??!
1 photo
RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover

RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover (page 2 of 16)

4.5 from 489 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.3 (260)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (255)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (258)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (137)
    • 1-2 weeks (109)
    • 2-4 weeks (42)
    • 1-2 months (13)
    • 3+ months (6)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (311) · No
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail

Very Good

published

Great work RSPCA, I have had two claims for my dog and getting claims sorted was rather easy and quick payments were around two weeks. the staff on the phone super helpful the first time I tried to claim and gave great instructions how to use the website and it was very easy to use.

Thanks for the help

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Sam

SamMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

excellent

published

I found our policy was good value and easily set up. The vet had our insurance number on file and they forwarded all of the bills to RSPCA on our behalf once our cats illness was finished. And we received notification that the bills had been accepted 2 days later and payment within a week of submitting the claim

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Good!

published

going on 5 years as a member
At first I was reluctant, but after making 2 claims - I am very happy I have pet insurance.
My claim was resolved within a week which was wonderful giving the financially challenging times we currently live in

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jenny

JennyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Excellent.. very easy process

published

We have used our insurance a number of times in the past 3 years for both of our dogs. Each time the process to receive refund has been faultless. Would highly recommend

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Jilly

Jilly

  • 5 reviews

I took out pet insurance with the hope of never having to use it!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Kirst

KirstGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Glad we didn’t cancel it

published

We debated a couple of years ago whether to get rid of the insurance for our dog. So glad we didn’t, he needed a knee operation and another procedure and we were paid back 75% of our costs in under a week. Thanks

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Grant

GrantSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Absolutely great

published

The policy is extremely good value and have recommended it to other dog owners. The claim that I had was settle timeously without any problems.
I have only been with this insurance company since late June 2020

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

Was a blessing this year.

published

Claims are easy to submit online or mobile phone, the resolve time was quick. Definitely recommend when you have a new puppy who likes to eat things they probably shouldn't.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Ember

EmberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not perfect.

published

Have been with rspca for 4 years. Generally happy with it but claims take too long to process and payment to my account takes more than 5 days. Also the limit on consults is too low. I think it’s only $300pa.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
vchivers

vchivers

  • 2 reviews

Excellent Service.

published

Have had three claims in the time I opened the insurance for my dog. When I lodged a claim, it was very quick in response to the claim and laid out very well to easily understand, each payment.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Liliana

LilianaSydney, NSW

Seamless claims

published

My dog had an emergency visit to vet which was $$$. Thank goodness for the pet insurance to ease the situation. One less thing to worry about when you are so worried about your pet.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Rhonda

RhondaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

claim process is easy and fast

published

The claim process is so easy. When the claim is made it is easy to follow the processing of the claim through your account. I have made several small claims with RSPCA for my dog over the past 5 years and never had an issue. The refund is back in my account with a 10 day period, wish i could say the same for MY private health insurance .Thank you RSPCA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Rhonda,
I'm thrilled to hear that your claims experiences have been met with ease and processed quickly in times of need. Thank you for taking the time to share your great review with us, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Pretty expensive but need to have it

published

Most recent claim settled very quickly although there were two invoices and only one was settled until I asked about the second one. Overall happy with the service and speed

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

Ease of claim

published

Good value, 1st claim in 8 years, fairly quick and easy to submit claim and receive payment, reasonable monthly payment deducted from account, online portal easy to use when submitting and checking claim

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Emma C.

Emma C.

  • 2 reviews

Such great help and fast response

published

I had to call a few times before I submitted a claim to make sure I was covered. The vet was able to lodge 95% of it from their end then I submitted a 5 min claim on their portal and had the approval and reimbursement with days. Great work

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Emma,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear of the ease in which you were able to submit your claim and that we could efficiently finalise this for you.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tracey

TraceySouth East Queensland, QLD

Happy with the claim but lack of correspondence

published

I have been with RSPCA for over 2 years with our two dogs. Claiming process is easy, however we didn’t know we were receiving a refund/claim being processed as we receive no email from RSPCA

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Great Pet Insurance

published

My pet policy is good value and the process when making a claim is very smooth and easy. I would definitely recommend this pet insurance to my family and friends.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Margaret

MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD

Very impressed with the cover

published

Very easy to lodge the claim
I have been the company for two years now and will definitely continue with them as it found it all quite easy and pleasant to manage

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Shepherd owner

Shepherd ownerGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Saved my life

published

My dog developed staphylococcus and RSPCA have continually paid the bills and each new medication script. When in doubt the vet was able to let RSPCA know what was happening

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Madeline

MadelineGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Lucky to have this pet insurance , it’s a life saving!

published

It’s a good value and everytime I lodge a claim, I don’t need to wait for that long.. I’ve been in this insurance for the past 9 years and so far, I’ve got no regrets for choosing this pet insurance as it helps also those pets in RSPCA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Page 2 of 16
See all RSPCA Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover but you can read 49 questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and RSPCA Pet Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$11,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 60%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot Included
Tick ParalysisIncluded
Emergency Boarding Fees$500
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period30 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsIncluded
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Condition Limit$2,000 per condition (General Accident & Illness Cover only)
Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.