??!
1 photo
Russell Hobbs Smooth IQ Plus RHC700

Russell Hobbs Smooth IQ Plus RHC700

MPN: RHB-RHC700
2.1 from 14 reviews

See the Best Irons & Steam Generators in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
5
1 star
6

Russell Hobbs smooth IQ

Russell Hobbs smooth IQGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

The worst ever iron.

published

The worst iron I have ever had The most expensive one I have bought but so angry. After only ironing half a dozen items the coating on the bottom discolours. It says it is self clean. It is not. Never again will I buy anything from Russell Hobbs brand

Purchased in February 2019 at Target Australia.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
See all answers

Elizabeth

Elizabeth

  • 2 reviews

Very Disappointed

published

This iron adjusts to most fabrics when you can get the temperature right which is difficult as it cuts in and out and steam also cuts in and out without warning. Very disappointed with the coating on the iron plate not Teflon Coated so does not glide across clothes like previous models and puckers the cloths often so repeat ironing is necessary. Expensive iron for features that don't work very well.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Svetlana

SvetlanaSydney

  • 4 reviews

Well-performing iron, would recommend

published

I looked at a few different options when deciding which iron to buy. I was looking at the prices versus feature ration and decided to stay in the middle of the price board and Russell Hobbs Smooth IQ was the right choice for me. IT is very light when I glide it over my clothes and performs very well, I can seriously see how I can cut my ironing time in half in comparison to what I did before, I would recommend this iron as a well-performing one.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
  • Verified purchase

Sooo disappointed its terrible

published

I really studied Irons to try to find one that does not leak and stain on clothes I purchased the Russell Hobbs IQ RHC700 as I thought because of the costing it has to preform better. What a mistake!!! It is terrible the water keeps spitting hot boiling water out of the plate and stains my clothes (let alone a possible burn if you face the iron towards you, whilst it is spitting the hot water out) Not happy Jan, I thought it must have been doing something I was doing wrong, so I got a second opinion and my friend agreed this is not right and it dangerous. Will be returning this back to Target tomorrow.

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Joy

JoyPROSPECT VALE

  • 4 reviews

not happy with it

published

Takes awhile to heat up and then the red light keeps coming on to say its not hot enough, while using it. very annoying as it doesn't maintain the heat all the time..
for a more expensive iron, the red light is a pain.
steam seems to work ok, but need to have on a hotter setting that should be for the type of fabric recommended.
never buy brand again......prefer my old Phillips

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Suzy

SuzySydney

  • 4 reviews

Reasonable and stylish

published

Purchased it from Target and was not that familiar with the brand. I thought that if the iron is over 100 dollars it should be OK. My previous iron is 10 years old and I really have nothing to compare. I can get the job done well and quite fast. I need to have water in all the time and it does not iron well without water at all.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Jason

JasonSydney

  • 4 reviews

There are better irons out there

published

I find this iron reasonable, however, I expected more from the iron at this price. As an example, I was ironing thin curtains which I would normally iron on a very low setting and nothing was happening to the creases, I only managed to get them out with putting pressure and force and increasing the temperature to the maximum. I got the job done, use this iron once a week to iron a few of my shirts. I would not recommend it to a friend, there are better irons out there.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Colleen

ColleenSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Terrible & over priced

published

Heats very quickly- to extreemly hot. Tends to stick to clothing and does not run smoothly. Not what I expected from an $100+ iron. Pretty disapointed overall. The 10 year old iron I had was better. Also the dial can be bumped very easily- to high - more sticking. I have burnt several items.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
heysue

heysue

  • 14 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Sticks to cloths, soleplate gets horribly dirty,

published

This iron hasn't lasted long at all. The design isn't great either- I only have small hands but everytime I picked up the iron my hand would accidentally turn up the temperature dial, so I wasn't continuously having to readjust the temp. Only after a few weeks the iron soleplate was dirty and started sticking to clothes and marking them. It is now just basically ruining anything I iron. I've tried to clean it, but it's not worth putting up with the damage and the constant hassle. Will try for a refund on this.

The auto shutoff is good though.

Date PurchasedMay 2016
Jozefeen

JozefeenBrisbane

  • Verified purchase

No thanks.

published

We've had the iron less than a week. It heats up fine but the "continuous steam" stops after a couple of seconds, and doesn't restart. If you want steam you need to keep pressing the "shot of steam" button over and over. Really disappointed. Our last Russell Hobbs iron lasted for years and was a great product. We're taking this one back.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Siva

Siva

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Worst Iron I ever used

published

This Iron work well in the first 3 months. The steaming was great and temperature control was good but it did not last long. Thereafter it started to overheat and stick on to the clothes. It meant to be "A Revolution in the world of ironing" but does live up to it. It was sticking so frequently that it was becoming impossible to clean it. It supposed to be a non stick but never worked right I used to use the tip of the iron to iron the corners and pleats and it finally gave up when the tip broke.. I will never recommend this iron.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

Worst iron in the world

published

Doesn't heat up.
All it does is beep.
Water continually leaks from iron pad.
It's only properly worked once or twice.
I would never recommend such a product. It's more frustrating than what it is worth. I do no recommend this iron to anyone. Even my wife is fed up with it. It's pathetic.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Lucas

LucasSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Does not heat up

published

This iron does no longer heat up and has let me down after only eleven months of use, it is the first time I have bought an appliance made by Russell Hobbs and is unacceptable for it to break down so soon, I will not recommend this brand to anyone in future.

Date PurchasedAug 2016

Dee

DeeAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Russell Hobbs IQ Plus iron

published

I have only had this iron for two months and was away for 3 weeks over Christmas. The handle has started to shed the plastic coating. It also drips all over my ironing after a few hours. For the price $70 + I would not recommend this iron. I am taking it back.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions yet.


Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.