??!
4 photos
Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log)
3.1 from 19 reviews

Reviews

(7)
(2)
(2)
(2)
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (4)
  • Room Type
    • Living/Dining Area (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (4)
  • Heating Speed3/5 - 5/5 (4)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.0 (4)
  • Safety
    3.8 (4)
  • Smells of GasYes (0) · No (4)
Maggie B

Maggie BHobart, TAS

  • 5 reviews

We love our Rinnai Sapphire (with remote)

published

Purchased in July 2015 at Randalls for $4,500.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Thomas

ThomasIllawarra, NSW

Completely unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2016 at Tempco for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Kid

KidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Excellent product

published

Very good buy. Economical to run and efficient at heating a large space. Looks good and is a clean heater. Safe to use and checked for emissions. Best heating purchase I have made and well worth the price.

Purchased in August 2019 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
saliero

salieroSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

Heap of rubbish - do NOT buy

published

In September 2017 we bought a Rinnai gas log heater Symbol: SAPIL/SAPF1 SAPP INB S/S ON BL at $A3098. It stopped working a few weeks ago (July 2019). Today someone came out and charged us $195 call out fee, $35 per 15 minutes, $200 for a new regulator (which was not the problem), and we are up for an unspecified amount for some part which "may" fix the problem. It appears Rinnai only offers a 12 month warranty. How can this possibly be justified....?

Purchased in September 2017 for $3,098.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Heating Speed
Temperature Consistency
Room Type Living/Dining Area
Smells of GasNo
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mav

MavNsw

Very disappointed

published

Purchased from Jordans. Flue installed on an angle on the roof, bad smell filled the room, made us sick and unwell. Waited for four weeks for service to fix flue. Then room not heating well, flames all high bright yellow and soot started to fill log. Service again to rectify. Now the power button does not work, cannot turn off heater. We want a refund.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Mav
Mav

email sent but no response or action.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
sepa

sepaAU

  • 23 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent gas heater but new model lacks features and is a big step backwards

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Sohigirl

SohigirlSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brand new - doesn’t work

published
Date PurchasedJul 2018
Not Happy

Not Happy

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Disappointed

published

I had the Rnnai 950X installed in November 2017. It work when installed and the few times I tested it in December and January.
Come winter ( late May) it would light and then switch off after a few minutes with error code 12. ( Call Rennai )
Service person came and explained it was a gas pressure setting issue.
Worked for a few nights and then started to switch off again after a few minutes with error code 12 again.
Waiting for another service.
I will update this report as time progresses.
Hope Rinnai can fix the problem this time.
They were helpful in arranging a service person.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
2 comments
Not Happy
Not Happy

Disappointed here with an update.
27!June. Rinnai service person spent 2 hours on the gas fire and replaced the master board and flame rod.
Fire now starts and stays on.
Rinnai were very good to deal with and the service person was excellent.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the follow up Disappointed, glad to hear the service technician was able to resolve the issue.

Wineman

WinemanSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good but could be better

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
giajy003

giajy003

  • 15 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it!

published

Quite a powerful heater! Heats a large space quickly & looks fantastic. It's quiet, even with the fan on the highest setting. Didn't get the remote (another thing to lose), so adjust settings with a simple up & down option. Simple! There's 3 buttons - on/off, up & down. Easy to clean with running a duster behind the glass.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review, we are always happy to hear feedback from our customers.

Gas is the way to Go

published

I can't speak highly enough about the difference a gas log fire makes in Tasmania.
We're so pleased we went with this form of heating
Makes the whole atmosphere of the hose warm cosy and happy.

Heats up quickly after returning home.
My wife would not be with out it!

Date PurchasedApr 2014
Nola

NolaWindsor

  • 3 reviews

The worst gas heater on the market.

published

Don't, under any circumstance, but a Rinnai Sappire Gas Log Fire!
It has a loud, high pitched noisy fan - on lowest setting and every time with use creates copious condensation which the Illusion doesn't and only needs glass cleaned after 10 years of usage.
I bought Rinnai because my old gas space heater was a Rinnai and did great service but this Sappire is a nightmare and I can't get rid of it as Rinnai will not take ANY responsibility!!!

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Evelyn

Evelyn

  • 2 reviews

Cosy up for winter

published

Looking forward to using our gas heater. No more cold evenings sitting reading and relaxing. At the touch of a button it can be set to your preferred temperature with the remote. Excellent choice. No having to gather and store logs all year. Modern styling sitting on a plinth looks good.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Evelyn, we are glad to hear the swap from wood fire to flame fire has been a sucessful one.

SUE G

SUE GHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Best thing ive ever bought

published

I have NEVER regretted buying this. Cant wait for winter so i can start it up again
I have it set automatically so i never have to turn it off and on. The logs look so real compared to other heaters. Love it. I have recommended it to all my friends

Date PurchasedMar 2012
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the great review Sue, we are pleased to hear how much you love your Sapphire heater and wish you many more years of warmth.

