??!
1 photo
Russell Hobbs RHTOV20

Russell Hobbs RHTOV20

MPN: RHB-RHTOV20
2.9 from 15 reviews

See the Best Microwaves in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
4
2 star
0
1 star
5

Ronnie

RonnieRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Rubbish don’t buy

published

My wife bought this lemon for my birthday. The first time we plugged it in the power indicator light did not come on. We moved it to other power points and it didn’t come on so we took back to BigW and got another one. Now every time we use the oven there are problems . It has the most convoluted instruction for baking, and then does t work properly. Takes 20 mins to heat up to 170 when gauge is turned to 230. Had it less than 3 weeks taking it back.

Purchased in June 2019 at Ballina bigW for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers

not good

published

Very loud vibrating noise heated up ok but went off didn't cook the lamb chops I had it on 230 so I tried to cook a slice of bacon it took 20 mins on 230 deg very disappointed 120 kms round trip to return it not very happy

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $87.20.

Noise Level
Greg M.

Greg M.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Excellent oven

published

Foods all my food to perfection, only thing is the tray gets stained over the years difficult to remove. I have tried all other brands they left me wanting, and they didn't cook evenly.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Online Store for $92.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
See all answers
Colleen Taylor

Colleen TaylorVarsity Lakes

  • 4 reviews

Can't live without a microwave

published

Can't live without a Microwave! Never thought I would say those words but unfortunately in the world today there are some things you just can't do without.My microwave broke down and couldn't be fixed so I was without one for 2 weeks, I ended up buying a Russell Hobbs Microwave, heats well I am very pleased with it 5 out of 5

Date PurchasedApr 2018
1 comment
Colleen Taylor
Colleen Taylor

Top machine, I love my microwave.


Kelly

KellyMurray Mallee, SA

  • 14 reviews

Either faulty or a lemon!!

published

Followed instructions to make etc. Preheated for 10 mins as per instructions and because had to cook longer than 60 mins turned controls to stay on as per instructions again and it goes cold... what on earth an I doing wrong??!! B9ught this for my partner and his son for their truck workshop. Feeling I have wasted money on it! Can anyone help??!!

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Dancing2

Dancing2Hawthorn

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Family microwave

published

This has given us at least five years of solid duty now and shows no signs of stopping. I am 100% happy with its cooking ability. The only complaint is that the controls are getting quite scuffed and seemed to wear out more quickly than I would expect but apart from that - tops!

Date PurchasedJun 2013

An asset in the kitchen.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

SonicBoom

SonicBoomMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Gets Used Daily

published

We really like this Russell Hobbs oven at our place. It gets used every day and does an excellent job. My only gripe is that the control buttons are obviously going to wear out before the rest of the machine and would not be replaceable. That's a shame because it's a really good unit. It cooks and reheats like a little champion and always does a good job. They just need to life the game with long term viability and it would be excellent.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Souva

Souvamelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Good But Flawed

published

We got this because our old house oven died and we need a quick fill in.
It is surprisingly capable but it has flaws. It is cheaply made and heats unevenly but once you get used to its peculiarities, it can do a lot. We have cooked all kind sorts things in it!
On the bad side it really heats up. You don't want to forget and touch it ! It is a bit flimsy and the knobs are not the best but for $99 it saved the day for us so can't complain.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Pam

PamTimaru

Have trouble getting bottom of things coo,ed

published

Made scones the other day and the top was cooked but bottom no colour at all even meat and deserts seem to take longer than normal am I not setting the product up correctly have had other people going over instructions with me but hasn't been any improvement in use

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Pam
Pam

Cool them lower in oven and perhaps a little hotter


minn

minnBowen

  • 2 reviews

Hot plates are shocking.

published

Used this toaster oven over last few months. The major flaw is lack of temperature control of the two top hot plates. Hot plates need heating up for 10 minutes before use and then remain at a constant hot temperature. l spend too much time moving pans off then on hot plate in a vain attempt at temp control. Add temp control feature and the top hot plates would be much more useful.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Matt.D

Matt.DBundaberg

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for $100

published

After getting rid of our microwave oven due to size and health concerns we purchased this little beauty for $100 from Harvey Norman. Personally I can't complain, we have cooked all sorts of food in this little oven and it heats up fast.

Two things to be aware of . . . Make sure you've got enough space around the oven for it to breath (I have roughly 20cm all round), also the light which comes on with the oven does not turn off when desired temp is reached, I just heat up the oven for 10 mins prior to putting any food in and that works great.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ben

BenSydney

Lemon

published

Purchased a Russell Hobbs RHTOV20 at Big W for $99. Followed all the instructions to the letter but when I plugged it in the elements would not heat. Phoned Russell Hobbs -- they were unable to resolve the issue, and informed me that "with a global supply chain you can expect one or two per cent failure." Took it back and received a replacement that did work. Not happy about the time and trouble this cost me -- they obviously have a serious quality control issue.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Kls

KlsPerth, WA

  • 17 reviews
  • 12 likes

Outside of oven/ timer knobs too hot to touch

published

Bought this from Big W around 3 months ago. I've only used it once due to the outside metal casing and knobs getting too hot to touch. I feel maybe Russell Hobbs did not add enough heat absorbing wool/foam inside it to absorb the heat when cooking. I had to wear an oven glove to turn the heating and timer knobs off as they were super hot. It definitely cooked the food well but it seemed too dangerous due to the whole oven getting crazy hot on the outside. Now it's unpluged sitting doing nothing. I feel I wasted my cash :(

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Minty

MintySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Seems not too bad

published

I bought this oven last month, so did not use it much and might update my review later. I like its stylish design and 20 litre capacity is quite good for small families or single people. This oven is not noisy compared to my previous Breville compact oven and it's even has a toast timer.

My concern that one time my pizza was not evenly hot.

Questions & Answers

Amy J

Amy Jasked

What is the material inside the oven?

No answers

Johno O

Johno Oasked

Can I switch off the fan and bake without convection?

No answers

Fred

Fredasked

How do I use the Keep Warm function on a Russell Hobbs RHT0V20?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.