2 photos
Russell Hobbs Steamglide RHC909

Russell Hobbs Steamglide RHC909

MPNs: 6192 and RHB-RHC909
3.0 from 41 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Irons & Steam Generators in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Russell Hobbs

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Safety
    4.3 (8)
Previous
Next
Penny
PennyDarling Downs, QLD
  • 2 reviews

Will never buy this brand again

published

When I do the ironing I iron for a couple of hours. That is where this iron fails dismally. The longer I iron the more it spits out dirty water from the steam holes, the steam will stop working and at one time it stopped heating up altogether. Thought I was spending more to get a good brand but really wish I had stuck to the Phillips I had last time. At least it was reliable.

Purchased in March 2019 at Big W for $49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
lauren m.
lauren m.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Steam station

published

Brought this steam station after my old tefal one stopped working it does take a long time for the steam to generate and once you stop the steam it takes a couple seconds to start the steam again it’s a bit annoying

Chiqui
ChiquiMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 4 reviews

User Friendly

published

I can't believe how user friendly and lightweight this iron is. I just purchased this product less than a year ago and already in love with it. It gives off the the right amount of heat and steam.

Purchased in September 2019 at Kmart Retail Stores for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Russell Hobbs Steamglide RHC909 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lee M.
Lee M.Perth, WA

Never Again

published

Bought this iron due to 5 star Canstar rating. Very disappointed that the clothes are still wrinkled after ironing. My previous brand of iron at same price point was superior.

Purchased in April 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sand
Sand
  • 22 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified

Simple to use iron, works as hoped

published

This iron works as expected. We have had it for several months now and have found it to heat well, slide smoothly, and just generally do a good job of ironing our business shirts etc a few times a week. Steam is easy to control and works well.

Have never had any issues with it catching or burning clothes, and base looks as clean as the day we bought it.

A very easy to use iron with all the expected basic features. Great value for money, definitely not worth throwing a whole heap of money at a more expensive product when this iron works so well. Very happy

Purchased in February 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Bryne
BryneMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Value for the price

published

I purchased this unit some 6 months ago from Big W and have used it on a regular basis
I have found it to be a very reliable product and works well on most fabrics but would like a little more heat on the maximum scale when negotiating heavier fabrics.
Streaming capabilities are satisfactory and the variance offered via the control setting is acceptable.
In short this unit is good value for the price paid

Purchased in February 2019 at Big W Retail Stores for $45.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Andrea D.
Andrea D.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Love this iron, but died too early!

published

I bought one of these irons 2.5 years ago. I do love this iron. Love the steam level control function. Easy to use. Easy to change settings. Have never had any issues with it burning to material or sticking to materials. The only negative is it comes with a 2yr warranty and it died for no apparent reason after 2.5yrs. I want to buy another one because I love the actual iron. It's a decent weight... not too light and not too heavy to hold for prolonged periods. But I am a little apprehensive to buy it again purely because it died 6months out of warranty.

Purchased in November 2016 at Big W Retail Stores for $49.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
MeV
MeVPerth, WA
  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Gives a good iron and good value for money

published

I've purchased this 3 times now. The first and second time I damaged the iron myself because I dropped them, so not a criticism of design. It gives a good iron. My only criticism is the material sometimes sticks to the iron and the iron sometimes spits out liquid. This has only happened a couple times. otherwise it gives a good iron and relatively cheap for around $50 on sale.

Purchased in November 2018 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Jason
JasonSydney, NSW
  • 6 reviews

Expensive and not worth it

published

This iron and not cheap, used it for 6 months, hardly iron anything and the cord is so hard and already has dents in it that cannot be straightened, another month or so and I would see naked wires there.

Purchased in November 2018.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Russell Hobbs Steamglide RHC909 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chandan
ChandanSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 5 reviews
  • Verified

Good value for money

published

Happy with the product. Got it for $40. We dont iron much in our household, but this one does the job. Amazing value for money! Have only had it for a month. Good for all fabrics and also lightweight.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for $40.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Mike E
Mike ETraralgon
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Completely useless; never gets hotter than lukewarm

published
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Fuzza
FuzzaBallarat
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Steams good to me

published

I bought this when it was on sale as I had my old mum and dads which didn't even steam so this was an exelent thing to now have on this iron. The settings are pretty much the same, if you want to use it on cotton set it for that or other options that it has. Dose a good job than the old one we had

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Monique Monzett
Monique MonzettCoonabarabran
  • 5 reviews

Perfect!!

published

Love my new iron! I had been using the same iron for years now and I finally got a new one it is wayyy better than the old one, has special steam cleaning options and has specific temperatures for certain fabrics which is great. I use this iron every single day and I never used to like ironing at all.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Hawks56
Hawks56hawthorn
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Had it for years works well

published

This has been a quiet and efficient member of the household for many years now. It just works, so there's not a great deal to say. Heats up well, has a decent cord lenght and glides nicely. I think the steam could be a little more powerful but even that is still OK. Decent iron.

Date PurchasedJune 2015
jim W
jim Wchermside
  • 3 reviews

Not the best

published

The iron seems to work OK not the best, the cord however is terrible far to stiff, I would go as far as to say it could be a hazed. It kinks easy you can't roll it up and is very hard to iron with. I would not buy this iron again or recommend it.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Irons & Steam Generators

Find out how Russell Hobbs Steamglide RHC909 compares to other Irons & Steam Generators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Mags
Magsasked

Where is the indicator telling you what heat you are on. Is it the green light at the lower end?

2 answers
christie07
christie07

The heat setting dial is in the middle of the iron underneath the handle. There is a raised plastic knob at the top above the dial (a bit difficult to see as it is the same pale green colour as the base material) that indicates which setting has been chosen. When the dial is turned clockwise as far as it will go this knob will be opposite the "max" & "linen" markings, and the iron will be at its hottest setting. Conversely as you twist the dial anti-clockwise the iron becomes progressively cooler, until is reaches the "synthetic" and then "minimum" settings on the dial.

Mags
Mags

Your explanation tells me where it should be though I cannot see it. It is in line with the point of the green light which I shall use as a guide instead. Not the best design! Thanks anyway.

Get an answer from our members and Russell Hobbs representatives

Details

CategoryIrons & Steam Generators
Price (RRP) $49.95
FeaturesAnti-Drip, Auto Shut Off, Variable Steam Control, Vertical Steam and Water Spray
CordlessNo
Steam GeneratorNo
Water Tank Capacity385 ml
Cord Length3.3 m
Steam Output35 g/min
Power2,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: 6192 and RHB-RHC909
  • GTIN13: 9327327007583

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.