??!
1 photo
RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover

RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover

4.4 from 485 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.2 (394)
  • Transparency
    4.3 (385)
  • Customer Service
    4.4 (393)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (145)
    • 1-2 weeks (119)
    • 2-4 weeks (51)
    • 1-2 months (20)
    • 3+ months (9)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (308) · No (22)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
SuzieCue

SuzieCueSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Trusted name and a great organisation

published

Policy was great value and very comparable - especially with a discount for 2 pets. I am a new policy holder and found the process very easy to understand and complete online. Great to know that a portion of my premium for the first year will go toward the RSPCA and their many worthwhile projects.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Rog

Rog

  • 2 reviews

No Problems

published

I have never had a problem making claims. I get back what my plan allows. The claims process is easy and efficient. I believe RSPCA represents good value for money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Rog,
I'm delighted to hear of the value that you have found in your policy and that your claims have been processed with ease. Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Sue Bentley

Sue BentleySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Excellent

published

I have never had any trouble claiming from RSPCA pet ins. This is my second dog with them. The claim does not take long to receive with money put back into my account fast

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that we have been able to assist with your claims and finalise these efficiently for you.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Seija

SeijaSydney, NSW

Best ever pet care

published

love RSPCA insurance quick easy and they look after the pet and the owners they really looked after us as our dog is part of our family so thank you

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Barbara

BarbaraSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best decision I ever made

published

Unfortunately had to make a few claims, they were handled quickly and efficiently. By the time I received the notification the refund was already in the bank. I took out my insurance the same day I received my puppy. The best money I've ever spent.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Sueg

SuegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

OK coverage

published

Had the Policy for almost 15 years now. It is a shame that the Policy increases in cost every year my dog gets older, so in that regard I don't find it good value. I feel you should have a cut-off point say 10 or 12 years where premiums don't increase after that.
I have lodged lots of claims over the years and they have always been handled efficiently, refund is in the bank within a week.
Been with RSPCA Pet Insurance for almost 15. I had two dogs insured, one passed away 2 years ago.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Don’t bother with it

published

We had the ULTIMATE level of cover, which you would think included everything...we found out that it doesn’t when our puppy recently passed away as a result of an accident, and when looking to claim his cremation costs we we were told that was only an “add on” optional extra that we didn’t have

At no point during the sign up process for the policy was this made clear or apparent at all, and while the support rep was well intentioned they were otherwise useless, only after going through a bunch of automated prompts to enter details most of which the system couldn’t accurately recognise

Will never use RSPCA again for another pet

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Great Service

published

Really great service, the claim is in my bank account within a couple of days. Wonderful for my older dog, who has a few health issues, I have peace of mind that he will be able to receive the best care.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Timothy K.

Timothy K.Hobart, TAS

Terrible service

published

I have been waiting for a claim to be progressed for 3 months.
I have had to contact them serval time only to be told they required more information. I then provide the information and wait with no reply. I then call back only to be told they received the information but they require something else. This has happened three time with still no insurance pay out.

None of the information was ever ask for for upon taking taking out the policy???

I seems like this is a standard procedure to avoid paying out claims. I will be requesting for a full refund for the whole time of the policy and moving to a different insurer.

Avoid this hassle and go with someone else.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
4 comments
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Timothy K.
Timothy K.
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Timothy,
Thank you for confirming your claim number and providing the above information. I have raised this with our team to look into your experience further.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Christopher

ChristopherSouth East Queensland, QLD

Love ❤️ it

published

Yes it was easy to set up and saved me a lot of money .and Carrara animal and vet hospital on Gold Coast is 5 star .highly recommend, great care and service

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
cathybaby

cathybabyCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Ideal For My Fur Baby

published

Have been with rspca now for years great service. Every time I do a claim it is resolved quickly and the money is in my account pronto keep up the good work

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi there,
Thank you for your lovely review, we really appreciate it. I'm delighted to hear of the great service that you have received throughout your time with us and that your claims have been processed quickly.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Well priced and good coverage compared to other providers.

published

Service provided was great. There was sufficient and detailed information to help make the right choice about the policy for my pet. Service assistant was not over pushy or forceful about making the sale.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Unacceptable Claims Speed

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Great service call

published

Called to enquire about policy. Very friendly operator answered most questions, flexible with calling arrangements. Flexible payment options and cover options. Easy to upgrade at a later time point!
Look fwd to my time with RSPCA

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Kirsten

KirstenPerth, WA

First time Pet insurer

published

I have been with RSPCA pet insurance for 1 year and claimed twice, they were fast and easy to deal with. So far very happy. I have never insured any pet before and wish I had!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ken

KenMid North Coast, NSW

Poor pooch

published

Great peace of mind at an affordable rate.
Easy to deal with and quick turn around on claims.
We’ve been with RSPCA for 3 years now and never had any issues.
Stick with a company you can trust to look after your loved ones.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Stephen

StephenMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Vet visits

published

A good value policy, Vet does all the clam work. I have been with RSPCA pet insurance since I got my dog/mate about 5yrs ago. Very Happy Chappy with everything ✔

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Nitin

NitinPerth, WA

Really Great

published

Have been with RSPCA insurance for past 3 years, had a few claims but have not encountered any issues. Always got communication as to where the claim is at and if more time may be needed to sort it out.
Outstanding service
Thank you

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Nitin,
Thank you for your lovely review. It's wonderful to hear of the outstanding service that you have received throughout your time with us. We really appreciate your kind words and your continued loyalty and support.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Woz

WozHobart, TAS

  • 3 reviews

It's certainly helped with our expenses!

published

Whilst understanding claims take a little while to process, once processed we quickly received the reimbursement.

We've been with RSPCA for five years now, ever since we picked up our rescue cat, Bridgie.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2021
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Marion

MarionSydney, NSW

Impressive servic

published

During my dog’s recent and prolonged vomiting and diarrhoea, rspca insurance has been very helpful. Response to my claims made by the vet has been efficient, with email acknowledgment of the claim in a day or two, and refunds helped to defray high expense of vet bills.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Page 1 of 25
See all RSPCA Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover but you can read 49 questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and RSPCA Pet Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$11,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 60%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot Included
Tick ParalysisIncluded
Emergency Boarding Fees$500
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period30 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsIncluded
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Condition Limit$2,000 per condition (General Accident & Illness Cover only)
Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.