3 photos
Rinnai Sunmaster Range
1.6 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Solar Water Heaters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Rinnai

Reviews

1.6
41 reviews
  • Build Quality
    1.3 (12)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.5 (10)
  • Noise Level
    2.3 (10)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.2 (9)
  • Heating Speed
    2.6 (9)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Mich R
Mich RGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews

Major fail - don’t buy

published

High pitched squealing noise from frost valves last 90 secs & goes off every few minutes, and runs all night (3 nights so far). You can not sleep with this product. If you happen to doze off it wakes you right back up again. Worst product I have ever had. Rinnai service centre told us Thursday they would call Friday and didn’t. They didn’t care we couldn’t sleep. They are now shut weekends so we can’t follow up until Monday. Hot water is very slow to run - that was just tolerable with water wastage issues. Now with this valve noise issue it is a major fail. Don’t buy!

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bruce D.
Bruce D.Wimmera, VIC

Terrible noise when using hot water

published

We’ve had the solar unit in for 8 months and the sacrificial anode has been replaced 3 times in the tank to try and combat the build up of pressure in the tank. To date this has not fixed the issue. We were told that we weren’t using enough hot water, so what happens when you go away for the weekend? The copper water pipes have changed colour due to the excessive heat and plastic around the solar return pipe has melted.
It seems that not enough research and development has gone into this product and we a paying the price for it.

Purchased at Tradelink .

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Bruce D.
Bruce D.

And the water pump has failed now.

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
JonoCanberra
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unreliable product with a guarantee to fail multiple times

published

Purchased at ActewAGL for $5,200.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Jono
Jono
Rusty4
Rusty4Melbourne
  • 6 reviews

Rubbish

published

Purchased in November 2016.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard L
Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Still not working five years later

published

Five years on the unit still does not work and Rinnai seem to have their heads in the sand. The problem appears to be in the sensors, and the PCB. Don’t waste your money!!

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Cameron
CameronGoulburn Valley, VIC

Very angry

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2013.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Rachael E.
Rachael E.Southwest, VIC

2 Units failed within 4.5 years each. Rinnai not interested. Do not recommend.

published

Failed after 4.5yrs. Rusted at outlet. Replaced under warranty at cost of >$400. Second unit rusted at inlet &failed 4.5yrs later. Rinnai contacted on 3 occasions but totally unhelpful - not interested. Not a water supply issue. Awful & expensive experience.

Purchased in March 2010.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Related Articles

Previous
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Bill
BillCentral, SA

don't even consider buying this waste of money

published

Purchased in November 2016 at McComb Plumbing for $6,900.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Bill
Bill

just sent a message to the enquiry address
have sent 2 previous messages with no response
maybe I'll get a reply this time

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Worst service ever

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Richard L
Richard LSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Nothing but trouble

published
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard L
Richard L

Thank you for responding. I can be contacted on 0404047510 or lamacraft@bigpond.com

Ken Gray
Ken GrayFar North Queensland, QLD

Rinnai Equinox Hot Water SS330H2EXT

published

This is merely six years old and the tank is bulging and the external plastic has completely broken away. After 2 and a half weeks I cannot even get someone to look at it. Four calls to Rinnai "service" did not get thru. This company is extremely low on customer focus so we would not recommend anything with a Rinnai brand at all based on what happens when you call for help.

Purchased in August 2013 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
RichardSouth-Eastern Region, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Unreliable not fit for purpose

published

My unit has now failed for the 9th time in 3 1/2 years. The problem seems to be in the design or manufacture of the pump control system. As a result at night the pumps moves the hot water from the tank and cools it down on the roof. Rinnai are totally unhelpful. The ad hoc solution has been to put a timer in the power supply to the pump so it cannot run at night. To make matters worse the problem is intermittent.

