1 photo
Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820

MPN: OPP1820
3.6 from 45 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Hedge Trimmers in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Ryobi

Reviews

Previous
Next
ken
kenHunter Region, NSW
  • 16 reviews
  • 6 likes
  • Verified

Great tool very user friendly

published

Purchased in April 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Sc3d
Sc3d Sydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great purchase, heavier than expected

published

Great tool! Works well with a standard ryobi 18v battery.

It’s a little hard to manoeuvre if you’re short, but you get used to it. Also heavier than expected.

Easy to put together as well.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $119.00.

Incentivised Review No

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Jorgejio
Jorgejio
  • 28 reviews
  • 20 likes

For what it is, surprisingly good. Some design weaknesses.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $199.00.

Incentivised Review No
Lou
LouMelbourne
  • 15 reviews
  • 8 likes

Handy Long Reach Pruner

published

Purchased in October 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Incentivised Review No
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Saw OK, Ryobi Fail

published

Saw has been good,Available up until recently. Critical parts no longer available for a relatively new item. I now have the Ryobi $200 paperweight. Not very pleased and will think twice before buying Ryobi again.

Purchased in January 2018.

Incentivised Review No
Daryl H
Daryl HUpwey

Poor quality

published

Oil leaked from seemingly everywhere upon first filling it. This was brand new. What a mess. I still soldiered on and tried getting the pruner to even spin and it was dead with the battery fully charged.

Unfortunately my wife threw out the receipt, so I will see if I can fix this myself, but the lack of any life doesn't give me hope. Thanks for other comments about how to fix the hose. Hopefully the oil leaking everywhere hasn't ruined it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
Dodger
Dodger
  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

Top Heavy

published

Bought one today, but it's very top heavy, the trigger is at one end and the weight at the other, no matter how you adjust the harness it's just impossible to use at it's full length...returned.
Staff member at Bunnings told me they are hard to use.
If they had the trigger half way down it would have made a difference.
The shorter one which I have is great.

Date PurchasedFeb 2019

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Next
Daniel
Daniel
  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed in Ryobi cordless product range - failing just after warranty expiration

published
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)

Potential is great

published

I found the oil ran out of it all down the handle it did not appear to get on the chain. There was a piece of sponge in the oil compartment should that have stayed or be removed. It did work ok . I was concerned about the oil on the battery contacts.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Matt Hylton
Matt HyltonAU
  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great. However it’s got a little flaw.

published
Date PurchasedJan 2014
leelee
leeleeGold Coast
  • 4 reviews
  • 19 likes

a returner

published

Purchased at bunnings. Tried it out and couldnt tighten,the ,ost important part of it, it kept slipping, so couldnt do the job it was meant to do. Too dangerouse to much about with a product thats being used on a ladder up a tree! Returned it,staff who thought he was a very important person, didnt like the fact we returned it. Bought a much better quality one elsewhere, works like a dream.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Other Hedge Trimmers

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Fiona292
Fiona292Canberra
  • 12 reviews
  • 15 likes

Does the job but not as easily as I’d hoped.

published

The pruner has a central extension that you can remove, I can only use it in the shorter version as it’s pretty top heavy, the male in the house has less difficulty but agrees that it’s not well balanced. I can see so many ways to better design this tool, it’s a shame Ryobi missed the opportunity. Regardless, it does the job well and runs fairly quietly.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
Hedge Trimmers

Find out how Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 compares to other Hedge Trimmers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heath
HeathBrisbane
  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Surprisingly Capable.

published

I purchased the Ryobi Pole Pruner to tame all that was difficult to reach in a Queensland yard. The product is a surprisingly capable little pruner. As others have mentioned, it does have a drinking problem. Do keep bar oil by side. And like all chainsaw the chain does require regular sharpening to perform well. Very happy with the purchase, ideal for domestic pruning purposes.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Stevo
Stevomelbourne
  • 23 reviews
  • 27 likes

Great pruner

published

Very effective pruner/lopper. Good battery life if you by a decent size battery, enough to do most domestic work.

Only some small negatives.

Oil provided with the unit was very thin and seemed to leak through the unit very quickly. Thicker chain oil slowed that down a lot.

Ours needs regular adjustment (every 15 mins or so) to keep the chain tight.

User manual treats customers like morons and uses cartoons/diagrams with zero wriiten instruction. Cheap for Ryobi I guess but useless to help maintain the item properly.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Stevo
Stevo

Just a small follow up comment after some further use. The chain adjustment issues was just the user, it stays fine now and I just adjust it once if needed before each use.

No chain file supplied

published

Would have got 5 stars if the sharpening file was included. The Manual does not indicate what file size either? 5/32" or 3/16" or 7/32"... so makes a purchase difficult. What size file please? Otherwise, works well and is recommended for small jobs. some plastic looks a bit feeble, but I haven't broken anything yet.

Date PurchasedJuly 2016
Yarg
Yarg

It seems highly unlikely that 9,985 people could have read this review and not one has made a comment?

Questions & Answers

Ray H.
Ray H.asked

Can you purchase an Allen key for the pole chain saw

2 answers
ken
ken

Most allen keys are either metric or imperial and can be bought in various lengths and configurations from Bunnings or hardware stores so if you contact Ryobi maybe they can tell you what size and type you need. Mt guess would be its metric.
If the unit is under 6 years old they may replace it on the extended warrantee if you registerd it when you bought it or have the receipt copy. Being an engineer now retired I haven't dismantled these but it should be easy enough to fix. using a standard key.

Ray H.
Ray H.

Thanks Ken yes realise that but getting 1 with totally different sized ends might be a mission
Cheers

Thomas Cross
Thomas Crossasked

Appears to have blown a fuse on polesaw
What do I check
How can I fix it?

No answers
JSB
JSBasked

Opp18 pruner doesn't match hedge trimmer pole OHT1850S

2 answers
ken
ken

I only have one Ryobi 18v pole and it fits both the hedge trim and chain saw without a problem. I bought the pole with the chain saw attached first then after I found it does such a great job I bought the hedge attachment and that also works on the same pole.

JSB
JSB

Thanks Ken. The Opp18 pruner is 2021. The hedge trimmer pole OHT1850S is 2016. They have changed the connection a bit after only 5 years. Maybe you bought yours at the same time?

See all Ryobi 18V One+ Pole Pruner OPP1820 questions

Get an answer from our members and Ryobi representatives

Details

CategoryHedge Trimmers
Power SourceBattery
Weight4.1kg
Price (RRP)$179
Blade Length203mm
Replaced byRyobi 18v One+ Pole Pruner OPP1850
ManualDownload manual
  • MPN: OPP1820

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.