??!
3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range
1.6 from 39 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

1.6

39 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (11)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.4 (9)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (9)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.3 (8)
  • Heating Speed
    2.8 (8)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Bruce D.

Bruce D.Wimmera, VIC

Terrible noise when using hot water

published

We’ve had the solar unit in for 8 months and the sacrificial anode has been replaced 3 times in the tank to try and combat the build up of pressure in the tank. To date this has not fixed the issue. We were told that we weren’t using enough hot water, so what happens when you go away for the weekend? The copper water pipes have changed colour due to the excessive heat and plastic around the solar return pipe has melted.
It seems that not enough research and development has gone into this product and we a paying the price for it.

Purchased at Tradelink .

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

And the water pump has failed now.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono

JonoCanberra

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Unreliable product with a guarantee to fail multiple times

published

Purchased at ActewAGL for A$5,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
Jono
Rusty4

Rusty4Melbourne

  • 6 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard L

Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cameron

CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rachael E.

Rachael E.Southwest, VIC

2 Units failed within 4.5 years each. Rinnai not interested. Do not recommend.

published

Failed after 4.5yrs. Rusted at outlet. Replaced under warranty at cost of >$400. Second unit rusted at inlet &failed 4.5yrs later. Rinnai contacted on 3 occasions but totally unhelpful - not interested. Not a water supply issue. Awful & expensive experience.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size7 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill

BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for A$6,900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
3 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Worst service ever

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L

Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published
2 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard L

Thank you for responding. I can be contacted on 0404047510 or lamacraft@bigpond.com

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken Gray

Ken GrayFar North Queensland, QLD

Rinnai Equinox Hot Water SS330H2EXT

published

This is merely six years old and the tank is bulging and the external plastic has completely broken away. After 2 and a half weeks I cannot even get someone to look at it. Four calls to Rinnai "service" did not get thru. This company is extremely low on customer focus so we would not recommend anything with a Rinnai brand at all based on what happens when you call for help.

Purchased in August 2013 for A$6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard

RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for A$4,918.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
5 comments
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
ASM

ASMNortheast, VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Don't Buy... Will not buy again. Pump Failure, Frost Valves Constantly leaking

published

18 Month old system was installed on new home and is on 3rd warranty call out. Frost valves leak & have been replaced twice, last set have not lasted 8 months. Pump failed tripping the circuit breaker shutting down all hot water supply in a drizzly cold Victorian evening in July and required our 6 month old daughter to be driven to friends house for several days for bathing until Rinnai sent out a technician to replace.

Requested support from Rinnai on full replacement system however pushed back onto technician suggesting they will provide a solution. Next step ACCC to request full replacement.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Household Size1 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ASM, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Ravi

RaviMelbourne

Worst product and very unfriendly customer service

published
Date PurchasedJun 2016
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not designed for the intended purpose - Split Solar Hot Water Pannel

published

Well our second Solar Hot water panel has now started leaking just out of the 7 years warrant by 5 months, the first one started leaking in 2015 and was replaced under warranty. Now just after 3 years the replacement panel is now leaking water from the inside again onto the roof.
The system is a Sunmaster by Rinnai with two solar hot water panels on the roof with the Rinnai continuous flow gas boost, the system is not designed for the intended purpose.

A very poor product that should last more than 3 years without fail, I have been quoted $930 for a replacement panel without any labour. This should be still covered under warranty.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
I.Junarsa

I.JunarsaGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Bad Product and Worst Service Support

published
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Terrible

published

Panel exploded first time with frost. Could not get through to Rinnai for 4 days as their phones ring out. Then Rinnai tell me it is my fault for calling an independent plumber and paid the plumber. I am very ill and could not wait nearly a week just to get through to Rinnai and ask them to send a plumber to bypass the solar panel. 3 months later am s waiting for a panel Rinnai. Have asked Rinnai to upgrade me to evac tubes but again they are not talking to me. Perhaps I am too polite to them. Do not buy Rinnai

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Leaking solar Panels

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
disrespected_dream

disrespected_dreamVictoria, 3027

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Terrible service

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Wardie3

Wardie3Byron Bay

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Pump runs nearly continuously

published

Too scared to call in a technician because of all the complaints and horror stories about the Rinnai Sunmaster tank system. Neighbor just replaced a Solahart rooftop system after 20 years uninterrupted service. Wishing we had done the same. Considering replacing the rattling pump and setting up a timer, but it sounds from another review like the tank may rust out prematurely too.

Date PurchasedMay 2013

Solar hot water

published

Never buy one these stay away from rinnai ... during winter no hot water .. summer hot during day then cold in morning old solar hart had no problems for 25 years ... got bigger one for bigger family ... now been through 6 heater elements over 3 winters ... just blew another one then would like find the guys house who sold us this so i can go dump it on his lawn

1 comment
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Thanks for the review Jezza, we are sorry to hear the issues you have faced with your unit and would like to investigate this matter further for you. Can you please email enquiry@rinnai.com.au with your details and we can follow this up for you.

Page 1 of 2
See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Peter L.

Peter L.asked

Sunmaster Range

how to turn of water to taps need to change tap washer regards Peter

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Peter L,

Thank you for your question. Please contact our Technical team on 1300 555 545 and they can assist you further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Dirk A

Dirk Aasked

Sunmaster Range

We have a brand new unit and we run out of hot water after 1 shower - how do we turn the thermostat up??

3 answers
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

Hi Dirk, firstly, contact your plumber because he will know how to sort this out.
We have a tempering valve on the side of the hot water tank that allows you to adjust the temperature going into the house but that’s not going to sort out your problem.
Do you have solar panels or evacuated tubes connected to you hot water system?

Dirk A
Dirk A

solar panels

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Dirk A,

Thank you for your question.

Please contact our Technical team on 1300 555 545 Option 3 to discuss this further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia.

Alex J.

Alex J.asked

Sunmaster Range

I have a Rinnai Sunmaster 175 solar hot water system installed at my property. The pump began making noises and when I contacted Rinnai a sub contractor come out, checked it and advised that that pump needs to be replaced and is not under warranty. The pump is only under warranty for 1 year! I was also charge for the subbie to come out even though the issue wasn't fixed. The entire unit is only 2.5 years old from new! I contacted Rinnai to enquire about the statutory warranty for all products and the customer service person was not sure what I was talking about. I have checked the Consumer affairs website and in general terms it should be covered under the statutory warranty but I cannot find an exact timeframe. Can anyone here assist? It takes Rinnai days to get back to me and I do not feel I should be paying this bill!

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Alex J,

We have sent you a private message to discuss further.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.