??!
2 photos
Russell Hobbs Classic

Russell Hobbs Classic

2 Slice, 4 Slice
2.0 from 65 reviews

See the Best Toasters in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
4
2 star
13
1 star
36

KML

KMLSouth East Queensland, QLD

Doesn't toast evenly.

published

$50. Has not toasted evenly since we got it.
Burn to edge of the bread but doesn't toast the middle.
Going to toss it as soon as I can afford another brand.

Purchased in September 2018 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers

Worst toaster I’ve ever bought.

published

Burns the crust and doesn’t bother with the bread. I’m tossing it, and reading product reviews for the next one instead of relying on the “brand”. That’s $50 down the drain.

Purchased in March 2019 at The Good Guys for $50.00.

Value for Money
Even Toasting No
SJG

SJGMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Expensive for cheap and nasty

published

Went with this brand as its reputation is good but once out of the box appeared cheap and lightweight. Says it toasts faster but it just burns the outside without toasting it through so once you put a spread on its just soggy and falls apart. Very disappointed and will not buy this brand again!

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Even Toasting No
See all answers
Des H

Des HEuroa, Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Great toaster

published

Toasts perfectly every time and so quick, toast comes out soft in the centre & nicely browned on both sides. Been looking for a toaster that cooks this way for years, most toasters are very low wattage & dry out the bread so it’s like cardboard.
Majority of toasters are given high star rating & supposably save energy but in reality this only uses more power as they take a lot longer to cook hence they will use more total power.
Only one minor complaint, the supposed cord storage is poor attempt compared to other brands.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Kelvin and Michelle

Kelvin and MichelleSunbury

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Top rated Brand not so good

published

Replaced a Russell Hobbs toaster within the year as it would intimately toast only one side of the bread, took it back even though under warranty we had to put $10 extra towards one similar as the first was discontinued. This one is doing exactly the same, it's very frustrating and are thinking of returning it, sometimes it works and others it doesn't. thin slice bread and raisen bread is used and sometimes Crumpets. I will never again buy a Russell Hobbs item as the Brand name has declined in my view.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Ron

RonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

These toasters have a design fault

published

First one did not toast evenly, I took it back and received a replacement only to find it was exactly the same as the first one. Clearly has a wiring fault as it does not heat properly. I took it back, and swapped it for a sunbeam toaster that is perfect at all settings. Harris Scarf were great to deal with and hopefully gave feedback to Russel Hobbs to improve their faulty toaster.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Toasts too fast

published

You may think toasting fast, they say 50% faster but I think it’s way quicker like 1 quarter the time my old Russell Hobbs toasted, is a great thing. I find that it’s just too fast and though it’s toasts evenly, it’s too quick to allow the bread to heat right through so it comes out brown on the outside but too soft and cool on the inside. Not to my taste. You can only control how brown the toast comes out, not the temperature of the elements, which glow really red hot, so no control over toasting time and hence final temperature of the finished toast. Preferred waiting for the toast with the old model.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Philbrand

PhilbrandGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 41 reviews
  • 32 likes

Set with the kettle

published

This is a very basic model toaster, so it wont do rubbish like poach you an egg or give a weather forecast but just toast. It is very rattily so you get the impression it may all fall apart. My previous was a $9 two sliver from woolies and that had more weight, lasted over 15 years. Doubt this will. The kettle is a little better, but still just okay

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Happy

Happymascot

  • 2 reviews

Avoid.

published

This toaster failed after 6 months of light use.

Don't buy it if you want something to last, or you want something reliable. Would not recommend this to anyone who wants a good toaster.

