3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Rinnai Sunmaster Range (page 2 of 2)

Flat Plate System, Evacuated Tube System, Close Coupled System
1.6 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Rinnai

Reviews

1.6
41 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (14)
  • Value for Money
    1.2 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.8 (11)
  • Noise Level
    2.5 (11)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.5 (10)
  • Heating Speed
    2.8 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Leo H
Leo H
  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Good system if installed properly

published

Hot water system works flawlessly once installation issue rectified. Temperature sensor wasn't installed properly and the pump ran all night. Once this was fixed it works great. Use very little gas boosting in summer. Always have hot water available.

After 9 years a record frost resulted in one of the panels leaking. I would have thought it's frost protected, so a plumber will have to come and check it. Hence only 4 stars. But overall, happy with the system.

Date PurchasedMay 2008
disrespected_dream
disrespected_dreamVictoria, 3027
  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Terrible service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Solar hot water does not save money bad water pressure after install

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Sunmaster 215L

published

System works well when it has no faults! Minor problems I've had to date: Plastic non return valve built into system melted - not rated to handle the high temperatures (replaced with a 250deg external one). Bleed valve on collectors failed - replaced - expensive for what it is - bad design - needs to be more than what looks like a bicycle valve!. Hot sensor failed (three times open/intermittent) so pump runs at night cooling the hot water - defeats the purpose of solar hot water. Technical documentation regarding sensors (are they PTC or NTC & resistance change per degree of temperature) non existent and not forth coming from Rinnai (very frustrating) just buy an expensive new one from Rinnai! +$40, for a 50cent part!

Date PurchasedFeb 2010
GrumpyTechie
GrumpyTechie

Bleed valve crapped itself again after just one year in service! Going to replace it with a 3/8" brass ball valve - this is the option Rinnai should take and stop being cheapskates!

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Grumpy Techie. We'd like to help further with the information you are after. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details, mentioning this review and we will have one of our technical staff contact you.

Wardie3
Wardie3Byron Bay
  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Pump runs nearly continuously

published

Too scared to call in a technician because of all the complaints and horror stories about the Rinnai Sunmaster tank system. Neighbor just replaced a Solahart rooftop system after 20 years uninterrupted service. Wishing we had done the same. Considering replacing the rattling pump and setting up a timer, but it sounds from another review like the tank may rust out prematurely too.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Pump runs continuously

published

Pump runs continuously day and night, technician has been out and replaced the controller component, pump still running day and night. Technician is back today. Haven't heard outcome of today's visit yet. It seems as though this is a common problem with this unit, when I spoke with rinnai though they denied this was a common issue.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cam t
Cam t

Hi rinnai, thanks for the response. You can contact me on 0430490438 apparently the technician is attending today to attemp to fix the problem for the 3rd time

Cam t
Cam t
Brian
BrianHunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Similar Problems to others - unreliable

published
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Brian
Brian
fitzy
fitzyballarat

Loss of Hot Water Pressure returned

published
Date PurchasedSept 2008
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Solar hot water

published

Never buy one these stay away from rinnai ... during winter no hot water .. summer hot during day then cold in morning old solar hart had no problems for 25 years ... got bigger one for bigger family ... now been through 6 heater elements over 3 winters ... just blew another one then would like find the guys house who sold us this so i can go dump it on his lawn

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Jezza, we are sorry to hear the issues you have faced with your unit and would like to investigate this matter further for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details and we can follow this up for you.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Problematic At Best

published

A new Sunmaster with evacuated tubes, no older than three months started to fail about 2 weeks ago and the installation plumber had a shot at repairing it but only made it worse. Started with the hot water spitting pretty violently and has now reached the point at where there is pretty much no flow at all. Called Rinnia service who subsequently called an agent who said we would have to wait 2 days for a service call. That will mean we are 4 days without hot water. I used to have a high opinion of Rinnia but would now like them to remove the system and will be asking them to do so, it is clearly not fit for purpose and their service arrangements are far from optimal.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Good Afternoon Roger, we are sorry to hear you have had issues with your unit. We'd like to investigate further if you could email me your details either through Product review or by emailing enquiry@rinnai.com.au and mention this review.

