 in power this term....and my aircon goes all day and is usually turned off at 6pm.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Andrew,

Thank you for your question.

Rinnai Australia manufactures and distributes a broad range of home comfort products. Our brands include Rinnai, Brivis, APAC and Polo.

Our products are renowned for their quality and reliability, but in the unlikely event you wish to make a Product Warranty claim please refer to our website for full service warranty terms and conditions following the link provided - https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Sue C

Sue Casked

HSNRQ70B (7.0kW)

My 6mth old unit is suddenly not heating well. Air coming out is now only mildly warm but barely making a difference to house temperature . Previously warmed house well. Setting higher temp doesn’t make any difference. Fan is blowing but like a mild cool breeze. Set heating temp at 26 Room ran all night room temp only at 15 is only about 20sqm space.

2 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question Sue C, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Maria F.
Maria F.

I would like to see a recall on these systems as I have had the same experience with mine.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Rinnai Q Series
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) A$699.00A$899.00A$1,199.00A$1,599.00
Features Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart ControlInverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power2.5 kW3.4 kW5.2 kW7 kW
Heating Power2.5 kW3.5 kW5.2 kW7 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 5 stars5 stars4 stars3 stars
Heating Energy Rating 5 stars5 stars4 stars3 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling-17 to +27-17 to +27-17 to +27-17 to +27
Operating Temperature for Heating-17 to +27-17 to +27-17 to +27-17 to +27
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)YesYesYesYes
Indoor Unit Dimensions 300 x 850 x 198 mm315 x 970 x 235 mm330 x 1100 x 235 mm330 x 1100 x 235 mm
Indoor Weight9 kg12 kg14 kg14 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level43 dB50 dB50 dB50 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 545 x 311 x 768 mm545 x 837 x 353 mm700 x 388 x 930 mm700 x 930 x 388 mm
Outdoor Weight31 kg34 kg51 kg53 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level50 dB53 dB54 dB55 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level59 dB61 dB63 dB64 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Compare all 5 Rinnai Q Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.