This review needs to be fifty words for some reason, so I've typed this pointless sentence.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Kevin W

Kevin WCairns

  • 19 reviews

Only lasted sixteen months

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

thommo

thommoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

quality is it's name

published

have had many toasters over many years. I paid for quality (did get a discount) and that is what I got with Russell Hobbs. I would heartily recommend it every one. shop around before you buy, there are discounts available. you just have to look. they are worth waiting and looking for.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

JMAC

JMACAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

"New Improved" isn't always better

published

When our old Russell Hobbs toaster died recently we didnt hesitate to buy another of the same brand. The old one which we had purchased many years ago was reliable and toasted beautifully. The new one looked similar but unfortunately that was about it. We very quickly realsed that the " 50% faster technology" actually meant burnt toast!! An automatic toaster should not mean stand here and keep flicking the toast up just in case. I would definitely not recommend this product - save yourself the heartache and try another brand.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

jessica01

jessica01queensland

  • 13 reviews

Wasted money

published

It always burns the toast, it looks good but we made wrong mistake to buy this toaster as it wasted money. We bought this one from JB HiFi, which was on special, probably that was why they wanted to get rid of it. I don't think i would buy this brand toaster any more.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Nadine

NadineVic

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Average. Toasts alright, but you can't get the toast out!

published

We use this toaster for bread, crumpets and English muffins. You cannot lift the toast high enough to get it out without burning your fingers! Crumpets and muffins have to be tonged out (after safely turning off the toaster) or try flipping it out!
Major design flaw. Always found it toasts alright.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
joysit

joysit

  • 5 reviews

Good Toaster Model RHT12 WHI

published

I'd just about given up with toasters and had been toasting using my oven grill which is time consuming and expensive. Had a couple of duds over the last two years, but so far this one is doing was it is supposed to do...cook toast, it's a great little toaster. Cooks both sides. No fuss operation. Nice shiny white and chrome finish.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Carl

Carl

  • 12 reviews

TERRIBLE QUALITY TOASTER MADE IN CHINA

published

I am waiting for a replacement, it will be a replacement for a replacement. I was only replaced before Christmas & this NEW ONE HAD GREEN SPARKS flying & DID NOT TOAST PROPERLY. I told Hobbs l wanted a different brand as it came from THE GOOD GUYS....Unfortunately l didn't have my receipt which they told me was the warranty, at first they were not going to replace it until l told them l would contact CHOICE & Consumer Afairs am still waiting for it to arrive. They also reminded me they all come from China so if l changed brands they were all basically RUBBISH.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Bhasi

BhasiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Can't complain about the bread toasting.

published

I am using this product on a regular basis and the toaster does it's job really good. The design of the product is really nice and it's got a dial with a light which is really nice. I did some research before buying this product and I don't regret it now its money well spent I would recommend this product to everyone.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jojo

JojoSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Toaster can't toast

published

I purchased the Russell Hobbs Classic toaster as it was on sale now I know why. It won't toast evenly, it's either burnt to a crisp and that's on a lower setting or it doesn't toast enough and it continually sets off my smoke alarm. I haven't gone through so much burnt bread in my life. I'll be returning my purchase to the store this weekend, as I have had enough of this toaster and will go and buy a cheap one for $20 it will probably do a lot better.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Lisa B

Lisa BLane Cove

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Lasted 13 fabulous years.

published

This is my second classic 2 slice toaster both have lasted 13 years. I have just bought another, they look good, toast consistently well and last way longer than most marriages let alone other appliances. I wouldn't purchase any other brand. I love this toaster it is very reliable and excellent quality.

Date PurchasedJan 2004

AAB

AABBallarat

Unsustainable - can not be repaired

published

We have had two Russell Hobbs toasters; we have issues where the lever won't stay down. Unfortunately the company doesn't sell or provide any spare parts - so once there is an issue it the toaster is worthless. The toasters can not be repaired. In 2017 this is unacceptable and unsustainable.

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

gordy

gordyasked

How do i get the toaster to toast to the timer? i put bread in it comes out good i put second lot of bread in it comes out under done, put third lot of bread in comes out burnt

2 answers
Kim
Kim

There is a knob that allows you to adjust the cooking time for the toast. I gather you aren't changing this and it is still coming out different each time. This shouldn't be happening and you should return the toaster. One thing that I do notice is that the toaster is already hot when you toast a second lot, which may mean the sensor has a shorter toasting time but it shouldn't come out lighter and the third lot darker.

Mumma_bear86
Mumma_bear86

I usually set the timer lower and if i feel the toast needs some more browning i put it in for a second time and just stand and wait (getting my butter ready on my knife) until i think it looks brown enough.


Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.