??!
1 photo
Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate System

Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate System

1.9 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.9

16 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    4.0 (1)
  • Heating Speed
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Rachael E.

Rachael E.Southwest, VIC

2 Units failed within 4.5 years each. Rinnai not interested. Do not recommend.

published

Failed after 4.5yrs. Rusted at outlet. Replaced under warranty at cost of >$400. Second unit rusted at inlet &failed 4.5yrs later. Rinnai contacted on 3 occasions but totally unhelpful - not interested. Not a water supply issue. Awful & expensive experience.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size7 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ASM

ASMNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't Buy... Will not buy again. Pump Failure, Frost Valves Constantly leaking

published

18 Month old system was installed on new home and is on 3rd warranty call out. Frost valves leak & have been replaced twice, last set have not lasted 8 months. Pump failed tripping the circuit breaker shutting down all hot water supply in a drizzly cold Victorian evening in July and required our 6 month old daughter to be driven to friends house for several days for bathing until Rinnai sent out a technician to replace.

Requested support from Rinnai on full replacement system however pushed back onto technician suggesting they will provide a solution. Next step ACCC to request full replacement.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ASM, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Ravi

RaviMelbourne

Worst product and very unfriendly customer service

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not designed for the intended purpose - Split Solar Hot Water Pannel

published

Well our second Solar Hot water panel has now started leaking just out of the 7 years warrant by 5 months, the first one started leaking in 2015 and was replaced under warranty. Now just after 3 years the replacement panel is now leaking water from the inside again onto the roof.
The system is a Sunmaster by Rinnai with two solar hot water panels on the roof with the Rinnai continuous flow gas boost, the system is not designed for the intended purpose.

A very poor product that should last more than 3 years without fail, I have been quoted $930 for a replacement panel without any labour. This should be still covered under warranty.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
I.Junarsa

I.JunarsaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad Product and Worst Service Support

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016

Terrible

published

Panel exploded first time with frost. Could not get through to Rinnai for 4 days as their phones ring out. Then Rinnai tell me it is my fault for calling an independent plumber and paid the plumber. I am very ill and could not wait nearly a week just to get through to Rinnai and ask them to send a plumber to bypass the solar panel. 3 months later am s waiting for a panel Rinnai. Have asked Rinnai to upgrade me to evac tubes but again they are not talking to me. Perhaps I am too polite to them. Do not buy Rinnai

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Ros

RosGeelong

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not Long Out of Warranty and Solar Panels Fail

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2009
Leo H

Leo H

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good system if installed properly

published

Hot water system works flawlessly once installation issue rectified. Temperature sensor wasn't installed properly and the pump ran all night. Once this was fixed it works great. Use very little gas boosting in summer. Always have hot water available.

After 9 years a record frost resulted in one of the panels leaking. I would have thought it's frost protected, so a plumber will have to come and check it. Hence only 4 stars. But overall, happy with the system.

Date PurchasedMay 2008
disrespected_dream

disrespected_dreamVictoria, 3027

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Terrible service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Solar hot water does not save money bad water pressure after install

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Sunmaster 215L

published

System works well when it has no faults! Minor problems I've had to date: Plastic non return valve built into system melted - not rated to handle the high temperatures (replaced with a 250deg external one). Bleed valve on collectors failed - replaced - expensive for what it is - bad design - needs to be more than what looks like a bicycle valve!. Hot sensor failed (three times open/intermittent) so pump runs at night cooling the hot water - defeats the purpose of solar hot water. Technical documentation regarding sensors (are they PTC or NTC & resistance change per degree of temperature) non existent and not forth coming from Rinnai (very frustrating) just buy an expensive new one from Rinnai! +$40, for a 50cent part!

Date PurchasedFeb 2010
2 comments
GrumpyTechie
GrumpyTechie

Bleed valve crapped itself again after just one year in service! Going to replace it with a 3/8" brass ball valve - this is the option Rinnai should take and stop being cheapskates!

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Grumpy Techie. We'd like to help further with the information you are after. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details, mentioning this review and we will have one of our technical staff contact you.

