??!
1 photo
RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover

RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover

4.4 from 485 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.8 (38)
  • Transparency
    3.8 (38)
  • Customer Service
    4.0 (38)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (14)
    • 1-2 weeks (14)
    • 2-4 weeks (10)
    • 1-2 months (4)
    • 3+ months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (43) · No
Previous
Next
Sueg

SuegGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

OK coverage

published

Had the Policy for almost 15 years now. It is a shame that the Policy increases in cost every year my dog gets older, so in that regard I don't find it good value. I feel you should have a cut-off point say 10 or 12 years where premiums don't increase after that.
I have lodged lots of claims over the years and they have always been handled efficiently, refund is in the bank within a week.
Been with RSPCA Pet Insurance for almost 15. I had two dogs insured, one passed away 2 years ago.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Very glad to have this policy

published

Policy is good value, my claim was reviewed quickly. I had to resubmit additional details and then claim was resolved. We have been with RSPCA pet insurance for nearly 7 years.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Cha,
I'm pleased to hear of the value that you have found in your policy and that your claim has been resolved. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and for your continued loyalty and support.
Kind regards,
Alisa

Good!

published

going on 5 years as a member
At first I was reluctant, but after making 2 claims - I am very happy I have pet insurance.
My claim was resolved within a week which was wonderful giving the financially challenging times we currently live in

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lisa

LisaSydney, NSW

Was a blessing this year.

published

Claims are easy to submit online or mobile phone, the resolve time was quick. Definitely recommend when you have a new puppy who likes to eat things they probably shouldn't.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Ember

EmberGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good but not perfect.

published

Have been with rspca for 4 years. Generally happy with it but claims take too long to process and payment to my account takes more than 5 days. Also the limit on consults is too low. I think it’s only $300pa.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Pretty expensive but need to have it

published

Most recent claim settled very quickly although there were two invoices and only one was settled until I asked about the second one. Overall happy with the service and speed

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Tracey

TraceySouth East Queensland, QLD

Happy with the claim but lack of correspondence

published

I have been with RSPCA for over 2 years with our two dogs. Claiming process is easy, however we didn’t know we were receiving a refund/claim being processed as we receive no email from RSPCA

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Carol

CarolSouth East Queensland, QLD

Timely assessment of claim

published

Claim was quickly resolved. Process was straight forward, but there needs to be an option for consult notes to be sent directly from Vet, that allows you to submit claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Shirley

ShirleySydney, NSW

I’m satisfied with your policy

published

Yes, a good value, it’s the same day the last time my claim was resolve, I am with your insurance for 11 yrs now. The staff were also friendly & helpful.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kerrie

KerrieSydney, NSW

One thing to be less stressed about

published

I have been with RSPCA for three years. I find at the moment it is a good policy and only recently lodged a claim which was dealt with quite quickly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Julie

JulieBalnarring

  • 3 reviews

Generall good service

published

Experience has been mostly very good. I claim through my vet and general get my refund quickly. The cost of the policy has increased a great deal over the last 7 years.
I am confused as to why the fortnightly contribution can be deducted from my bank account but when I get a payment it has to be by cheque and can’t be refunded straight back into my account.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Julie,
Thank you for providing us with your details to assist in updating your policy. I understand that a member of our team has been in contact to arrange for your claim payments to be paid into your bank account directly.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Julie
Julie

Thank you for your response. My claims will now be paid into my account!

Diana

DianaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Be ready to discuss your claims

published

Policy good value and most claims quickly dealt with but claim receipt must not have non claimable items such as food items
My first two claim invoice from vet included pigs ears which someone thought my dog had chronic ear problem
In an emergency claim they were great

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Julie

JulieRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good to have peace of mind

published

Policy was easy to set up and have been with you now for 10 years, however I am finding that it is getting too expensive as my dog get older and am thinking about cancelling my policy when it becomes due. Claims have been easy to do and usually a quick turn around

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Peter

PeterDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Quite good cover

published

For the money the rebates could be a bit higher. The claim was processed very quickly, about a week, with no problems. I have been with this insurance company about 1 year.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Jennifer

JenniferSydney, NSW

Satisfied with the service

published

I have been with RSPCA Insurance for 7 years, since my dog was a puppy. My claims have been dealt with and paid promptly. I am satisfied with the service.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Jennifer,
It is a pleasure to hear that we have been able to assist with your claims and providing support for your pet when needed. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we really appreciate it.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Pet Insurance

Find out how RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Elana Kolman

Elana KolmanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

paid quickly once sent on line

published

feel as the dog ages, so the cost is rather high. Otherwise service good re payment. I have been with the
RSPCA since the dog was a puppy which is now 12 odd years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Matthew

MatthewHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

takes multiple phone calls and delays to get a response to a simple question - did you get my claim via my vet?

published

policy is fine although what is and is not covered can be tricky to find.
Claim lodgment via my vet is a hassle with a signed hardcopy form required each time and no notification of receipt sent out to policy holder, despite requiring repeat claims for the same medications per annum.
Insured for 3 years now.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Matthew
Matthew
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
 Julie

JulieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Great cover for the average pet.

published

Easy to use and reasonably quick result. claim lodged through the Vet at the time of discharge so couldn’t have been any more simple. Very valuable service for any pet owner.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

the insurance is worth having

published

good value, easy to set up, took abit of time with the claim but it was our first time using it so wasn't too bad and received a reasonable amount back, weve only been with rspca for a year I think

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance

Hi Fiona,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear of the ease in which you were able to set up your policy and that we could assist with your claim.
Kind regards,
Jessica

Fiona

FionaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 16 reviews
  • 14 likes

Good Insurance but look out for high yearly fee increases!

published

Have been with RSPCA pet insurance for about 5 years. Quick and stress free online pet insurance claims with very efficient processing times - within a couple of days. Only gripe is yearly fee increases of about 20 percent even if you don’t make any claims. They say increases are due to more pets being insured and higher vet bills however if you are able to claim $10,000 per year but don’t claim anything your fees still go up!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
RSPCA Pet Insurance
Customer RelationsRSPCA Pet Insurance
Page 1 of 3
See all RSPCA Pet Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance General Accident & Illness Cover but you can read 49 questions about RSPCA Pet Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and RSPCA Pet Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$11,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 60%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury Cover Included
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot Included
Tick ParalysisIncluded
Emergency Boarding Fees$500
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period30 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament ConditionsIncluded
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Condition Limit$2,000 per condition (General Accident & Illness Cover only)
Compare all 4 RSPCA Pet Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.