??!
3 photos
Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

RPC41WA, RPC35WA
3.8 from 38 reviews

Portable Air Conditioners Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of portable air conditioner would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.8

38 reviews
5
(13)
4
(11)
3
(10)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Chanelle H.

Chanelle H.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Great little unit

published

I have had my unit for approximately 1 year, the Unit is now starting to let of an awful smell when in use. Is there any reason for this? I clean the filters regularly.

Purchased in May 2019.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Will_PayMore4Quality

Will_PayMore4Quality

  • 18 reviews
  • 14 likes

Rate: 68% OK. Nightmare window adapter. Could be 84%+

published
  • +1

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for A$720.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
J-Man

J-ManSydney

  • 22 reviews
  • 24 likes

Worked great for 3 years then it leaked.

published

This air conditioner saved me from hot nights. Has been great but last week started leaking. No where does it say you need to drain it because it’s self evaporative. I woke to totally saturated carpet in the bedroom. Had to buy a stand to put it on and buckets below. Now it seems after a few days it doesn’t leak as much in the bucket.
Also the service dept I called were quite hopeless.

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for A$690.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

not bad

published

has Anyone else on here had problems or know why the aircon drops in and out, one minute it would be cold as than the next it’s like the fan is only working.. if anyone could help me out that would be sweet.. thanks

Purchased for A$850.00.

Heating / Cooling Speed
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Monika

MonikaSydney, NSW

Replacement window kit hard to find

published

I purchased the Rinnai RPC35WA in October 2016 at the Good Guys and couldn’t be without it. It is absolutely perfect for my bedroom and I never had any problems with it. But after over 3 years the inevitable happened, the hose needs to be replaced but I have a very hard time getting one. As I have a heart condition It is really important that I get a replacement straight away.
Please let me know where I can purchase one.

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Baha F.

Baha F.Sydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

This is Cool!!!

published

I bought the big one by reading reviews here and I'm happy with my choice, it's very good and cool the living room very well. I think the noise is fair as everything of a normal AC is in one place so it makes noise :D

Room Type Living/Dining Area
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Patrick O.

Patrick O.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

An absolute godsend in hot and humid weather

published

In my small 4 x 5 bedroom it cools and dehumidifies very quickly to take it down from 37 degrees, to a more manageable 27 and the added benefit of the sleep setting, means no bright display when trying to sleep at night

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Small Bedroom and Small Office
See all answers
2 comments
Patrick O.
Patrick O.
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
alphacinator

alphacinatorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 49 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent for renters

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sherree

SherreeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 17 likes

Excellent cooling and great value for money. Portable and great for rentals/extra rooms.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Direct Online for A$720.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Blake Heath

Blake HeathAU

  • 4 reviews

Good quality. Cools well - but quite noisy indeed.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Online for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Blake Heath
Blake Heath
Dante1

Dante1South East Queensland, QLD

Window mount literally melted

published

The window mount for the exhaust pipe literally melted from the heat after only 1 or 2 weeks of use approx 3 hours a day.
Can't find replacement, as others have said unless I pay an exorbitant price. Now it's basically useless. Pretty unreal that a simple spare part is so hard to acquire.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
stji001

stji001Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

As per review says

published

Before I bought this unit, I read the review here. Majority of the review is good. Indeed it is as good as it says. Unfortunately it is not reverse cycle and the cable length is slightly shorter that what you would expect. It cools reasonably well. I have yet to test it on a very hot summer. So far its performing well. It is only slightly louder than a pedestal fan when the compressor is not running, but when compressor is running, its abit louder than you might expect, which is normal.

Edit:
- Customer service is very helpful and I am very satisfied with the product.
- At full blast, its actually quite loud.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good portable Air Con

published

I bought this unit a month ago and am very happy with my purchase. It is a little noisy as all portable units are but otherwise works well. It cools the room nicely and keeps it at temperature all night long.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$728.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Josh, we are pleased to hear you are enjoying your portable air conditioning unit.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Blackheath Weather

Blackheath WeatherSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good cooling. Economical. Noisy.

published

We've owned this model for a couple of weeks and are fairly happy with it. We have solar power, so can measure how much power we are using each day and this Rinnai model is notably cheaper to run than our other portable air conditioner, which is a different brand. It cools one to two rooms well and works particularly well on the dehumidifier option. However, it is notably noisier than our other model when the compressor comes on. There is also no way to easily have the cold air blow directly on you, as for some curious reason, the airflow comes out of the top of the unit. Still, it cools well, so we will learn to live with these problems. Just don't buy this model if you want the quietest compressor. There are quieter units out there.

