?
? !
3 photos
Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

RPC41WA, RPC35WA
3.7 from 41 reviews · View Statistics

Portable Air Conditioner Buying Guide

A portable air conditioner is a great way to stay cool, but with the array of choices, finding the best portable air conditioner can be complex. This portable air conditioners buying guide is here to help you meet your AC match so you can spend a cool time together.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (14)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (16)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    4.0 (17)
  • Portability
    3.9 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Jax

JaxSydney, NSW

Do not buy this air conditioner.

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Appliances Online for $589.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sarge

SargeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Compressor very noisy

published

I had a look at a few portable AC's and settled with this one, seller recommended. But when I got home I couldn't attach the hose to my window coz my window is not the sliding window. It's the one where you wind out, then the seller said you have to do this you have to do that for it to cool your room. It's just too much stuffing around and the compressor noise is pretty loud, you won't be able to hear the TV unless it's cranked up. And on very hot days the hose gets hot and all that heat has to go somewhere (back into the room). Now the unit just sits in the closet, I've only used it once or twice and it wasn't cheap to buy either. Put in a little more money and got a mini split system, much better.

Purchased in September 2017 at The Good Guys for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Naomi Esther S.

Naomi Esther S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Tbh I'm pretty happy with it

published

It was easy to assemble and I'm not a fan of constructing flat packs of stuff of any kind. It's an easy plug and play and can adapt to window use easily but I have it working with a door with a curtain and it's working really well, it's pretty powerful and has really good air flow and immediately cooled down a really hot room that's operating a pc. My pc isn't over heating anymore, it's very smooth and worth the money tbh. It's not that loud you can sleep with it on and you forget it's there when you're concentrating on something else.

Purchased in November 2020 at The Good Guys for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chanelle H.

Chanelle H.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

Great little unit

published

I have had my unit for approximately 1 year, the Unit is now starting to let of an awful smell when in use. Is there any reason for this? I clean the filters regularly.

Purchased in May 2019.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Will_PayMore4Quality

Will_PayMore4Quality

  • 19 reviews
  • 15 likes

Rate: 68% OK. Nightmare window adapter. Could be 84%+

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • +1Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2020 at eBay for $720.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
J-Man

J-ManSydney

  • 27 reviews
  • 27 likes

Worked great for 3 years then it leaked.

published

This air conditioner saved me from hot nights. Has been great but last week started leaking. No where does it say you need to drain it because it’s self evaporative. I woke to totally saturated carpet in the bedroom. Had to buy a stand to put it on and buckets below. Now it seems after a few days it doesn’t leak as much in the bucket.
Also the service dept I called were quite hopeless.

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for $690.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

not bad

published

has Anyone else on here had problems or know why the aircon drops in and out, one minute it would be cold as than the next it’s like the fan is only working.. if anyone could help me out that would be sweet.. thanks

Purchased for $850.00.

Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Monika

MonikaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Replacement window kit hard to find

published

I purchased the Rinnai RPC35WA in October 2016 at the Good Guys and couldn’t be without it. It is absolutely perfect for my bedroom and I never had any problems with it. But after over 3 years the inevitable happened, the hose needs to be replaced but I have a very hard time getting one. As I have a heart condition It is really important that I get a replacement straight away.
Please let me know where I can purchase one.

Purchased in October 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Baha F.

Baha F.Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

This is Cool!!!

published

I bought the big one by reading reviews here and I'm happy with my choice, it's very good and cool the living room very well. I think the noise is fair as everything of a normal AC is in one place so it makes noise :D

Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Patrick O.

Patrick O.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

An absolute godsend in hot and humid weather

published

In my small 4 x 5 bedroom it cools and dehumidifies very quickly to take it down from 37 degrees, to a more manageable 27 and the added benefit of the sleep setting, means no bright display when trying to sleep at night

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Patrick O.
Patrick O.
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
alphacinator

alphacinatorGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 57 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent for renters

published

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sherree

SherreeDarling Downs, QLD

  • 21 reviews
  • 18 likes

Excellent cooling and great value for money. Portable and great for rentals/extra rooms.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Direct Online for $720.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blake Heath

Blake HeathAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good quality. Cools well - but quite noisy indeed.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Appliances Online for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Blake Heath
Blake Heath
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dante1

Dante1South East Queensland, QLD

Window mount literally melted

published

The window mount for the exhaust pipe literally melted from the heat after only 1 or 2 weeks of use approx 3 hours a day.
Can't find replacement, as others have said unless I pay an exorbitant price. Now it's basically useless. Pretty unreal that a simple spare part is so hard to acquire.

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
stji001

stji001Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

As per review says

published

Before I bought this unit, I read the review here. Majority of the review is good. Indeed it is as good as it says. Unfortunately it is not reverse cycle and the cable length is slightly shorter that what you would expect. It cools reasonably well. I have yet to test it on a very hot summer. So far its performing well. It is only slightly louder than a pedestal fan when the compressor is not running, but when compressor is running, its abit louder than you might expect, which is normal.

Edit:
- Customer service is very helpful and I am very satisfied with the product.
- At full blast, its actually quite loud.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Portable Air Conditioners

Find out how Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA compares to other Portable Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Josh

JoshSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good portable Air Con

published

I bought this unit a month ago and am very happy with my purchase. It is a little noisy as all portable units are but otherwise works well. It cools the room nicely and keeps it at temperature all night long.

