1 photo
Russell Hobbs RHWU88

Russell Hobbs RHWU88

MPNs: 6174, RHB-RHWU88 and RHWU88
3.4 from 7 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Electric Kettles in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Russell Hobbs

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Di from QLD
Di from QLDSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 8 reviews
  • Verified

wishful thinking

published

A few things i have noticed are keeps water hot (yeah i know thats what its supposed to do) yet the outside of the urn isn't hot at all. and unlike our previous two urns non Russell Hobbs ones the tap doesn't leak

Purchased in May 2019 at ebay for $104.80.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5

Taps not fit for purpose

published

Had three now all within a year and the tap breaks off. What a piece of plastic junk these tapes are. Each time I took it back they replaced the urn. The assistant said that this was a problem with this urn and that they cant keep replacing it every time. For it to keep breaking like this we must be over using it. What? I think that Russell Hobbs know that this is a problem and should do a recall and put it right instead of relying on customers getting sick of have to replace it every 3 months and giving up on it. Do the right thing Russell Hobbs.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Andig
AndigPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 9 likes

Worked really well until the tap broke

published

We loved this urn as it heated quickly and was reliable until the tap broke after 7 months. The retailer offered a replacement, but advised when I enquired that the warranty would back date to the original date of purchase! Refund thanks, and will purchase another urn with full warranty elsewhere.

Date PurchasedSept 2016

Great ... for a while.

published

I've had three of these now, and I'm giving up and going back to a kettle.

When we bought our first urn, the tap broke off within a few months. We got a replacement urn, same thing happened in a shorter time frame. Now, about six months later, the tap is still on but the water has a chemical taste. We've cleaned it out several time, but after a day or two the taste comes back. Will not be getting it replaced and will not be buying another Russell Hobbs.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Electric Kettles

Find out how Russell Hobbs RHWU88 compares to other Electric Kettles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jennine
JennineIllawarra, NSW
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

While it was working it was fantastic.

published

I had the same problem with the urn with it not being the right item for 24/7 use. Mine stared not being hot enough & we had to heat our coffees up in the microwave, then it stared leaking from the measurement tube.....OWELL

Bobbie B
Bobbie BNSW, 2529
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Hot Water - Got Milk?

published

This 8.8Ltr Urn is our Lifesaver when we have the family gatherings. Easy to plug in & start using once the water has reached the desired Temperature. Easy to read water level indicator. Lid safely secures onto the top. Looks nice once set up & makes a great social gathering area when making a round of cuppas!
Massive capacity & ease of use.

Rally
Rally

These so called lifesaver kettles we have one in our office and just like everything else after the warranty runs out so dose the urn ours just keeps on cutting out everything else works fine from the same power sorce fed up with it

kiwi842
kiwi842Central Queensland, QLD
  • 31 reviews
  • 11 likes

Does a great job

published

A great product except condensation from under the lid runs down the outsides and causing rust around the ring the urn stands on. If this was made from stainless steel or a plastic compound...the problem would be solved.
reliable, inexpensive, energy efficient

Wayne5555
Wayne5555

I left mine on 24/7 fails to work around the 7 month.
Stopped working... I return back to the store, got a replacment unit. fail on the 7 month again. if you only used it for party or friends over its a good unit, not 24/7

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
Fridge and Dishwasher Awards for 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the top fridges and dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
fridge-and-dishwasher-awards-for-2020
Next

Questions & Answers

v45
v45asked

Have any urn users reported a chemical on plastic taste, and sometimes smell, in the boiled water?

4 answers
kiwi842
kiwi842

nope

Bobbie B
Bobbie B

I certainly had not come across this in the years I was using the product.

Defender
Defender

I noticed my clients leaving half there tea, so decided to make myself a cuppa.....it had a 'funky' taste not of the Earl Grey variety.
Emptied the urn washed it, refilled was fine... two days later same problem

Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

Details

CategoryElectric Kettles
Price (RRP) $129.00
FeaturesWater Gauge
Capacity8.8 L
Variable Temperatures No
Weight3.7 kg
Power1,700 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Construction MaterialStainless Steel
Release dateSept 2011
ManualDownload manual
Visit official website
  • MPN: 6174, RHB-RHWU88 and RHWU88
  • GTIN13: 9327327005473

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.