??!
3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Rinnai Sunmaster Range (page 2 of 2)

Flat Plate System, Evacuated Tube System, Close Coupled System
1.7 from 35 reviews

Reviews

1.7

35 reviews
5
(1)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(7)
1
(23)
  • Build Quality
    1.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    1.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (6)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.5 (6)
  • Heating Speed
    2.7 (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
disrespected_dream

disrespected_dreamVictoria, 3027

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Terrible service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Solar hot water does not save money bad water pressure after install

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Sunmaster 215L

published

System works well when it has no faults! Minor problems I've had to date: Plastic non return valve built into system melted - not rated to handle the high temperatures (replaced with a 250deg external one). Bleed valve on collectors failed - replaced - expensive for what it is - bad design - needs to be more than what looks like a bicycle valve!. Hot sensor failed (three times open/intermittent) so pump runs at night cooling the hot water - defeats the purpose of solar hot water. Technical documentation regarding sensors (are they PTC or NTC & resistance change per degree of temperature) non existent and not forth coming from Rinnai (very frustrating) just buy an expensive new one from Rinnai! +$40, for a 50cent part!

Date PurchasedFeb 2010
2 comments
GrumpyTechie
GrumpyTechie

Bleed valve crapped itself again after just one year in service! Going to replace it with a 3/8" brass ball valve - this is the option Rinnai should take and stop being cheapskates!

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Grumpy Techie. We'd like to help further with the information you are after. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details, mentioning this review and we will have one of our technical staff contact you.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Wardie3

Wardie3Byron Bay

  • 8 reviews

Pump runs nearly continuously

published

Too scared to call in a technician because of all the complaints and horror stories about the Rinnai Sunmaster tank system. Neighbor just replaced a Solahart rooftop system after 20 years uninterrupted service. Wishing we had done the same. Considering replacing the rattling pump and setting up a timer, but it sounds from another review like the tank may rust out prematurely too.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Pump runs continuously

published

Pump runs continuously day and night, technician has been out and replaced the controller component, pump still running day and night. Technician is back today. Haven't heard outcome of today's visit yet. It seems as though this is a common problem with this unit, when I spoke with rinnai though they denied this was a common issue.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
4 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cam t
Cam t

Hi rinnai, thanks for the response. You can contact me on 0430490438 apparently the technician is attending today to attemp to fix the problem for the 3rd time

Cam t
Cam t
Brian

BrianHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Similar Problems to others - unreliable

published
Date PurchasedSep 2013
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Brian
Brian
fitzy

fitzyballarat

Loss of Hot Water Pressure returned

published
Date PurchasedSep 2008
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Solar hot water

published

Never buy one these stay away from rinnai ... during winter no hot water .. summer hot during day then cold in morning old solar hart had no problems for 25 years ... got bigger one for bigger family ... now been through 6 heater elements over 3 winters ... just blew another one then would like find the guys house who sold us this so i can go dump it on his lawn

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Jezza, we are sorry to hear the issues you have faced with your unit and would like to investigate this matter further for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details and we can follow this up for you.

Problematic At Best

published

A new Sunmaster with evacuated tubes, no older than three months started to fail about 2 weeks ago and the installation plumber had a shot at repairing it but only made it worse. Started with the hot water spitting pretty violently and has now reached the point at where there is pretty much no flow at all. Called Rinnia service who subsequently called an agent who said we would have to wait 2 days for a service call. That will mean we are 4 days without hot water. I used to have a high opinion of Rinnia but would now like them to remove the system and will be asking them to do so, it is clearly not fit for purpose and their service arrangements are far from optimal.

