3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range
1.6 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Rinnai

Reviews

1.6
41 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Temperature Consistency
    5.0 (1)
  • Heating Speed
    5.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Penny L.
Penny L.The Mallee, VIC

Need a long term outloook

published

Our Sunmaster solar system wjth Rinnai 20 booster did not work when we bought the house. It was 12 years old. The pump was no longer working and the cost to replace the pump was not viable on an old tank. The cost to replace the total system of near $5k when we intended to sell the house within 5 yrs did not stack up. We opted for Rinnai B26 Continuous Flow unit and threw the solar out. Assessment unless you have a big family and hold the house for 10 years not worth the outlay for solar. It doesn't work your heater and thats the biggest cost with gas.

Incentivised Review No
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Martin
Martin
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Poor Quality

published

Rinnai Sunmaster tank installed as part of Hills evacuated tube solar hotwater system. Tank failed due to corrosion at cold water inlet and was replaced under warranty. Replacement tank has failed within warranty period due to corrosion at hot water inlet in the same manner as before. No advice on first warranty that our water quality was an issue. They are fitted i believe with sacrificial anodes. Warranty only covers one purchase not the quality of the product. Suspect poor quality metals being used at connection points.
Not worth wasting your money on, by something that's quality and compare warranty to purchase price.

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Martin
Martin
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Joe
JoeGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Hot Sensor Lead

published

The Hot Sensor Lead (20m) 31002715 has deteriorated after 5 years from the heat of the collector panels.
The 20m lead that is supplied by Rinnai is not heat rated. This is Speaker cable and not suitable for Hot Temp Probes. Silicone coated wire should be for the first meter then speaker cable (fig 8) will be fine.
There is no information in installation manual regarding the specs that the hot temp probe requires. I would like this so i can purchase a non generic brand.

Purchased in November 2014.

Build Quality
Incentivised Review No
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pilot_pik
Pilot_pikMelbourne
  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reported pump 3 times in last year - it still whines all night!!

published

I’ve reported that the pump on our Sunmaster 26 has been running all night 3 times since we moved into our new house 18 months ago. Rinnai tell me there’s nothing wrong when there clearly is. The pump whines all night. And you can hear it from our bedroom upstairs. It’s infuriating! Our guest room is downstairs on the adjoining wall and guests complain about the noise too. I do not recommend this system at all!!!!!!

I also fail to understand why the pump runs in the middle of the night. The electricity bill probably negates the benefit of having the panel in the first place.

Rinnai please take this seriously for once and do something about it!!

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Ros
RosVictoria
  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not Long Out of Warranty and Solar Panels Fail

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2009

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next

Solar hot water does not save money bad water pressure after install

published
Date PurchasedApr 2017
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Pump runs continuously

published

Pump runs continuously day and night, technician has been out and replaced the controller component, pump still running day and night. Technician is back today. Haven't heard outcome of today's visit yet. It seems as though this is a common problem with this unit, when I spoke with rinnai though they denied this was a common issue.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cam t
Cam t

Hi rinnai, thanks for the response. You can contact me on 0430490438 apparently the technician is attending today to attemp to fix the problem for the 3rd time

Cam t
Cam t
Brian
BrianHunter Region, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Similar Problems to others - unreliable

published
Date PurchasedSept 2013
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Brian
Brian
hothouse
hothouseSydney
  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Unreliable solar hot water system

published
Chris
Chris

Very bad and unreliable product. After just over 2 years pump breaks and they want to charge you a fortune to repair. Stay away from Rinnai if you want peace of mind of a product.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

noel a.
noel a.asked
Sunmaster Range

Hi, I have noticed that the pump isn't running anymore, is it dependant on outside temp or should it continuously be circulating water between tank and solar collector. Outside temp is about 12 deg C.
Thanks, Joe

3 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Noel,

The pump will run more in times of more solar gain but even in winter months there is a setting called low temperature mode which will activate the pump to protect the system against frost damage,

We would recommend speaking with the technical help desk on 1300 555 545 option 3 to check the pump operation and book a service call if required.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

noel a.
noel a.

Thanks

noel a.
noel a.

Hi Rinnai support,
I have just checked with my neighbour who has same unit and his circulating pump isn't running either, we'll both wait to see if when we get a bit of sunshine to heat the water in the solar panels if the circ pump switches on , if not we will both call the help desk for a service call.
Cheers,
Joe

Travis M.
Travis M.asked
Sunmaster Range

My question to Rinnai is, given the laundry list of similar complaints, has anything been changed in the units over the years to give me any confidence in outlaying $5k that the unit will be fit for purpose?

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Travis,

there have been many changes and upgrades to our solar range over the years. Our technical team can discuss any specific areas that might be of interest to you as well as giving you some advice to ensure the right system is chosen for your needs,

They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.asked
Sunmaster Range

I have a 250ltr Sunmaster. House & HWS only 2 ½ years old. Have just realised that my household 240v power usage soared by factor of 3 to 4 at end last year. AGL have said meter OK. I am in process of seeking cause & now focused on HWS as little else in household uses power. Established that HWS solar pump is running 24/7 - no idea how many months as very quiet & only heard with ear to pump cabinet. 240v booster continuously "on" from beginning so not cause for change in power use unless change in something like pump not turning off can increase use of 240v heating. Needing guidance. No knowledgeable local plumbers available at present.

5 answers
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

We have a technical help desk who may be able to provide assistance but will need more information to help. They can be reached on 1300 555 545 option 3.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

John S.
John S.

Already been there. They suggested plumber [& not much else] but no good ones available at present. What is actual consequence if pump running 24/7. Does it make 240v element work more by constantly feeding water past whatever sensor activates? Does it reduce solar heating performance - eg water not as hot [when turned 240v off for 3 days. As part of current seeking answers, the water dropped to "warm" despite sunny [winter] days. Rgds John

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi John S,

Potentially having the pump running constantly could affect the water temperature in the tank, cooling down water that has already been heated however without further information it is difficult to be specific with the issue.

if you are unable to find a local plumber with the experience to check the system, you can book a Rinnai technician through our online booking and they can check over the system to see if there are issues that need to be resolved.

The link to book online can be found here:

https://www.rinnai.com.au/support-resources/online-service-booking/

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.