Garry B
Garry BCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 23 likes

My Rinnai Sunmaster, what a waste of money

published
trucker1
trucker1
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rinnai sunmaster 315 - rusted out tank

published

My rinnai 315 sunmaster tank has corroded out. 5 years 2 months after install. Warranty is only 5 years. Rang rinnai to get their help - hoping for some goodwill support, maybe a discount on replacing it. Too sad, too bad mate, nothing we can do. The tanks are made in china - the vitreous enamel lining would have been poor quality - and it rusted out well before it should have. My last aussie made tank lasted 17 years. Same water quality, the only thing that has change is the poor quality materials used by rinnai. Now $1780 to replace the tank. That's $350 a year for 5 years. Would have been cheaper to forget solar all together, just pay the power bills, and have a hws that lasts for 10 years or something.

super69
super69AU
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Poor quality system

published

Purchased gas boosted system 2009,cold showers in winter(be warned)overheats summer months spewing hot water out of the relief valve(unsafe). Unreliable and exspensive to fix.Next door installed at the same time and has had the same problems. The gas booster works poorly as the water is never hot just luke warm.

Cold showers during winter(temp set to low,fixed cannot adjust ) bad engineering,quality,unreliable .

Graham
GrahamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rip Off!

published

I had a similar experience as Chris. Quoted $690-00 for a replacement pump (labour cost $250-00 ) total $930-00. hunted round lowest price for the pump $530-00 inc GST. I have since found that a identical pump can be had for $196-00!!!!!!!!!!!!! I changed to Solar HWS to save money due to everincreasing power cost. & green house gas emissions In my opinion it would have been cheaper to stay normal HWS as the intial purchase cost plus the rip off price for a simple pump replacement far exceeds the benefits!

Very expensive maintenance

Chris
ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Awful system

published

After 2 years the pump has gone and they want to charge a fortune to have it fixed. A pump should be longer than two years, considering the expense of these products. Understand the 10 year warranty isn't valid for the pump (which has 2 years) but had no compassion from them, it's more just tough luck. They want to just bill you for the pump, plus $176 for the first 45 minutes, then $33 for every 15 minutes. Not a great way to treat a customer.

Pumps don't last.

Graham
Graham
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
hothouse
hothouseSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Unreliable solar hot water system

published
Chris
Chris

Very bad and unreliable product. After just over 2 years pump breaks and they want to charge you a fortune to repair. Stay away from Rinnai if you want peace of mind of a product.

Page 2 of 2

Questions & Answers

noel a.
noel a.asked
Sunmaster Range

Hi, I have noticed that the pump isn't running anymore, is it dependant on outside temp or should it continuously be circulating water between tank and solar collector. Outside temp is about 12 deg C.
Thanks, Joe

No answers
Travis M.
Travis M.asked
Sunmaster Range

My question to Rinnai is, given the laundry list of similar complaints, has anything been changed in the units over the years to give me any confidence in outlaying $5k that the unit will be fit for purpose?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Travis,

there have been many changes and upgrades to our solar range over the years. Our technical team can discuss any specific areas that might be of interest to you as well as giving you some advice to ensure the right system is chosen for your needs,

They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.asked
Sunmaster Range

I have a 250ltr Sunmaster. House & HWS only 2 ½ years old. Have just realised that my household 240v power usage soared by factor of 3 to 4 at end last year. AGL have said meter OK. I am in process of seeking cause & now focused on HWS as little else in household uses power. Established that HWS solar pump is running 24/7 - no idea how many months as very quiet & only heard with ear to pump cabinet. 240v booster continuously "on" from beginning so not cause for change in power use unless change in something like pump not turning off can increase use of 240v heating. Needing guidance. No knowledgeable local plumbers available at present.

5 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

We have a technical help desk who may be able to provide assistance but will need more information to help. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.

Already been there. They suggested plumber [& not much else] but no good ones available at present. What is actual consequence if pump running 24/7. Does it make 240v element work more by constantly feeding water past whatever sensor activates? Does it reduce solar heating performance - eg water not as hot [when turned 240v off for 3 days. As part of current seeking answers, the water dropped to "warm" despite sunny [winter] days. Rgds John

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

Potentially having the pump running constantly could affect the water temperature in the tank, cooling down water that has already been heated however without further information it is difficult to be specific with the issue.

if you are unable to find a local plumber with the experience to check the system, you can book a Rinnai technician through our online booking and they can check over the system to see if there are issues that need to be resolved.

The link to book online can be found here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.