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Good Afternoon Roger, we are sorry to hear you have had issues with your unit. We'd like to investigate further if you could email me your details either through Product review or by emailing enquiry@rinnai.com.au and mention this review.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garry B

Garry BCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

My Rinnai Sunmaster, what a waste of money

published
trucker1

trucker1

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rinnai sunmaster 315 - rusted out tank

published

My rinnai 315 sunmaster tank has corroded out. 5 years 2 months after install. Warranty is only 5 years. Rang rinnai to get their help - hoping for some goodwill support, maybe a discount on replacing it. Too sad, too bad mate, nothing we can do. The tanks are made in china - the vitreous enamel lining would have been poor quality - and it rusted out well before it should have. My last aussie made tank lasted 17 years. Same water quality, the only thing that has change is the poor quality materials used by rinnai. Now $1780 to replace the tank. That's $350 a year for 5 years. Would have been cheaper to forget solar all together, just pay the power bills, and have a hws that lasts for 10 years or something.

super69

super69AU

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Poor quality system

published

Purchased gas boosted system 2009,cold showers in winter(be warned)overheats summer months spewing hot water out of the relief valve(unsafe). Unreliable and exspensive to fix.Next door installed at the same time and has had the same problems. The gas booster works poorly as the water is never hot just luke warm.

Cold showers during winter(temp set to low,fixed cannot adjust ) bad engineering,quality,unreliable .

Graham

GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rip Off!

published

I had a similar experience as Chris. Quoted $690-00 for a replacement pump (labour cost $250-00 ) total $930-00. hunted round lowest price for the pump $530-00 inc GST. I have since found that a identical pump can be had for $196-00!!!!!!!!!!!!! I changed to Solar HWS to save money due to everincreasing power cost. & green house gas emissions In my opinion it would have been cheaper to stay normal HWS as the intial purchase cost plus the rip off price for a simple pump replacement far exceeds the benefits!

Very expensive maintenance

Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awful system

published

After 2 years the pump has gone and they want to charge a fortune to have it fixed. A pump should be longer than two years, considering the expense of these products. Understand the 10 year warranty isn't valid for the pump (which has 2 years) but had no compassion from them, it's more just tough luck. They want to just bill you for the pump, plus $176 for the first 45 minutes, then $33 for every 15 minutes. Not a great way to treat a customer.

Pumps don't last.

1 comment
Graham
Graham
hothouse

hothouseSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Unreliable solar hot water system

published
1 comment
Chris
Chris

Very bad and unreliable product. After just over 2 years pump breaks and they want to charge you a fortune to repair. Stay away from Rinnai if you want peace of mind of a product.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 2 of 2
See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Sean

Seanasked

Sunmaster Range

Hi I have a rinnai Sun master s20 hot water tank.
Is it normal for the hot water pressure to be half as much as the cold water? As you go from cold to really hot the pressure is substantially less

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Sean,

Thank you for the question. We would recommend contacting our experienced technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Nick.F

Nick.Fasked

Sunmaster Flat Plate System

I have a Rinnai Sunmaster Flat Plate system installed in 1999.
What is the life expectancy of this system

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Nick.F,

Thanks for the question, in 1999 when your unit was installed Rinnai offered a 5 year warranty on the Sunmaster tank. However, Rinnai Australia are committed to continuous improvement and through innovation have enhanced the efficiency of the Sunmaster Flat Plate System which has sanctioned an extension of the warranty from 5 to 10 years on the Sunmaster tank.

If you are having trouble with your unit we would recommend booking a service call. Please refer to our website with the following link https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Nick.F
Nick.F

That does not really answer my question!
The unit is currently working fine,what I am asking is how long would you expect the unit to last! Ie life expectancy.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Nick.F,

We cannot provide an exact age for life expectancy, due to a number of factors. Actual life can be impacted by water quality, usage and improper maintenance.

It is recommended that our customers regularly service their products to ensure optimal operation.

If you would like to organise a general service, please refer to our website with the following link:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Michael V

Michael Vasked

Sunmaster Evacuated Tube System

Good Morning, we had this unit installed in our new build by our plumber in July last year (2018). Our gas bill is astronimcal all year round, $700 after discount during winter and around $400 during summer when the Hydronic isnt running. Is this normal as the only other gas device we use during summer would be the cooktop two or three nights a week? We have noticed the instantaneous running a lot,even during summer.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Michael V,

Thank you for your question.

We would recommend contacting our technical help desk on 1300 555 545 Option 3 for detailed information in reference to the function of the hydronic system.

Alternatively, you can email the technical help desk on technical@rinnai.com.au

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia.

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.