Wardie3

Wardie3Byron Bay

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Pump runs nearly continuously

published

Too scared to call in a technician because of all the complaints and horror stories about the Rinnai Sunmaster tank system. Neighbor just replaced a Solahart rooftop system after 20 years uninterrupted service. Wishing we had done the same. Considering replacing the rattling pump and setting up a timer, but it sounds from another review like the tank may rust out prematurely too.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Pump runs continuously

published

Pump runs continuously day and night, technician has been out and replaced the controller component, pump still running day and night. Technician is back today. Haven't heard outcome of today's visit yet. It seems as though this is a common problem with this unit, when I spoke with rinnai though they denied this was a common issue.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cam t
Cam t

Hi rinnai, thanks for the response. You can contact me on 0430490438 apparently the technician is attending today to attemp to fix the problem for the 3rd time

Cam t
Cam t
Brian

BrianHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Similar Problems to others - unreliable

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Brian
Brian
fitzy

fitzyballarat

Loss of Hot Water Pressure returned

published
Date PurchasedSep 2008
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Solar hot water

published

Never buy one these stay away from rinnai ... during winter no hot water .. summer hot during day then cold in morning old solar hart had no problems for 25 years ... got bigger one for bigger family ... now been through 6 heater elements over 3 winters ... just blew another one then would like find the guys house who sold us this so i can go dump it on his lawn

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Jezza, we are sorry to hear the issues you have faced with your unit and would like to investigate this matter further for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details and we can follow this up for you.

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Tej

Tejasked

Sunmaster Flat Plate System

Hi . At night time water leaking side of pannel where is hot sensor assembled. And whistle noise also come from water tank. If i close the main hose incoming cold water then water stopped to leak. It happen always at night. Its only 2.5 years old with 2 pannel on roof. Should be covered in warranty or some one have same issue before. Thanks

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Tej, we would recommend booking a service call to inspect the unit, whistling noise can indicate issues with the frost valves installed in the system. The valve are designed to expel water to protect the solar collectors during colder temperatures.

You can book a service here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Nick.F

Nick.Fasked

Sunmaster Flat Plate System

I have a Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate system installed in 1999.
What is the life expectancy of this system

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Nick.F,

Thanks for the question, in 1999 when your unit was installed Rinnai offered a 5 year warranty on the Sunmaster tank. However, Rinnai Australia are committed to continuous improvement and through innovation have enhanced the efficiency of the Sunmaster Flat Plate System which has sanctioned an extension of the warranty from 5 to 10 years on the Sunmaster tank.

If you are having trouble with your unit we would recommend booking a service call. Please refer to our website with the following link https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Nick.F
Nick.F

That does not really answer my question!
The unit is currently working fine,what I am asking is how long would you expect the unit to last! Ie life expectancy.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Nick.F,

We cannot provide an exact age for life expectancy, due to a number of factors. Actual life can be impacted by water quality, usage and improper maintenance.

It is recommended that our customers regularly service their products to ensure optimal operation.

If you would like to organise a general service, please refer to our website with the following link:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Gary pond

Gary pondasked

Sunmaster Flat Plate System

Is it ok to leave power off to hot unit when house is empty can this damage panels on roof

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thank you for the question Gary Pond.
TURNING OFF THE WATER HEATING SYSTEM
If you plan to be away for only a few nights, we suggest you leave the water heating system switched on. If it is
necessary to switch off the water heater, do so as outlined below:
Electric Boosted Systems
• Switch off the electrical supply to the supplementary heating element. The switch is usually marked and
located in the electricity meter box of the dwelling.
• Switch off the electric supply to the solar controller and pump.
Gas Boosted systems
• Switch off the electric supply to the gas booster.
• Switch off the electric supply to the solar controller and pump.
IMPORTANT
Turning off power to the solar controller will prevent operation of the pumped water circulation
used in low temperature mode. (See page “Frost Protection Mode” on page 22 for details). This
may be required for warranty on the solar collectors. Refer to the supplied warranty booklet.
Please contact our Technical help desk if you require further assistance on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.