?
? !
4 photos
Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log)
3.0 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (5)
  • Value for Money
    2.6 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Heating Speed3/5 - 5/5 (5)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.0 (5)
  • Safety
    3.8 (5)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Valerie

ValerieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Never worked properly from day one of purchase (Purchased 2/7/18)

published

Keeps switching off and coming up with error 12. Technician has been out numerous times during warranty and really doesn't seem to have any idea what is wrong. He's moved the pebbles around changed ignition switch etc and nothing has changed. Some days it will work and other days not. Would not recommend product at all.

Purchased in July 2018 for $3,950.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Maggie B

Maggie BHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

We love our Rinnai Sapphire (with remote)

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in July 2015 at Randalls for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Thomas

ThomasIllawarra, NSW

Completely unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2016 at Tempco for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kid

KidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Excellent product

published

Very good buy. Economical to run and efficient at heating a large space. Looks good and is a clean heater. Safe to use and checked for emissions. Best heating purchase I have made and well worth the price.

Purchased in August 2019 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
saliero

salieroSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Heap of rubbish - do NOT buy

published

In September 2017 we bought a Rinnai gas log heater Symbol: SAPIL/SAPF1 SAPP INB S/S ON BL at $A3098. It stopped working a few weeks ago (July 2019). Today someone came out and charged us $195 call out fee, $35 per 15 minutes, $200 for a new regulator (which was not the problem), and we are up for an unspecified amount for some part which "may" fix the problem. It appears Rinnai only offers a 12 month warranty. How can this possibly be justified....?

Purchased in September 2017 for $3,098.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Mav

MavNsw

Very disappointed

published

Purchased from Jordans. Flue installed on an angle on the roof, bad smell filled the room, made us sick and unwell. Waited for four weeks for service to fix flue. Then room not heating well, flames all high bright yellow and soot started to fill log. Service again to rectify. Now the power button does not work, cannot turn off heater. We want a refund.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mav
Mav

email sent but no response or action.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
sepa

sepaAU

  • 23 reviews
  • 15 likes

Excellent gas heater but new model lacks features and is a big step backwards

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Sohigirl

SohigirlSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brand new - doesn’t work

published
Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Not Happy

Not Happy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed

published

I had the Rnnai 950X installed in November 2017. It work when installed and the few times I tested it in December and January.
Come winter ( late May) it would light and then switch off after a few minutes with error code 12. ( Call Rennai )
Service person came and explained it was a gas pressure setting issue.
Worked for a few nights and then started to switch off again after a few minutes with error code 12 again.
Waiting for another service.
I will update this report as time progresses.
Hope Rinnai can fix the problem this time.
They were helpful in arranging a service person.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Not Happy
Not Happy

Disappointed here with an update.
27!June. Rinnai service person spent 2 hours on the gas fire and replaced the master board and flame rod.
Fire now starts and stays on.
Rinnai were very good to deal with and the service person was excellent.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the follow up Disappointed, glad to hear the service technician was able to resolve the issue.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wineman

WinemanSouthwest, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good but could be better

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
giajy003

giajy003

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it!

published

Quite a powerful heater! Heats a large space quickly & looks fantastic. It's quiet, even with the fan on the highest setting. Didn't get the remote (another thing to lose), so adjust settings with a simple up & down option. Simple! There's 3 buttons - on/off, up & down. Easy to clean with running a duster behind the glass.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review, we are always happy to hear feedback from our customers.

Gas is the way to Go

published

I can't speak highly enough about the difference a gas log fire makes in Tasmania.
We're so pleased we went with this form of heating
Makes the whole atmosphere of the hose warm cosy and happy.

Heats up quickly after returning home.
My wife would not be with out it!

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Nola

NolaWindsor

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

The worst gas heater on the market.

published

Don't, under any circumstance, but a Rinnai Sappire Gas Log Fire!
It has a loud, high pitched noisy fan - on lowest setting and every time with use creates copious condensation which the Illusion doesn't and only needs glass cleaned after 10 years of usage.
I bought Rinnai because my old gas space heater was a Rinnai and did great service but this Sappire is a nightmare and I can't get rid of it as Rinnai will not take ANY responsibility!!!

Date PurchasedJune 2016
Evelyn

Evelyn

  • 2 reviews

Cosy up for winter

published

Looking forward to using our gas heater. No more cold evenings sitting reading and relaxing. At the touch of a button it can be set to your preferred temperature with the remote. Excellent choice. No having to gather and store logs all year. Modern styling sitting on a plinth looks good.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Evelyn, we are glad to hear the swap from wood fire to flame fire has been a sucessful one.

SUE G

SUE GHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best thing ive ever bought

published

I have NEVER regretted buying this. Cant wait for winter so i can start it up again
I have it set automatically so i never have to turn it off and on. The logs look so real compared to other heaters. Love it. I have recommended it to all my friends

Date PurchasedMar 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the great review Sue, we are pleased to hear how much you love your Sapphire heater and wish you many more years of warmth.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Marguerita D.

Marguerita D.asked

Sapphire Freestanding Console

What SAFETY systems are in place? I recently had a Masport free standing gas log fire explode out the front showering large chunks of glass and a fitted safety screen over the room........currently under assessment. Could have been deadly.

No answers
Jody

Jodyasked

Sapphire (Gas Log)

I purchased the rinaai saphire heater late 2018 at Central west heating that has since closed down. We are unable to ignite our heater now?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Jody,

Thanks for the question. We would recommend contacting our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 as they will be be able to assist with troubleshooting over the telephone.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Rebecca D.

Rebecca D.asked

Sapphire (Gas Log)

We have inherited a Sapphire fireplace and was hoping to change the front to black instead of the silver one we have. Can you purchase these fronts?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Rebecca D, it will depend on the model of the heater, our technical help desk can assist further on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log)

Details

Compare all 4 Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log)
CategoryGas HeatersGas HeatersGas HeatersGas Heaters
Heater TypeFireplaceFireplaceFireplaceFireplace
Max Room Size 108108108108
Dimensions 660 x 865 x 620 mm660 x 865 x 425 mm760 x 865 x 425 mm837 x 865 x 425 mm
Gas Star Rating 4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)4 star(s)
Max Gas Input30 mJ/h30 mJ/h30 mJ/h30 mJ/h
Power6,970 W6,970 W6,970 W6,970 W
Manufacturer Warranty10 year(s)10 year(s)10 year(s)10 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel, BlackStainless Steel, BlackStainless Steel, BlackStainless Steel, Black
Release dateNov 2011Nov 2011Nov 2011Nov 2011
Compare all 4 Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.