??!
2 photos
Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830

Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 (page 3 of 5)

MPN: OLT1830
3.7 from 94 reviews

Reviews

3.7

94 reviews
5
(39)
4
(23)
3
(10)
2
(9)
1
(13)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

Mumma

MummaBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

No hassle to use and start! I love it!

published

I bought this a few months ago after giving up trying to start the old petrol line trimmer and can’t believe it took me so long to upgrade. It is so easy to start and use and does a fantastic job. I had literally been cutting the edges of my lawn with secateurs in frustration at not being able to start the petrol line trimmer. With much less effort I can now keep my edges neat and tidy.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Stopped working after 13 months

published

I used the trimmer for about 5 minutes when it stopped. I thought the battery needed recharging. After recharging the battery, it worked for about 30 seconds. Again, I thought it was the battery. I attached the same battery to another tool. The other tool worked fine. So, clearly not the battery. Is it repairable? I have a small yard that I use only to trim 1-2x a month. It shouldn't have died after 13 months. I'm glad I didn't through out my corded trimmer. From reading these other reviews, this product is junk.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Good light duty whippersnipper

published

Had mine a good 4 or 5 years now. Its a good trimmer if you have a normal lawn. If you've got 3and 4 foot long weeds in your yard your probably better off with a petrol one. This WILL do it but with only the one piece of line it won't be as efficient, the twistable shaft makes it easier for edging too. Nice and light and very quiet., If you're in the Ryobi one system, it's even better.

Date PurchasedJun 2013
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Zoe

ZoeAdelaide

  • 7 reviews

Rather use scissors

published

This is the worst thing I've ever used then line breaks all the time which is so annoying and cut cut through the tough stuff. It is useless. Considering buying a petrol one soon to save buy sanity. Save your money don't buy this model. And the line melts to itself on the spool if it gets to hot.

Date PurchasedJan 2016
John M

John M

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Line feed system not good

published

Battery lasts well, and is easy to use, but have found that the auto feed for the line does not seem to work (i have to stop the unit and manually feed line using the manual release button on the spool), and the line continuously breaks when trimming the lawn edge. The manufacturer's Instructions specify 1.6mm line, but I have tried it with 2mm line wihich seems much more effective at trimming my tough kikuyu lawn. Not sure if the use of 2mm line is safe or could damage the unit, so try at your own risk, and wear safety googles!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Jo Collins

Jo CollinsQueensland, 4560

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great Product

published

I always request bunnings vouchers for my gifts, this last purchase of the battery operated whipped snipper is amazing. Im short so the petrol one was hard to handle, the electric one was painful to have to plug into power, this one is light and easy to use. Did my son-in-laws whole section in 15 minutes.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
S. IKEUCHI

S. IKEUCHI

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Reasonably priced, works well

published

It's a relatively new purchase - it's been used my partner twice and it's worked well. The wires can be replaced by a generic one that is compatible with the price. Bunnings had sale on a combo kit (with a blower). Because it's battery run, it's so easy to use.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Timbo

TimboHervey Bay

  • 8 reviews

Great for light work!

published

Great for a small yard and goes forever with the 5amp battery. Line would be great if it was slightly heavier as it regularly wears and needs reloading. The line is purchased on spools in packs of 3 so not the cheapest replacement line around. Still love that it if part of my 18v system.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Greg

GregSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Makes trimming a pleasure!

published

I changed over from a clunky, heavy, pain-in-the-neck-to-start, constantly line breaking, never-fed-line-properly, petrol trimmer a few months ago - to this Ryobi battery one. Its a breeze to use, my 4.0 AH battery will last at least 45 minutes of trimming and get this... the auto feed actually works!

Can't believe that I put up with the petrol one for so long. My garden edges are neat and tidy now and I actually look forward to giving things a quick trim - as its no longer such a headache and I can start and finish without having to stop all of the time to fix the line.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
EDWIN POWER

EDWIN POWEROallen

  • 8 reviews

Perfect for all seasons

published

Awesome electric silent ( compared to petrol) machine. Neighbours will wonder how you trimmed your garden so neat...
Batteries are long lasting , one can leave in shed for a while without discharge to flat.....
And are interchangeable with other tools in the ryobi range....can’t fault it. Well recommended....5 stars

