1 photo
Russell Hobbs RHTOV20

Russell Hobbs RHTOV20

MPN: RHB-RHTOV20
2.9 from 18 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Microwaves in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Russell Hobbs

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.2 (5)
  • Ease of Use
    2.6 (5)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    2.8 (6)
Previous
Next
Hans Joachim S.
Hans Joachim S.Sydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Clumsy Controls

published

The Good: The appliance works OK once you manage to turn it on
The Bad: Turning it on is hindered by: (i) Knobs have no mark to know which is the pointing part - I had to glue a red marker once I found out; (ii) Setting it to the desired task is convoluted, instead of just Toast or Grill, the time and temperature, you have to move controls back and forth.
Conclusion: Whoever designed this, should be sent to the salt mines.

Purchased in June 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adam
AdamWide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes
  • Verified

Excellent.....nothing else compares

published

Been using this fantastic oven for over a month now. Brilliant works perfectly I highly recommend this oven to everyone. Perfect for me living in a granny flat...perfect oven just perfect.
Plus comes with a 2 year warranty.

Purchased in February 2020 at Big W for $119.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Don't buy it!

published

This mini oven burns the top of food and leaves the food cold in the middle. I have tried changing the times and temperature various times but it still burns the top and leaves the food cold.
Do not buy it!

Purchased in December 2019 at Big W Online Store for $85.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how Russell Hobbs RHTOV20 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ronnie
RonnieRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Rubbish don’t buy

published

My wife bought this lemon for my birthday. The first time we plugged it in the power indicator light did not come on. We moved it to other power points and it didn’t come on so we took back to BigW and got another one. Now every time we use the oven there are problems . It has the most convoluted instruction for baking, and then does t work properly. Takes 20 mins to heat up to 170 when gauge is turned to 230. Had it less than 3 weeks taking it back.

Purchased in June 2019 at Ballina bigW for $89.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

not good

published

Very loud vibrating noise heated up ok but went off didn't cook the lamb chops I had it on 230 so I tried to cook a slice of bacon it took 20 mins on 230 deg very disappointed 120 kms round trip to return it not very happy

Purchased in June 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $87.20.

Noise Level
Incentivised Review No

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Greg M.
Greg M.South East Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews

Excellent oven

published

Foods all my food to perfection, only thing is the tray gets stained over the years difficult to remove. I have tried all other brands they left me wanting, and they didn't cook evenly.

Purchased in September 2017 at Big W Online Store for $92.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Colleen Taylor
Colleen TaylorVarsity Lakes
  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Can't live without a microwave

published

Can't live without a Microwave! Never thought I would say those words but unfortunately in the world today there are some things you just can't do without.My microwave broke down and couldn't be fixed so I was without one for 2 weeks, I ended up buying a Russell Hobbs Microwave, heats well I am very pleased with it 5 out of 5

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Colleen Taylor
Colleen Taylor

Top machine, I love my microwave.

Kelly
KellyMurray Mallee, SA
  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

Either faulty or a lemon!!

published

Followed instructions to make etc. Preheated for 10 mins as per instructions and because had to cook longer than 60 mins turned controls to stay on as per instructions again and it goes cold... what on earth an I doing wrong??!! B9ught this for my partner and his son for their truck workshop. Feeling I have wasted money on it! Can anyone help??!!

Date PurchasedSept 2018

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Dancing2
Dancing2Hawthorn
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Family microwave

published

This has given us at least five years of solid duty now and shows no signs of stopping. I am 100% happy with its cooking ability. The only complaint is that the controls are getting quite scuffed and seemed to wear out more quickly than I would expect but apart from that - tops!

Date PurchasedJune 2013
Microwaves

Find out how Russell Hobbs RHTOV20 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

An asset in the kitchen.

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
SonicBoom
SonicBoomMelbourne
  • 4 reviews

Gets Used Daily

published

We really like this Russell Hobbs oven at our place. It gets used every day and does an excellent job. My only gripe is that the control buttons are obviously going to wear out before the rest of the machine and would not be replaceable. That's a shame because it's a really good unit. It cooks and reheats like a little champion and always does a good job. They just need to life the game with long term viability and it would be excellent.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Souva
Souvamelbourne
  • 4 reviews

Good But Flawed

published

We got this because our old house oven died and we need a quick fill in.
It is surprisingly capable but it has flaws. It is cheaply made and heats unevenly but once you get used to its peculiarities, it can do a lot. We have cooked all kind sorts things in it!
On the bad side it really heats up. You don't want to forget and touch it ! It is a bit flimsy and the knobs are not the best but for $99 it saved the day for us so can't complain.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Pam
PamTimaru

Have trouble getting bottom of things coo,ed

published

Made scones the other day and the top was cooked but bottom no colour at all even meat and deserts seem to take longer than normal am I not setting the product up correctly have had other people going over instructions with me but hasn't been any improvement in use

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Pam
Pam

Cool them lower in oven and perhaps a little hotter

minn
minnBowen
  • 2 reviews

Hot plates are shocking.

published

Used this toaster oven over last few months. The major flaw is lack of temperature control of the two top hot plates. Hot plates need heating up for 10 minutes before use and then remain at a constant hot temperature. l spend too much time moving pans off then on hot plate in a vain attempt at temp control. Add temp control feature and the top hot plates would be much more useful.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Matt.D
Matt.DBundaberg
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great for $100

published

After getting rid of our microwave oven due to size and health concerns we purchased this little beauty for $100 from Harvey Norman. Personally I can't complain, we have cooked all sorts of food in this little oven and it heats up fast.

Two things to be aware of . . . Make sure you've got enough space around the oven for it to breath (I have roughly 20cm all round), also the light which comes on with the oven does not turn off when desired temp is reached, I just heat up the oven for 10 mins prior to putting any food in and that works great.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Microwaves

Find out how Russell Hobbs RHTOV20 compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Karen
Karenasked

Bought the Russell Hobbs Family Convection Oven on the recommendation from a friend. We had a Sunbeam previously after our big oven stopped working. I am having difficulty getting good results cooking recipes that I have used for many years in those two ovens. I rang Russell Hobbs and they told me to put my cakes on the lowest level and turn the temperature down ten degrees because it is fan-forced. Unfortunately, apart from one cake, my cakes are not cooked in the middle. How can I fix this? I am also disappointed the oven does not indicate when it has reached the desired temperature. This is a big oversight, especially when cooking cakes.

2 answers
Adam
Adam

Sorry you are having problems, once the oven reaches it temp it stops, then starts up again to maintain the desired temp..

Hans Joachim S.
Hans Joachim S.

Sorry, I don't bake cakes in this oven, I only use it to heat bread, quiches etc. My Westinghouse cooker turns out perfectly baked cakes every single time and is much easier to check if they are ready.

Susan Williams
Susan Williamsasked

Can I get another tray and rack for family convection oven?

1 answer
Alphonse L.
Alphonse L.

I was able to purchase a replacement wire and tray for $10 each directly from the company. Did so by contacting them by email on their website.

Amy J
Amy Jasked

What is the material inside the oven?

No answers
See all Russell Hobbs RHTOV20 questions

Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $119.00
Type Convection
FeaturesGrill Function
Capacity20L
Dimensions 300 x 350 x 450 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Power1,500 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 9322219019873
  • MPN: RHB-RHTOV20

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.