Lily

LilySydney

This fire is excellent!

published
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Lily, we're always glad to hear our customers feedback and we are pleased that the unit is working so well for you. We wish you many more toasty and warm winters.

Gas Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sapphire (Gas Log) compares to other Gas Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
R J S

R J SMelbourne

Horrible, Can't even have it on!

published

Worst choice of heater, not recommended. The smell coming from heater (smoke burning smell) is horrible. Advised by sales store and Rinnai that it will eventually burn off in time. It's still there and can not be in room while heater on. Plumber disappeared (provided by sales store), Rinnai will only look at it if agree to pay $190+ for first hour then $45 ever 15min, if plumbers fault I consumer pay cost wrong installation. Store wiping hands of any help. So having paid approx. $4,500 so far and not being able to use heater at all. As a Pensioner saving for a heater, can NOT use DO NOT BUY!

4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
R J S
R J S
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the update RJS, have you contacted Rinnai mentioning this review? Has a Rinnai technician attended the property to check the unit?

Chris b

Chris bHunter Valley

  • 3 reviews

Remote eats batteries

published

We purchase this heater two years ago, the log fire itself is great. Great heat and heats the the whole house( 30 squares, large house.) but my gripe it's the remote, purchased Duracell batteries they only lasted one week,temperature showing 0 degrees when it was 23 degrees which meant the heater was running the whole time . This happened three times, replacing the batteries each time . I called rinnai they suggested I pay for a call out which is worth more then the remote. The only way to program this heater is through the remote which makes this heater worthless as a programmable heater.

3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for your feedback Chris b, this is not an issue we have encountered before. Can you please contact us via enquiry@rinnai.com.au mentioning Product Review so we can assist you further?

Chris b
Chris b

Thanks rinnai, after contacting they replaced my faulty Remote free of charge and hasn't been a problem since.I now rate this heater a 4 out of 5

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Chris, glad to hear the replacement remote is working well, we were glad to help.

Noreen Mitchell

Noreen MitchellCairns, Queensland

  • 2 reviews

Rinnai Sapphire - a good choice.

published

We purchased our gas heater last winter after a lot of research. We chose this model as we have a large area to heat - which it does easily plus the rest of the house with the doors open. The remote thermostat was a very good purchase as it is easy to set for the desired temperature and forget. Would recomend paying out the extra money for it. No getting over hot or too cold. The fan is a little noisy on highest setting but not overly so. So far it seems very economical to run compared to our old wall furnace and such a nice heat. Not stuffy at all. Would highly recommend this unit.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you Noreen for your review, we hope you continue to enjoy your Sapphire Flame Fire.

Ian

IanHeybridge

Good value

published

Sapphire chosen over other brands because still able to be installed in a masonry fireplace with no additional flue costs. Compared to its opposition fan is relatively quiet, installation reasonably simple, looks a treat after the old Pureheat it replaced. To date more than happy with running costs on LPG. Wettest and coldest winter in years, but house is warmer than years gone by at similar running costs to the past. Only negative not as efficient as some of its opposition.
Looks, flue options, assembly and installation.

Questions & Answers

Charles Zarb

Charles Zarbasked

Sapphire (Gas Log)

How do I get the glass shield off for cleaning

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Charles Zarb,

Thank you for the question, if you refer to your Rinnai Sapphire Operation Manual, page 22 will guide you through the care and maintenance of your Rinnai Sapphire. Unfortunately, we are not able to safely advise how to remove the glass shield, however this can be done by a qualified technician. We would recommend booking a service call in order to ensure that your Rinnai Sapphire is operating in a safe, efficient manner. Please refer to our website with the following link https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

graeme

graemeasked

Sapphire (Gas Log)

I am interested in buying either the sapphire flame fire or the slimfire 252 flame fire, it is to replace an old vulcan heater which is attached into the brick wall which has a flue on the outside brick wall behind the vulcan heater. Our lounge room is rather large with cathedral ceilings, could you recommend which would be the best heater to purchase

2 answers
saliero
saliero

Sorry, I can't. Our living area is very large and the Sapphire heats it all very quickly. Our house is also new and has excellent insulation. Roof insulation is most critical in preventing heat loss.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the question Graeme, A site inspection will be required to ascertain whether the current flue is adequate. Please refer to our website for a local dealer to assist with choice of heater and flue requirements.
https://www.rinnai.com.au/store-locator/

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

matt e.

matt e.asked

Sapphire (Gas Log)

Can it work on manual controls rather than the remote? I like to keep things simple where ever possible. That way things usually last longer.

2 answers
saliero
saliero

Yes. We don’t have a remote.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the question matt e, we would recommend contacting our Technical Department to discuss this matter further. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 (option 3).

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.