Purchased in September 2015 for $4,918.00.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Richard
Richard

As usual no useful response from Rinnai

Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Rinnai Sunmaster Range compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ASM
ASMNortheast, VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Don't Buy... Will not buy again. Pump Failure, Frost Valves Constantly leaking

published

18 Month old system was installed on new home and is on 3rd warranty call out. Frost valves leak & have been replaced twice, last set have not lasted 8 months. Pump failed tripping the circuit breaker shutting down all hot water supply in a drizzly cold Victorian evening in July and required our 6 month old daughter to be driven to friends house for several days for bathing until Rinnai sent out a technician to replace.

Requested support from Rinnai on full replacement system however pushed back onto technician suggesting they will provide a solution. Next step ACCC to request full replacement.

Purchased in April 2017.

Build Quality
1/5
Value for Money
1/5
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi ASM, we're sorry to hear about this and have sent a private message to discuss the matter further.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

Ravi
RaviMelbourne

Worst product and very unfriendly customer service

published
Date PurchasedJune 2016
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Not designed for the intended purpose - Split Solar Hot Water Pannel

published

Well our second Solar Hot water panel has now started leaking just out of the 7 years warrant by 5 months, the first one started leaking in 2015 and was replaced under warranty. Now just after 3 years the replacement panel is now leaking water from the inside again onto the roof.
The system is a Sunmaster by Rinnai with two solar hot water panels on the roof with the Rinnai continuous flow gas boost, the system is not designed for the intended purpose.

A very poor product that should last more than 3 years without fail, I have been quoted $930 for a replacement panel without any labour. This should be still covered under warranty.

Date PurchasedMar 2011
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Tim A.
Tim A.asked
Sunmaster Range

Hi there. I have a sun master with a gas boost. Every time I go out to see if it’s working the it’s not even when the sun is at its best. I check the display and it says pump fail. The C hot temps say 13 degrees and the T hot temp is 130 degree. I rang your technical team and instructed me to turn the dial up a little due to water not moving through quick enough and boiling in the panel I did months ago and the problem constantly keeps happening. So I call the other day and was told that they know of the problem that it goes into fault when it shouldn’t and that someone has to come around and re program my unit. He put me through to service and they instruct me I have to pay for someone to come around to fix it due to it been over a year old. If you know of a problem then why hasn’t anyone contacted me or my plumber to fix it.

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Tim A,
Thank you for your question.

As mentioned by the Rinnai 1st Care team, to be able to assess the unit in question, Rinnai would need to attend site to diagnose the issue. They will then discuss with you what the next steps are and if required they can call our Field Support team from on site if they need further assistance.

The 1st Care team can be contacted on 1300 555 545 to arrange a booking.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia

Anthony
Anthonyasked
Sunmaster Range

Hi, I have a Rinnai Sunmaster. Recently, the solar panel started leaking. I had a plumber come out to help and he found that the solar pump had not been turned on since installation. Would not having the solar pump turned on result in the failure of the solar panel? Thanks, Anthony

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Anthony,
Thanks for the question.

We would recommend contacting our Technical team on 1300 555 545 for further advice.

Thanks
Rinnai Australia.

Jason
Jasonasked
Sunmaster Range

I’ve noticed no noise coming from the Rinnai Pump Assembly Model No. 39001747 for the Solar S26, previously there was a ‘ticking’ sound. Is this normal? Is there something I can check on to ensure the pump assembly is working correctly? Thanks

1 answer
Rinnai
Rinnai A.Rinnai

Hi Jason,
Thanks for the question, when the pump is operating it will make a whirring electrical sound. If there is no noise check the power point is turned on or open the PTR Valve to see if the tank is hot, if not the pump may be faulty.

Please contact our 1st care service on 1300 555 545 for a service booking.

Thanks,
Rinnai Australia

See all Rinnai Sunmaster Range questions

Get an answer from our members and Rinnai representatives

Rinnai Sunmaster Range

Details

Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Release dateApr 2010Apr 2010Apr 2010
Compare all 3 Rinnai Sunmaster Range
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.