Purchased in January 2019 for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jason

JasonSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Just Average.

published

Neat design, a little bit noisy when everything gose quiet and sleep. Every half to one hour we have to clean the water out otherwise the air con stop generating cooling air. The water must be pumped out at the very bottom of the machine so we have to stack the machine up to be able to let water fully flow out.

Overall, I'd say average.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for A$659.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Jason. Please contact our free Technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to ensure correct usage of the unit.

Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Perfect for apartment living

published

It’s design is good, but the most important things to me when looking for an air conditioner: ability to cool, noise levels.
If you have a bedroom you want to cool down, this is the machine for you. Make sure you know the space you need to cool before deciding on which machine you need. This machine allows you to sleep well through those hot summer nights, however you may need ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Additionally the unit slides quite easily around rooms and did an admirable job cooling down our open space living room & kitchen within our apartment. I’d recommend this machine!

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for A$530.00.

Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Portability
Home Insulation Level Not sure
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
den

denSydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Average portable air con...

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
den
den

No worries mate.. this is my unbiased review...hope it helps Rinnai to improve their product and services... all the best

Great unit

published

This airconditioner is the best it gets cold instantly and my bedroom is so cool i turn it off after 10 minutes i would not have survived the 40 deg summer without Rinnai 3.5
Anyone looking for a portable aircon thats not noisy and has various options go for this great brand

Date PurchasedJan 2019
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Priyank

PriyankBrisbane

Expensive Spare parts

published

Dont even think of buying this unit, I have similar experience as others buying spare parts. Its very stressful and currently Reccee Plumbing are re-seller for spare parts and I have been quoted 210$ Windows Slide kit. I am now with useless unit and will to search if I can source other company's air conditioner spare parts that can be used.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Priyank
Priyank
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Damon

DamonSydney

Great unit, shame about spare parts

published

We have this unit to cool our bedroom and it does work very well. However, during a move the window slide kit was lost and attempts to buy a replacement have been extremely stressful. I spoke to the Good Guys who directed us to Rinnai Spare parts, who in turn told me they don't sell them directly to customers and to go via their partner Harvey Norman and when we did they said the kit was $120!!! for a piece of plastic!!! Outraged at the rip off cost for a simple kit. I am not going to pay this and so the unit itself is now useless - Rinnai, you need to get your spare parts arrangements sorted as this is unacceptable!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you Damon for your enquiry. We would like to assist you further, could you please forward your details to enquiry@rinnai.com.au and mention this review.

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Dillon C.

Dillon C.asked

RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Hi.
My Portable aircon seems to not be pumping cool air out as it was before what would the reason be for this? I’ve not owned it for longer than a year.

2 answers
Monika
Monika

You might need to clean the filter.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Dillon C,

Thanks for the question, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Sheba

Shebaasked

RPC35WA

RPC35WA / RPC41WA what’s the difference? Is the 4.1 noisier because it’s got a bigger motor? Or do they both make the same amount of noise? I bought the 4.1 For my bedroom but if the 3.5 is not as noisy I think I would have preferred that.

2 answers
alphacinator
alphacinator

Not sure. Probably the same. I got used to it after a while since I had it in my bedroom for more than a month. You can wear headphones while listening to music or wear ear plugs. I don't wear ear plugs because I fall asleep after a long day at work

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Sheba,

Thanks for the question. The RPC35WA / RPC41WA have the same decibel rating of 52DBA on fan and full cooling operation. If you require any further assistance please contact our technical help desk on 1300 555 545.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

David M.

David M.asked

RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Bought my RPC41WA yesterday. Did a great job cooling my bedroom but woke up in the middle of the night with the carpet completely drenched wet. The instruction manual is so unhelpful particularly regarding the condensation house/draining. It is now the weekend (hottest of the year with a 5 weeks old baby) so I won’t be able to call Rinnai until Monday. Please Help

3 answers
Patrick O.
Patrick O.

Hi David.
I had the same problem; Ive found if you attach the drainage hose to the higher up plug (near the exhaust hose) it will drain while operating. Just make sure to have a large container to run into, as mine throws out 10 litres of water throughout the night. I hope this has helped, and good luck mate.

David M.
David M.

Thanks Patrick after reading some other comments on here and yours I realised one of our plugs (plug 7) was left open... so I plugged that rather than attached the hose and very nervously left it on through the night. No leakage but I can hear the water building up and swooshing inside so I’m sure will have to drain it sooner rather than later. Will probably still give Rinnai a call. I can’t beleive how bad the instruction manual is!

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi David M.

We have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.