Date PurchasedMar 2016
JBro

JBroMELBOURNE

  • 5 reviews

Very good product. Working well for over a year

published

Great light weight tool. I only have a small garden so it's perfect. Has been very reliable and easy to use. I have tried it at larger country properties and it can be a little underpowered but for city gardens it's great. I would recommend 2 batteries of the 4a or 5a type so you don't need to worry about running out of charge.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Dmack

DmackMelbourne, Victoria

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for small jobs

published

So far so good - i've used it maybe 10-15 times and haven't had to replace the line yet!
It's quite light as well - my girlfriend has no trouble using it.
It's suitable for trimming along footpath edges, fences, trees, paving and garden edges. I wouldn't use it for anything massively overgrown though.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Freezer

FreezerMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Fantastic

published

This is so easy and light to use, the battery lasts for a long time cutting is very good, love that you can let out the line so easy, simple to use. The first time we have considered a battery whipper snipper and it’s wonderful. Would recommend this to the gardener who wants more time to spend on the important things, no more manual labour........

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Gunjan

Gunjan

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect !

published

Got one from bumming work d great ! Once had issue with reel showed to Bunnings they were not able to fix so replaced it with new one ! Does Great job .. happy with the results .. would highly recommend this product it’s simple to use for a newbie too !

Date PurchasedJul 2017
DeniseS

DeniseSLaunceston

  • 10 reviews
  • 17 likes

They have done it again

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Battery Whipper Snippers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 compares to other Battery Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
bingo

bingoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Fantastic product

published

This was my first Ryobi purchase in the collection, now called my Ryobi family, absolutely brilliant, very light weight and easy to manage. Does a great job and easy to extend the cutting wire and add new. I liked it so much that I now have the mower, blower, and hedge trimmer added to the collection. Highly recommend the Ryobi one plus products and also the fantastic 6 year warranty is brilliant, not to mention the ability to register the products online in your own Ryobi tool box, upload the receipt and serial numbers, brilliant idea. love it.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
parko_jose

parko_josePort Kennedy, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Light weight, easy to use.

published

I love this edger, we used to own a petrol own, but I didn’t like that we had fuel sitting around when not in use.
Since getting this, I can now easily do the edges and finish of my lawns as it’s very light weight and easy to use. Plus I live that it comes with a 6 year warranty as well.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
kazza65

kazza65brisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

My hubby bought this for me and it is awesome,we are on 1/2 acre with quite few trees to snip around and find I’ve still got enough battery charge left to go around what I’ve missed. It’s great at edging along the driveway as well.no messing around with petrol which is great. I love the fact you don’t have to bash it on ground to get more cord. Very happy with this product

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Smoogus

SmoogusAU

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Budget , but capable.

published

As long as you arent trying to mow the lawn with it, its pretty good. No More Petrol mixing and mess. I only have a small lawn, so its good for doing the naturestip and curb edging. Will push through thick dirt and grass if given time.
A bit hard to see where its cutting when you use it in Edging mode, with the Steel guide extended. I use the other ryobi 18v's so handy.

Date PurchasedApr 2016
Cam

CamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

cheap low quality

published

Main issue is battery life, started off getting 15 min, after about 20 recharges lucky to get 5 min.. 2nd issue, only one line to cut with, makes those initial 15 min not very effective, now almost useless. Very disappointed considering going back to 2 stroke as the batteries are not cheap to replace. Ryobi once had a semi-decent reputation, I still have a Ryobi battery drill that I have been using for near on 15 years but now as they mostly supply Bunnings, they are becoming obsolete in quality. Will avoid in future.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
See all Ryobi 18V One+ Line Trimmer OLT1830 reviews

Questions & Answers

Melissa M.

Melissa M.asked

I have just purchased one of these and am wondering if 2 pieces of line should be on it or just one ??? What does everyone else’s look like ????

2 answers
rollinwinnies
rollinwinnies

1.

Barry
Barry

Hi Melissa it has one line should have two witch makes it hard to use
not one of Ryobi`s best i would go for refund.

JackyL

JackyLasked

My Ryobi new CBLT 1804A type 2 is smoking after about 10 mins of cutting. Its my first line cutter so is this normal or do I have a problem? Thanks
JackyL

2 answers
Louise T.
Louise T.

I have the same problem

Cassie L.
Cassie L.

Mine too

Cameron M.

Cameron M.asked

unit cuts out. remove and replace battery and it works for a 30 seconds. what is wrong

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.