Purchased in February 2019 for $728.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Josh, we are pleased to hear you are enjoying your portable air conditioning unit.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blackheath Weather

Blackheath WeatherSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Good cooling. Economical. Noisy.

published

We've owned this model for a couple of weeks and are fairly happy with it. We have solar power, so can measure how much power we are using each day and this Rinnai model is notably cheaper to run than our other portable air conditioner, which is a different brand. It cools one to two rooms well and works particularly well on the dehumidifier option. However, it is notably noisier than our other model when the compressor comes on. There is also no way to easily have the cold air blow directly on you, as for some curious reason, the airflow comes out of the top of the unit. Still, it cools well, so we will learn to live with these problems. Just don't buy this model if you want the quietest compressor. There are quieter units out there.

Purchased in January 2019 for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jason

JasonSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Just Average.

published

Neat design, a little bit noisy when everything gose quiet and sleep. Every half to one hour we have to clean the water out otherwise the air con stop generating cooling air. The water must be pumped out at the very bottom of the machine so we have to stack the machine up to be able to let water fully flow out.

Overall, I'd say average.

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $659.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the review Jason. Please contact our free Technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to ensure correct usage of the unit.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Perfect for apartment living

published

It’s design is good, but the most important things to me when looking for an air conditioner: ability to cool, noise levels.
If you have a bedroom you want to cool down, this is the machine for you. Make sure you know the space you need to cool before deciding on which machine you need. This machine allows you to sleep well through those hot summer nights, however you may need ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. Additionally the unit slides quite easily around rooms and did an admirable job cooling down our open space living room & kitchen within our apartment. I’d recommend this machine!

Purchased in January 2019 at The Good Guys for $530.00.

Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
den

denSydney, NSW

  • 14 reviews
  • 9 likes

Average portable air con...

published
Date PurchasedJan 2019
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
den
den

No worries mate.. this is my unbiased review...hope it helps Rinnai to improve their product and services... all the best

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Class C.

Class C.asked

RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Hi! What are the differences between 1-Rinnai C3.5kW Cooling Only Portable Air Con RPC35WA and 2-Rinnai C3.5kW Cooling Only Portable Air Conditioner
RPC35MC (RPC35WA and RPC35MC) ? Regards!

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Class C, thanks for the question.

The main difference in the units is the type of refrigerant used.

The WA uses R410A as a refrigerant. The MC uses R290.

Performance wise the MC is slightly more efficient than the WA, being the newest release model. The WA is 2018 model and the MC is 2020.

There are some minor operating differences.

For more information you can check our website or contact our technical department on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Anthony Mascia

Anthony Masciaasked

RPC41WA

The cooling seems to stay on for a brief time (5minutes) then reverts to fan for about 15 minutes). It definitely does not get to the temperature that I set it to. Any clues?

The unit is brand new. It also has the heat exhausted through a wall outlet.

It fails if over 25 degrees. Waiting for an answer before I return back to Goodguys.

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Anthony Mascia,

Thank you for reaching out to us.

We would recommend contacting our Technical Helpdesk on 1300 555 545 (option 3) for assistance.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Anthony Mascia
Anthony Mascia

Hi. I’ve tried tech support and they could not provide an answer. I tried your service team and they suggest I return it back to the retailer for a replacement.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Anthony Mascia,

The unit can be returned to the place of purchase for a replacement.

Thanks
Rinnai Aystralia

ttsailormoon t.

ttsailormoon t.asked

RPC41WA

Do I need to drain the water out if I use the humidifier or is there a hose that empties the water out?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ttsailormoon t,

Thank you for your question.

As I am unable to find the answer for you in the manual, please contact our Technical team on 1300 555 545, option 3.

I can advise there should have been a drain hose included in the contents that came with the unit.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

Details

The Rinnai RPC portable ACs come available in 3 models for different room sizes:

  • 2.6kW unit: Suitable for small rooms, home studies and bedrooms up to 20sqm
  • 3.5kW model: Capable of cooling rooms up to 24sqm
  • 4.1kW: This AC performs well in larger bedrooms, home studies and small living areas.

These Rinnai ACs are also designed with a range of features, including variable temperature control, a washable filter, an in-built timer and set-and-forget sleep mode. A remote control and ventilation kit is also included. The self-evaporative system or 'no-drip' air conditioner type also ensures that water rarely needs to be drained from the unit, unless you live in an area with high humidity - as more water may accumulate in the water tank.

What reviewers liked about these Rinnai Portable Air Conditioners:

  • The ability to cool a room that was reasonably hot, i.e. over 30 degrees Celsius and bring it down to the mid-twenties, was appreciated by a number of reviewers.
  • The speed with which these portable ACs were able to bring a room’s temperature down was nothing short of admired. Short wait times of 20-30 minutes were reported before a room was comfortably cool.
  • While these ACs can be heavy (39 kg for the largest model), the fact that they come on wheels makes them easy to port around the house.
  • While several reviewers found the Rinnai Portable AC to be noisy, but either they expect this from a portable AC, or forgave it due to its excellent cooling performance.
Compare both Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA
CategoryPortable Air ConditionersPortable Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $699.00$749.00
Features On/Off Timer and Remote ControlOn/Off Timer and Remote Control
Cooling Power3.5 kW4.1 kW
Reverse Cycle NoNo
Cooling Capacity12,000 BTU14,000 BTU
Dimensions 795 x 480 x 400 mm795 x 480 x 400 mm
Auto Restart FunctionNoNo
Max Room Size 2125
Max Room Air Flow 410 m³/h450 m³/h
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare both Rinnai RPC35WA / RPC41WA

  • MPN: 36472413
  • GTIN13: 9314109219449

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.