3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range
1.6 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Rinnai

Reviews

1.6
41 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (10)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.2 (9)
  • Heating Speed
    2.6 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mich R
Mich RGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Major fail - don’t buy

published

High pitched squealing noise from frost valves last 90 secs & goes off every few minutes, and runs all night (3 nights so far). You can not sleep with this product. If you happen to doze off it wakes you right back up again. Worst product I have ever had. Rinnai service centre told us Thursday they would call Friday and didn’t. They didn’t care we couldn’t sleep. They are now shut weekends so we can’t follow up until Monday. Hot water is very slow to run - that was just tolerable with water wastage issues. Now with this valve noise issue it is a major fail. Don’t buy!

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bruce D.
Bruce D.Wimmera, VIC

Terrible noise when using hot water

published

We’ve had the solar unit in for 8 months and the sacrificial anode has been replaced 3 times in the tank to try and combat the build up of pressure in the tank. To date this has not fixed the issue. We were told that we weren’t using enough hot water, so what happens when you go away for the weekend? The copper water pipes have changed colour due to the excessive heat and plastic around the solar return pipe has melted.
It seems that not enough research and development has gone into this product and we a paying the price for it.

Purchased at Tradelink .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

And the water pump has failed now.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
JonoCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable product with a guarantee to fail multiple times

published

Purchased at ActewAGL for $5,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
Jono
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rusty4
Rusty4Melbourne
  • 6 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Cameron
CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rachael E.
Rachael E.Southwest, VIC

2 Units failed within 4.5 years each. Rinnai not interested. Do not recommend.

published

Failed after 4.5yrs. Rusted at outlet. Replaced under warranty at cost of >$400. Second unit rusted at inlet &failed 4.5yrs later. Rinnai contacted on 3 occasions but totally unhelpful - not interested. Not a water supply issue. Awful & expensive experience.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for $6,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Worst service ever

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard L
Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard L

Thank you for responding. I can be contacted on 0404047510 or lamacraft@bigpond.com

Ken Gray
Ken GrayFar North Queensland, QLD

Rinnai Equinox Hot Water SS330H2EXT

published

This is merely six years old and the tank is bulging and the external plastic has completely broken away. After 2 and a half weeks I cannot even get someone to look at it. Four calls to Rinnai "service" did not get thru. This company is extremely low on customer focus so we would not recommend anything with a Rinnai brand at all based on what happens when you call for help.

Purchased in August 2013 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ASM
ASMNortheast, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Don't Buy... Will not buy again. Pump Failure, Frost Valves Constantly leaking

published

18 Month old system was installed on new home and is on 3rd warranty call out. Frost valves leak & have been replaced twice, last set have not lasted 8 months. Pump failed tripping the circuit breaker shutting down all hot water supply in a drizzly cold Victorian evening in July and required our 6 month old daughter to be driven to friends house for several days for bathing until Rinnai sent out a technician to replace.

Requested support from Rinnai on full replacement system however pushed back onto technician suggesting they will provide a solution. Next step ACCC to request full replacement.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ASM, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Ravi
RaviMelbourne

Worst product and very unfriendly customer service

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not designed for the intended purpose - Split Solar Hot Water Pannel

published

Well our second Solar Hot water panel has now started leaking just out of the 7 years warrant by 5 months, the first one started leaking in 2015 and was replaced under warranty. Now just after 3 years the replacement panel is now leaking water from the inside again onto the roof.
The system is a Sunmaster by Rinnai with two solar hot water panels on the roof with the Rinnai continuous flow gas boost, the system is not designed for the intended purpose.

A very poor product that should last more than 3 years without fail, I have been quoted $930 for a replacement panel without any labour. This should be still covered under warranty.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

noel a.
noel a.asked
Sunmaster Range

Hi, I have noticed that the pump isn't running anymore, is it dependant on outside temp or should it continuously be circulating water between tank and solar collector. Outside temp is about 12 deg C.
Thanks, Joe

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Noel,

The pump will run more in times of more solar gain but even in winter months there is a setting called low temperature mode which will activate the pump to protect the system against frost damage,

We would recommend speaking with the technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to check the pump operation and book a service call if required.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

noel a.
noel a.

Thanks

noel a.
noel a.

Hi Rinnai support,
I have just checked with my neighbour who has same unit and his circulating pump isn't running either, we'll both wait to see if when we get a bit of sunshine to heat the water in the solar panels if the circ pump switches on , if not we will both call the help desk for a service call.
Cheers,
Joe

Travis M.
Travis M.asked
Sunmaster Range

My question to Rinnai is, given the laundry list of similar complaints, has anything been changed in the units over the years to give me any confidence in outlaying $5k that the unit will be fit for purpose?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Travis,

there have been many changes and upgrades to our solar range over the years. Our technical team can discuss any specific areas that might be of interest to you as well as giving you some advice to ensure the right system is chosen for your needs,

They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.asked
Sunmaster Range

I have a 250ltr Sunmaster. House & HWS only 2 ½ years old. Have just realised that my household 240v power usage soared by factor of 3 to 4 at end last year. AGL have said meter OK. I am in process of seeking cause & now focused on HWS as little else in household uses power. Established that HWS solar pump is running 24/7 - no idea how many months as very quiet & only heard with ear to pump cabinet. 240v booster continuously "on" from beginning so not cause for change in power use unless change in something like pump not turning off can increase use of 240v heating. Needing guidance. No knowledgeable local plumbers available at present.

5 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

We have a technical help desk who may be able to provide assistance but will need more information to help. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.

Already been there. They suggested plumber [& not much else] but no good ones available at present. What is actual consequence if pump running 24/7. Does it make 240v element work more by constantly feeding water past whatever sensor activates? Does it reduce solar heating performance - eg water not as hot [when turned 240v off for 3 days. As part of current seeking answers, the water dropped to "warm" despite sunny [winter] days. Rgds John

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

Potentially having the pump running constantly could affect the water temperature in the tank, cooling down water that has already been heated however without further information it is difficult to be specific with the issue.

if you are unable to find a local plumber with the experience to check the system, you can book a Rinnai technician through our online booking and they can check over the system to see if there are issues that need to be resolved.

The link to book online can be found here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.